目的地
木曾谷 & 中山道
木曾谷/中山道周邊的25個活動及住宿地點

木曾谷/中山道周邊的25個活動及住宿地點

narai-ice-candle-fireworks

木曾谷以歷史悠久的中山堂和保存完好的 “宿場町 “而聞名,是日本中部最美麗的自然景觀和文化遺址。這裡有原始森林、綠油油的河流和瀑布,還有日本第二高的火山–禦嶽山的山峰,山巒起伏,溝壑縱橫。禦岳自古以來就被認為是神聖的,神道教派 “禦岳信仰 “的信徒們都在此參拜,其中最虔誠的信徒是在山間的森林和水路中行走的 “禦岳古道”。在這個頁面上,你會發現以下信息:

木曾谷和中山道在哪裡?

木曾谷和中山道附近的25件事情可以做

參觀木曾谷和中山道時的住宿地點

如何前往木曾谷和中山道

與我們一起預訂! 長野的第一大旅遊和包車運營商

長期以來,禦岳被認為是神聖的,被神道教派 “禦岳神功 “的信徒所崇拜,最虔誠的修行者走在 “禦岳古道 “的朝聖小徑上,這些小徑穿過森林和山中的水道。

kiso-ontake-kodo
tour-banner

我們的總部設在長野,全年運營,是該地區最大的旅遊和包車運營商。我們可以安排前往該地區任何目的地的交通和旅遊,作為一家註冊旅行社,我們可以將交通、住宿等結合在一起,讓你在木曾谷地和日本中部節省並獲得最多時間 – 往下到底部了解詳細信息。

木曾谷和中山道在哪裡?


木曾谷是一個美麗的地區,位於長野縣的鹽尻和中津川之間。該地區位於東京的西部 – 約250公里/3.5至4小時的車程。從北到南,山谷沿著木曾河,以其原始的水路、森林、瀑布和徒步旅行路線而聞名,包括歷史悠久的中山道。中山道是江戶時代(1603-1868年)連接東京–當時被稱為 “江戶”–和京都的一條重要路線,橫跨500多公里,其中經過木曾谷的地區被稱為 “木曾寺”,被視為特別美麗。這條路線的一部分今天仍然可以步行,其中最受歡迎的目的地是位於木曾谷南部中津川車站附近的 “宿場町 “鎮,即馬籠和妻籠。大多數前往木曾谷地和中山道的遊客都是乘坐特快列車信濃服務。這條線路在長野和名古屋之間運行,所有的特快列車都停在木曾福島站和中津川站。如下所述,我們建議住在木曾-福島站地區。關於如何前往木曾谷和中山道並在那里活動,請參見下面的 “如何前往木曾谷和中山道”。

木曾谷和中山道附近的25件事情可以做


kiso-valley-banner-edit

木曾谷以歷史悠久的中山道及其保存完好的成井、妻籠和馬籠等驛站而聞名,是日本中部最值得一去的地方之一。木曾谷是一個充滿自然之美的地方,它沿著木曾河將游客帶入日本的中心地帶,沿著森林小徑通往翡翠般的河流和瀑布,沿著 “禦岳古道 “的朝聖小徑通往禦嶽山的山頂,這是一座神聖的山,也是日本僅次於富士山的第二高火山。以下是我們對一些最佳目的地和活動的建議:

1 / 馬籠 / 全年無休

Magome Nakasendo Trail Kiso

這個美麗的歷史悠久的郵政小鎮建在山坡上,兩旁舖有鵝卵石小徑。馬籠最具標誌性的功能之一是其木製水車,至今仍在使用。您還會發現許多購買紀念品和小吃的地方。馬籠是中山道步道的絕佳起點。


2 / 妻籠 / 全年無休

kiso-tsumago-nakasendo

妻籠是木曾保存最完好的驛站之一。在這裡,您可以看到有300年曆史的旅館。在這裡,可以看到有300年曆史的旅館,還有曾經的馬厩、大名等高級官員使用過的豪華旅館、展示木曾歷史和文物的博物館等。


