日本对通过注册旅行社预订的游客开放。
欲了解更多信息,包括如何与我们预订 - 点击这里
目的地
东北和日光
东北的滑雪胜地:磐梯町, 蔵王温泉和安比高原

东北的滑雪胜地:磐梯町, 蔵王温泉和安比高原

ski-winter-general

在日本的主要滑雪区中,东北是最不知名的,也是国际游客最不常去的。但是,对于那些来到这里的人来说,东北的度假胜地提供了一些优秀的滑雪和滑雪板,以及以藏王温泉的 “雪怪 “为代表的独特体验。在这个页面上,你会发现以下信息:

东北的滑雪胜地:统计数字和事实

如何前往度假村

日本滑雪胜地:你需要知道的一切

当你计划去东北的任何一个度假村时,重要的是要注意它们与起点的距离,如东京。在下面列出的三个度假村中,星野度假村Alts 磐梯是最近的,距离首都东北290公里,而藏王温泉滑雪场和安比高原温泉酒店分别距离东京北部375公里和585公里。这些度假村不仅比长野和新泻的度假村离东京更远,而且彼此之间的距离也很远。基本上,在预订旅行之前,你需要做一些规划。

虽然到达度假村需要一点时间,但使用往返于东京站的东北新干线(’子弹头列车’)很容易做到。这条线路全天频繁运行,考虑到服务的速度,与驾车相比,大大减少了前往各度假村的旅行时间。关于到达每个度假村的最佳方式的更多信息,请参阅下面的 “如何到达度假村”。

东北的滑雪胜地:统计数据和事实


japan-ski-resorts-banner

在日本所有的主要滑雪区中,包括长野、新泻和北海道,你可能没有听说过的是东北。东北位于东京的东北部,是一个广阔的地区,有许多小的度假村和几个较大的度假村,正在缓慢地建立强大的声誉。在这一页,我们将讨论我们对东北最好的滑雪胜地的推荐,包括

星野磐梯滑雪场藏王温泉滑雪场安比高原滑雪场

在考虑冬季去东北度假时,重要的是要认识到该地区由多个县组成,包括福岛、山形、宫城、秋田、岩手和青森,下面讨论的三个度假村彼此之间有很大的距离。这与长野、新泻和北海道形成鲜明对比,这三个县都是自己的县,都有相对较近的度假区集群。但是,如果你有时间和精力去东北的度假区,你会发现每个度假区的国际游客都少得多,可以获得非常 “日本 “的度假体验。

星野度假村Alts 磐梯, 福岛

ski-winter-general

磐梯是由星野集团经营的,也就是在北海道经营华丽的星野度假村TOMAMU的公司,是一个中小型的度假村,旨在迎合高端市场,特别是那些在东京的人。Alts磐梯位于福岛县,没有像日本许多度假村那样得到传说中的倾盆大雨,季节相对较短。出于这个原因,在预订万代之旅之前,设定你的期望值是很重要的。星野磐梯Alts滑雪场旨在为游客提供完整的 “度假村 “体验,包括高端住宿和全包式滑雪配套,是一个不错的度假村,但最适合初、中级滑雪者和滑雪板爱好者在东京相对容易到达的地方寻找滑雪场–但最好避免周末和假期,因为那时度假村可能非常拥挤。

bandai-trail-map

运营日期和时间

根据雪况,该度假村通常从12月下半月起至3月底开放,升降机运行时间为8:30至16:00。12月下旬至3月上旬的周六,17:00至21:00可进行夜间滑雪。

滑雪道

磐梯是一个中小型度假村,占地约120公顷,提供22条滑雪道,由1条吊厢索道和7条吊椅索道提供服务。度假村位于海拔580米至1280米之间,提供了一个体面的–按日本的标准–700米的垂直度,但最陡的坡度只有29°。官方列出的雪道分类如下。初级35%/中级40%/高级25%。最长的路线是3公里。

亮点介绍

该度假村位于三座小山的侧翼–磐梯山、猫魔山和Umaya山–最高海拔仅1280米*。它的低海拔和内陆位置意味着磐梯山不能像长野、新泻和北海道的度假胜地那样收到粉雪,而且由于禁止越野,高级滑雪者和滑雪板爱好者可能会在度假胜地找到一点乐趣。尽管如此,磐梯拥有四个地形公园,所以如果你喜欢跳跃和撞击,那么这里值得一游。这里最适合初级到中级的滑雪者、滑板手和家庭,这里的地形比较平缓,下层的滑道比较宽,是学习和建立信心的理想场所。但实际上,在长野和新泻有更好的选择,它们都比磐梯离东京更近。

