DESTINATIONS
01. 雪猴公園
關於雪猴常問問題

關於雪猴常問問題

8127200376_1a357dd805_o

下面就為大家解答關於地獄谷雪猴園的常見問題。分為兩個部分。

1.關於參觀公園的常見問題

2.關於猴子的常見問題

我們希望這些信息能幫助您計劃好您的遊覽時間,並為您的遊覽增添樂趣。請記住,我們的 “雪猴公園信息 “頁面提供了關於開放時間、入園費用、門票價格、參觀信息等方面的所有信息。同時,我們的 “地獄谷雪猴公園 “活動頁面也為您提供了一些有用的提示和信息,幫助您享受公園和附近景點的樂趣。

現在,讓我們一起跳到問題中去吧!

1.關於遊園的常見問題

雪猴公園和地獄谷雪猴公園是一回事嗎?


是的,這個公園的正式名稱是”地獄谷八仙園”或”地獄谷雪猴公園”,但由於猴子在雪地裡的生存能力強,在雪地裡生存和茁壯成長,所以通常被稱為雪猴公園。所以不必混淆。它們是一回事。

公園是否每天都開放?


是的,公園全年每天都開放*,但由於天氣狀況、光照時間和猴子的季節性行為等因素,公園的開放時間會在冬季和其他時間段有所不同。 11月至3月,公園對公眾開放時間為09:00至16:00。4月至10月,開放時間延長至08:30至17:00。

* 雪猴公園每週7天開放,沒有固定的節假日。如遇大雪或猴子不在時,公園可能會暫時關閉。

猴子們每天都會來公園嗎,包括冬季以外的時間嗎?


猴子們一年四季都會來公園,而不只是在冬季。公園位於這群猴子的領地半徑範圍內,這意味著來公園是它們日常活動的一部分。此外,公園的護林員會鼓勵它們每天帶著少量的食物來公園,關於為什麼要這樣做的原因,請看我們的 “地獄谷雪猴公園的歷史 “頁面。猴群被稱為”雪猴”,因為它們在冬天的深處生活和生長的能力是出了名的,但是不要被這句話誤導了,它們在春、夏、秋三季都能在公園裡生活,一年四季都能來公園

值得注意的是,猴子是野生的。沒有任何障礙迫使它們留在公園裡,這意味著它們可以自由地來去自如。因此,偶爾有可能在某一天只有少數猴子會來公園,或者很少有猴子來公園,也有可能根本沒有。雖然這種情況可能會發生,但並不常見,最典型的情況是在秋季,此時山中的野果和堅果的豐收,以及交配季節,會讓猴子們心神不寧。

入場費是多少錢,在哪裡買票?


入園費用如下:成人(18歲以上)800日元/兒童(6~17歲)400日元/0~5歲的嬰兒免費。門票在公園入口處的森林步道盡頭購買。在JR長野站的長野電鐵售票窗口購買的 “雪猴2日通票“,可免票入園。請注意,此通行證不能在地府谷猴公園購買。

我可以和猴子一起洗泡溫泉嗎?


不可以,公園裡的溫泉只有猴子才能泡。如果您想和猴子一起泡溫泉的話,可以到附近的 “地獄谷溫泉 “去試試運氣。猴子們也有可能在露天溫泉中和你一起泡溫泉(但我們不能保證衛生狀況)。

我可以餵食、抱著或觸摸猴子嗎?


不可以。在任何情況下,公園的遊客都不允許餵食、持有或觸摸猴子。本公園首先是一個保護和研究設施。請確保您在任何時候都要遵守公園的規則–詳見我們的 “雪猴公園一般信息 “頁面

我可以拍照和錄像嗎?


可以,歡迎你為猴子拍照和錄像。請注意,猴子是野生動物,請給它們足夠的空間,讓它們自由活動。另外請注意,不允許使用閃光燈拍攝和水下攝影(即將攝影器材放入溫泉中)。使用專業攝影、攝像器材,需事先徵得公園同意後才能使用。

公園附近有餐廳和其他設施嗎?


