目的地
長野市和戶隠
松代的15项活动及住宿地点

松代的15项活动及住宿地点

matsushiro-sanada-treasure-museum

松代位於長野市中心以南12公里處,是一個以武士傳承而聞名的小城,也是真田氏的舊址。 真田氏原為上田氏,17紀時遷至松代城。在這個頁面上,你會發現以下內容:

松代在哪裡?

松代的15件趣事

參觀松代時的住宿地點

如何前往松代

與我們一起預訂! 長野的第一大旅遊和包車運營商

作為戰國時代的重要戰略基地和江戶時代武士階級的繁盛領地,真田氏積累了巨大的財富和權力,在日本歷史上發揮了重要作用。

Matsushiro Sanada festival

如今,松代城公園、真田故居、文武軍校等眾多江戶時代的名勝古蹟,以及武士住宅、寺院、神社、博物館等,都讓人感受到了武士的魅力。

sanada-residence

在它的腳下,松代城 也有一個公開的秘密……建造於二戰 最後幾個月的松代象山地下壕,是作為日本軍方、 政府和皇室的預定總部而挖掘的。在隧道建成或使用之前,戰爭就已經結束了,但今天仍然存在,可以供公眾參觀–這是一個令人傷感、陰鬱而又非常重要的證明,證明了戰爭給各方帶來的巨大代價。

matsushiro-chokokuji
tour-banner

我們很自豪地把長野稱為我們的家,並希望這個頁面能吸引你來參觀。作為一家註冊旅行社和長野縣排名第一的旅遊和包車運營商,我們提供團體和私人旅遊、滑雪和旅遊配套、住宿、私人包車和更多的服務! 欲知更多詳情,請往下至頁面底部。讓我們從一個明顯的問題開始:

松代在哪裡?


松代位於長野市的邊界內,距離長野站約11公里。從車站出發,當地巴士全天定期運行到松代,大約需要30至35分鐘才能到達該地區。作為一個真正具有歷史意義的小鎮,松代擁有多個景點,與它的武士歷史和(從未實現的)日本政府在二戰結束後被入侵時選擇的撤退地點有關。一旦到了松代,遊客可以在各景點之間穿行,同時還可以享受當地的餐館和居民的友好歡迎,他們會對你發現他們的家鄉而感到興奮。

matsushiro-tourist-information

對於前往松代的遊客來說,到達後你可能會有點困惑,不知道該去哪裡,因為巴士站距離市中心大約有5分鐘的步行路程。但事實上,該鎮非常容易走動,你會很快找到自己的方向。我們建議直接前往位於真田寶物館旁邊的松代旅遊諮詢中心。該中心每天從9:00至17:00開放,友好的工作人員隨時為您提供諮詢,從9:00至16:00提供自行車租賃服務,每人500日元。成人和兒童的自行車都有,是探索這個城市的好方法。

松代的15件趣事


matsushiro-festival-banner-edit

松代距離長野市中心很近,結合該市的其他景點,松代是一個上午或下午探索的好地方。在很大程度上沒有被國際遊客發現的情況下,這裡的居民會熱情地歡迎你訪問他們的家鄉,並發現它在日本武士的過去和最近的二戰結束時的巨大作用。下面是我們為您推薦的15件在那裡可以做的事情:

1/ 松代城公園 /全年無休

乘坐公共汽車到達松代城的人,過了舊火車站往右看,就能看到松代城公園的背面。在古城堡的城牆內有許多美麗的櫻花樹,公園位於古城堡的地基上,包括大門在內的幾座重建的建築保持了場地的歷史特色。

只有地基牆和周圍的護城河是原始的,但公園是值得參觀的,並提供了很好的攝影機會,特別是在春天!


2 / 公園裡的櫻桃花 / 3月下旬至4月

matsushiro-castle-park

松代城公園內場有許多成熟的櫻花樹。 櫻花在日本被稱為 “櫻花”,通常在4月初開花, 但具體時間每年都不一樣。公園的門票是免費的,但是它的開放時間只有09:00到17:00,最後一次進入的時間是16:30。 4月的第2個星期六,在城內和城外舉行 “松代城春季櫻花節”,是賞花的好時機。