3 / 從馬籠到妻籠的中山道之路漫步 / 最好:4月至11月

nakasendo3

中山道的這段7.8公里的路程是一次體驗日本歷史和自然的完美方式。連接馬籠和妻籠的道路是一條平緩的小路,帶你穿過森林、農田和村莊的混合景觀,其中馬籠和妻籠是步行的終點–可以從任何方向走。在半路,你可以在一個傳統的江戶時代的休息所休息一下,那里為遊客提供免費的綠茶,同時,攜帶水、飲料和零食也是一個好主意,尤其是在7月和8月,情況會很熱和潮濕。從技術上講,這條路全年開放,但從4月到11月是最好的享受。任何試圖在冬季–從12月到3月–行走的人都需要做好充分的準備,因為大雪可能會影響這條路。如果你想在冬天走這條路,你應該考慮安排一個當地導遊。


4 / 奈良井 / 全年無休

Narai Post Town, Kiso Valley
tour-banner

奈良井是木曾所有郵遞鎮中最富有的地方,並且它也是歷史最長的旅館,保存完好,以至於江戶時代以來,城鎮景觀幾乎保持不變。除了歷史建築外,您還會發現許多一流的餐廳和傳統手工藝品商店。您可以從奈良井進入中山道小徑,然後越過鳥居峠到達下一個郵遞鎮。


5 / 漫步中山道:藪原至奈良 / 最佳:4月至11月

Narai Post Town

中山道步道是連接藪原和奈良井兩個驛站的森林步道,全長6公里。穿過最高點1197米的鳥居峠山口,沿途樹木茂盛,維護良好。沿途有以芭蕉詩為主題的俳句石碑和佛像。


6 / 赤沢自然休養林和大瀧森林鐵道 / 最好:4月至11月

kiso-valley

赤澤天然休閒森林被認為是日本最美的森林之一,生長著樹齡達300年的檜柏樹。大瀧森林鐵道列車最初建於1916年,既運送木材,也運送人,至今仍在運行,純粹是為了觀光。漫步小路和乘坐列車穿越森林是在大自然中養精蓄銳的最佳方式。


7 / 阿寺渓谷 / 全年無休

kiso-Adera-Ravine-Valley

沿著清澈的溪流而上的阿寺渓谷的道路,反射出美麗的水藍色和翡翠色的光線。沿路有幾個觀景點,可以看到峽谷中最令人嘆為觀止的景點,如瀑布、深邃的天青色水池和醒目的懸崖峭壁。峽谷全年都可以進入,但從4月到11月是其最壯觀的時候。

atera-gorge-kiso

您可以在阿特拉峽谷露營地露營,或者走一小段徒步環線,穿過峽谷的森林。


8 / 柿其溪谷 / 全年無休

kiso-kakizore-gorge-keikoku

柿其溪谷是木曾最美麗的景點之一,它有令人驚嘆的瀑布和碧綠的水,還有令人印象深刻的岩石。從十二兼站出發,沿著自然步道(如上圖),就可以探尋到木曽最美的景色。


9 / 寢覚之床 / 全年無休

kiso-nezamenotoko

寢覚之床的特點是由一塊巨大的花崗岩板塊,經過數千年的木曾川雕刻而成的奇特岩層。攀爬在岩層的幾何形狀的巨石和石塊上,可以探索峽谷。如果你冒險爬上位於河中央的花崗岩石板的頂部,你會發現一個小型的神殿。在日本最著名的童話故事 “浦島太郎 “的傳說中,”寢覚之床 “也是一個背景。


10 / 禦岳索道 / 4月至11月

tour-banner

禦岳索道可以將您帶到海拔3067米的木曾禦嶽山2150米處。從這裡可以選擇繼續徒步登頂,也可以在索道站周圍欣賞周圍的群山和高原花卉的全景。如果時間合適的話,甚至可以登上雲端,看到非凡的景象! 請注意,禦嶽山是一座活火山,請以人身安全為重。日本氣象廳為全國提供實時的建議和警報。在前往禦嶽山之前,我們建議您先瀏覽以下網站。


11 / Aburagibirin森林 / 全年無休

kiso-ontake-aburagi-forest

位於禦嶽山麓的原始森林,歷經數百年的保護,以其自然之美而受到人們的喜愛。沿著穿越森林的自然步道,你會發現三百年以上的樹木、縹緲的瀑布和美麗的綠色。這條小路也是觀鳥的好去處。


12 / 清滝和新滝 / 全年無休

kiso-ontake-kodo

長久以來,禦嶽山一直是木曾地區的精神天堂和崇拜場所。清滝瀑布和新滝瀑布都是信徒們在上山朝拜時用來淨化自己的地方。一些正在接受宗教訓練的人至今仍在瀑布中清洗自己。瀑布也是自然美景,在冬季,它們部分凍結成巨大的冰層。


