日本长野
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
联系
Clean Green & Healthy
推荐的户外旅游景点

推荐的户外旅游景点

This post is also available in: EN TW

snowboard-ski-winter

到日本中部旅游,最大的乐趣之一是探索该地区的原始自然风光和众多的户外旅游景点。 虽然我们一直鼓励大家优先去日本中部地区旅游,但新型冠状病毒的持续影响使得该地区自然景观的开放空间和治疗特性比以往更有吸引力。

kamikochi-chubu-sangaku-national-park

从东京使用北陆新干线,或从大阪和京都使用金泽站名古屋站,都可以很方便地到达,日本中部地区可以以最少的麻烦融入任何旅行路线。 在这里,你会发现日本的精髓,在体现民族精神的山区和农村。

shirakawago-gokayama

我们的 “发现日本中部“页面介绍了该地区和一些最强烈的旅游理由。 在这里,我们将向您介绍10个我们认为是绿色健康的户外活动场所,在日本中部等着您。

1 / 滑雪和单板滑雪 / 冬季专用型


hakuba-ski-snowboard

作为1998年冬奥会的主办地,长野以奥运遗产为荣。 仅长野就有约80个度假村,但只有少数几个幸运地举办了包括白马八方一号在内的活动。 围绕着 “白马八方尾根 “举办了多场活动,树立了白马的全球形象。 时至今日,白马的度假村可以称得上是长野最国际化、最受欢迎的度假村。 丰富的内容让您在冬季探险中乐此不疲!

snowboard-ski-winter

长野冬奥会首次将单板滑雪列为奖牌项目,所有单板滑雪项目均在日本最大最高的滑雪场–志贺高原进行。 志贺县拥有长野县最长的季节和最可靠的雪情,由于其海拔较高,气候条件也很好,所以很快就受到了国际游客的关注。 志贺县拥有600多公顷相互连接的地形,在未来几年内可能会有更多的人烟,所以趁着现在还比较安静,赶快去吧。

ski-snowboard-nagano-madarao

从志贺开车不到一个小时,野泽温泉是长野最受欢迎的度假胜地之一–在565米到1650米之间,为滑雪者和滑雪板爱好者提供约300公顷的火车。

ski-snowboard-nagano-myoko

野泽是一个充满活力的度假胜地,拥有众多的住宿、餐厅、酒吧和温泉,野泽的名声也是基于山外的情况。

nozawa-onsen-snowboard

除了长野县以外,日本中部的新潟县、群马县和岐阜县也有很多优秀的滑雪场。

2 / 探寻日本中部的山川 / 最佳时间:春季至秋季。


hakuba-green-season

被称为 “日本阿尔卑斯山 “的三大山脉–赤石山(南)、木曾山(中)、飞驒山(北),是该地区的主宰。 在这些山脉中,日本最高的山峰占了大多数,如果与较小的山脉结合在一起 -包括日本中部的上信州和妙高东岳在内,海拔2500米以上的山峰共有55座,全部位于该地区。

tateyama-kurobe-alpine-route-summer-hiking-tour-guests

虽然有众多的旅游景点可供选择,但我们还是推荐大家去上高地。 上高地位于中部山岳国立公园内,每年4月中旬至11月中旬对外开放,是一个原始而美丽的高山峡谷。沿着安土川的河谷,日本最高的山峰在3000米以上。 沿着梓川的河谷,日本最高的山峰在3000米以上。

kamikochi-chubu-sangaku-national-park

从上高地巴士总站出发,沿着山谷延伸的步行路线,适合任何体质的人,然后再沿着更高级的徒步旅行和登山路线进入山区。

kamikochi-chubu-sangaku-national-park

被誉为中部山岳国立公园中的一颗明珠,上高地是日本中部最令人难忘的体验之一,是一个真正具有自然和精神重要性的特殊地方。

3 / 探访日本三大神山/最佳:从春到秋。


fuji

日本的本土宗教神道教非常注重自然崇拜,尤其是山岳。 日本人认为山是神灵的领地,长期以来,日本人对自己的山充满了敬畏,其中最重要的是三座神峰–富士山、立山和白山。 都在日本中部。