是的,公園位於上林溫泉,是一個小溫泉村,有幾家旅館、餐廳和咖啡館、公共廁所、公共停車場和公共汽車站。飲食不能從沿途的餐廳或咖啡館帶著食物和飲料進入公園。這樣做很可能會引起猴子的注意,它們也會很快從你這裡拿走食物和飲料。請確保任何食物都放在包裡,不能被猴子看到。水是可以的,但盡量避免在猴子麵前喝水,以免引起他們的注意。

enzacafe

從小路步行幾分鐘就能到達的Enza 咖啡廳,提供豐富的日餐和西餐,包括外賣窗口,供遊客在遊玩前或遊玩後享用。再往山下走一點,就是有160年曆史的傳統老宅子的 “穂垂亭”,在這裡可以品嚐到美味的日本料理。

如何進入公園?

通過1.6公里/1英里的森林步道進入公園。這條小徑大多是平坦的,維護良好。在冬季以外的地方,大多數遊客步行大約需要20到25分鐘(雙向)。在冬季,由於冰雪的影響,步行約需30至40分鐘。雖然這條小徑大部分是平坦的,但在開始時有一個20米的斜坡,在到達公園入口時,有一個陡峭的台階和上行的小路。對於行動不便或坐著輪椅的遊客來說,這幾段小路是有問題的。另外,需要注意的是,在冬季或大雨天,山路可能會出現泥濘不堪的情況,很可能無法使用輪椅。

Snow-monkey-info-and-gift-shop-in-winter

我們的 “關於雪猴公園徒步旅行的信息 “頁面提供了更多信息,幫助您做好準備。請務必考慮到您的安全,並確保您對冬季可能出現的冰雪天氣做好準備。

在公園裡沒有合適的鞋類或衣服/需要幫助?


我們已經為您準備好了! 位於公園入口旁的Snow Monkey Resorts信息及禮品店,是遊客們不能錯過的地方。 Snow Monkey Resorts信息及禮品店提供一系列的服務,包括冬季租車、英語信息、行李寄存、雪猴度假區官方產品等猴子商品和紀念品。

snow-monkey-resorts-info-and-gift-shop

開放時間為10月初至5月下旬,上午9點至下午5點,會說英語的工作人員可以回答您的疑問,包括公交車時刻表和附近景點的信息。

2.關於猴子的常見問題

雪猴為何如此出名?


雖然在日本本州島的主島上到處都有獼猴,而且在猴子公園周圍的山地上也有許多獼猴的隊伍,但這支隊伍的顯著特點是在溫泉中泡溫泉–這是世界上唯一的猴子。這隻猴子在20世紀50年代被山田智夫用相機拍下,1970年,他們的照片出現在《生活》雜誌的封面上,從此名聲大噪。

現在,公園吸引了來自世界各地的遊客,他們在近乎自然的環境中觀察這些好奇而聰明的動物。雖然在冬季,它們更多的是泡在溫泉里,而且時間更長,但正是因為它們的集體性格和迷人的日常行為,使得公園在一年中的任何時候都是一個受歡迎的地方。這些都是令人喜愛的動物,在它們身上,你會發現它們的生活習慣和模式與我們並不相差太多,因此,參觀公園的體驗往往被認為是日本之行的一大亮點,也是獨一無二的難忘的部分。

日本獼猴是一種什麼樣的動物?


在現有的180種猴類中,原生的日本獼猴被稱為世界上最北方的非人類野生靈長類動物。大多數非人靈長類動物往往生活在熱帶或亞熱帶地區,而高智商、適應性強的獼猴也不例外,在日本本州主島–從南方的亞熱帶九州到寒冷的長野等地的冰天雪地,都能找到它們的身影。

snow-monkey

獼猴在日本確實很常見,但在雪猴公園內和周圍居住的猴群卻因為一個獨特的原因而聞名於世,它們是世界上唯一喜歡泡溫泉的猴子。通過觀察人類的行為,它們已經習慣了在天然溫泉中放鬆身心,尤其是在寒冷的冬天裡,它們的行為更是如此。

雄猴體重6-18公斤(13-39磅),而雌猴體重6-14公斤(13-30磅),根據年齡的不同,身高從47-60厘米(1.5-2英尺)不等。獼猴的尾巴很短,和人的手指頭大小差不多,這和很多人對長尾猴的印像不同。據估計,日本各地生活的獼猴僅有10萬多只。

雪猴為什麼要在溫泉里泡澡?