如果你錯過了花節或花開高峰期,花瓣從樹上落到周圍的護城河中,也是值得一遊的美景。長野城內是長野縣最有名的賞花勝地之一


3 / 真田家庭住宅 / 全年無休

sanada-residence

真田幸典於1864年建造的真田氏家宅,在原城堡還在的時候,最初是作為他婆婆的家,晚年成為他自己的養老院。真田氏家宅一直由真田家使用,直到1966年捐贈給長野市。

sanada-residence
matsushiro-sanada-residence

1981年被宣佈為國家歷史遺跡,該建築由53個房間和廣闊的花園組成。 雖然住宅內的英文信息不多,但伴隨著日文顯示屏的二維碼,參觀者可以用智能手機將文字翻譯成英文。


4 / 松代藩文武學校 / 全年無休

matsushiro-bunbu-military-academy

開辦於1855年的 “文武學校 “也被稱為 “松代藩文武學校”或更正式的 “古文武學堂”。昔日的學校是為了培養地位較高的武士的子弟學習武術、傳統文學和藝術以及西醫和軍事科學而設立的,最近,學校得到了精美的修復。學校有9座建築,包括主校舍和幾個武術訓練的 “道場”,可以單純的觀光,也可以享受一系列的武士和傳統體驗–見下文。

matsushiro-bunbu-military-academy

一個互動/數字射擊館也將很快開放,允許遊客操作和使用學生們也接受過訓練的複製品槍支,包括火柴鎖步槍。


5 / 武士與傳統體驗 / 全年無

matsushiro-bunbu-military-academy

松代藩文武學校的遊客可以嘗試他們的一系列技能和練習,這些技能和練習以前是教給學生的,包括射箭和婚姻武術,或更寧靜的練習,如茶道和插花。週一至週五開放,必須提前預約。


6 / 松代象山地下壕 / 全年無休

matsushiro-zozan-tunnelsmatsushiro

在二戰的最後幾個月裡挖掘出來的松代象山地下壕,是日本軍方和政府在預計盟軍入侵時的預定總部。在戰爭結束時,一個廣泛的隧道和地下掩體網絡完成了大約75%,因此從未被使用。

matsushiro-zozan-tunnels

被稱為 “松代大本営跡 “或 “松代地下帝國總部 “的500米長的隧道至今仍在對外開放。 據估計,有10 000名強迫勞動者進行了挖掘,其中大部分是朝鮮戰俘或契約工。

matsushiro-zozan-tunnels

據估計,施工期間也有約1500人死亡。 朝鮮慰安婦也在現場,為任何參觀或解讀隧道的活動增添了更多的傷感和政治敏感性。更多信息,請參考我們的 “松代象山地下壕 “頁面。


7/ 象山神社 /全年無休

matsushiro-zozan-shrine

象山神社是供奉佐久間象山(1811-1864)的神社,為推動日本向世界開放發揮了重要作用。象山以其罕見的智慧和眾多的學問著稱,他在1864年被一個親帝國的武士暗殺,然而在那之前,他在教育許多人方面發揮了重要作用,最終使日本向世界開放,並導致其現代化。


8 / 舊樋口家住宅 / 全年無休

舊樋口家住宅是江戶時代和明治時代高級武士的住所,2010年開始對外開放。附近有真田珍寶館、真田氏、松代藩文武學校等人氣景點,遊客的目光會被房屋的大茅草屋頂所吸引。 在院內,遊客會發現一個保存完好的家園和花園,面積超過2000平方米,其中所有這些都為遊客提供了夢幻般的攝影機會,並讓遊客看到了古老的日本。


9 / 山寺常山的宅邸/ 全年無休

Matsushiro-Former-Yamadera-Jyozan-Residence

沿著從市中心通往松代象山地下壕的道路,遊客們會經過山寺常山的宅邸–山寺家族的故居。作為一個中級武士家庭, 保存完好的住宅和庭院,可以了解江戶時代的 日常生活。 該院包括訪客接待室、客廳、 普通宿舍和茶室–在秋天特別美麗。