富士山

富士山海拔3777米,是日本最高的山峰,也是最具代表性的自然景观。 长期以来,日本人对这座巨大的火山抱有敬畏之心,认为它是日本的三座惊山之一。

富士山是一年四季都很受欢迎的旅游胜地,只有在7月至9月才能攀登,在这之外,你需要获得许可才能尝试山上的各种路线。

富士山是一座美丽的山峰,对日本人来说具有真正的精神意义。

立山

立山位于中部山岳国立公园的北端,海拔3015米,可通过立山黑部阿尔卑斯山脉路线到达。 从4月中旬到11月下旬对外开放,可从长野经扇泽站或富山经立山站出发,选择终点或返回原点。

tateyama-kurobe-alpine-route

海拔2540米的室堂站是日本最高的车站,有无轨电车、缆车、索道、旅游巴士等一系列的山地交通设施供游客往返。

tateyama-kurobe-alpine-route-summer-hiking

最著名的是春夏秋三季的巨大雪壁,其最高处高出下方道路20米,是日本最著名的徒步旅行路线,其中包括登顶多立山的路线。

tateyama-kurobe-snow-walls

请注意,往返于室堂站的交通工具一般都很拥挤,但一旦到了山顶,从中心区走出来,周围很少有人会很快进入空间。

白山

白山国立公园位于金泽南部,总面积为4.77万公顷,是白山的所在地。 海拔2700米的白山是日本三大神山中的第三座–这里风景秀丽,动植物资源丰富,以季节性的美景和绝佳的登山和徒步旅行而闻名。

hakusan-white-road

公园横跨石川县、福井县、岐阜县、富山县4个县,从金泽出发约60分钟(车程)即可到达。 . 在金泽,前往世界遗产白川村和五箇山的游客,可以考虑租车前往,这样一来,就可以走遍国立公园的 “白山白道”

hakusan-white-road

从石川县到岐阜县的白川村,全长33公里,海拔1400米,可以欣赏到美丽的原生态景观。 这条路维护得很好,行驶起来也很舒适,沿途有观景台、步行道,偶尔还有餐厅或饮料摊。

hakusan-national-park

这条路从一边走到另一边需要60分钟左右(不停车),6月至8月只开放07:00至18:00,9月至11月10只开放08:00至17:00。 从当日起至5月底,该路段禁止市民通行。 道路两端的收费口单程收费1700日元,往返2600日元。

4 / 乘坐露天的黑部峡谷铁道/最佳:春季至秋季。


kurobe-gorge-railway-toyama

从富山站经宇奈月温泉可到达,黑部峡谷被誉为日本三大峡谷之一。乘坐 “黑部峡谷铁道”,蜿蜒曲折地行驶20公里,约80分钟即可到达黑部。

kurobe-gorge

露天马车让游客们可以亲身体验周围的风景,沿途的车站可以让游客们进入步行道、温泉、餐厅和住宿。

kurobe-gorge

铁路线上有几座壮观的大桥,还有黒薙温泉旅館和河边的鐘釣温泉等真正的美丽温泉。强烈推荐。 强烈推荐。

5 / 漫步历史悠久的中山堂步道 / 最佳时间:春季至秋季


nakasendo-trail-narai-tour-guests

原本从京都到江户(现在叫东京)之间横跨500多公里,中山道是江户时代(1603年至1868年)连接日本最重要的两个城市的五条主要道路之一。中山道被翻译成 “山中之路”,将古代的道路和小路整合成了一条穿越国家中心的官道–日本美丽的山心地带。 中山道 “译为 “山中之路”,是将古代的道路和小路整合成贯穿日本中部的官方公路。

nakasendo-trail-tsumago

沿路发展了69个驿站或 “宿”,为人们提供住宿,并监督、征税和确保贸易的流动。 如今,由于当地居民的用心干预,几个原有的驿站小镇仍保留了其历史特色,他们努力保护传统建筑的美感。 其中,奈良井宿马笼妻笼坐落在美丽的木曾谷,是目前中仙道保存最完好、最令人惊叹的部分。

nakasendo-trail

现在通常被称为 中山堂步道 “或 “中山堂路”,这条历史悠久的路线现在仍然可以走几小时或几天,其中被称为 “木曾寺 “的木曾谷段被认为是最美丽和最令人愉快的路线。