長期以來,人們一直認為,雪猴泡澡的主要原因是為了抵禦冬天的寒冷,因此經常看到許多雪猴在溫泉里(12月至3月間)。然而,最近的研究表明,猴子這樣做是作為一種緩解壓力的方式,懷孕的猴子(或試圖懷孕的雌性猴子)特別傾向於長時間泡溫泉。

snow monkeys in bath snow

在冬天以外的地方,在溫泉里的猴子並不多見,但它們仍然會下水休息、游泳、玩耍、搶奪掉落的食物。

這種獨特的行為,是在雪猴公園外的地獄谷溫泉“(下圖)首次觀察到的。猴子們看到人類的客人在水里泡著,於是自己也試了一下,結果被吸引住了。

korakukan

雖然事實證明,這立刻受到了遊客們的歡迎,但猴子和人共用溫泉的做法很不衛生,猴園裡的溫泉池就是為了讓猴子們在自己的溫泉之上,有了溫泉,才有了這樣的溫泉。

okuhida-onsen-hot-spring

長野和日本中部是眾多溫泉的所在地,其中包括日本一些最著名的溫泉小鎮。

猴園裡有多少猴子?


估計有150只左右的獼猴群,常來雪域猴園遊玩的猴群有150只。大約有60-70%的猴子是母猴,每隻猴子的血統都是通過母猴來追溯的。公園的工作人員根據猴子的面部特徵和個別色澤,幾乎對每一隻猴子都瞭如指掌。

日本獼猴生活在由雌性、雄性、幼體和幼體組成的隊伍中。當它們達到成熟期後,雄性獼猴往往會離開出生的隊伍,從一個隊伍到另一個隊伍,或者建立自己的獨立小隊伍。為了避免對立,其他部隊不進入猴園,而是經常到人類居住區活動。如果你在公交車站附近或者是在附近的石埠溫泉村里住宿,可能會碰到那些猴子。如果是這樣的話,要謹慎對待塑料袋,因為聲音會吸引猴子,知道裡面可能有食物的猴子。

如何辨別公猴和母猴,以及個別的猴子?

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

猴子在幼年時,是很難區分公猴還是母猴。當它們開始成熟後,由於雄猴的陰囊或雌猴的乳頭拉長,就會更加明顯。雌猴的毛色較淺,而雄猴的毛色較深。

隨著年齡的增長,猴子的臉部皺紋、毛色、疤痕和傷痕也會變得更容易區分。對於公園的工作人員和常來的遊客來說,個體猴子的個性也會變得更加明顯,他們往往可以根據猴子的行為特徵來區分它們。

日本猴子能活到什麼年齡?


日本的猴子可以活到25歲到30歲,目前公園裡年齡最大的猴子約24歲。

隨著年齡的增長,他們的皮膚會出現皺紋,肌肉減少,體型變小,經常會出現脊椎彎曲的情況。所以,就像人類一樣,它們也容易顯出年齡。

它們是如何相互交流的呢?


和人類一樣,獼猴也是通過一系列的語言聲音、面部表情和態度來進行交流。言語的聲音可能不被認為是語言,但它們向其他猴子傳達了自己的態度。日本獼猴有時會非常善於發聲,你會發現它們發出的聲音範圍很廣,從高亢的叫聲到聲嘶力竭的叫聲。聽著它們的叫聲,你可以試著去猜測它們的意思!

他們在哪裡睡覺呢?

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

猴子們一般每天晚上都會離開公園,回到山里去。公園就在它們的自然領地半徑內–幾公里的範圍內,它們幾乎每天都會換個地方睡覺。它們總是睡在高處,最常見的是樹上,但也會在一些晚上選擇懸崖峭壁,在冬天寒冷的夜晚,它們往往會和親戚或親密的朋友一起睡,蜷縮在一起。

公園工作人員什麼時候餵食,為什麼要餵食?