Matsushiro-Former-Yamadera-Jyozan-Residence

在松代最長的正門和外牆的獨特設計,在往返於其他熱門景點時,一定會吸引你的注意力,因此山寺常山的宅邸值得一遊。


10 / 真田珍寶館 / 全年無休

matsushiro-sanada-treasure-museum

真田寶物館是矗立在真田氏家宅和松代學校模型前的大型建築。館內收藏了大量曾為真田氏統治者所有的文物,包括陶瓷、家具、手稿、武器和盔甲。

matsushiro-sanada-treasure-museum

參觀者會被兩件著名的武士盔甲所吸引,而日本獨特的”幽靈”(yokai)文化的粉絲們則會喜歡看多份手稿,這些手稿上裝飾著各種調皮的食屍鬼和好奇的生物。

matsushiro-sanada-treasure-museum

館內可購買涵蓋多個景點的門票,還可在旁邊的松代觀光信息中心租賃自行車。


11 / 松代城春季櫻花節 / 4月

Matsushiro Flower festival

4月的第二個星期六,在松代城公園內舉行松代春祭。從早上9:00開始,親朋好友一起到公園賞花,享受活動和春季小吃、飲料的銷售 夜晚,城堡公園的地面上,約500個紙燈籠在樹下提供柔和的光線,發出粉紅色和紅色的光芒。


12 / 松代藩真田十萬石祭 / 10月

Matsushiro Sanada festival

10月的第二個週末舉行–週六和周日–慶祝松城的武士遺產和前統治者–富裕的真田氏的重要性。以鬆代城公園的場地為中心, 第一天有傳統的音樂和舞蹈表演, 還有當地食品商販的人出售美味的小吃和飲料。

Matsushiro Sanada festival

第二天, 傳統的火砲表演、太鼓和舞蹈表演、 武士及其隨從的盛裝遊行等, 讓祭典真正變得生動起來。如果你對日本的武士歷史有興趣,這個節日一定不能錯過。


13 / 黃檗宗象山恵明禪寺/ 全年無休

Matsushiro-Obakushu-Zosan-Emyouzenji-Temple

1875年,黃檗宗象山恵明禪寺被大火燒毀,1894年重建了大殿、陵墓、鐘樓、圖書館等建築。松代城歷史上幾位 重要人物的墓地位於寺院內, 正殿內有幾座特色鮮明的雕像。


14 / 高山稲荷神社 / 全年無休

matsushiro-takeyama-zuiji-inari

躲在民居後面的高山稲荷神社,本身並不會引起人們的注意,但對於路過的遊客來說,在前往山寺常山的宅邸和象山隧道的途中,經過鳥居門,爬上神社,就可以看到松城的景色。回頭向山間望去,從這裡游客可以領略到隧道的範圍,據說隧道從附近的入口一直延伸到你所嚮往的山間。一個理想的安靜思考的地方。


15 / 長國寺 / 全年無休

matsushiro-chokokuji

隱匿在松代城的小街小巷中,圍繞著長國寺的場地還有真田氏第一代家主真田信之的陵墓。陵園獨特的黑色外牆,以金箔和彩色圖案進行複雜的裝飾,讓人聯想到日喀則著名寺廟的風格。

matsushiro-chokokuji

雖然有點難走,但對於租自行車和打算在松代城度過一天的人來說,是個不錯的目的地。

參觀松代時的住宿地點


kokusai-21-banner-edit

松代位於長野市內,這意味著遊客有很多住宿選擇,可以方便地到達。大多數住宿都集中在長野車站周圍,從那裡乘坐30到35分鐘的巴士就可以到達松代。快車服務–包括從東京到金澤的北陸新幹線–當地巴士–包括到松代的巴士–出租車和旅遊團都從車站出發,使車站周圍地區成為探索該地區時最方便的住宿地點。車站周圍地區有很多大型酒店,滿足國際遊客的需求。許多酒店提供西式房間和設施、內部餐廳和講英語的工作人員,住宿價格通常不錯。從車站步行約15至20分鐘,善光寺周圍地區有較小的賓館,包括周圍街道上的許多 “shukubo”(寺廟住宿)。關於住宿清單,請參閱我們的 “長野市地區 “酒店頁面。在長野市住宿時,我們推薦:

國際21酒店

kokusai-21-banner-edit

國際21酒店位於長野站和善光寺之間,是該市最成熟的國際酒店。國際21酒店以其融合現代設施和周到的日本服務而聞名,為客人提供帶私人浴室的寬敞西式客房、多個內部餐廳,包括每日早餐服務和講英語的24小時接待。國際21酒店距離車站和城市最受歡迎的景點和餐飲區都很近,在長野的中心地帶提供無與倫比的舒適、便利和專業服務。

