DESTINATIONS
01. 雪猴公园
地狱谷猴园的历史

地狱谷猴园的历史

始建于1964年的地狱谷雪猴公园及其著名的猴群已经闻名全球,现在吸引了来自世界各地的游客。进入公园的雪猴部队是野生的,可以自由出入,随心所欲。它们为什么这么喜欢来的故事和公园的历史,都是相当吸引人的,值得你在亲自去参观之前了解一下。

公园的建立要归功于一个叫Sogo Hara的人。Sogo Hara是长野电铁的员工,1957年,他在徒步穿越被称为 “地狱谷 “的地方时,发现了猴群队。由于山势陡峭,山谷中的天然温泉喷涌而出,散发着硫磺的味道,因此被命名为 “地狱谷”。原惊叹于猴子,从此与它们的未来和故事纠缠在一起。

Snow Monkeys_180521_0227

当时,由于人类侵占了猴子的原生栖息地,猴子面临着一些威胁。最令人关注的是,从1950年代初开始,在周围山区开发滑雪场,包括安装吊椅索道和砍伐树木以建立滑雪道。

随着滑雪场的开发,Sogo Hara到猴子的数量急剧减少,它们别无选择地迁徙到地狱谷等低山地区和山之内的人类居住区。

随着猴子越来越频繁地出现在村庄里,它们开始掠夺农场的农作物,当地农民的不满是可以理解的。不久之后,社区的反应是农民们开始猎杀猴子,这引起了Soga Hara的愤怒,并促使他努力确保保护他心爱的猴子。这时,猴子们也发现了一些东西–一家名为 “地獄谷温泉後楽馆 “的传统旅店和它诱人的 “温泉”(天然温泉)

Snow monkeys bathing

作为地狱谷地区唯一的宾馆,地獄谷温泉後楽馆自古以来就以其温泉水的疗效而闻名。雪猴通过观察人类泡温泉的过程,很快就模仿了这种行为,成为世界上唯一能享受温泉浴的猴子。不久后,山田富雄首次拍摄到了这一独特的行为,地狱谷雪猴泡澡的传说由此诞生!

虽然猴子泡澡的景象立即受到游客的欢迎,但对宾馆来说,也有严重的影响,尤其是他们(人类)客人的水的卫生问题。考虑到所有这些问题,Sogo Hara领导了建立雪猴公园的运动–他所珍爱的猴子可以安全的地方。在公园里,利用当地的温泉源,为猴子建立了专门的浴场。为了让猴子远离人类村落,曾考虑设置围栏,但由于成本和希望不剥夺猴子的自由,最终被拒绝。

因此,开始了每天给猴子喂食的做法,以激励它们留在公园里,而不是去下面的村庄,因为在那里它们被认为是害虫。这个试错的过程最终发现了它们喜欢的食物–生大麦和大豆(每天3次),在青黄不接的季节,还可以吃苹果作为零食。这种做法一直延续到今天。

需要注意的是,猴子仍然是野生的,仍然需要自力更生。护林员小心翼翼地不给它们喂得过多,也不使它们依赖他们提供的大麦、大豆和苹果。食物是对它们的一种激励,但不足以让它们生存。

大约十年前,公园尝试允许游客喂养猴子,但很快发现,这使得猴子和游客之间的关系更加紧张和具有攻击性,失去了观察猴子在其接近自然状态下的乐趣。

公园不再允许游客给猴子喂食,经过几代人的努力,常住的猴群已经非常习惯人类的陪伴,让游客有独特的体验,近距离观察这些迷人的猴群。

虽然受到来自世界各地的游客的极大欢迎,但公园首先仍是一个保护地,在部队的自然领地内。这里是科学观察和研究的重要场所,请大家在参观地狱谷雪猴公园时一定要遵守公园的规定。

想了解更多关于猴子的信息吗?


为什么不在旅游公司预订呢?我们是长野第一的旅游和包车公司,全年营业

我们的 “雪猴公园、善光寺和清酒1日游 “荣获2019年TripAdvisor旅行者选择奖–被公认为日本十大体验之一–我们经营各种团体游,将参观地狱谷雪猴公园与附近其他景点和体验相结合。

我们提供当地的知识、支持和服务,让您在日本的冒险中获得最大的收获,包括私人旅游和包车到该地区的任何目的地。我们的司机和车辆都是经过认证的,使我们能够将您运送到您的首选目的地,并结合任何适合您的兴趣和时间表的活动。

有关于参观猴子的问题吗?欢迎联系我们,snowmonkeyresorts@machinovate.com,让我们一起计划吧!

在公园时需要帮助吗?


Snow Monkey Resorts信息及礼品店位于通往地獄谷雪猴公园的入口处。SMR信息与礼品店提供一系列服务,包括冬季租借和英语信息、行李寄存,以及包括Snow Monkey Resorts官方产品在内的猴类商品和纪念品,让您在游览公园时一应俱全。

snow-monkey-resorts-info-and-gift-shop
Snow-Monkey-Resorts-Info-&-Gift-Shop

开放时间为10月上旬至5月下旬,上午9点至下午5点,会讲英语的工作人员可以回答您在往返公园途中的问题,包括公交车时刻表和附近景点的信息。

winter-tours-banner

雪猴公园

旅游

活动

酒店

餐厅

节日

TRAVEL TIPS

博客

Hello’21! 长野春季优惠: 总价的10%折扣

推荐酒店

清洁绿色健康旅游

要做的事情

DESTINATIONS
01. SNOW MONKEY PARK
History of the Jigokudani Monkey Park

History of the Jigokudani Monkey Park

First established in 1964, the Jigokudani Monkey Park and its famous residents have become globally famous and now attract visitors from all over the world. The troop of macaques that comes into the park is wild and free to come and go as it pleases. The story of why they are so fond of coming and the history of the park are quite fascinating and worth understanding before you visit for yourself.