公園工作人員每天會給猴子們餵食兩到三次。通常在綠化季節給它們餵食大麥籽或黃豆和蘋果。為了讓猴子們保持對公園內及周邊地區的興趣,公園工作人員在上世紀50年代就開始給猴子們餵食。這期間,由於附近滑雪場的開發,部隊被迫走出大山,進入人跡罕至的地區,學會了突襲農場種植農作物和蔬菜。

snow-monkey

當地的農民對此感到很沮喪,他們認為猴子是害蟲。建立公園的原因之一是為了給猴子們提供一個安全的地方,為了讓猴子們有一個安全的去處,為了他們的安全,首先引入了餵食的方法。經過一番試錯後,確定了他們喜歡的大麥、黃豆、蘋果等主食,從此以後就一直餵養到現在。

值得注意的是,猴子們沒有得到足夠的食物,仍然需要自食其力。請注意,遊客在任何情況下都不允許給猴子們餵食。

除了園方工作人員給的食物,它們還能吃什麼?


在春、夏、秋三季,猴子們會在山間覓食尋找野菜、堅果、花草、水果等。而到了冬天就麻煩多了,食物更加稀缺,埋在雪地裡,樹皮和冬芽是山里唯一可靠的食物。

可見,這種食物並不受猴子們的青睞,春夏秋三季很少吃這種食物。

日本獼猴與世界上其他猴子有什麼區別呢?


日本獼猴是唯一能夠在日本北部的極寒和雪地中生存下來的猴子,經常能忍受-10°C / 14°F的低溫。與世界其他地區的猴子相比,遊客們發現公園裡的猴子很溫順,也很放鬆。只要你不盯著它們看,不靠得太近,也不給它們看食物,猴子們往往就會不理你。

冬天的時候,他們會在外面泡澡嗎?


陽光浴?是的,在溫泉里?在溫泉里?不像冬天那麼頻繁。在春、夏、秋三季都有可能看到猴子在溫泉里泡澡、游泳、泡溫泉,但與冬季不同的是,在水里的猴子很少見,而且長時間沒有猴子下水的情況也很常見。

和人類一樣,猴子的行為也受到季節、溫度和天氣的影響。在深冬時節,它們往往會靜靜地待在原地保存能量,並相互擁抱以保暖。而在溫暖的夏天,它們會更加活躍,在公園裡走動。

當然,天氣太熱的時候,你會看到他們在樹蔭下打瞌睡,或者被夏日的陽光打得滿頭大汗。

公園的工作人員都是做什麼工作的?


工作人員是他們的工作,保證猴子和遊客的健康。餵養猴子是他們工作的一部分。他們的工作是在早上的第一件事,通常是在公園裡的遊客還沒來的時候,就開始餵食,到了傍晚或下午,遊客可以自由站著看的時候,再餵食。

為了猴子和遊客的安全,工作人員總是會執行公園的規定。這包括:

①確保遊客不要試圖給猴子餵食,也不要給猴子看任何食物。這個規則的製定是為了防止猴子把遊客與食物聯繫在一起,然後讓猴子養成乞討或偷吃的習慣。這樣一來,猴子們就能保持自我依賴性,你將有獨特的機會與這些非常放鬆的動物近距離接觸。

②確保遊客不要試圖觸摸或太靠近猴子。猴群非常習慣於人類的陪伴,因此它們會很樂意在你身邊進行日常事務。大多數情況下,它們會對你不怎麼關注,或者對你表現出不經意的好奇心。很少有猴子會試圖從你身上拿走任何東西,或者咄咄逼人。如果有猴子試圖從你這裡拿走東西,就讓它們拿走吧。如果是食物,你會失去它。不要給他們看任何東西(或任何看起來像食物的東西),你會沒事的。在極少數情況下,他們搶了別的東西,你就會拿回來。他們對你的錢包、太陽鏡或車鑰匙沒有興趣。

雪猴公園有提供旅遊服務嗎?


答案很簡單–有! 作為長野的第一大旅行社,Snow Monkey Resorts為遊客提供團體遊和私人遊兩種選擇,將您的雪猴公園之旅與其他熱門景點和體驗相結合。

榮獲2019年TripAdvisor旅行者之選獎,我們的雪猴公園、善光寺和清酒一日遊被評為日本十大體驗之一。 -我們為您準備了多種多樣的旅行團,將參觀地獄谷雪猴園與附近的景點和體驗相結合。