如何前往松代


nagano-station-banner-edit

從長野站到松代的當地巴士服務,使得松代的交通快速而方便。關於如何前往長野,然後進入松代的信息,請參見我們的 “如何前往松代 “頁面。

與我們預訂! 長野的第一大旅遊和包車運營商


snow-monkey-resorts-vehicles
tour-banner

日本中部提供了很多很多的旅遊理由。我們常年經營,是長野縣排名第一的旅遊和包車運營商,提供一系列的服務,包括團體旅遊、私人旅遊和包車。我們可以安排交通,包括私人車輛和司機,以及講英語的導遊,來往於該地區的任何目的地之間,包括松代。

smr-vehicles-bus-charter-hiace

我們的司機和車輛都經過全面認證,使我們能夠結合適合你的日程安排的任何活動,運送你到你喜歡的目的地。所有車輛都裝有保護屏–將司機與乘客和行李區隔開–我們的司機戴著保護面罩,讓你在目的地之間舒適而安全地旅遊。

394-Hi-Ace-Charter-Bus
japan-ski-resorts-banner

我們既可以安排有英語導遊的私人旅遊,也可以安排私人包車,包括私人車輛和司機,但沒有導遊。我們很樂意成為您在日本中部探險的一部分,並幫助您發現更多的東西!

為什麼選擇我們?

我們的雪猴公園、善光寺和清酒一日遊獲得了2019年TripAdvisor旅行者選擇獎–被公認為日本十大體驗之一–我們擁有當地的知識和經驗,幫助你在長野獲得最大的收穫。

有關於探訪松代的問題嗎?請點擊下面的諮詢按鈕,或與我們聯繫:snowmonkeyresorts@machinovate.com,讓我們一起計劃吧!

長野市和戶隠

旅遊

活動

酒店

餐廳

節日

博客

DESTINATIONS
NAGANO CITY & TOGAKUSHI
15 Things To Do In Matsushiro & Where To Stay

15 Things To Do In Matsushiro & Where To Stay

matsushiro-sanada-treasure-museum

Located 11-12KM to the south of central Nagano City, Matsushiro is a small town known for its samurai heritage and former stronghold of the Sanada clan. Originally from Ueda, the Sanada clan relocated to Matsushiro during the 17th century. On this page you will find the following following:

Where is Matsushiro?

15 Things to Do in Matsushiro

Where to Stay When Visiting Matsushiro

How to Get to Matsushiro

Book With Us! Nagano’s No.1 Tour & Charter Operator

An important strategic base during the Sengoku (Warring States) Period and thriving domain of the samurai class during the Edo Period, the Sanada clan accumulated great wealth and power and played an important role in Japanese history.

Matsushiro Sanada festival

Today, the town’s samurai heritage lives on many excellent Edo Period attractions including Matsushiro Castle Park, the former Sanada Residence and Bunbu Military Academy, other samurai residences, temples, shrines and museums.

sanada-residence

Beneath its feet, Matsushiro is also home to an open secret… Constructed in the final months of World War II, the Zozan Imperial Wartime Tunnels were excavated as the intended headquarters from the Japanese military, government and Imperial Family. The war ended before the tunnels were completed or used but still exist today and can be visited by the public – a poignant, sombre yet very important testament to the huge cost of war on all sides.

matsushiro-chokokuji
tour-banner

We are proud to call Nagano our home and hope this page entices you to visit. As a registered travel agent and Nagano’s No.1-rated tour and charter operator, we offer both group and private tours, ski and travel packages, accommodation, private charters and more! For further details, scroll to the bottom of the page. Let’s start with the obvious question:

WHERE IS MATSUSHIRO?


Matsushiro lies within the boundary of Nagano City, around 11KM from Nagano Station. From the station, local buses run to Matsushiro regularly throughout the day, taking around 30 to 35-minutes to reach the area. A town of true historic importance, Matsushiro boasts multiple attractions linked to its samurai past and (never-realised) role as the chosen location for the Japanese government to retreat to should the country have been invaded at the end of WWII. Once in Matsuhsiro, visitors can walk between the attractions while also enjoying local restaurants and a friendly welcome from the residents that will be thrilled you’ve discovered their home town.

matsushiro-tourist-information

For visitors headed to Matsushiro, upon arrival you might be a little confused about where to go, as the bus stop is located around 5-minutes walk from the centre of town. The town is however in fact very easy to walk around and you’ll get your bearings quickly. We recommended heading straight to the Matsushiro Tourist Information Center located next to the Sanada Treasures Museum. Open daily from 09:00 to 17:00, friendly staff are on-hand to assist with your enquiries with rental bicycles available from 09:00 to 16:00 / JPY500 per persons. Both adult and kids bikes are available – a great way to explore the town.