6 / 游览地狱谷雪猴公园 / 全年无休


地狱谷雪猴公园是日本中部最著名的旅游景点之一,乘坐北陆新干线长野站即可到达。 在其最受欢迎的冬天的雪,公园实际上是全年开放。 猴子们以沐浴温泉的滑稽动作而闻名,一年四季都会来到公园。

冬天的游客数量大,而春夏秋三季来公园的游客不会遇到很多其他的游客,但同样有很多的理由来参观。

snow-monkey-autumn

从春天的花朵,到夏天凉爽的山地气候,再到秋天迷人的树叶,我们建议在一年中较温暖的月份去参观,就像在冬天的寒冷和雪地里一样。

7 / 在 “温泉 “中放松和充电 / 全年无休


hot-spring-onsen-autumn

日本中部的山脉是地下深处活动的产物,该地区也有无数的 “温泉”(天然温泉),这些温泉由丰富的地下温泉水供给。

hot-spring-onsen

日本中部地区是日本最著名的温泉之乡,包括长野的湯田中,野泽温泉,群马的草津万座志摩,岐阜的下吕奥飞田等,其历史可追溯到1000年前。

kusatsu-onsen-hot-spring

长期以来,温泉因其疗效和再生功能而备受青睐,是日本文化的重要组成部分。 大多数日本人从年轻时就开始去温泉,并一直持续到他们的一生。 事实上,无论是在神道教还是佛教中,用水清洗和清洁身体都被认为是一种重要的更新行为;因此,温泉满足了实用、娱乐、医疗和精神上的需求。

hot-spring-onsen

著名的温泉镇往往很热闹,而规模较小、知名度较低的温泉镇则可能非常安静,尤其是在工作日。 在 “长野市内及周边的温泉 “页面中,介绍了关于使用温泉的知识、好处以及在哪里可以找到温泉。

8 / 食物、农场和水果采摘 / 夏天到秋天


nagano-farm-satoyama

让我们面对现实吧,旅行中最美好的事情之一就是食物,而日本是一些真正奇妙食物的故乡。 在整个国家,游客们会发现一系列令人沉醉的美味佳肴–在这方面你真的不会错。

nagano-rice-satoyama

到日本中部旅游,游客们将前往日本的 “美食之乡”–一个拥有肥沃、营养丰富的农田的地方。 长野和日本中部地区出产日本最好的大米、蔬菜、水果和肉类,这些食物最好在当地的餐馆或直接从农夫那里购买。

从夏季到秋季,当地许多农场都对外开放,邀请游客直接在果园里享受采摘水果的乐趣。 特别是长野县的苹果、葡萄、桃子,在户外的阳光和空间里,可以直接从树上或葡萄藤上摘下来,非常有名。

9 / 北海岸的海鲜市场 / 全年无休


amaharashi-coast-toyama

日本中部虽然以山为界,但也拥有崎岖不平的海岸线和丰富的海水,出产日本最好的海产品。

kanazawa-omicho-seafood

长野县虽然地处内陆,但新潟县、富山县、石川县、福井县等都是沿海地区,日本海上有许多优秀的海鲜市场。

Amaharashi-Coast-toyama

金泽市富山市离附近的市场很近,是购买和食用当天早上捕获的海鲜的理想目的地。 从这些城市或新潟的上越市和新潟市出发,租车独立探索北海岸,是一种非常惬意的体验。

seafood-niigata

日本的道路保养得很好,司机通常都很有耐心和礼貌,您可以自由地探索和享受包括能登半岛在内的地区。

10 / 能登半岛/全年无休


noto-peninsula

能登半岛位于金泽市北部,对国际游客来说并不出名。 能登半岛向日本海延伸100公里,相对孤立,几乎被人遗忘。 崎岖不平的海岸和郁郁葱葱的森林等美丽的地方,与日本其他地区相比,这里的开发程度还很低,因此,这里是一个可以让游客避世、独处和欣赏原始美景的地方。

noto-peninsula

沿着海岸线的道路,可以欣赏到美丽的风景,而就在离海很近的内陆地区,农村村落还在过着具有强烈传统感的日常生活。 不用说,来半岛旅游,基本上都有义务品尝大量的海鲜,不出所料,这些海鲜相当惊人。

