DESTINATIONS
05. 長野市
春天和夏天在長野要做的10件事

春天和夏天在長野要做的10件事

Kamikochi

長野是1998年冬季奧運會的主辦地,擁有約80個滑雪勝地,被稱為冬季勝地。雖然在寒冷的季節中,該地區當然有很多可以提供的東西,但在春季和夏季,有很多事情要做,並且有很多原因。因此,我們建議在長野縣做以下10件事:

櫻花與猴寶寶

就花朵而言,這純粹是春天。在日本被稱為“櫻花”的春天,在櫻花的粉紅色和白色冠層之下游盪也許是典型的日本經歷。由於該地區海拔較高,長野縣的花朵會盛開得很晚。雖然每個季節都不同,但您可以期望它們在4月初至4月中旬處於最佳狀態。

大約在同一時間,地獄谷雪猴公園的準媽媽們將開始生下可愛的嬰兒。目睹這些笨拙的毛皮束,用長長的四肢和玻璃狀的眼睛,開始對世界的第一次絆腳石,這是春天的真正亮點。

我們的長野一日遊猴子和櫻花之旅是一年中最受歡迎的之旅之一。結合早上對猴子的遊覽-您可能會看到該季節的第一個嬰兒-以及午餐和下午的賞花之旅,這比其他所有旅行都使長野縣表現得淋漓盡致!

snow-monkey

小猴子通常出生於4月中旬至6月中旬,很快就會自信成長,到了夏天,到了夏天,在公園裡到處亂跑,試圖跟上他們的兄弟姐妹和堂兄弟姐妹。

可以說,這是參觀猴子公園的最佳時機之一!

立山黑部阿爾卑斯山脈路線的雪牆

立山-黑部阿爾卑斯山脈路線的雪牆是日本最具標誌性的景觀之一,令人矚目。整個冬季都無法通行,每年春天都會在大雪中刻出一條路,導致高聳的雪牆(高達20米)聳立在道路上方。

可以從扇沢駅站(在山的長野那邊)或立山站(在富山那邊)通過不同的高山運輸路線進入。到達山頂是體驗的全部內容,尤其是從扇沢駅站出發,您將乘坐地下無軌電車,索道和纜車到達日本最高的車站室堂駅。

到達那里後,您可以自由地走在雪牆下或降雪處的一小片土地上,尋找“雷喬”(岩爆)–一種居住在山上的鳥,是諸神的使者。這些好奇的鳥類無休止地受到人類的威脅,沒有受到威脅,如果您找到一隻,它們就是奇妙而幸運的景象!

如果您想體驗立山黑部阿爾卑斯山脈之路的奇觀,那麼我們的一日遊是一個不錯的選擇。在以英語為母語的嚮導的帶領下,我們將您帶回那裡,並確保您在“日本屋頂”上獲得最大的收穫。

戸隠神社

戸隠神社靠近長野市,可乘坐公共巴士到達-從JR長野站大約需要1個小時-但遠離城市的現代性。是日本一些最重要的神道聖地的所在地,也是一所重要的忍術學校的誕生地–沒錯,真正的忍者! – 戸隠神社是一個美麗而寧靜的度假勝地,毗鄰長野市。

Togakushi shrine okusha

神道教作為日本的本土宗教,是日本人民的信仰,思想和文化的基礎。與日本的起源故事息息相關的戸隠神社具有特別重要的意義。遍布森林的神社可以沿著小路漫步,而“ Okusha”神社或上層神社則通過巨大的雪松大道進入。

戸隠流忍者博物館位於Okusha附近,展示了圍繞著12世紀戸隠神社的忍術本地戸隠流學校的民間傳說。忍者屋是一處陷阱重重的建築,您必須從中找到出路,這是任何參觀活動的亮點-成人和兒童同樂!

對於兒童和家庭來說,赤壁忍者村位於“楚莎”或中間神社附近,其中包括兒童冒險課程和打扮成忍者的機會。沿著戸隠神社忍者步道追尋過去,發現內心的忍者!