13 / 禦嶽山古道自然崇拜之旅 /4月至11月

kiso-ontake

從7月到11月,沿著禦岳的朝聖之路,參觀清滝、新滝瀑布等日本傳統的自然崇拜活動,讓您身臨其境地體驗一日遊。禦嶽山是僅次於富士山的日本第二高的火山,自古以來就被認為是神聖的地方,是神道教派”禦岳信仰”的信徒們所崇拜的地方,其中最虔誠的信徒們是走在”禦岳古道”上,穿過森林、水路和瀑布的朝聖之路。在經驗豐富的當地導遊的陪同下,步行時間約為3小時,主要是在混合地形的下坡,還有一些高架路,適合任何體質的人。


14 / 禦嶽山索道和森林徒步旅行 / 4月至11月

kiso-ontake-aburagi-forest

同樣是7月至11月,先從禦岳索道登上海拔2180米的飯森高原/第七站。在山頂的陰影下,導遊會向您介紹禦岳神功的原理和日本悠久的山岳崇拜歷史,然後通過Aburai Birin森林小徑,經過神社、石碑和自然景觀開始下山。沿途享用傳統的 “便當”(打包的午餐),步行時間約為4至4.5小時,大部分為下坡,適合任何體質的人。


15 / 白川氷柱群 /冬季:12月下旬至2月下旬

白川冰柱

當冬天從岩石表面沉澱出來的水逐漸凍結時,形成了驚人的250米和50米高的冰柱幕。巨大的冰層在白天陽光照射下會發出清涼的藍色,而在晚上也會被照亮,成為一種神秘的美麗景象。


16 / 桃介橋 / 全年無休

Momosuke Bridge

百瀨橋長247米,是日本最長的木質吊橋之一。這座令人印象深刻的建築建於1922年,橫跨木曾河,靠近南木曽車站。漫步在橋上,你可以看到木曾河谷的美妙景色,也是你在等待下一班火車時消磨時間的好辦法。


17 / 奈良井宿冰燭節 / 2月

narai-ice-candle-festival-fireworks

這個節日照亮了奈良井寒冷的冬夜。奈良井具有歷史意義的城市景觀襯有成百上千根置於冰上的蠟燭,使街道散發出神奇的光芒。漫步時,您可以品嚐清酒,甜酒和熱湯。節日以一輪煙花結束!


18 / 享用木曾 “蕎麥麵” / 全年無休

kiso soba

蕎麥麵的氣候非常適合種植蕎麥,已有數百年的歷史了。實際上,木曾被認為是日本蕎麥麵的起源,也是迄今為止享用這道菜的最佳場所之一。您會在整個地區找到數十家美味的蕎麥麵商店,因此請確保在訪問期間嘗試一些。


19 / 興禪寺岩石花園 /全年無休

kozenji-kiso-fukushima

光前寺美麗的禪宗風格的岩石花園,在木曾令人印象深刻的山脈的背景前展開,是亞洲最大的花園之一。憑藉其傳統建築、寧靜的花園和迷人的季節性景觀,整個寺廟建築群本身就是日本美學的一個令人印象深刻的集合體。


20 / 王滝村自然湖和王滝村 / 最好:4月至11月

kiso-ontake-shizenko

王滝村自然湖形成於禦嶽山年地震後發生的洪水導致大垣河大壩滑坡。您可以通過禦嶽冒險提供的獨木舟之旅欣賞這奇妙而又美麗的風景。


21 / 享受木曽溫暖的 “清酒” /全年無休

sake-food-drink
tour-banner

木曾谷天然水供應充足,釀酒歷史悠久。它擁有長野縣一些最古老的清酒廠,例如湯川清酒釀酒廠和西尾清酒釀酒廠,它們都自1600年代就開始釀造啤酒。在木曾期間嘗試一些清酒,或搶一瓶作為紀念品!