*星野度假村Alts磐梯是万代山上的几个度假村之一,包括星野度假村猫魔滑雪场、里磐梯滑雪场、猪苗代滑雪场和Grandeco滑雪度假村。猪苗代滑雪场是唯一一个有规模的度假村,但是对于国际游客来说,这个度假村–星野度假村Alts 磐梯–绝对是最佳选择。

门票和通票

磐梯的日票费用:成人(18岁以上):4900日元/ JHS和HS学生(13-17):3700日元/ ES年龄段的儿童(6-12岁):2300日元/婴儿(0-5岁):免费 / 老年人(60岁以上):4500日元。还有一系列的其他门票,包括半天和夜间滑雪。

租赁和滑雪学校

度假村提供优秀的租赁服务,包括高质量的滑雪板和雪橇,主要是Atomic和Burton的库存。还提供滑雪和滑雪板课程,团体课程只提供日语,但私人课程可以用英语预订。租金和课程可以在度假村的主要酒店磐梯山温泉酒店安排,详情见下文。

儿童和家庭

磐梯是一个适合家庭包括有小孩的家庭的度假村。山上有两个儿童公园,家庭可以在里面使用雪橇、木筏和其他雪具。两个公园的门票都是免费的。此外,还为8个月至6岁的儿童提供了室内游戏室和托儿所(托儿所可能只由讲日语的工作人员负责)。

住宿和村庄信息

度假村内或附近的住宿选择有限,大型的磐梯山温泉酒店是最方便的选择。该酒店位于度假村的基地,为客人提供高端客房、餐厅和设施,包括 “温泉”(天然温泉)和室内游泳池,提供滑雪进/出的便利。酒店有各种西式客房,餐厅提供日本和国际美食。酒店有讲英语的工作人员,使之成为国际游客的良好选择。离酒店较远的地方有一些小型宾馆和旅馆,在附近的村庄提供住宿,但它们没有直接进入度假村的便利。欲了解更多信息和住宿列表,请参见我们的 “磐梯滑雪场地区 “酒店页面。

前往磐梯

东京站的距离:290KM/3.5到4.5小时。最近的大站是郡山站:距离度假村55KM / 1至1.5小时。

从东京出发,乘坐东北新干线到郡山站–75至95分钟,然后从郡山站换乘班车到Alts 磐梯–再90分钟,就可以前往度假村。更多信息,请参阅下面的 “如何前往度假村”。


藏王温泉滑雪场,山形县

tohoku-zatohoku-zao-onsen-banner-edito-onsen

藏王温泉是一个中型到大型的滑雪场,提供适当的地形组合,并有一个温泉村提供服务。藏王以其山顶的雪树而闻名,主要吸引了日本、中国和韩国的滑雪者和滑雪板爱好者,到目前为止,还没有发现西方人的大受欢迎。该度假村提供约186公顷的地形和880米的垂直高度。最适合初、中级滑雪者和单板滑雪者,新手会喜欢度假村长而圆润的雪道,而中级和高级滑雪者可以通过进入树林和雪道外找到一些乐趣(但要谨慎行事)。虽然度假村顶部的 “雪怪 “提供了一个独特而美丽的骑行景观,但值得注意的是,引人注目的树木是定期的野生天气的产物,你不会在宣传照片中看到,蓝鸟天在冬季中有些罕见。但是狂野的天气等于空旷的滑雪道,所以即使这样也有其积极意义……

zao-onsen-trail-map

运营日期和时间

视雪况而定,度假村通常从12月初到4月底甚至5月开放,电梯运行时间为8:30至17:00。在度假村的Uwanodai滑雪道和横仓滑雪道地区,17:00至21:00可进行夜间滑雪,但具体的运行日期有所不同。

滑雪道

从日本的标准来看,藏王温泉是一个相对较大的度假村,提供186公顷的地形,可通过25条滑雪道到达,有2条索道、1条吊厢和31条吊椅索道提供服务。度假村位于海拔880米至1661米之间,提供780米的垂直度,最陡峭的坡度达到了38°。官方列出的雪道分类如下。初级40%/中级40%/高级20%。最长的赛道有9至10公里长,是日本最长的赛道之一。