noto-peninsula

能登半岛及周边公共交通的缺乏也有助于降低游客数量,需要你安排租车,才能真正做到不虚此行。

noto-peninsula

避开8月,因为此时日本的学童们正享受着暑假,而半岛的地区也会有度假家庭购买。 否则,就租一辆车走吧–我们强烈推荐。

Snow Monkey Resorts。长野第一的旅游和包车旅行社。


当您计划和预订日本中部的旅行时,重要的是您可以放心地这样做,您的预期目的地将是愉快和安全的。 作为长野第一的旅游和包机运营商,我们提供一系列服务,包括团体旅游,私人旅游和私人包机,以帮助您充分利用您在当地的时间。

snow-monkey-resorts-vehicles

我们可以安排往返于该地区任何目的地的交通,并根据您的旅行需求定制行程。我们的司机和车辆都是经过全面认证的,让我们可以接送您往返于任何目的地。 车辆装有保护屏风–将司机与乘客和行李区隔开,我们的司机戴着保护面罩,让您在舒适和安全的情况下在目的地之间移动。

我们可以安排有英语导游的私人旅游,也可以安排私人包车和司机,但不需要导游。

snow-monkey-resorts-vehicles-hiace-shiga

我们很愿意成为这种体验的一部分,并帮助你发现更多的东西!

为什么选择我们?

我们的雪猴公园、善光寺和清酒1日游荣获2019年TripAdvisor旅行者选择奖–被公认为日本十大体验之一–我们拥有当地的知识和经验,可以帮助您在长野度过最美好的时光。

有关于访问日本中部的问题吗? 欢迎联系我们,snowmonkeyresorts@machinovate.com,让我们一起策划!

tour-banner

NAGANO JAPAN
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
CONTACT
Clean Green & Healthy
Recommended Outdoor Destinations

Recommended Outdoor Destinations

snowboard-ski-winter

One of the great joys of visiting Central Japan is exploring the region’s pristine natural beauty and numerous outdoor destinations. While we always encourage you to prioritise a visit to Central Japan, the ongoing impact of COVID-19 makes the open space and therapeutic character of the region’s natural landscapes more attractive than ever

kamikochi-chubu-sangaku-national-park

Readily accessible from Tokyo using the Hokuriku Shinkansen Line, or Osaka and Kyoto via Kanazawa Station or Nagoya Station, Central Japan can be incorporated into any travel itinerary with a minimum of fuss. It is here that you will discover the essence of Japan, in the mountains and rural villages which embody the national spirit.

shirakawago-gokayama

Our ‘Discover Central Japan’ page introduces the region and some of the strongest reasons to visit. On this page, we will introduce 10 outdoor destinations and activities – attractions that we consider green and healthy – waiting for you in Central Japan:

1 / Skiing & Snowboarding / winter only


hakuba-ski-snowboard

As host of the 1998 Winter Olympic Games, Nagano is proud of its Olympic heritage. Nagano alone is home to around 80 resorts however only a few were lucky enough to host events including Hakuba Happo One. Several events took place in and around Happo One, establishing Hakuba’s global profile. To this day, the resorts of Hakuba can lay claim to being Nagano’s most international and popular. Plenty to keep you entertained on your winter adventure!

snowboard-ski-winter

The Nagano Winter Olympics were the first to include snowboarding as a medaled sport, with all snowboarding events taking place in Shiga Kogen – Japan’s largest and highest ski resort. Boasting Nagano’s longest season and most reliable snow conditions – given its higher altitude and prevailing weather conditions – Shiga is another resort quickly coming to the attention of international visitors. Offering over 600 hectares of interconnected terrain, Shiga is likely to become much more poplar over the coming years so get there now while it’s still relatively quiet.

ski-snowboard-nagano-madarao

Less than an hours drive from Shiga, Nozawa Onsen is one of Nagano’s most popular resorts – offering skiers and boarders around 300 hectares of train between 565 and 1650 metres.

ski-snowboard-nagano-myoko

Also known for its great powder and setup for snowboarders, Nozawa is a lively resort serviced by a large village full of accommodation, restaurants and bars and ‘onsen’ (hot springs), Nozawa’s reputation is as much based on what happens off the mountain.

nozawa-onsen-snowboard

Outside of Nagano but also in Central Japan, the prefectures of Niigata, Gunma and Gifu are also home to many excellent ski resorts.