22 / 木曾木藝 / 全年無休

kiso-woodcraft-edit

木曾市廣闊的森林中大量優質木材的供應,在該地區培育了悠久的高級木匠工藝傳統。精美的手工產品,如漆器,木梳和彎曲的木盒子,可以在奈良井和木曾谷其他地方的家庭式作坊裡找到。許多生產商已經從事多代業務。


24 / 木藝活動 / 全年無休

kiso-narai-juku-post-town

想要嘗試傳統木器的遊客可以在木曾福島附近的古里體驗中心進行嘗試,在那裡你可以參加一個簡短的工作坊,在老師的指導下用手刨製作你自己的 “筷子”(Hashhi)。簡單而有趣,你可以帶著你在木曾和日本的美好紀念品離開。


24 / 五平麻糬、樸葉料理及其他傳統食品 / 全年無休

Hoba leaf mochi ほうば

在木曾旅遊的同時,也要注意當地的傳統美食。五平麻糬是將糯米飯塗上甜醬油串起來烤製而成的小吃。此外,還有使用日本樸葉木蘭樹的葉子製作的各種小吃和菜餚。用這種葉子包裹米飯、麻糬等食材,或用葉子燒烤時,食物會散發出淡淡的甜味和花香。


25 / 水無神社例大祭 / 7月

kiso-kisofukushima

在日本,很多祭祀活動都要抬著沉重的木製神轎在城裡走來走去,但”水無神社例大祭”卻別出心裁:神轎在地上翻滾(有時人站在上面),從空中掉下來,最後被摧毀。每年7月22日、23日在木曾福島舉行。 22日晚還會有煙花表演。有關木曾福島的住宿信息,請參考 “木曾福島和奈良井地區 “酒店頁面。

參觀木曾谷和中山道時的住宿地點


nakasendo-tsumago-banner-edit

木曾谷從北到南,從鹽尻周圍地區一直到中津川。沿著木曾川和特快列車信濃線,山谷覆蓋了相當大的面積,許多景點分佈在遠處。考慮到這一點,我們的 “木曾谷和中山道的住宿地點 “頁面列出了您的選擇,包括最方便的住宿地區。

如何前往木曾谷和中山道


大多數前往木曾谷和中山道的遊客都會使用火車網絡。從名古屋到長野的特快列車信濃號在中津川站和木曾福島站停靠,使該地區很容易沿著日本風景最優美的鐵路線到達。欲了解更多信息,包括詳細的路線,請參閱我們的 “如何前往木曾谷和中山道 “頁面。

與我們預訂! 長野的第一大旅遊和包車運營商


snow-monkey-resorts-vehicles-bus
tour-banner

我們的總部設在長野,全年運營,是一家排名第一的旅遊和包車運營商,提供一系列的服務,包括整個地區的住宿、交通和旅遊。我們了解當地的情況,知道什麼時候該去哪裡,幫助您舒適地發現和享受木曾谷。對於希望在自己的交通工具中舒適地進入度假村的客人,我們可以根據您的需要安排私人旅遊或包車,在該地區的任何目的地開始和結束。

smr-vehicles-bus-charter-hiace

我們的司機和車輛都是經過充分認證的,允許我們運送你到你喜歡的目的地,並結合任何適合你的興趣和時間表的活動,包括運送你到該地區的任何滑雪勝地。  

394-Hi-Ace-Charter-Bus

所有車輛都裝有保護屏–將司機與乘客和行李區隔開–我們的司機戴著保護面罩,讓你在目的地之間舒適、安全地旅遊。

nakasendo-trail-narai-tour-guests

我們既可以安排有英語導遊的私人旅遊,也可以安排私人包車,包括私人車輛和司機,但沒有導遊。我們很樂意成為這種體驗的一部分,並幫助你發現更多的東西!

為什麼選擇我們?

我們的雪猴公園、善光寺和清酒一日遊獲得了2019年TripAdvisor旅行者選擇獎–被公認為日本十大體驗之一–我們擁有當地的知識和經驗,幫助你在日本中部獲得最大的收穫。

有關於探訪木曾谷和日本中部的問題嗎?請與我們聯繫:snowmonkeyresorts@machinovate.com,讓我們一起計劃吧!

木曾谷 & 中山道

旅遊

活動

酒店

節日

博客

冬季推薦遊覽

滑雪和單板滑雪配套 2021/2022

推薦酒店

清潔綠色健康旅遊

要做的事情

DESTINATIONS
KISO VALLEY & NAKASENDO
25 Things To Do Around The Kiso Valley / Nakasendo & Where To Stay

25 Things To Do Around The Kiso Valley / Nakasendo & Where To Stay

narai-ice-candle-fireworks

Most famous for the historic Nakasendo and its beautifully preserved ‘shukubamachi’ towns, the Kiso Valley is blessed with some of Central Japan’s most beautiful natural landscapes and cultural sites. The region is home to pristine forests, emerald rivers and waterfalls, and an undulating landscape of mountains and ravines rising to the brooding summit of Mount Ontake – Japan’s second tallest volcano. On this page you will find the following information:

Where is the Kiso Valley & Nakasendo?