亮点介绍

毫无疑问,藏王温泉最著名的特点是其高耸的 “树冰 “或 “雪鬼/怪物”;冰雪掩埋的树木占据了度假村的最顶端。由源自西伯利亚的冷空气、冰和雪不断吹袭而形成的雪怪,足以让许多人前往藏王温泉旅行。当你开始沿着长长的滑雪道下山时,你可以自由地在树木之间骑行,其中最长的滑雪道绵延9至10公里,是日本最长的滑雪道之一。滑雪道上的活动相当平缓,最适合初、中级滑雪者和滑雪板爱好者。虽然越野滑雪在技术上是禁区,但并没有得到很好的管理,所以如果你很谨慎,避免在运行中的升降机下行走,那么你应该能够享受到一些属于你自己的粉雪。与长野县的野泽温泉一样,与度假村相连的传统温泉村创造了一种真实的感觉氛围。在周末和节假日最繁忙的时候,藏王在工作日基本没有人,这对于想要获得真正的 “日本 “滑雪体验的人来说是一个诱人的选择。

门票和通票

藏王的日票费用:成人(18岁以上):5500日元/ JHS和HS学生(13-17):4800日元/ ES年龄段的儿童(6-12岁):2800日元/婴儿(0-5岁):免费 / 老年人(60岁以上):4800日元。还有一系列的其他门票,包括半天和夜间滑雪。

租赁和滑雪学校

说到租赁和课程,与其他许多度假村相比,藏王是相当缺乏的。独立的租赁店分布在度假村和村庄的各个角落,但是大多数租赁店都提供过时的装备,而且很少甚至没有英语服务。位于藏王基地中心Jupia内的藏王滑雪租赁公司是一个例外,它提供体面的装备,并有一些讲英语的工作人员。一些旅店也提供内部租赁服务。虽然这是一个方便的选择,但质量和价格确实不同,所以如果你想获得一些像样的设备,一定要提前询问。在藏王有滑雪和滑雪板学校,但只提供日语的团体课程。藏王滑雪学校和藏王Heim滑雪学校提供英语的私人课程。这两个学校都位于Uwanodai滑雪区的基地。

儿童和家庭

该度假村并不适合有小孩的家庭。这里很少有专门为家庭服务的设施,也没有日托服务。如果你想选择一个适合家庭的度假村,那么星野度假村Alt 磐梯或安比高原温泉酒店都是更好的选择。

住宿和村庄信息

藏王温泉,顾名思义,传统上是一个温泉区,村子里有很多带内部温泉的旅店。很多都是家庭经营的,虽然你可能很难找到很多专门为国际游客服务的旅馆,但你几乎可以保证在你选择的任何地方都会受到热烈欢迎。村里没有大型酒店,这一事实使藏王温泉保留了其传统的外观,同时缺乏外国游客,这意味着整个度假村仍然给人以非常 “日式 “的感觉。与东北的所有度假村一样,不要指望有太多的夜生活。更多信息和住宿列表,请参见我们的 “藏王温泉滑雪场区 “酒店页面。

前往藏王温泉

东京站的距离:375KM / 4至5小时。最近的大站是山形站:18KM / 40分钟。

从东京到达度假村,乘坐山形新干线到山形站–145至175分钟(取决于你选择的服务)。到达山形后,接送巴士或出租车将带您进入度假村–再过40分钟。欲了解更多信息,请参见下面的 “如何前往度假村”。


安比高原温泉酒店,岩手县

appi-kogen-ski-resort

安比高原温泉酒店距离东京很远,可以说是东北地区最好的滑雪场,但到目前为止,这种距离限制了它对国际游客的吸引力。那些来到这里的人往往会喜欢这里,因为他们发现这里是一个规模不错的度假村,有良好的基础设施和设备,能够很好地满足英语和中文使用者的需求。安比高原以修剪整齐的雪道而闻名,还提供了一些漂亮的树区,在那里你可以找到一些很好的粉雪。总而言之,安比高原为每个人提供了一些东西。

appi-kogen-trail-map

运营日期和时间

根据雪况,该度假村的滑雪季节通常从11月下旬一直持续到5月,升降机的运行时间为8:30至15:40。在这个季节里,大多数星期六的16:00至20:00都可以进行夜间滑雪。度假村的日票包括夜间滑雪。

滑雪道

安比高原为游客提供282公顷的地形,可通过21条滑雪道进入,并有1条吊厢和10条吊椅索道提供服务。该度假村的海拔较低,位于694至1304米之间,提供620米的垂直高度。度假村内最陡峭的坡度达到34°。官方列出的雪道分类如下:初级30%/中级40%/高级30%。最长的路线是5.5公里。