上高地

上高地距長野市2.5小時路程,是一座迷人的上高地山谷-位於中部山岳國家公園的南端,海拔1400至1600米。隨著北日本阿爾卑斯山脈的海拔上升到3000米以上,上高地被認為是真正的高山綠洲,以其原始的性格和出色的遠足和登山而聞名。

kamikochi

上高地在冬季無法進入,於4月15日對公眾開放,一直開放到11月15日。儘管前往長野市相對較近,但進入上高地需要使用多種交通工具,因此有組織的遊覽對於尋求輕鬆,愉快和信息豐富的遊客來說是一個不錯的選擇。

上高地被認為是中部三岳國家公園的瑰寶,可以說是日本最好的戶外體驗之一。我們的為期1天的松本城堡和神高知高山峽谷之旅從5月到10月進行,是結合該地區兩個最具標誌性的目的地的好方法。

節日和煙花

被稱為“節慶”的日本人熱愛節日,而在日本,只有不到一周的時間,節慶不會慶祝一件事情或另一件事。節慶是這裡生活的基本組成部分,是朋友,家人和社區相聚的機會。節慶全年發生,但夏季最頻繁。

在一年中最溫暖的月份來到長野的遊客將享受以下節日和焰火表演。長野園節於每年7月的第二個星期日在該市已有1400年曆史的善光寺舉行,包括傳統活動和表演以及無處不在的美食攤。

Gion Festival, Nagano

長野賓頭盧舞蹈節於每年八月的第一個星期六舉行,是該市最大的節慶。該音樂節的歷史可以追溯到1971年,看到無數舞蹈團以極大的熱情和喧囂在城市的主要通道中移動。

飯綱山火季節將於8月10日舉行。一個愉快而又非常本地化的節日,在燃起大型篝火之後達到高潮,之後是傳統音樂和舞蹈,最後以約2000支煙火表演結束。

Iizuna Fire Festival, Nagano

說到煙火,安曇野煙火節於8月14日舉行,其中包括令人印象深刻的12000煙火。另一個真正的本地,愉快而又熱鬧的夏季節日。是否想參加旅行,讓我們照顧一下行程?我們的1天安曇野煙花節和雪猴之旅可能正是您想要的!

9月27日,一年一度的安曇野煙火節再次變得喧鬧。該節日每年9月舉行,是對農村社區神話起源的熱情洋溢的慶祝活動,在當地居民攜帶和招架的兩艘船之間進行的史詩般的戰鬥中達到了高潮。在長野之旅中,我們舉辦了一日雪猴和本地O-Fune節,這是我們的另一項獨特活動。

11月23日,當長野惠比壽湖煙火節用超過15000煙火照亮夜空時,事情變得非常嚴峻–驚人的表演每年吸引超過40萬名遊客!

引導人群很難!我們的惠比壽湖煙花與雪猴一日遊包括在活動中預留的位子以及往返於JR長野站的交通。

體驗善光寺的傳統與傳承

長野的善光寺日本最古老,規模最大,最重要的佛教寺廟之一。這座寺廟是奉獻給日本最古老的佛教雕像而建,是該地區的精神心臟。這座寺廟建於642年,直到今天,仍然保留著現在隱藏在人眼之外的雕像。

Zenko-ji temple in Nagano city

這座寺廟全年開放,被認為是日本最開放和熱情的寺廟之一,每天都舉行晨禱。歡迎有任何信仰的遊客參加儀式,並得到寺廟的總和尚和尼姑的祝福。

O-asaji morning service at Zenko-ji Temple

對於想要在寺廟中獲取信息和享受愉悅體驗的客人,我們的一日雪猴,善光寺和清酒之旅將導遊陪同參觀寺廟與下午午後前往地獄谷雪猴公園的行程結合在一起。一種將您的訪問變成真實體驗的好方法!