25 Things to Do Around Kiso Valley & Nakasendo

Where to Stay When Visiting Kiso Valley & Nakasendo

How to Get to Kiso Valley & Nakasendo

Book With Us! Nagano’s No.1 Tour & Charter Operator

Long considered sacred, Ontake is worshipped by adherents of the Shinto sect ‘Ontake Shinko’, with the most devote practitioners walking the ‘Ontake Kodo’ pilgrimage trails that run through the forests and past waterways of the mountain.

kiso-ontake-kodo
tour-banner

Based in Nagano and operating all year round, we are the region’s No.1 tour and charter operator. We can arrange transport and tours to any destinations in the region, and as a registered travel agent, we can package transport, accommodation and more together so you save and get the most out of your time in the Kiso Valley and Central Japan – scroll to the bottom for details.

WHERE IS THE KISO VALLEY & NAKASENDO?


The Kiso Valley is a beautiful area located between Shiojiri and Nakatsugawa in Nagano Prefecture. The area lies to the west of Tokyo – around 250KM / 3.5 to 4 hours drive. Running north to south, the valley follows the Kiso River and is known for its pristine waterways, forests, waterfalls and hiking trails including the historic Nakasendo. A key route linking Tokyo – then called ‘Edo’ – to Kyoto during the Edo Period (1603-1868), the Nakasendo spanned a distance of more than 500KM with the area of the route that passed through the Kiso Valley, known as the ‘Kiso-ji’, regarded as particularly beautiful. Parts of the route can still be walked today with the ‘shukubamachi’ towns of Magome and Tsumago being the most popular destinations, located in the southern part of Kiso Valley nearby Nakatsugawa Station. Most visitors heading to the Kiso Valley and Nakasendo do so using the Limited Express Shinano service. Running between Nagano and Nagoya, all limited express services on the line stop at Kiso-Fukushima Station and Nakatsugawa Station. As explained below, we recommend staying in the Kiso-Fukushima Station area. For directions about how to get to and move around the Kiso Valley and Nakasendo, see ‘How to Get to Kiso Valley & Nakasendo’ below.

25 THINGS TO DO AROUND KISO VALLEY & NAKASENDO


kiso-valley-banner-edit

Most famous for the historic Nakasendo and its beautifully preserved post towns of Narai, Tsumago and Magome, the Kiso Valley is one of Central Japan’s most rewarding destinations. A place of natural beauty, the valley follows the Kiso River leading visitors deep into the heart of Japan, along forested trails leading to emerald rivers and waterfalls and onto the pilgramage trails of the ‘Ontake Kodo’ leading to the summit of Mount Ontake – a sacred mountain and Japan’s second tallest volcano after Mount Fuji. Here’s our suggestion of of some of the best destinations and activities on offer:

1 / MAGOME-JUKU / all year round

Magome Nakasendo Trail Kiso

This beautiful historic post town was built on a hillside and is lined with a cobblestone path. One of Magome’s most iconic features is its wooden watermill which still operates to this day. You will also find many places to buy souvenirs and a bite to eat. Magome makes a great starting point for the Nakasendo Trail.


2 / TSUMAGO-JUKU / all year round

kiso-tsumago-nakasendo

Tsumago is one of Kiso’s most well-preserved post towns. Here, you can see inns that are up to 300 years old. Other highlights include a former horse stable, a luxurious inn built once used by the daimyo and other high-ranking officials, and a museum that showcases the history of and artifacts from Kiso.


3 / WALK THE NAKASENDO TRAIL: MAGOME TO TSUMAGO / best: April to November

nakasendo3

This 7.8km stretch of the Nakasendo Trail is the perfect way to experience both the history and the nature of Japan in one shot. The path that connects Magome and Tsumago is a gentle trail that takes you through a mixed landscape of forest, farmlands and vililages of which Magome and Tsumago book-end the walk – which can be done in either direction. At the halfway point, you can take a break at a traditional Edo Period rest house that offers free green tea to visitors while it’s also a good idea to carry water, drinks and snacks with you especially in July and August when conditions will be hot and humid. The trail is technically open all year round however best-enjoyed from April until November. Anyone attempting to walk during winter – from December until March – needs to be adequately prepared and fit, as the trail can be affected by heavy snow. If you want to walk the trail during winter, you should consider arranging a local guide.