我們為您提供當地的知識、支持和服務,讓您在日本的探險活動中獲得最大的收穫。我們的司機和車輛都是經過充分認證的,我們可以根據您的興趣和日程安排,為您提供往返於您喜歡的目的地的接送服務。

snow-monkey

有關於參觀猴子的問題?請隨時聯繫我們 snowmonkeyresorts@machinovate.com,讓我們一起規劃一下吧!

winter-tours-banner

雪猴公園

TOURS

ACTIVITIES

HOTELS

RESTAURANTS

EVENTS

TRAVEL TIPS

BLOG

Hello’21! 長野春季優惠: 總價的10%折扣

推薦酒店

清潔綠色健康旅遊

要做的事情

諮詢

優惠帶通票

雪猴旅遊

DESTINATIONS
01. SNOW MONKEY PARK
The Snow Monkeys FAQ

The Snow Monkeys FAQ

This post is also available in: TW ZH

8127200376_1a357dd805_o

The following page answers common questions about the Jigokudani Monkey Park. It is divided into two sections:

1. COMMON QUESTIONS ABOUT VISITING THE PARK

2. COMMON QUESTIONS ABOUT THE MONKEYS

We hope this information helps you plan your visit and adds to your enjoyment of the park. Remember, our ‘Snow Monkey Park Information’ page provides everything you need to now regarding opening times, admission costs, access information etc. while our ‘Jigokudani Monkey Park’ activity page provides helpful tips and information to help you enjoy the park and nearby attractions.

Now, let’s jump into the questions!

1. COMMON QUESTIONS ABOUT VISITING THE PARK

Is the Snow Monkey Park and the Jigokudani Monkey Park the same thing?


Yes. The park is officially called the ‘Jigokudani Yaen Koen’ or Jigokudani Monkey Park but often referred to as the Snow Monkey Park due to the monkeys ability to survive and thrive in the snow. So no need to be confused. They are the same thing.

Is the park open everyday?


Yes. The park is open every day of the year* however opening hours vary between winter and other times of the year due to changing weather conditions, hours of light, and seasonal behaviour of the monkeys. From November to March, the park is open to the public from 09:00 until 16:00. From April to October, opening hours are extended to 08:30 until 17:00.

* The Snow Monkey Park is open 7 days a week and there are no fixed holidays in place. The park might close momentarily in case of events like heavy snowfall or absence of monkeys.

Do the monkeys come to the park every day, including outside of winter?


The monkeys are expected at the park everyday of the year, not just in winter. The park is situated within the territorial radius of this troop of monkeys meaning that coming into the park is a natural part of their daily activity. Furthermore, park rangers incentivize them to come with small amounts of food each day – further information about why they do this can be found on our ‘History of the Jigokudani Monkey Park’ page. The troop is referred to as ‘snow monkeys’ due to their renowned ability to live and thrive in the depths of winter however don’t let this mislead you, they are just as comfortable in spring, summer, and autumn and come to the park at all times of the year.

It is important to note that the monkeys are wild. There are no barriers forcing them to stay in the park meaning that they are free to come and go as they please. It is therefore possible that occasionally only a small number of monkeys will come to the park on a particular day, or very rarely, none at all. While this can occur it is not common and most typically occurs in autumn when an abundance of wild fruits and nuts in the mountains, and mating season, can preoccupy the monkeys’ minds.

How much does it cost to enter & where do I buy a ticket?


Entrance fees are as follows: adults (18 years & over) = JPY800 per person / children (aged 6 to 17) = JPY400 per person / infants (aged 0 to 5) are free of charge. Tickets are purchased at the park entrance, at the end of the forest trail. Holders of the 2-Day Snow Monkey Pass – available for purchase at the Nagano Dentetsu (Nagaden) ticket window at Nagano Station – can use the pass to enter the park without purchasing an additional ticket.

Please note, that this pass cannot be purchased at the Jigokudani Monkey Park.

Can I bathe with the monkeys?


No. The hot spring in the park is only for the monkeys. If you want to try and take a bath with the monkeys, you might try your luck at the nearby Korakukan Onsen – the guesthouse where the monkeys first observed and copied the behavior of soaking in the hot spring. There is a possibility the monkeys will join you while you bathe in the open-air bath at the guesthouse (however we cannot guarantee how hygienic this is).

Can I feed, hold or touch the monkeys?