2 / Explore the mountains of Central Japan / best: spring to autumn


hakuba-green-season

Collectively known as the ‘Japan Alps’, three major mountain ranges – called Akaishi (South), Kiso (Central) and Hida (North) mountains – dissect and dominate the region. These ranges contain most of Japan’s tallest mountains and when combined with smaller ranges – including Joshintesu and Myoko-Togakushi – in Central Japan, all mountains over 2500 metres in height – 55 in total – are located within the region.

tateyama-kurobe-alpine-route-summer-hiking-tour-guests

While there are numerous destinations to choose from, we recommend visiting Kamikochi. Situated in the Chubu Sangaku National Park, Kamikochi is a pristine and beautiful alpine valley open to the public from mid-April until mid-November each year. The valley follows the Azusa River while some of Japan’s tallest mountain peaks rise to over 3000 meters above.

kamikochi-chubu-sangaku-national-park

From the Kamikochi Bus Terminal, walking trails span-out along the valley – suitable to anyone of reasonable fitness – before more advanced hiking and mountaineering trails lead into the mountains.

kamikochi-chubu-sangaku-national-park

Considered the jewel of the Chubu Sangaku National Park, visiting Kamikochi is one of Central Japan’s most memorable experiences – a truly special place of natural and spiritual importance.

3 / Visit Japan’s three sacred mountains / best: spring to autumn


fuji

Japan’s native religion of Shintoism has a strong focus on nature worship and in particular, mountains. Considered domains of the spirits and gods, Japanese have long revered their mountains which, above all others, are defined by three sacred peaks – Fuji, Tate and Haku. All of which are in Central Japan:

Mt Fuji

At 3777 metres, Fuji is Japan’s tallest mountain and most iconic natural landscape. The huge volcano has long been held in awe by Japanese who consider it one of the country’s three scared mountains.

A popular destination all year round, Fuji can only be climbed from July to September, outside of which you need permission to attempt the various trails on the mountain.

A stunningly beautiful mountain, Fuji holds true spiritual significance for Japanese

Mt Tate

Located at the northern end of the Chubu Sangaku National Park, Mt Tate stands at 3015 metres and is accessible via the Tateyama-Kurobe Alpine Route. Open to public from mid-April until late- November, visitors can start from Nagano via Ogizawa Station or Toyama via Tateyama Station, and choose to finish on the other side or return to their point of origin.

tateyama-kurobe-alpine-route

A series of mountain transports including trolley buses, cable cars, a rope-way, and coaches transport visitors to and from Murodo Station – which at 2540 meters is the highest station in Japan.

tateyama-kurobe-alpine-route-summer-hiking

Most famous for the immense snow walls which, at their peak, ascend 20 meters above the road below in spring, summer and autumn offer some of Japan’s best hiking trails including to the summit of Mt Tate.

tateyama-kurobe-snow-walls

Please note, that the transports to and from Murudo Station are typically crowded, but once at the summit and walking away from the central area, you will quickly be in space with few others around  you.

Mt Haku

Lying to the south of Kanazawa, Hakusan National Park covers a total area of 47,700 ha and is home to Mount Haku. At 2700 metres, Mt Haku is the third of Japan’s three sacred mountains – a stunning landscape, rich in flora and fauna known for its seasonal beauty and excellent mountaineering and hiking.

hakusan-white-road

The park extends across four prefectures – Ishikawa, Fukui, Gifu and Toyama – and is accessible from Kanazawa in around 60 minutes (by car). Visitors in Kanazawa heading to the World Heritage villages of Shirakawa-go and Gokayama should consider making the journey by rental car, and in doing so, navigate the ‘Hakusan White Road’ across the national park.

hakusan-white-road

Stretching 33km from Ishikawa Prefecture to Shirakawa-go in Gifu Prefecture, the road ascends to 1400 metres above sea level, offering beautiful views of the pristine landscape. The road is well-maintained and comfortable to drive, with viewing-points, walking trails and the occasional restaurant or drinks-stand along the route.

hakusan-national-park

The road takes around 60 minutes to go from one side to the other (without stopping) and is only open 07:00 to 18:00 from June to August and 08:00 to 17:00 from September until November 10th. From that date onward until the end of May the road is closed to public traffic. Toll gates at either end of the road charge JPY1700 one-way or JPY2600 for a round-trip.