該寺廟還可應要求提供包括“戈馬”祈禱(開火儀式),書法禪宗體驗的體驗。

寺廟附近的天井露台是長野風景如畫的一角,幾個“庫拉”(傳統倉庫)已經改建為品酒場所,手工藝品作坊,咖啡廳,餐館等。講習班包括摺紙傳統造紙水木之作及更多–面向兒童和成人的有趣活動。

在該地區,我們建議您選擇Monzen Terrace Enya。這家受歡迎而友好的餐廳在室內和室外用餐的同時提供日本和西方美食。在溫暖的月份,可以利用恩雅(Enya)的戶外露台,這是一個消磨時間,消磨時光,暢談的好地方。

當地美食

長野是日本真正的食物碗之一。長野縣以其巨大的蘋果和葡萄而聞名,以其優質的產品而聞名。長野的水果和蔬菜得天獨厚,風景宜人,擁有豐富的風味。

但是,如果不伴以美酒,那是一頓美餐!長野縣還是日本第二大生產“日本酒”的企業,其精釀啤酒市場越來越受歡迎。因此,隨著溫度升高,是時候到戶外走走了!

monzen-terrace-enya

如前所述,Monzen Terrace Enya是該市最受歡迎的餐廳之一。每年夏天,Enya都會在其夏季啤酒花園中充分利用其戶外用餐和露台。提供自由流動的啤酒和各種各樣的壽司,烤肉和海鮮,以及大量的西式主食,沒有比這更好的享受夏日炎熱的地方了。

monzen-terrace-enyamonzen-terrace-enya

長野縣還以蕎麥麵聞名,在溫暖的夏季尤其清淡爽口。這個城市和更廣闊的地區擁有數不勝數的蕎麥麵餐廳,但是如果您想直接前往源頭,那麼前往附近的戸隠神社和松本城(更遠的地方)的一日遊非常值得,尤其是如果您想嘗試自己製作自己蕎麥麵!

對於想要嘗試製作蕎麥麵的遊客,我們的松本城堡一日遊和當地美食體驗之旅包括講英語的蕎麥麵製作經驗,並參觀大山芥末農場,亀田屋酒造店和松本城堡。

松本城

松本城堡是日本僅存的幾座原始城堡之一,並且是已註冊的國寶,是該地區最具標誌性的景點之一。城堡距離松本站步行15-20分鐘,很容易到達城堡,是長野市一日遊的絕佳去處。

上鏡的城堡既漂亮又有趣,為遊客提供了進入內部的機會,並且(他們希望)一直爬到六層樓的頂層。

松本市是一個令人愉悅,輕鬆的城市,擁有繁榮的藝術氛圍以及眾多就餐選擇。在城堡附近,歷史悠久的街道保存完好,建築物被改建為餐館,咖啡館,美術館,啤酒廠等。中町街和(青蛙街)位於車站和城堡之間,使您可以在城市中悠閒漫步,春季,夏季或秋季體驗最佳

在溫泉中放鬆身心

長野是遍布整個地區的眾多“溫泉”(天然溫泉)的所在地。的確,地獄谷雪猴公園的溫泉猴是該地區最著名的大使,他們期望在長野縣跟隨自己的足跡嘗試溫泉。

裾花峽是長野市唯一的溫泉。這個寬敞而舒適的溫泉包括隔離的公共浴場和休閒區,以及咖啡廳和餐廳。嚴格來講,不允許有紋身的客人進入,但是,如果您能夠借助創可貼覆蓋任何人體藝術,歡迎您進入並欣賞。距JR長野站(JR Nagano Station)步行約25分鐘,也可以使用從車站或私人出租車乘坐免費班車的方式到達溫泉。

對於前往猴子的客人來說,上林溫泉,湯田中溫泉和澀溫泉是眾多擁有自己溫泉的旅館的所在地。我們推薦的是仙壽閣酒店。仙壽閣以其令人陶醉的溫泉和出色的“懷石料理”(傳統的多道菜)用餐服務而聞名,為想要充分享受日式溫泉體驗的客人提供無與倫比的體驗。

長野市以外的另一個絕佳選擇是山田溫泉,它坐落在風景如畫的松川山谷中的古樸溫泉村。對於前往山田溫泉的遊客,我們推薦藤井荘,這是另一家出色的傳統旅館,以其豪華的溫泉,啟發性的餐飲服務以及日式和西式設計的時尚融合而聞名。

戶外活動和活動–長野縣的綠色季節運動

長野縣以其壯觀的山脈,出色的積雪和眾多的滑雪勝地而聞名,可以與北海道一起成為日本的兩個主要冬季運動勝地之一。但是這些山一樣大,在綠色季節更容易到達,這使綠色季節運動成為我們在春季和夏季進行活動的最終建議!