No. Under no circumstances are visitors to the park allowed to feed, hold or touch the monkeys. The park is first and foremost a conservation and research facility. Please ensure you follow the park rules at all times – as detailed in our ‘Snow Monkey Park General Information’ page.

Can I take photographs and videos?


Yes. You are welcome to take photographs and videos of the monkeys. Please be mindful that the monkeys are wild and allow them adequate space to go about their lives unhindered. Please also note that flash photography and underwater photography (i.e. putting camera gear in the hot spring) are not permitted. Use of specialist photography and filming equipment can only be used with the prior agreement of the park.

Are there restaurants and other facilities nearby the park?


Yes. The park is located in Kanbayashi Onsen, a small hot spring village with several guesthouses, restaurants and cafe, public toilets, public parking and public bus stops. Food and drinks cannot be taken from the restaurants or cafe along the trail and into the park. Doing so is likely to attract the attention of the monkeys and they will just as likely soon take them from you. Please ensure any food is inside your bag and cannot be seen by the monkeys. Water is fine but try to avoid drinking in front of the monkeys to avoid their attention.

enzacafe

Only moments walk from the trail, Enza Cafe serves a great selection of Japanese and Western cafe food, including a takeaway window for guests to enjoy before or after venturing to the park. A little further down the hill, Hotaru-tei serves an excellent Japanese menu in the historic surroundings of a 160 year old traditional mansion.

How do I access the park?


Access to the park is via a 1.6km / 1 mile forest trail. The trail is mostly level and well-maintained. Outside of winter, the trail takes most visitors around 20 to 25 minutes to walk (in both directions). During winter, due to snow and ice, the walk is more likely to take around 30 to 40 minutes. While the trail is mostly level, there is a 20 metre incline at the beginning and a steep staircase and upward path at the end, as you arrive at the park entrance. For visitors who are mobility impaired or in a wheelchair, these sections of the trail are problematic. It should also be noted that during winter or on days of heavy rain, when the trail can be muddy, use of a wheelchair will most likely be impossible.

Snow-monkey-info-and-gift-shop-in-winter

Our ‘Information About the Walk to the Snow Monkey Park’ page provides further information to assist with your preparation. Always consider your safety and make sure you are prepared for the likely conditions of snow and ice in winter.

Don’t have the right footwear or clothing / need assistance while at the park?


We’ve got you covered! Located next to the trail entrance, visitors to the park can’t miss the Snow Monkeys Resorts Info & Gift Shop. Offering a range of services including winter rentals and English language information, luggage storage, along with monkey merchandise and souvenirs including official Snow Monkey Resorts products, the SMR Info & Gift Shop has you covered when visiting the park.

snow-monkey-resorts-info-and-gift-shop

Open from early October until late May, 9AM to 5PM, English-speaking staff can answer your questions on your way to and from the park including bus timetables and information about nearby attractions.

2. COMMON QUESTIONS ABOUT THE MONKEYS

Why are the Snow Monkeys so famous?


While macaques are found throughout the Japanese main island of Honshu, and indeed there are many troops spread through the mountains surrounding the monkey park, this troop is remarkable for its behaviour of soaking in the hot springs – the only monkeys known to do so in the entire world. First captured on camera by Tomio Yamada during the 1950s, the monkeys’ fame went global when a photograph of them appeared on the cover of LIFE magazine in 1970.

The park now attracts visitors from all over the world, who come to observe these curious and intelligent creatures in a near-natural environment. While they are more likely soak in the hot spring, and for longer, in winter, it is their collective character and range of captivating daily behaviors that make the park such a popular destination at all times of the year. These are endearing animals within whom you’ll recognize habits and patterns not so far removed from ours, and as such, the experience of visiting the park is often cited as a highlight and uniquely memorable part of any trip to Japan.

What kind of animal is the Japanese macaque?


Among the 180 species of monkeys that exist, the indigenous Japanese macaque is known to be the most northern non-human wild primate in the world. Most non-human primates tend to live in tropical or subtropical areas and the highly intelligent and adaptable macaques are no exception, being found throughout the main Japanese island of Honshu – from subtropical Kyushu in the south to the cold and snow of Nagano and beyond.

snow-monkey

Macaques are indeed common in Japan however the troop residing in and around the Snow Monkey Park are famous for one unique reason – they are the only monkeys in the world known to enjoying soaking in hot springs. A behavior learned through first observing humans do so, the troop is now very accustomed to relaxing in the naturally hot water, especially during the cold days of winter.