4 / Ride the open-air Kurobe Gorge Railway / best: spring to autumn


kurobe-gorge-railway-toyama

Accessible from Toyama Station via Unazuki Onsen, Kurobe Gorge is regarded as one of the three most beautiful gorges in Japan. Kurobe is best experienced riding the Kurobe Gorge Railway which covers a meandering and winding 20km span in approximately 80 minutes.

kurobe-gorge

The open-air carriages allow visitors an intimate experience of the surrounding landscape with stations along the route allowing access to walk trails, onsen, restaurants and accommodation.

kurobe-gorge

The rail line includes several spectacular bridges and truly beautiful hot springs including Kuronagi Onsen and the riverside Kanetsuri Kawara Onsen. Highly recommended.

5 / Walk the historic Nakasendo Trail / best: spring to autumn


nakasendo-trail-narai-tour-guests

Originally spanning over 500 kilometres between Kyoto and Edo (now called Tokyo), the Nakasendo Road was one of five major routes linking Japan’s two most important cities during the Edo Period (1603 to 1868). Translating as ‘Road in the Mountains’, the Nakasendo consolidated ancient roads and paths into an official highway through Central Japan.

nakasendo-trail-tsumago

Sixty-nine post towns or ‘juku’ developed along the road to provide lodgings to people and monitor, tax and secure the movement of trade. Today, several of the original post towns retain their historic character due to the mindful intervention of local residents, who have worked diligently to preserve the aesthetic of the traditional buildings. Of those towns, Narai-juku, Magome-juku and Tsumago-juku are nestled in the beautiful Kiso Valley and represent the best preserved and most stunning sections of the Nakasendo today.

nakasendo-trail

Now commonly referred to as the ‘Nakasendo Trail’ or ‘Nakasendo Way’, the historic route can still be walked today – for a couple of hours or a couple of days – with the section through the Kiso Valley, known as the ‘Kiso-ji’, regarded as the most beautiful and pleasurable to follow.

6 / Visit the Jigokudani Monkey Park / all year round


Accessible via Nagano Station, on the Hokuriku Shinakansen, the Jigokudani Monkey Park is one of Central Japan’s most well-known destinations. At its most popular through the snow of winter, the park is in fact open all year round. The monkeys – known for their hot spring-bathing antics – come to the park throughout the year.

While visitor numbers in winter are big, visitors to the park in spring, summer and autumn won’t encounter many others but just as many reasons to visit.

snow-monkey-autumn

From the blossoms and babies of spring, to the cool mountain climate of summer and stunning leaves of autumn, we recommend visiting in the warmer months of year just as much as we do in the cold and snow of winter.

7 / Relax and recharge in an ‘onsen’ / all year round


hot-spring-onsen-autumn

The mountains of Central Japan are a product of activity deep underground and so too are the region’s countless ‘onsen’ (natural hot springs), fed by an abundant reserve of subterranean thermal water.

hot-spring-onsen

Occurring through the region, Central Japan is home to some of Japan’s most famous onsen towns – including Shibu and Yudanaka along with Nozawa Onsen in Nagano, Kusatsu, Manza, and Shima in Gunma, and Gero and Okuhida in Gifu– many of which have histories stretching back more than 1000 years.

kusatsu-onsen-hot-spring

Long sought-out for their healing and regenerative properties, onsen remain a fundamental part of Japanese culture. Most Japanese start going to onsen from a young age and continue to do so through their lives. Indeed, washing and cleansing the body in water is seen as an important act of renewal in both Shintoism and Buddhism; and as such, hot springs cater to practical, recreational, medicinal and spiritual needs.

hot-spring-onsen

While the famous towns are often busy, the smaller and less well-known onsen towns are likely to be very quiet, especially on weekdays. Our ‘Onsen In & Around Nagano’ page introduces everything you need to know about using an onsen, the benefits and where to find them.