來自長野市的戸隠神社,野澤溫泉,斑尾,志賀高原和白馬的山脈都提供了向上抬頭並逃脫下面山谷熱的機會。白馬迅速成為日本領先的綠色季節運動勝地,提供出色的遠足,越野跑,山地自行車,(站立式划水)等功能!

白馬位於日本北部的阿爾卑斯山或“飛騨山脈,”,為您提供遠足和登山等出色的高山體驗。步道從悠閒漫步到需要數週才能完成的專業活動不等。坐落在同一山脈中,上高地立山黑部是任何狂熱遠足者的兩個亮點。

野澤溫泉在綠色季節還可以享受一系列活動,越野跑和瑜伽等運動在國際遊客和日本遊客中都很受歡迎。騎自行車往返野澤是另一個不錯的選擇,這裡有一條風景特別的公路,穿過茂密的森林通往志賀高原。

Hiking Shiga-kogen Highlands

志賀高原坐落在上信越高原國家公園內,在綠色季節提供奇妙的遠足,騎自行車和自然攝影。志賀高原被公認為聯合國教科文組織生物多樣性保護區,這裡是獨特而重要的動植物的棲息地-自然愛好者的天堂。

grand-phenix-okushigagrand-phenix-okushiga

在志賀住宿時,我們推薦Hotel Grand PhenixGrand Phenix位於奧志賀,在國家公園最美麗的地區之一提供古老的舒適感,特色和服務。美食,輕鬆的公共浴池,寬敞的休息室和室內游泳池只是這些酒店的特色,這些都使Hotel Grand Phenix成為我們在志賀高原的首選。

DESTINATIONS
05. NAGANO CITY
10 Things to Do in Nagano in Spring & Summer

10 Things to Do in Nagano in Spring & Summer

Kamikochi

As host of the 1998 Winter Olympics and home to around 80 ski resorts, Nagano is known as a winter destination. While the region certainly has a lot to offer during the colder months, there’s just as much to do and just as many reasons to visit in spring and summer.

zenkoji-temple

With that, we recommend the following 10 things to do while in Nagano:

 

Cherry Blossom & Baby Monkeys

 

In terms of blossoms, this one is purely spring. Known as ‘sakura’ in Japan, wandering below the pink and white canopy of the cherry blossoms in spring is perhaps the quintessential Japanese experience. The beautiful blossoms bloom late in Nagano due to the region’s higher altitude, and while each season is different, you can expect the flowers to be at their best from early to mid-April.

Around the same time, the expecting mothers of the Jigokudani Snow Monkey Park will begin to give birth to the years adorable babies. Witnessing these awkward bundles of fur, with their long limbs and glassy eyes, begin their first stumbling exploration of the world is a true highlight of spring.

Our 1-Day Snow Monkeys & Cherry Blossoms in Nagano Tour is one of our most popular tours of the year. Combining a morning visit to the monkeys – you just might see that first baby of the season – with lunch and afternoon of blossom-viewing, this above all of other tours showcases Nagano at its best!

snow-monkey

Typically born from mid-April until mid-June, the baby monkeys grow in confidence quickly, and by summer and scurrying around the park trying to keep up with their brothers, sisters, and cousins.

snow-monkey-baby-jigokudani

We can honestly say, this is one of the best times to visit the monkey park!

 

Snow Walls of the Tateyama-Kurobe Alpine Route

 

One of Japan’s most iconic landscapes, the Snow Walls of the Tateyama-Kurobe Alpine Route are a sight to behold. Inaccessible through winter, a road is carved through the massive snowfall each spring resulting in immense snow walls – up to 20 meters in height – towering above the road.

Access to the route is via different alpine transports from Ogisawa Station (on the Nagano-side of the mountain) or Tateyama Station (on the Toyama-side). Reaching the summit is all part of the experience, especially from Ogisawa Station, as your ride subterranean trolley buses, a rope ways, and cable cars to reach Murodo, the highest station in Japan.