Male monkeys weigh 6 – 18 kg (13 – 39 pounds) while females weigh 6 – 14 kg (13 – 30 pounds) with a height that ranges from 47 to 60 cm (1.5 – 2 feet), depending on age. Macaques have a short tail, about the same size of a human finger, which is different from the image many people have of long-tailed monkey species. It is estimated that just over 100,000 Japanese macaques live across Japan.

Why do the snow monkeys bathe in the onsen (hot springs)?


It has long been thought that the primary reason why the monkeys bathe is to survive the cold of winter hence the common sight (between December and March) of numerous monkeys in the hot spring. However, recent research has shown that the monkeys do so as a form of stress relief, with a particular tendency for pregnant (or females attempting to become pregnant) monkeys to spend longer periods soaking.

snow monkeys in bath snow

Outside of winter you will not see as many monkeys in the hot spring however they still enter the water to relax, swim, play, and grab food that has fallen in.

This unique behavior was first observed at a ‘ryokan’ (traditional guesthouse) called Korakukan (pictured below), situated just outside of the monkey park. Having seen human guests soaking themselves in the water, the monkeys gave it a shot themselves and were hooked.

korakukan

While this immediately proved to be a popular sight for visitors, it was hardly hygienic to have monkeys and humans sharing the onsen, and the pool in the monkey park was created to give the monkeys a hot spring over their very own.

okuhida-onsen-hot-spring

Nagano and Central Japan is home to numerous onsen including some of Japan’s most famous hot spring towns. For more information, please refer to our ‘Onsen In & Around Nagano’ page.

 How many monkeys are there in the park?


There are an estimated 150 macaques in the troop that frequent the Snow Monkey Park. Around 60 to 70% of monkey are female, with each monkey’s lineage traced through its mother. Park staff know pretty much every one of the monkeys by sight, based on their facial characteristics and individually coloring.

Japanese macaques live in troops consisting of and females, juveniles and babies. Once they reach their maturity, males tend to leave their troop of birth and move from troop to troop or start their own small, independent troop. To avoid confrontation, other troops do not come into the monkey park but instead frequent human residential areas. You may bump into those monkeys around the bus stop or if you are staying in the nearby village of Shibu Onsen. If you do, you should take caution with plastic bags, as the sound attracts monkeys who know they may contain food.

 

How can we distinguish male and female monkeys, and individual monkeys?


While young, it is quite difficult to distinguish whether a monkey is male or female. Once they start maturing it becomes more apparent due to the scrotal sac on males or the elongated nipples on females. Females also tend to have a lighter fur while males often have darker fur.

Distinguishing between individual monkeys also becomes easier as they age due to wrinkles on their face, fur coloring, and scars and injuries picked-up through their lives. The personality of individual monkeys also becomes more apparent to park staff and frequent visitors, who can often tell one monkey from another based on its characteristic behavior.

What age do the monkeys live to?


Japanese monkeys can live up 25 to 30 years of age, with the oldest monkey in the park currently around 24 years old.

As they age, their skin becomes wrinkly, they lose muscle-mass and become smaller, and often get a crooked spine.  So just like humans, they tend to show their age.

How do they communicate with each other?


Much like humans, macaques communicate using an array of verbal sounds, facial expressions, and attitudes. Verbal sounds may not be considered language as such but conveys their attitude to other monkeys. Japanese macaques can be very vocal at times and you will notice a large scope in the sounds that they make, from high-pitched calls to guttural, aggressive shrieks. Listen to them and try to guess their meaning!

Where do they sleep?


The monkeys generally leave the park each night and go back into the mountains. The park is within their natural territorial radius – a region of several kilometers – and they move to a new place to sleep almost every day. They always sleep in elevated positions, most commonly in trees but also choose cliffs on some evenings, and tend to sleep with their relatives or close friends, cuddled up during the cold nights of winter.

When and why do the park staff feed them?