The founding of the park is thanks to a man called Sogo Hara. An employee of the Nagano Electric Railway (Nagano Dentetsu), Hara was a keen hiker who discovered the original troop while trekking through an area known as Jigokudani, or the ‘Valley of Hell’, in 1957. The area was named as such due to its steep mountains and the smell of sulphur emitting from the natural hot springs that bubble to the surface in the valley. Hara marvelled at the monkeys and from that point onward became entwined in their future and story.

Snow Monkeys_180521_0227

At that time the monkeys faced several threats due to human encroachment into their native habitat. Of central concern was the development of ski resorts, including installation of chair lifts and cutting of trees to create ski runs, in the surrounding mountains from the early-1950s onward.

As ski resorts were development, Hara observed a dramatic decrease in the number of monkeys who had no choice but to migrate to the lower mountain regions, including Jigokudani, and into areas of human habitation in Yamanouchi.

As the monkeys appeared more frequently in villages, they began raiding crops from farms, to the understandable dislike of local farmers. Before long the community reacted with farmers hunting down the monkeys, raising the ire of Soga Hara, and driving his efforts to ensure the protection of his beloved monkeys. By this time the monkeys had also discovered something for themselves – a traditional guesthouse called Korakukan and its appealing ‘onsen’ (natural hot spring).

Snow monkeys bathing

As the only guesthouse in the Jigokudani area, Korakukan had long been known for the restorative powers of its waters. Through watching humans soaking in the hot spring, the macaques soon copied the behavior themselves and thus became the only monkeys in the world known to enjoy bathing in onsens. Soon after, Tomio Yamada first photographed this unique behaviour and thus the legend of the bathing snow monkeys of Jigokudani was born!

While sight of bathing monkeys immediately proved popular with visitors, there were serious ramifications for the guesthouse, not least the hygiene of their water of (human) guests. With all of these issues in mind, Soga Hara led the movement to establish the monkey park – somewhere his cherished monkeys would be safe. Baths were created in the park just for the monkeys, using the local hot spring source. Fencing was considered to keep the monkeys away from human villages however ultimately rejected due to cost and a wish to not deny the freedom of the monkeys.

Thus the daily practice of feeding the monkeys began, to incentivize them to remain in the park rather than head to the villages below where they were considered to be pests. This process of trial and error eventually revealed their preferred food – raw barley and soybeans (3 times per day) with apples for snacks during the green season. This practice continues to this day.

It is important to note that the monkeys remain wild and still need to fend for themselves. The rangers are careful not to overfeed them or make them reliant of barley, soybean, and apples they provide. The food is an incentive to come but not enough to survive on.

Around ten years ago, the park experimented with allowing visitors to feed the monkeys however it was quickly discovered that this made the relationship between monkeys and visitors more tense and aggressive, taking away from the enjoyment of observing the monkeys in their near-natural state.

Visitors to the park are no longer allowed to feed the monkeys and over generations, the resident troop has become very accustomed to human company allowing for a unique experience and close proximity observation of these fascinating creatures.

While extremely popular with visitors from all over the world, the park remains first and foremost, a place of conservation and within the natural territory of the troop. It is an important place for scientific observation and study and we ask that you always follow the park rules when visiting the Jigokudani Snow Monkey Park.

Want to learn more about the monkeys?


Why not book at tour! Operating all year round we are Nagano’s No.1 rated tour and charter operator!

Awarded a 2019 TripAdvisor Travelers’ Choice Award for our 1-Day Snow Monkeys, Zenko-ji Temple & Sake Tour – recognised as one of the Top 10 Experiences in Japan – we operate a variety of group tours that combine a visit to the Jigokudani Monkey Park with other nearby attractions and experiences.

We offer the local knowledge, support, and service that you need to get the most out of your adventure in Japan including private tours and charters to any destination in the region. Our drivers and vehicles are fully certified, allowing us to transport you to and from your preferred destinations, in combination with any activity that suits your interests and schedule.

Got a question about visiting the monkeys? Feel free to contact us at snowmonkeyresorts@machinovate.com and let’s get planning together!

Need assistance while at the park?


The Snow Monkey Resorts Info & Gift Shop is located at the entrance of the trail leading to the Jigokudani Monkey Park. Offering a range of services including winter rentals and English language information, luggage storage, along with monkey merchandise and souvenirs including official Snow Monkey Resorts products, the SMR Info & Gift Shop has you covered when visiting the park.

snow-monkey-resorts-info-and-gift-shopSnow-Monkey-Resorts-Info-&-Gift-Shop

Open from early October until late May, 9AM to 5PM, English-speaking staff can answer your questions on your way to and from the park including bus timetables and information about nearby attractions.

winter-tours-banner