Once there you are free to walk beneath the snow walls or a little field over the snowfall in search of a ‘raicho’ (rock ptarmgain) – a mountain-dwelling bird consider messengers of the gods. Endlessly curious and non-threatened by the presence of humans, these curious birds are a wonderful and lucky sight should you find one!

If you’d like to experience the wonder of the Tateyama-Kurobe Alpine Route, our 1-day tour is a great option. Led by an English-speaking guide, we transport you there and back and ensure you get the most out of your time on ‘The Roof of Japan’.

tateyama-kurobe-snow-walls

For further details, please see our ‘Tateyama-Kurobe Alpine Route’ page.

 

Togakushi

 

Closer to Nagano City, Togakushi is accessible by public bus – taking approximately 1 hour from Nagano Station – but a world away from the modernity of the city. Home to some of the most important Shinto shrines in Japan and the birthplace of an important school of ninjitsu – that’s right, real ninjas! – Togakushi is a beautiful and tranquil getaway right next to Nagano City.

Togakushi shrine okusha

As the native religion of Japan, Shintoism is fundamental to the beliefs, thinking and culture of the Japanese people. Closely related to the origin stories of Japan the shrines of Togakushi hold special importance. Spread across a forested area, the shrines can be walked between along trails with the ‘Okusha’ or Upper Shrine accessed via an avenue of giant cedars.

Nearby the Okusha, the Togakure Ninja Museum showcases the folklore surrounding the local Togakure school of ninjitsu that in Togakushi in the 12th century. The Ninja House, a trap-laden building from which you must find your way out, is a highlight of any visit – equally fun for adults and kids!

For kids and families, the Chibiko Ninja Mura (Kids Ninja Village) is located nearby the ‘Chusha’ or Middle Shrine and includes adventure courses for kids and the chance to dress-up as a ninja. Follow the Togakushi Ninja Trail into the past and discover your inner ninja!

 

Kamikochi

 

Located 2.5 hours from Nagano City, Kamikochi is a stunning alpine valley – located between 1400 to 1600 metres above sea level – at the southern end of the Chubu Sangaku National Park. With mountains of the North Japan Alps rising to 3000 metres above, Kamikochi is considered a true alpine oasis known for its pristine character and outstanding hiking and mountaineering.

kamikochi

Inaccessible through winter, Kamikochi opens to the public on April 15th and remains open until November 15th. Though relatively close to Nagano City, accessing Kamikochi requires use of multiple forms of transport making an organised tour a great option for visitors seeking an easy, enjoyable and informative as possible.

Considered the jewel of the Chubu Sangaku National Park, Kamikochi can truly be spoken of as one of Japan’s best outdoor experiences. Our 1-Day Matsumoto Castle & Kamikochi Alpine Valley Tour runs from May until October, a great way to combine two of the region’s most iconic destinations.

 

Festivals & Fireworks

 

Known as ‘matsuri’, Japanese love a festival and barely a week goes by in Japan without a matsuri celebrating one thing or another. A fundamental part of life here, matsuri are a chance for friends, families and communities to come together. Matsuri occur throughout the year but are most frequent in summer.

Visitors coming to Nagano through the warmer months of the year will enjoy the following festival and fireworks displays. The Nagano Gion Festival takes place of the second Sunday every July at the city’s near-1400 year old Zenko-ji Temple and includes traditional events and performances and ubiquitous food stands.

Gion Festival, Nagano

Taking place on the first Saturday every August, the Nagano Binzuru Dance Festival is the city’s largest matsuri. Dating back to 1971, the festival sees numerous dance groups moving down the main thoroughfare of the city with great enthusiasm and noise.

Iizuna Fire Festival takes places on August 10th. An enjoyable and very local festival which climaxes with the burning of a large bonfire preceded by traditional music and dancing and ending with a display of around 2000 fireworks.