15 THINGS TO DO IN MATSUSHIRO


matsushiro-festival-banner-edit

Within easy reach of central Nagano City, Matsushiro is a great destination for a morning or afternoon of exploration, in combination with the other attractions of the city. Largely undiscovered by international visitors, expect a warm welcome for residents who will appreciate you visiting their hometown and discovering its hugely important role in Japan’s samurai past and more recently, at the end of WWII. Here’s our suggestion of 15 things to do while there:

1 / MATSUSHIRO CASTLE PARK / all year round

If you are arriving in Matsushiro using the public bus, look to your right past the old train station and you will see the backside of Matsushiro Castle Park. Boasting many beautiful cherry blossom trees within the walls of the old castle, the park sits on the foundations of the former castle with several reconstructed buildings including the gate maintaining the historic character of the grounds.

Only the foundation walls and surrounding moat are original yet the park is well-worth visiting and offers great photography opportunities, especially in spring!


2 / CHERRY BLOSSOMS AT THE PARK / late-March to April

matsushiro-castle-park

The inner grounds of Matsushiro Castle Park boasts many mature cherry blossom trees. Known as ‘sakura’ in Japanese, the flowers typically bloom in early April – although the exact timing varies from year to year. Admission to the park is free however it is only open from 09:00 to 17:00, with the last entry at 16:30. The Matsushiro Spring Cherry Blossom Festival – see below for details – takes place in and around the castle grounds on the second Saturday in April – a great time to experience the blossoms.

Should you miss the festival or peak bloom, it is still worth visiting the park as petals drop from the trees into the surrounding moat, a truly beautiful sight. The castle grounds are one of Nagano’s best-known blossom-viewing spots


3 / SANADA FAMILY RESIDENCE / all year round

sanada-residence

Built by Sanada Yukinori in 1864 – at a time the original castle was still standing – the Sanada Family Residence first served as home to his mother-in-law, before becoming his own retirement house in his later years. The Sanada Residence continued to be used by the Sanada family until it was donated to Nagano City in 1966.

sanada-residence
matsushiro-sanada-residence

Declared a National Historic Site in 1981, the building consists of fifty-three rooms and extensive gardens. While there is little English information inside the residence, QR codes accompanying Japanese displays allows visitors with smart phone to translate the text to English.


4 / BUNBU LITERARY & MILITARY ARTS SCHOOL / all year round

matsushiro-bunbu-military-academy

Opened in 1855, the ‘Matsushiro Bunbu Gakko’ is alternatively referred to as the ‘Matsuhiro Bunbu Military Academy’ or more formally, the ‘Old School for Literary and Military Arts’. Instituted to educate the sons of higher status samurai in marital arts, traditional literature and arts along with Western medicine and military science, the former school has recently been beautifully restored.Nine buildings including the main school building and several ‘dojo’ for marital arts training make-up the school, which can be visited purely for sightseeing or to enjoy a range of samurai and traditional experiences – see below.

matsushiro-bunbu-military-academy

An interactive/digital shooting gallery will also soon be opened, allowing visitors to handle and use replica guns that students were also trained to use, including matchlock rifles.


5 / SAMURAI & TRADITIONAL EXPERIENCES / all year round

matsushiro-bunbu-military-academy

Visitors to the Matsushiro Bunbu Gakko can try their hand at a range of skills and practice previously taught to attending students including archery and marital arts or more serene practices such as tea ceremony and flower arrangement. Available from Monday to Friday, bookings must be made in advance.


6 / ZOZAN IMPERIAL WARTIME TUNNELS / all year round

matsushiro-zozan-tunnelsmatsushiro

Excavated in the final months of WWII, the Zozan Imperial Wartime Tunnels were the intended headquarters of the Japanese military and government during the expected invasion by the Allied Forces. An extensive network of tunnels and subterranean bunkers were around 75% completed when the war came to an end and were as a result, never used.

matsushiro-zozan-tunnels

Formally referred to as ‘Matsushiro Daihonei’ or the ‘Matsushiro Underground Imperial Headquarters’, a 500 metre tunnel remains open to the public. Excavation was undertaken by an estimated 10,000 forced labours, most of whom were Korean prisoners of war or indentured workers.

matsushiro-zozan-tunnels

It is also estimated that around 1,500 died during the construction. Korean comfort women were also on-site, adding further poignancy and political sensitivity to any visit or interpretation of the tunnels.For further information, please refer to our ‘ Zozan Imperial Wartime Tunnels’ page.