4 / NARAI-JUKU / all year round

Narai Post Town, Kiso Valley
tour-banner

Narai was the wealthiest of all the post towns in Kiso and it also has the longest stretch of historic inns that are so well-preserved that the townscape remains almost unchanged since the Edo period. Besides the historic buildings, you will find many excellent restaurants and traditional craftsmanship shops as well. You can access the Nakasendo trail from Narai and walk over Toritoge Pass to the next post town.


5 / WALK THE NAKASENDO: YABUHARA TO NARAI / best: April to November

Narai Post Town

This section of Nakasendo Trail runs 6 kilometers through the forest and connects the two post towns of Yabuhara and Narai. The path crosses over the Toritoge Pass, which is 1,197 meters at its highest point, and is well-maintained and shaded by plenty of trees. Look for stone haiku monuments featuring Basho’s poems and Buddhist statues along the way.


6 / AKASAWA NATURAL RECREATIONAL FOREST & OTAKI FOREST RAILWAY / best: April to November

kiso-valley

The Akasawa Natural Recreational Forest is considered one of the most beautiful in Japan and grows with hinoki cypress trees that are up to 300 years old. The Otaki Forest Railway train was originally built in 1916 to transport lumber as well as people and it still runs today purely for sightseeing. Walking the paths and taking the train through the forest is the perfect way to refresh yourself in nature.


7 / ATERA GORGE / all year round

kiso-Adera-Ravine-Valley

The road up Atera Gorge runs along a crystal-clear stream that reflects the light in beautiful aquamarine and emerald hues. There are several viewpoints along the road that allow you to see the gorge’s most breathtaking spots such as waterfall, deep cerulean-colored pools, and striking cliff faces. The gorge can be accessed all year round but is at its most spectacular from April to November.

atera-gorge-kiso

You can camp at the Atera Gorge Campground or walk a short hiking loop that takes through the gorge’s forest.


8 / KAKIZORE GORGE / all year round

kiso-kakizore-gorge-keikoku

With its stunning waterfalls, cerulean-emerald waters, and impressive rock formations, Kakizore Gorge is considered one of Kiso’s most beautiful spots. You can explore the gorge and its incredible sights by taking the nature trail from Junikane Station (pictured at the top of the page).


9 / NEZAME-NO-TOKO GORGE / all year round

kiso-nezamenotoko

Nezamenotoko is characterized by a huge slab of granite that has been carved down into a curious rock formation over thousands of years by the Kiso River. You can explore the gorge by climbing over the formation’s geometric boulders and blocks of stone. If you venture up to the top of the granite slab that sits in the center of the river, you will find a small Shinto shrine. Nezamenotoko is also a setting in the legend of Urashima Taro, one of Japan’s most well-known fairy tales.


10 / ONTAKE ROPEWAY / April to November

tour-banner

The Ontake Ropeway takes you up to the 2,150-meter point of Kiso’s Mt. Ontake, which boasts an elevation of 3,067 meters. From here, you can choose to continue to hike to the summit or simply enjoy the panoramic view of the surrounding mountains and highland flowers around the ropeway station. If you time it right, you can even get up above the clouds for an extraordinary scene! Please note, Mount Ontake is an active volcano and your personal safety should be your first priority. The Japan Meteorological Agency provides real-time advice and warnings for the entire country. Prior to visiting Ontake, we recommend checking the following website.


11 / ABURAGIBIRIN FOREST / all year round

kiso-ontake-aburagi-forest

This primeval forest, located in the foothills of Mt. Ontake, has been protected for hundreds of years and loved for its natural beauty. Along the nature trail that takes you through the forest, you will find trees that are over three centuries old, misty waterfalls, and beautiful greenery. The trail is also an excellent place to go bird-watching.


12 / KIYOTAKI & SHINTAKI FALLS / all year round

kiso-ontake-kodo

Mount Ontake has long been a spiritual haven and place of worship in the Kiso area. Both Kiyotaki and Shintaki Waterfalls were used by worshippers to purify themselves when making the pilgrimage to the mountain. Some people who are undergoing religious training still wash themselves in the falls to this day. The waterfalls are also sights of natural beauty and, in winter, they partially freeze into humongous ice formations.