The monkeys are fed by park staff two to three times a day. They are usually given barley seed or soybeans with apples handed-out during green season. The monkeys were first fed in the 1950s to keep them interested in the region in and around the park. During that period, the development of nearby ski resorts was forced the troop out of the mountains and into areas of human habituation, where they learned to raid farms for crops and vegetables.

snow-monkey

Local farmers were understandably frustrated by this and saw the monkeys as pests. One of the founding reasons for the park was to give the monkeys somewhere to go where they’d be safe and feeding was first introduced in an effort to get them to stay put, for their own safety. After a little trial and error, their favored staples of barley, soybean, and apples were identified and they have been fed ever since.

It is worth noting that the monkeys are not given enough food to survive on and they still need to fend for themselves. Please note that visitors are not allowed to feed the monkeys under any circumstances.

What do they eat besides the food given by the park staff?


During the spring, summer, and autumn the monkeys forage through the mountains in search of wild vegetables, nuts, flowers, fruits etc. It is far more troublesome in winter, when food is much more scarce and buried under the snow, with tree bark and winter buds being the only reliable food in the mountains.

Evidently this is not a favored food for the monkeys, who rarely eat it in spring, summer, and autumn.

What are the differences between the Japanese macaques and other monkeys around the world?


Japanese macaques are the only monkeys able to survive the extremes of cold and snow in northern Japan, regularly enduring temperatures of -10°C / 14°F. Visitors to the park find the monkeys to be very docile and relaxed compared to monkeys in other parts of the world. The monkeys tend to just ignore you as long as you don’t stare at them, get too close, or show them any food.

Do they bathe outside of winter?


Sunbathing? Yes. In the hot spring? Not so much often as they do in winter. Through spring, summer, and autumn you may well see monkeys bathing, swimming, or sipping from the onsen, but unlike winter you are very unlikely to see large numbers in the water at one time and it’s not uncommon for extended periods to pass by with no monkeys in the water at all.

Like humans, the monkeys’ behavior is affected by the season, temperature, and weather. In the depths of winter they tend to stay still to conserve energy and cuddle with each other to stay warm. In the warmth of summer they are more active and move around the park.

Of course, when it gets too hot you’ll see them dozing in the shade or sprawled out on the path defeated by the summer sun.

What do the park staff do for their work?


The staff are their to ensure the well-being of both the monkeys and visitors to the park. Feeding the monkeys is part of their job. This takes places first thing in the morning, usually before any visitors are in the park, and again in late morning or the afternoon, when visitors are free to stand and watch.

The staff always enforce park rules, again, for the safety of both the monkeys and visitors.  This includes:

① ensuring that visitors do not attempt to feed the monkeys or show them any food. This rule is in place to stop the monkeys from associating visitors with food and then developing a habit of begging or stealing. In doing so, the monkeys retain their self-dependency and you will have the unique opportunity to be in close proximity to these very relaxed creatures.

② ensuring that visitors do not attempt to touch or get too close to the monkeys. The troop is very accustomed to human company and for that reason happily go about their daily business around you. Most of the time they will give you little attention or display a casual curiosity about you. It’s very rare that a monkey will attempt to take anything from you or be aggressive. If a monkey does attempt to take something from you, let them have it. If it’s food you will lose it. Don’t show them any (or anything that looks like food) and you’ll be fine. On the rare occasion that they grab something else, you’ll get it back. They have no interest in your wallet, sunglasses, or car keys.

Do you offer tours at the Snow Monkey Park?


That’s simple to answer – yes! As Nagano’s No.1 tour operator, Snow Monkey Resorts offers guests the choice of both group and private tours combining your visit to the monkey park with other popular destinations and experiences.

Awarded a 2019 TripAdvisor Travelers’ Choice Award for our 1-Day Snow Monkeys, Zenko-ji Temple & Sake Tour – recognised as one of the Top 10 Experiences in Japan – we operate a variety of group tours that combine a visit to the Jigokudani Monkey Park with other nearby attractions and experiences.

We offer the local knowledge, support, and service that you need to get the most out of your adventure in Japan including private tours and charters to any destination in the region. Our drivers and vehicles are fully certified, allowing us to transport you to and from your preferred destinations, in combination with any activity that suits your interests and schedule.

snow-monkey

Got a question about visiting the monkeys? Feel free to contact us at snowmonkeyresorts@machinovate.com and let’s get planning together!

winter-tours-banner