7 / ZOZAN SHRINE / all year round

matsushiro-zozan-shrine

Zozan Shrine is dedicated to Zozan Sakuma (1811-1864), who played an important role in advocating for Japan to open-up to the world after a long period of isolation. Known for his rare intelligence and education in numerous studies, Zozan was assassinated by a pro-imperial samurai in 1864 however before that event, he was instrumental in educating many people who would play important roles in ultimately opening Japan to the world and leading to its modernization. The shrine has a strong association with wisdom and education and many Japanese students come here to ask for perseverance with their studies, and ultimately, success in entering and graduating their chosen schools and universities.


8 / FORMER HIGUCHI RESIDENCE / all year round

Open to the public since 2010, the Former Higuchi Residence was the home of a high-ranking samurai during the Edo and Meiji Periods. Located nearby other popular attractions including the Sanada Treasures Museum, Sanada Residence, and Bunbu Literary & Military School, visitors eyes will be drawn by the home’s large thatch-roof. Inside the grounds, visitors will discover a beautifully preserved home and gardens covering more than 2000m², of all which offers fantastic photography opportunities and a glimpse of old Japan.


9 / YAMADERA JYOZAN RESIDENCE / all year round

Matsushiro-Former-Yamadera-Jyozan-Residence

Along the road leading from the town centre to the Zozan Imperial Wartime Tunnels, visitors will pass the Yamadera Jyozan Residence – the former home of the Yamadera family.As a middle-ranking samurai family, the well-preserved home and grounds provides a valuable insight about the daily life during the Edo Period. The home includes reception rooms for visitors, drawing room, general quarters and tearoom – particularly beautiful in the autumn.

Matsushiro-Former-Yamadera-Jyozan-Residence

The distinctive front gate – the longest in Matsushiro – and exterior walls are certain to grab your attention as you move to and from other popular attractions making the Yamadera Jyozan Residence well-worth visiting.


10 / SANADA TREASURES MUSEUM / all year round

matsushiro-sanada-treasure-museum

The Sanada Treasures Museum is a large building standing in front of the Sanada Residence and Matsuhiro Bunbu Gakko. The museum houses a large collection of artefacts once owned by the ruling-Sanada clan including ceramics, furniture, manuscripts weaponry and armour.

matsushiro-sanada-treasure-museum

Vistiors will be drawn to two notable samurai suits of armour while fans of Japan’s unique ‘yokai’ (phantoms or ghosts) culture will enjoy looking over multiple manuscripts that are beautifully decorated with all manner of misbehaving ghouls and curious beings.

matsushiro-sanada-treasure-museum

Tickets covering admission to multiple attractions can be purchased at the museum, with rental bicycles also available from the adjacent Matsushiro Tourist Information Center.


11 / MATSUSHIRO SPRING CHERRY BLOSSOM FESTIVAL / April

Matsushiro Flower festival

The Matsushiro Spring Festival takes place on the second Saturday in April, within the grounds of Matsushiro Castle Park. Running from 09:00 in the morning, families and friends head to the park for ‘hanami’ (flower-viewing) and to enjoy the events and food vendors selling spring snacks and drinks. At night, the grounds of the castle park glow pink and red as around 500 paper lanterns offer soft light underneath the trees.


12 / MATSUSHIRO AUTUMN SANADA CLAN JUMANGOKU FESTIVAL / October

Matsushiro Sanada festival

Taking place on the second weekend of October – on both Saturday and Sunday – the festival celebrates Matsushiro’s samurai heritage and the importance of the former rulers, the wealthy Sanada clan. Centred around the grounds of Matsushiro Castle Park, the first day is full of traditional music and dance performances with people of local food vendors selling tasty snacks and drinks.

Matsushiro Sanada festival

On the second day, the festival really comes to life with a day of traditional artillery displays, taiko and dance performances and ceremonial parade of samurai and their attendants in full regalia. If you have any interest in the Japan’s samurai past, this festival is not to be missed.


13 / OBAKUSHU ZOZAN EMYOZEN-JI TEMPLE / all year round

Matsushiro-Obakushu-Zosan-Emyouzenji-Temple

Extensively damaged by fire in 1875, the buildings of Obakushu Zozan Emyozen-ji Temple – including a main hall, mausoleum, belfry, bell tower and library – were reconstructed in 1894. Graves of several important figures in Matsushiro’s history are located within the grounds of the temple with several distinctive features and statues inside the main hall.