亮点介绍

按照日本的标准,安比高原提供大量的地形,与藏王温泉相比,安比高原更大,基础设施更好。此外,安比的设置更适合讲英语的人,而且通常比藏王的天气更好,对于想要享受一个拥有所有设施和服务的非常好的度假村的人来说,这是一个不错的选择。在山上,安比没有任何超长的滑雪道–最长的是5.5公里–但其滑雪道的平均长度比日本大多数度假村都要长。雪道修整得很好,让滑雪者和滑雪板爱好者可以达到很好的速度,而在雪道边上还隐藏着很好的粉雪。总的来说,安比高原还不能像长野和北海道最受欢迎的度假村那样吸引西方人,但那些去那里的人往往会喜欢它并告诉他们的朋友。预计在未来几年,安比会越来越受欢迎。

门票和通票

安比高原的日票费用:成年人(18岁以上):5300日元/ JHS和HS学生(13-17):3200日元/ ES年龄段的儿童(6-12岁):2800日元/婴儿(0-5岁):免费 / 老年人(60岁以上):3800日元。还有一系列的其他门票,包括半天、多天和夜间滑雪的门票。

租赁和滑雪学校

岩原站提供高质量的租赁装备,可以在你到前往比高原之前在网上预订。它在安比高原广场、ANA 皇冠假日酒店和ANA 皇冠假日度假村有三家分店,营业时间为08:15(或周日07:45),直到电梯关闭。还提供英语的滑雪和滑雪板课程,可以直接通过度假村的酒店和宾馆安排。

儿童和家庭

安比高原为有孩子的家庭提供了一系列良好的设施,包括儿童专用的滑雪区,安比高原雪地游乐场,在那里,家庭可以享受雪橇,滑雪管等,还有儿童护理和其他功能,这将使其具有吸引力。

住宿和村庄信息

与藏王温泉不同,安比高原没有一个与度假村相连的村庄,而是以安比格兰大酒店的形式提供大型酒店住宿。该酒店位于度假村的基地,提供滑雪进出的便利和各种房间,具有西方的设施。这里有多个餐厅,几个酒吧,一个温泉,游泳池,一个日间水疗中心和全套服务。安比格兰大酒店的工作人员会讲英语和中文,这对于想要打包整个滑雪之旅并在那里得到支持的国际游客来说是一个方便的选择。其他大型酒店包括安比高原全日空度假酒店和ANA 皇冠假日酒店*。在远离酒店的地方,有一个距离度假村约一公里的村庄,在那里你可以找到小旅馆,但没有什么餐饮和夜生活。更多信息和住宿列表,请参见我们的 “安比高原滑雪场地区 “酒店页面。

*值得注意的是,大型酒店的存在使该度假村受到旅游团的欢迎。如果你想避免这种情况,最好考虑另一个度假村,或者至少在一个较小的旅馆或宾馆寻找住宿。

前往安比高原

东京站的距离:585KM / 4至5小时。最近的大站是盛冈站:45KM / 45至60分钟。

从东京到达度假村,乘坐东北新干线到盛冈站–130至200分钟(取决于你选择的服务)。到达盛冈后,公交车或出租车将带你进入度假村–再过45至60分钟。或者,你也可以转乘当地的JR花轮线,前往安比高原站–60分钟的旅程。在那里,不定期的班车会把你送到度假村。欲了解更多信息,请直接参见下面的 “如何前往度假村”。

如何前往度假区


tohoku-shinkansen-banner-edit

大多数前往东北滑雪胜地的国际游客都会从东京开始旅行。虽然这三个滑雪场离首都都有一定的距离,但由于日本的列车网络非常好,所以去每个滑雪场的旅程都相对简单。我们的 “如何前往东北滑雪胜地 “网页上有你需要知道的关于乘坐列车或自己驾车前往的一切信息。

日本的滑雪胜地:你需要知道的一切


japan-ski-resorts-banner

你知道吗,东北的度假村只是遍布日本的数百个度假村中的一部分?不用说,当你选择长野作为你的冬季度假地时,你会被宠坏的。我们的 “日本滑雪胜地 “页面有你需要知道的一切,以开始计划你的滑雪和滑雪板冒险,包括:最新的新闻和优惠,长野和日本最好的度假村,常见问题,当然还有我们的滑雪配套、住宿、交通和旅游。