Iizuna Fire Festival, Nagano

Speaking of fireworks, the Azumino Fireworks Festival is held on August 14th and includes an impressive 12000 fireworks. Another truly local, enjoyable, and boisterous summer festival. Want to join a tour and let us take care of the planning? Our 1-Day Azumino Fireworks Festival & Snow Monkeys Tour might just be what you’re looking for!

On September 27th, things get raucous again with the annual Azumino O-Fune Matsuri. Taking place each year in September, the festival is a spirited and raucous celebration of the rural community’s mythical origins which climaxes with an epic battle between two ships, carried and parried by local residents – another unique event we have covered with our 1-Day Snow Monkeys & Local O-Fune Festival in Nagano Tour.

Things get very serious on November 23rd when the Nagano Ebisu-ko Fireworks Festival illuminates the night sky with more than 15000 fireworks – a stunning display which attracts more than 400,00 visitors each year!

Navigating the crowds can be tough! Our 1-Day Ebisu-ko Fireworks & Snow Monkey Tour includes reserved seating at the event and transport to and from JR Nagano Station.

 

Experience the Tradition & Heritage of Zenko-ji

 

Nagano’s Zenko-ji Temple is one of the oldest, largest and most important Buddhist temples in Japan. Built in dedication to the oldest known Buddhist statue in Japan, the temple is spiritual heart of the region. The temple was established in 642 and to this day, continues to house the statue now hidden from human eyes.

Zenko-ji temple in Nagano city

The temple is accessible throughout the year and is regarded as one of the most open and welcoming temples in Japan, offering a morning ceremony everyday. Visitors of any faith are welcome to attend the ceremony and be blessed by the head monk and nun of the temple.

zenkoji-temple

For guests wanting an information and enjoyable experience at the temple, our 1-Day Snow Monkeys, Zenko-ji Temple & Sake Tour combines a guided visit to the temple with an early afternoon trip to the Jigokudani Snow Monkey Park. A great way to turn your visit into a real experience!

guide-david-zenkoji-temple

The temple also offers experience including ‘goma’ prayer (fire ceremony), calligraphy and zazen experiences upon request.

Nearby the temple, Patio Daimon is a picturesque corner of Nagano where several ‘kura’ (traditional warehouses) have been converted for use as sake tasting venues, crafts workshops, cafés, restaurants and more. Workshops include origami, traditional paper-making, mizuhiki and more – fun activities for both children and adults.

While in the area, we recommend Monzen Terrace Enya. This popular and friendly restaurant serves both Japanese and Western cuisine with both indoor and outdoor dining. In the warmer months take advantage of Enya’s outdoor terrace – a great place to eat, drink and talk the day away.

 

Local Food & Drink

 

Nagano is one of the true food bowls of Japan. Most famous for its huge apples, grapes, and peaches Nagano is renowned for the quality of its produce. Blessed with fertile a landscape and agreeable alpine climate, the fruit and vegetables of Nagano are known for their size and delicious flavours.

But what’s a good meal when not accompanied by a good drink! Nagano is also Japan’s second largest producer of ‘nihonshu’ (sake) with an increasingly popular craft beer scene. So as the temperature rises it’s time to get outdoors and get amongst it!

monzen-terrace-enya

Monzen Terrace Enya is one of the city’s most popular restaurants. Each summer, Enya makes full use of its outdoor dining and terrace with their summer beer garden. Offering free-flow beer and a great array of sushi, grilled meats and seafood, and plenty of Western staples, there’s no better place to enjoy the summer heat.

monzen-terrace-enyamonzen-terrace-enya

Nagano is also known for its soba (buckwheat noodles), especially light and refreshing in the warm summer months. The city and wider region boasts countless soba restaurants but if you want to go right to the source, day trips to nearby Togakushi and Matsumoto City (a little further afield) are well-worth it particularly if you want to try your hand at making your own soba!

For visitors wanting to try their hand at making soba, our 1-Day Matsumoto Castle & Local Food Experience Tour includes an English-speaking soba-making experience, in combination with a visit to Daio Wasabi Farm, Kametaya Sake Brewery and Matsumoto Castle.