13 / MOUNT ONTAKE KODO NATURE WORSHIP TOUR / April to November

kiso-ontake

Available from July until November, this immersive day-tour takes you along one of the pilgrimage trails of Ontake, deep into the tradition of Japan’s nature worship including visits to Kiyotaki and Shintaki Falls. Long considered sacred, Mount Ontake is Japan’s second tallest volcano – after Mount Fuji – and worshipped by adherents of the Shinto sect ‘Ontake Shinko’,with the most devote practitioners walking the ‘Ontake Kodo’ pilgrimage trails that run through the forests and past waterways and waterfalls of the mountain. Accompanied by an experienced local guide, the walk takes around 3 hours and is mostly downhill over mixed terrain and some raised walkways, suitable for anyone of reasonable fitness.


14 / MOUNT ONTAKE ROPEWAY & FOREST HIKING TOUR / April to November

kiso-ontake-aburagi-forest

Also available from July until November, this tour first ascends the Ontake Ropeway to the Iimori Kogen / 7th Station, 2180 metres above sea level. In the shadow of the summit, your guide will introduce you to the principles of Ontake Shinko and Japan’s long history of mountain worship before beginning your ascent down the mountain through the Aburai Birin forest trails and past shrines, stelae and natural features of devotion. Enjoying a traditional ‘bento’ (packed lunch along the way), the walk takes around 4 to 4.5 hours, is mostly downhill and is suitable for anyone of reasonable fitness.


15 / SHIRAKAWA ICE PILLARS / winter: late-December to late-February

Shirakawa Ice Pillars

This striking 250-meter-wide and 50-meter-high curtain of ice pillars forms as water precipitating from the rock face gradually freezes over the winter. The gigantic ice formation glows in a cool blue hue when the sun shines on it during the day and it is also illuminated at night, making for a mystically beautiful spectacle.


16 / MOMOSUKE BRIDGE / all year round

Momosuke Bridge

At 247 meters long, Momose Bridge is one of Japan’s longest wooden suspension bridges. This impressive structure was built in 1922 and reaches over the Kiso River near Nagiso Station. Strolling across the bridge offers you a wonderful view of the Kiso Valley and is a great way to use up the time as you wait for the next train.


17 / NARAI-JUKU ICE CANDLE FESTIVAL / February

narai-ice-candle-festival-fireworks

This warming winters festival lights up the cold night in Narai Post Town. The historic townscape of Narai is lined with hundreds of candles set in ice, giving the streets a magical glow. You can enjoy sake, mulled wine, and hot soups as you stroll around. The festival is topped off with a round of fireworks!


18 / ENJOY KISO ‘SOBA’ / all year round

kiso soba

With a climate well-suited for growing the buckwheat, ‘soba’ noodles have been eaten in the Kiso Valley for hundreds of years. In fact, Kiso is considered the origin of soba noodles in Japan and one of the best places to enjoy the dish to this day. You will find scores of delectable soba shops throughout the area, so make sure you try some during your visit.


19 / KOZEN-JI ROCK GARDEN / all year round

kozenji-kiso-fukushima

Kozenji Temple’s beautiful Zen-style rock garden, which spreads out before the backdrop of Kiso’s impressive mountains, is one of the largest in Asia. With its traditional architecture, peaceful gardens, and stunning seasonal views, the entire temple complex itself is an impressive conglomeration of Japanese aesthetics.


20 / LAKE SHIZENKO & OTAKI VILLAGE / best: April to November

kiso-ontake-shizenko

Lake Shizenko was formed in the deep forests of Mt. Ontake after an earthquake in 1984 caused a landslide that dammed up the Otaki River. You can enjoy this uncanny yet beautiful scenery with canoe tours offered by Ontake Adventure.


21 / ENJOY KISO’S WARMING ‘SAKE’ / all year round

sake-food-drink
tour-banner

With an abundant supply of natural water, the Kiso Valley has a long history of sake brewing. It boasts some of the oldest breweries in Nagano Prefecture like Yukawa Sake Brewery and Nishio Sake Brewery which have both been brewing since the 1600s. Try some sake while you’re in Kiso or grab a bottle as a souvenir!


22 / KISO WOODCRAFT / all year round

kiso-woodcraft-edit

The rich supply of high-quality wood from Kiso’s vast forests has cultivated a long tradition of fine wood craftsmanship in the area. Fine handcrafted products such as lacquerware, wooden combs, and bent-wood boxes can be found in family-run workshops in Narai and other places in the Kiso Valley. Many of the producers have been in business for multiple generations.