DESTINATIONS
TOHOKU & NIKKO
Tohoku Ski Resorts: Bandai, Zao Onsen & Appi Kogen

Tohoku Ski Resorts: Bandai, Zao Onsen & Appi Kogen

ski-winter-general

Of Japan’s major ski regions, Tohoku is the least well-known and least frequented by international visitors. But for those who do make it, the resorts of Tohoku offer some excellent skiing and snowboarding and unique experiences vistas typified by the ‘Snow Monsters’ of Zao Onsen. On this page you will find the following information:

Tohoku Ski Resorts: The Stats & Facts

How to Get to the Resorts

Japan Ski Resorts: Everything You Need to Know

When planning your visit to any of the Tohoku resorts it’s important to note their distance from starting points such as Tokyo. Of the three resorts listed below, Hoshino Resorts Alts Bandai is the nearest – 290KM to the northeast of the capital – while Zao Onsen Ski Resorts and Appi Kogen Ski Resort are 375KM and 585KM to the north of Tokyo, respectively. Not only do the resorts lie notably further from Tokyo than the resorts of Nagano and Niigata, but they also lie at significant distance to each other. Basically, before booking your trip you need to do some planning.

While it takes a little time to reach the resorts, it’s easy to do so using the Tohoku Shinkansen (‘Bullet Train’) line running to and from Tokyo Station. Services run frequently throughout the day and given the speed of the service, dramatically reduces the travel time to each resort. For more information about the best way to reach each of them, see ‘How to Get to the Resorts’ below.

TOHOKU SKI RESORTS: THE STATS & FACTS


Of all of Japan’s ski areas including Nagano, Niigata and Hakuba, it’s likely that the one you haven’t heard of is Tohoku. Located to the northeast of Tokyo, Tohoku is an expansive area with lots of little resorts and a couple of bigger ones which are slowing building strong reputations. On this page we will discuss:

Hoshino Resorts Alts Bandai / Zao Onsen Ski Resort / Appi Kogen Ski Resort

When considering a winter getaway to Tohoku, it’s important to recognise that the region consists of multiple prefectures including Fukushima, Yamagata, Miyagi, Akita, Iwate and Aomori with the three resorts discussed below located at significant distance of each other. This contrasts to Nagano, Niigata and Hokkaido which are prefectures to themselves all of which offer clusters of resorts in relatively close proximity. But if you have the time and energy to head to the resorts of Tohoku, you’ll find far fewer international visitors at any of them, allowing for a very ‘Japanese’ resort experience.

HOSHINO RESORTS ALTS BANDAI, FUKUSHIMA

ski-winter-general

Operated by the Hoshino Resorts group – the same company operating the glitzy Hoshino Resorts Tomamu in Hokkaido – Bandai is a small to medium-sized resort designed to cater to a high-end market, especially those based in Tokyo. Located in Fukushima Prefecture, Alts Bandai doesn’t receive the legendary dumps of powder that many resorts in Japan are blessed with and has a relatively short season. For that reason, it’s important to set your expectations before booking a trip to Bandai. Designed to give visitors a full resort experience including high-end accommodation and all-inclusive ski packages, Hoshino Resorts Alts Bandai is a decent resort but one best-suited to beginner and intermediate skiers and snowboarders looking for a convenient resort within relatively easy reach of Tokyo – but best to avoid weekends and holidays when the resort can be very crowded.

bandai-trail-map

Operating Dates & Times

Dependent on snow conditions, the resort is typically open from the second-half of December until the end of March with lifts operating from 08:30 to 16:00. Night-skiing is available from 17:00 to 21:00 on Saturdays between late-December and early-March.

Ski Runs

Bandai is a small to medium-sized resort – around 120 hectares – offering 22 ski runs serviced by 1 gondola and 7 chairlifts. Located between 580 to 1280 metres above sea level, the resort offers a decent (by Japanese standards) 700 metres of vertical however the steepest pitch only hits 29°. The official breakdown lists trails as: Beginner 35% / Intermediate 40% / Advanced 25%. The longest run is 3KM.

Highlights

The resort ascends the flanks of three small mountains – Mount Bandai, Mount Nekomagadake and Mount Umaya – reaching a maximum elevation of only 1280 metres*. It’s low elevation and inland location mean that Bandai doesn’t receive the powder of resorts in Nagano, Niigata and Hokkaido and with backcountry being prohibited, advanced skiers and boarders are likely to find little joy at the resort. With that said, Bandai boasts four terrain parks so if jumps and hits are your thing, then it’s worth a visit. Best-suited to beginners to lower-intermediate skier and boarders and families, the mellow terrain and wide lower runs are ideal for learning-on and building-up your confidence. But in reality, there are better options in Nagano and Niigata, all of which are located closer to Tokyo than Bandai.