8 / Food, farms & fruit-picking / summer to autumn


nagano-farm-satoyama

Let’s face it, one of the best things about travel is food and Japan is home to some truly fantastic food. Throughout the country, visitors will find an indulgent and delicious array of food – you really can’t go wrong in that regard.

nagano-rice-satoyama

When traveling to Central Japan, visitors are heading to one of Japan’s great food bowls – a place of abundant farmlands blessed by fertile and well-nourished soil. Nagano and Central Japan produce some of the best rice, vegetables, fruit and meat in the country; food best enjoyed at local restaurants or bought directly from the farmer.

From summer to autumn, many local farms open to the public, inviting visitors to enjoy fruit-picking directly from their orchards. Nagano is particular is most famous for its huge and delicious apples, grapes and peaches – all of which can be plucked straight from the tree or vine, in the sun and space of the great outdoors.

9 / Seafood markets of the north coast / all year round


amaharashi-coast-toyama

Central Japan may be defined by its mountains but is also blessed with a rugged coastline and bountiful waters, producing some of Japan’s best seafood.

kanazawa-omicho-seafood

Though Nagano is land-locked, the prefectures of Niigata, Toyama, Ishikawa and Fukui are coastal and home to numerous outstanding seafood markets on the Sea of Japan.

Amaharashi-Coast-toyama

The cities of Kanazawa and Toyama offer easy access to nearby markets – ideal destinations for visitors looking to buy and eat seafood caught that morning. From those cities – or Joetsu and Niigata City in Niigata – renting a car to explore the north coast independently is a truly enjoyable experience.

seafood-niigata

Japanese roads are well-maintained and drivers are usually patient and polite, allowing you freedom to explore and enjoy the region by yourself including the Noto Peninsula.

10 / The Noto Peninsula / all year round


noto-peninsula

Situated to the north of Kanazawa City, the Noto Peninsula is not well-known to international visitors. Extending 100 kilometres into the Sea of Japan, Noto Peninsula is relatively isolated and almost forgotten. A place of tremendous beauty including rugged coasts and lush forests, the area has not developed to the extent of other regions of Japan and as such, offers visitors escape, solitude and pristine beauty.

noto-peninsula

Coastal roads allow for scenic drives while just inland from the sea, rural villages ago about their daily lives with a strong sense of tradition. Needless to say that any visit to the peninsula basically obliges you to try plenty of seafood which is unsurprisingly pretty amazing.

noto-peninsula

A lack of public transport in and around the Noto Peninsula also helps to keep visitor numbers down, requiring you to arrange a rental car to really make the trip worthwhile.

noto-peninsula

Avoid August, when Japanese school children enjoy their summer holidays and areas of the peninsula will be buys with holidaying families. Otherwise, rent that car and get going – we highly recommend it.

Snow Monkey Resorts: Nagano’s No.1 tour and charter operator


When planning and booking your trip to Central Japan, it’s important that you can do so with confidence that your intended destinations will be both enjoyable and safe. As Nagano’s No.1-rated tour and charter operator, we offer a range of services including group tours, private tours and private charters to help you get the most out of your time in the region.

snow-monkey-resorts-vehicles

We can arrange transport to and from any destination in the region, with a customised itinerary to suit your travel needs. Our drivers and vehicles are fully certified, allowing us to transport you to and from any destination. Vehicles are fitted with a protective screen – separating the driver from passenger and luggage area – and our drivers wear protective masks, allowing you to move between your destinations in comfort and safety.

We can arrange both private tours with an English-speaking guide or a private charter, including a private vehicle and driver but without a guide.

snow-monkey-resorts-vehicles-hiace-shiga

We’d love to be part of that experience and help you discover even more!

Why choose us?

Awarded a 2019 TripAdvisor Travelers’ Choice Award for our 1-Day Snow Monkeys, Zenko-ji Temple & Sake Tour – recognised as one of the Top 10 Experiences in Japan – we have the local knowledge and experience to help you get the most out of your time in Nagano.

Got a question about visiting Central Japan? Feel free to contact us at snowmonkeyresorts@machinovate.com and let’s get planning together!

tour-banner