23 / WOODWORKING ACTIVITIES / all year round

kiso-narai-juku-post-town

Visitors wanting to try their hand a traditional woodcraft can do so at the Furusato Experience Center near Kiso-Fukushima, where you can join a short workshop to craft your own ‘hashi’ (chopsticks) using a hand-plane and guided by an instructor. Simple, great fun and you walk away with a nice memento of your time in Kiso and Japan.


24 / GOHEI MOCHI, HOBA LEAF CUISINE & OTHER TRADITIONAL FOOD / all year round

Hoba leaf mochi ほうば

While you are exploring Kiso, keep an eye out for the region’s unique, traditional foods. Gohei Mochi is a snack made by grilling sticky rice slathered with a sweet soy-miso sauce on a skewer. You may also find a variety of snacks and dishes that use leaves called “hoba” from the Japanese bigleaf magnolia tree. The leaves impart a subtly sweet and floral aroma on the food when used to wrap ingredients such as rice and mochi or when ingredients are grilled upon the leaves.


25 / MIKOSHI MAKURI FESTIVAL / July

kiso-kisofukushima

Many festivals in Japan involve carrying a ‘mikoshi’, a heavy, portable wooden shrine; throughout the town but the Mikoshi Makuri Festival has a unique twist; the mikoshi is tumbled across the ground (sometimes with people standing on it!), dropped from the air, and eventually destroyed. This exciting festival is held every year on July 22nd and 23rd in Kiso-Fukushima. There are also fireworks on the night of the 22nd. For accommodation listings in the town, see our ‘Kiso-Fukushima & Narai Area’ hotel page.

WHERE TO STAY WHEN VISITING KISO VALLEY & NAKASENDO


nakasendo-tsumago-banner-edit

The Kiso Valley runs north to south from the area around Shiojiri down to Nakatsugawa. Following the Kiso River and Limited Express Shinano line, the valley covers quite a large area with its many attractions spread-out over distance. Choosing the right area to stay is an important step to getting the most out of your time in the Kiso Valley and Nakasendo, and with that in mind, our ‘Where To Stay In The Kiso Valley & Nakasendo’ page breakdowns your options including the most convenient accommodation areas on offer.

HOW TO GET TO KISO VALLEY & NAKASENDO


Most visitors heading to the Kiso Valley and Nakasendo will do so using the train network. Running from Nagoya to Nagano, the Limited Express Shinano stops at Nakatsugawa Station and Kiso-Fukushima Station, making the area easy to access along one of Japan’s most scenic railway lines. For more information including detailed directions, see our ‘How To Get To The Kiso Valley & Nakasendo’ page.

BOOK WITH US! NAGANO’S NO.1 TOUR & CHARTER OPERATOR


snow-monkey-resorts-vehicles-bus
tour-banner

Based in Nagano and operating all year round, we are a No.1-rated tour and charter operator, offering a range of services including accommodation, transport and tours throughout the region. We have the local knowledge of where and when to go, to help you discover and enjoy the Kiso Valley in comfort. For guests wanting to access the resorts in the comfort of their own transport, we can arrange a private tour or charter customised to fit your needs, starting and ending at any destination in the region.

smr-vehicles-bus-charter-hiace

Our drivers and vehicles are fully certified, allowing us to transport you to and from your preferred destinations, in combination with any activity that suits your interests and schedule including transport to and from any ski resort in the region.

394-Hi-Ace-Charter-Bus

All vehicles are fitted with a protective screen – separating the driver from passenger and luggage area – and our drivers wear protective masks, allowing you to move between your destinations in comfort and safety.

nakasendo-trail-narai-tour-guests

We can arrange both private tours with an English-speaking guide or a private charter, including a private vehicle and driver but without a guide. We’d love to be part of that experience and help you discover even more!

Why choose us?

Awarded a 2019 TripAdvisor Travelers’ Choice Award for our 1-Day Snow Monkeys, Zenko-ji Temple & Sake Tour – recognised as one of the Top 10 Experiences in Japan – we have the local knowledge and experience to help you get the most out of your time in Central Japan.

Got a question about visiting the Kiso Valley and Central Japan? Contact us at snowmonkeyresorts@machinovate.com and let’s get planning together!

Kiso Valley & Nakasendo

TOURS

ACTIVITIES

HOTELS

EVENTS

BLOG

Recommended Spring/Summer Tours

Ski & Snowboard Deals 2021/2022

Recommended Hotels

Clean Green & Healthy Travel

Things to Do

Inquiry