*Hoshino Resorts Alts Bandai is one of several resorts on Mount Bandai including Hoshino Resorts Nekoma Ski Resorts, Urabandai Ski Resort, Inawashiro Ski Resort and Grandeco Snow Resort. Inawashiro is the only other resort of decent size however for international visitors, this resort – Hoshino Resorts Alts Bandai – is definitely the best option.

Tickets & Passes

Day passes for Bandai cost: Adults (18+): JPY4900/ JHS & HS Students (13-17): JPY3700 / ES-aged children (6-12): JPY2300 / Infants (0-5): Free / Seniors (60+): JPY4500.A range of other tickets are also available including half-day and night-skiing.

Rental & Ski School

The resort offers excellent rental including high quality ski and snowboards, stocking mostly Atomic and Burton. Ski and snowboard lessons are also available with group lessons only provided in Japanese however private lessons can be booked in English. Rental and lessons can be arranged at the main resort hotel, Bandaisan Onsen Hotel – see below for details.

Kids & Families

Bandai is a good resort for families including those with young children. On the mountain, there are two kids parks in which families can enjoy using sleds, rafts and other snow gear. Admission to both parks is free. An indoor playroom and childcare facilities for kids aged 8 months to 6 years are also available (daycare is likely to only be staffed by Japanese-speakers).

Accommodation & Village Info

Accommodation options at or near the resort are limited, with the large Bandaisan Onsen Hotel being the most convenient option. Offering ski in/out convenience, the hotel is located at the base of the resort and offers guests high-end rooms, restaurants and facilities including an ‘onsen’ (natural hot spring) and indoor swimming pool. A variety of Western-style rooms are available with restaurants serving both Japanese and international cuisine. The hotel has English-speaking staff, making it a good option for international visitors. Away from the hotel there are a number of small guesthouses and lodges providing accommodation in nearby villages however they lack the convenience of direct access to the resort. For more information and accommodation listings, see our ‘Bandai Ski Resort Area’ hotel page.

Getting to Bandai

Distance to Tokyo Station: 290KM / 3.5 to 4.5 hours. Nearest major station is Koriyama Station: 55KM / 1 to 1.5 hours from the resort.

To reach the resort from Tokyo, take the Tohoku Shinkansen to Koriyama Station – 75 to 95 minutes – and then switch to a shuttle bus service from the station to Alts Bandai – another 90 minutes. For more information, see ‘How to get to the Resorts’ below.


ZAO ONSEN SKI RESORT, YAMAGATA

tohoku-zatohoku-zao-onsen-banner-edito-onsen
japan-ski-resorts-banner

Zao Onsen is a medium to large-sized ski resort, offering a decent mix of terrain and serviced by a hot spring village. Best known for the snow-wrapped trees at its summit, Zao attracts mostly Japanese, Chinese and Korean skiers and snowboarders and to date, hasn’t found big popularity with Westerners. The resort offers around 300 hectares of terrain and a decent 880 metres of vertical. Best suited to beginner and intermediate skiers and snowboarders, newbies will enjoy the resort’s long, mellow runs while intermediate and advanced riders can find some fun by heading into the trees and off-piste (but be discrete about it). While the ‘snow monsters’ are the top of the resort offer a unique and beautiful landscape in which to ride, it’s worth noting that the striking trees are the product of regular wild weather which you won’t see in the promotional photos and bluebird days are somewhat rare in the middle of winter. But wild weather equals empty ski runs so even that can have its positives…

zao-onsen-trail-map

Operating Dates & Times

Dependent on snow conditions, the resort is typically open from early-December until the end of April or even into May, with lifts operating from 08:30 to 17:00. Night-skiing is available from 17:00 to 21:00 in the Uwanodai and Yokoura areas of the resorts however exact dates of operation vary.

Ski Runs

Zao Onsen is a relatively large resort – by Japanese standards – offering 305 hectares of terrain, accessible via 25 ski runs and serviced by 2 ropeways, 1 gondola and 31 chairlifts. Sitting between 880 to 1661 metres above sea level, the resort offers a decent 780 metres of vertical with the steepest pitch hitting standards) 700 metres of vertical with the steepest pitch hitting 38°. The official breakdown lists trails as: Beginner 40% / Intermediate 40% / Advanced 20%. The longest run is an impressive 9 to 10KM long, making it one of the longest in Japan.