 

Matsumoto Castle

 

One of the few remaining original castles in Japan and a registered National Treasure, Matsumoto Castle is one of the region’s most iconic attractions. Located 15 to 20 minutes walk from Mastumoto Station, the castle is readily accessible and makes for a great day trip from Nagano City.

The photogenic castle is as interesting as it is pretty, affording visitors the chance to go inside and (should they wish to) climb all the way to the top of its six storeys.

Matsumoto is an enjoyable, relaxed city with a thriving arts scene along with great dining options. Nearby the castle, historic streets have been well-preserved with buildings converted for use as restaurants, cafes, galleries, beer breweries and more. Nakamichi Street and Kaeru Michi (Frog Street) are positioned between the station and the castle, making for an enjoyable stroll through the city, best experienced in spring, summer or autumn

 

Relax & Unwind in an Onsen

 

Nagano is home to numerous “onsen” (natural hot springs), scattered throughout the region. Indeed the hot spring-bathing monkeys of the Jigokudani Snow Monkey Park are the region’s most famous ambassadors and expect nothing less than while in Nagano, you follow their lead and try an onsen.

Uruoikan is Nagano City’s only onsen. This large and comfortable hot spring includes segregated public baths and relaxation area along with a café and restaurant. Strictly speaking, guests with visible tattoos are not permitted access however if you are able to cover any body art with a band aid, you are welcome to enter and enjoy. Located approximately 25 minutes walk from Nagano Station, the onsen can also be reached using their free shuttle bus from the station or private taxi.

For guests headed to the monkeys, Kanbayashi Onsen, Yudanaka Onsen and Shibu Onsen are home to numerous guesthouses with their own hot springs. Our recommendation in the are is Hotel Senjukaku. Known for its indulgent hot spring and outstanding ‘kaiseki’ (traditional multicourse) meal service, Senjakuku offers an unmatched experience for guests wanting to the full Japanese onsen experience.

Another great option outside of Nagano City, Yamada Onsen is a quaint hot spring village nestled in the picturesque Matsukawa Valley. For visitors headed to Yamada Onsen, we recommend Fujiiso – another outstanding traditional guesthouse known for its luxurious hot springs, inspired meal service and stylish blend of Japanese and Western design.

 

Get Outdoors & Get Active – Green Season Sports in Nagano

 

Known for its dramatic mountains, outstanding snow and numerous ski resorts, Nagano can lay claim – along with Hokkaido – to being one of Japan’s two premier winter sports destinations. But those mountains are just as big and even more accessible in green season making green season sports our final recommendation for things to do in spring and summer!

From Nagano City, the mountains of Togaksuhi, Nozawa Onsen, Madarao, Shiga Kogen and Hakuba all offer the chance to head up high and escape of the heat of the valley below. Hakuba is quickly establishing itself as Japan’s leading green season sports destinations offering fantastic hiking, trail running, mountain-biking, SUP (standup paddling) and more!

Located in the North Japan Alps or ‘Hida Mountains’, Hakuba offers an outstanding alpine experience including hiking and mountaineering. Trails range from leisurely strolls to expert undertakings taking weeks to complete. Nestled in the same mountain range, Kamikochi and Tateyama-Kurobe are two highlights for any avid hiker.

Nozawa Onsen is also enjoying a burst of activity in green season, with sports including trail running and yoga proving popular with both international visitors and Japanese. Cycling to and from Nozawa is another great option, with a particularly scenic backroad through heavy forest leading to Shiga Kogen.

Hiking Shiga-kogen Highlands

Nestled in the Joshinetsu Kogen National Park, Shiga Kogen offers fantastic hiking, cycling and nature photography through the green season. Recognised as a UNESCO Biodiversity Reserve, Shiga Kogen is home to unique and important plants and animals – a paradise of nature lovers.

grand-phenix-okushigagrand-phenix-okushiga

When staying in Shiga, we recommend Hotel Grand Phenix. Located in Okushiga, Grand Phenix offers old-world comfort, character and service in one of the most picturesque areas of the national park. Fine dining, relaxing public baths, spacious lounge and indoor swimming pool are just some of the features that make Hotel Grand Phenix our recommendation when staying in Shiga Kogen.

 

tour-banner