Highlights

Without doubt the most famous feature of Zao Onsen is its towering ‘juhyo’ or ‘snow ghosts / monsters’; the snow and ice entombed trees populating the very top of the resort. Formed by constant blasts of cold air, ice and snow originating in Siberia, the snow monsters are reason enough for many people to make the journey to Zao Onsen. You are free to ride between the trees as you begin your descent down long ski runs, the longest of which stretches 9 to 10km making it one of the longest in Japan. On-piste the action is pretty mellow, best-suited to beginner and intermediate skiers and snowboarders. While backcountry is technically off-limits but not policed all that well, so if you’re discrete and avoid going under operating lifts, then you should be able to enjoy some powder all to yourself. Much like Nozawa Onsen in Nagano, the traditional hot spring village connected to the resort creates an authentic feeling atmosphere. At its busiest on weekends and holidays, Zao is mostly empty of weekdays making it an enticing option for anyone wanting a true ‘Japanese’ ski experience. 

Tickets & Passes

Day passes for Zao cost: Adults (18+): JPY5500/ JHS & HS Students (13-17): JPY4800 / ES-aged children (6-12): JPY2800 / Infants (0-5): Free / Seniors (60+): JPY4800.A range of other tickets are also available including half-day and night-skiing.

Rental & Ski School

When it comes to rental and lesson, Zao is quite lacking in comparison to many other resorts. Independent rental stores are spread around the resort and village however most outlets supply dated gear with limited to no services in English. Located inside the Zao Base Centre Jupia, Zao Ski Rental is one exception to this, supplying decent gear and staffed by some English-speakers. Some guesthouses also provide in-house rental. While a convenient option the quality and prices really do vary so if getting your hands to some decent equipment is important to you, make sure to ask in advance. Ski and snowboards schools exist in Zao however only provide groups lessons in Japanese. Zao Ski School and Zao Heim Ski School provide private lessons in English. Both are located at the base of the Uwanodai ski area.

Kids & Families

The resort isn’t well-suited to families with young children. There are few dedicated facilities for families and no daycare. If you choosing a resort that is family-friendly is a priority for you, both Hoshino Resorts Alt Bandai or Appi Kogen are better options.

Accommodation & Village Info

Zao Onsen is, as the name suggests, traditionally a hot spring area with the village offering lots of guesthouses with in-house hot springs. Many are family-run and while you’ll likely struggle to find many guesthouses catering specifically to international visitors, you’re almost guaranteed to receive a warm welcome anywhere you choose to book. There are no large hotels in the village, a fact which has allowed Zao Onsen to retain its traditional appearance while the lack of foreign visitors, means that the entire resort still feels very ‘Japanese’. Like all the resorts of Tohoku, don’t expect much nightlife. For more information and accommodation listings, see our ‘Zao Onsen Ski Resort Area’ hotel page.

Getting to Zao Onsen

Distance to Tokyo Station: 375KM / 4 to 5 hours. Nearest major station is Yamagata Station: 18KM / 40 minutes.

To reach the resort from Tokyo, take the Yamagata Shinkansen to Yamagata Station – 145 to 175 minutes (depending on which service you choose). Once at Yamagata, shuttle buses or taxis will take you onto the resort – another 40 minutes. For more information, see ‘How to get to the Resorts’ below.


APPI KOGEN SKI RESORT, IWATE

appi-kogen-ski-resort

Located at significant distance from Tokyo, Appi Kogen Ski Resort is arguably the best in Tohoku but that distance has so far limited its appeal to international visitors. Those who do make it, tend to love it as they discover a good-sized resort with good infrastructure and facilities catering well to English and Chinese-speakers. With a reputation for beautifully-groomed runs, Appi also offers some nice tree zones where you can find some excellent powder. All-in-all, Appi offers something for everyone.

appi-kogen-trail-map

Operating Dates & Times

Dependent on snow conditions, the resort typically enjoys a long season from late-November until into May, with lifts operating from 08:30 to 15:40. Night-skiing is available from 16:00 to 20:00 on most Saturdays during the season. The resort’s day-pass includes night-skiing.

Ski Runs

Appi Kogen is slightly smaller than Zao Onsen, offering 292 hectares of terrain accessible via 21 ski runs and serviced by 1 gondola and 10 chairlifts. The resort is another low one, located between 694 to 1304 metres and offering 620 metres of vertical. The steepest pitch in the resort hits 34°. The official breakdown lists trails as: Beginner 30% / Intermediate 40% / Advanced 30%. The longest run is 5.5km.

Highlights

Offering just under 300 hectares of terrain, Appi Kogen is slightly smaller than Zao Onsen but with a better infrastructure of lifts to move around the resort. Added to this, Appi is better setup to cater to English-speakers and generally enjoys better weather than Zao, making it a good option for anyone wanting to enjoy a very good resort with all the facilities and services you could need. On the mountain, Appi doesn’t have any super long runs – the longest is 5.5km – however its courses have an average length longer than most resorts in Japan. The runs are beautifully groomed allowing skiers and snowboarders to hit some good speeds, while there’s good powder hidden away just off the courses. All-in-all, Appi Kogen doesn’t yet attract the crowds of Westerner’s you’ll find in Nagano and Hokkaido, but those who make it there tend to love it and tell their friends. Expect Appi to grow in popularity in coming years.

Tickets & Passes

Day passes for Appi cost: Adults (18+): JPY5300/ JHS & HS Students (13-17): JPY3200 / ES-aged children (6-12): JPY2800 / Infants (0-5): Free / Seniors (60+): JPY3800.A range of other tickets are also available including half-day, multi-day and night-skiing-only.

Rental & Ski School

Salomon Station offers high quality rental gear that can be booked online in advance of your arrival in Appi. It has three outlets in Appi Plaza, ANA Crowne Plaza and ANA Holiday Inn Resort open from 08:15 (or 07:45 on Sundays) until the close of the lifts. Ski and snowboard lessons are also available in English and can be arranged directly through the resort’s hotels and guesthouses.

Kids & Families

Appi Kogen offers a good range of facilities for families with children including a kids-only ski area, Appi Snow Play Land in which families can enjoy sledding, tubbing and more, along with childcare and other features that will make it appeal.

Accommodation & Village Info

Unlike Zao Onsen, Appi doesn’t have a village connected to the resort but instead offers large hotel accommodation in form of Hotel Appi Grand. Located at the base of the resort, the hotel offers ski in/out convenience and variety of rooms, featuring Western amenities. There are multiple restaurants, a couple of bars a hot spring, swimming pool, a day spa and full-suite of services. Hotel Appi Grand is staffed by English and Chinese -speakers making it a convenient option for international visitors wanting to package their entire ski trip and have support while there. Other large hotels include Holiday Resort Inn and ANA Crowne Plaza*. Away from the hotels, there is a village around one kilometre from the resort where you’ll find small lodges but little in the way of dining and nightlife. For more information and accommodation listings, see our ‘Appi Kogen Ski Resort Area’ hotel page.

*It’s worth noting that the presence of large hotels makes the resort popular with large tour groups. If that’s something you want to avoid, best to consider another resort or at least look for accommodation at a smaller lodge or guesthouse.

Getting to Appi Kogen

Distance to Tokyo Station: 585KM / 4 to 5 hours. Nearest major station is Morioka Station: 45KM / 45 to 60 minutes.

To reach the resort from Tokyo, take the Tohoku Shinkansen to Morioka Station – 130 to 200 minutes (depending on which service you choose). Once at Morioka, buses or taxis will take you onto the resort – another 45 to 60 minutes. Alternatively, you can switch to the local JR Hanawa Line and head to Appi-Kogen Station – a 60-minute journey. From there, infrequent shuttle buses will run you to the resort. For more information, see ‘How to get to the Resorts’ directly below.

HOW TO GET TO THE RESORTS


tohoku-shinkansen-banner-edit

Most international visitors heading to the ski resorts of Tohoku will do so by starting their journey from Tokyo. While all three lie at some distance from the capital, the journey to each is relatively straight-forward thanks to Japan’s fantastic train network. Our ‘How to Get to the Tohoku Ski Resorts’ page has everything you need to know about getting their by train or the option of driving yourself.

JAPAN SKI RESORTS: EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW


niigata-muikamachi-hakkaisan
japan-ski-resorts-banner

Did you know that the resorts of Tohoku are just some of the hundreds spread throughout Japan? Needless to say, when you choose Nagano for your winter getaway you are spoiled for choice! Our ‘Japan Ski Resorts’ page has everything you need to know to start planning your ski and snowboard adventure including: LATEST NEWS & DEALS, THE BEST RESORTS IN NAGANO & JAPAN, FAQs and of course OUR SKI PACKAGES, ACCOMMODATION, TRANSPORT & TOURS.