14 / TAKEYAMA ZUIJO INARI SHRINE / all year round

matsushiro-takeyama-zuiji-inari

Tucked-away behind residential buildings, the Takeyama Zuigo Inari Shrine is, in itself, not going to capture anyone’s attention for long but for visitors passing by, enroute to the Yamadera Jyosan Residence and Zozan tunnels, passing through the torii gates and climbing up to the shrine affords a view over Matsushiro. Looking back toward the mountains, from this point visitors can have an appreciation of the extent of the tunnels, which are said to stretch from the nearby entrance all the way to the mountains you are looking toward. An ideal place for quiet reflection.


15 / CHOKOKU-JI TEMPLE / all year round

matsushiro-chokokuji

Hidden away in the side street and laneway of Matsushiro, the grounds surrounding Chokoku-ji Temple also house the mausoleum of the first lord of the Sanada clan, Sanada Nobuyuki. The distinctive black façade of the mausoleum is intricately decorated with gold-leaf and colourful designs, in a style reminiscent of the famous temples of Nikko.

matsushiro-chokokuji

A little tricky to navigate your way to but a good destination to seek-out for those renting bicycles and planning to spend the day in Matsushiro.

WHERE TO STAY WHEN VISITING MATSUSHIRO


kokusai-21-banner-edit

Matsushiro lies within Nagano City, meaning that visitors have a lot of accommodation options within easy reach. Most accommodation is centred around Nagano Station, from where it’s a 30 to 35-minute bus ride to Matsushiro. Express train services – including the Hokuriku Shinakasen line running from Tokyo to Kanazawa – local buses – including to Matsushiro – taxis and tours all operate from the station making the area around it, the most convenient place to stay when exploring the region. The area immediately around the station has plenty of large hotels catering to international visitors. Prices for accommodation are typically good with many hotels offering Western-style rooms and amenities, in-house restaurants and English-speaking staff. Around 15 to 20-minutes walk from the station, the area around Zenko-ji Temple has smaller guesthouses including many ‘shukubo’ (temple lodgings) in the surrounding streets. For accommodation listings, see our ‘Nagano City Area’ hotel page. When staying in Nagano City, we recommend:

HOTEL KOKUSAI 21

kokusai-21-banner-edit

Located between Nagano Station and Zenko-ji Temple, Hotel Kokusai 21 is the city’s most established international hotel. Known for its blend of modern amenities and attentive Japanese service, Kokusai 21 offers guests spacious Western-style rooms with private bathrooms, multiple in-house restaurants including daily breakfast service and English-speaking 24-hour reception. Within easy walking distance of the station and the city’s most popular attractions and dining areas, Kokusai 21 offers unmatched comfort, convenience and professional service in the heart of Nagano.

HOW TO GET TO MATSUSHIRO


nagano-station-banner-edit

Local bus services run from Nagano Station to Matsushiro, making it quick and easy to get to. For information about how to get to Nagano and then onto Matsushiro, see our ‘How To Get To Matsushiro’ page.

BOOK WITH US! NAGANO’S NO.1 TOUR & CHARTER OPERATOR


snow-monkey-resorts-vehicles
tour-banner

Central Japan offers many, many reasons to visit. Operating all year round, we are Nagano’s No.1 tour and charter operator, offering a range of services including group tours, private tours and charters. We can arrange transport including a private vehicle and driver, along with an English-speaking guide, to transport to, from and between any destinations in the region including Matsushiro.

smr-vehicles-bus-charter-hiace

Our drivers and vehicles are fully certified, allowing us to transport you to and from your preferred destinations in combination with any activity that suits your schedule. All vehicles are fitted with a protective screen – separating the driver from passenger and luggage area – and our drivers wear protective masks, allowing you to move between your destinations in comfort and safety.

394-Hi-Ace-Charter-Bus
japan-ski-resorts-banner

We can arrange both private tours with an English-speaking guide or a private charter, including a private vehicle and driver but without a guide. We’d love to be part of your adventure in Central Japan and help you discover even more!

Why choose us?

Awarded a 2019 TripAdvisor Travelers’ Choice Award for our 1-Day Snow Monkeys, Zenko-ji Temple & Sake Tour – recognised as one of the Top 10 Experiences in Japan – we have the local knowledge and experience to help you get the most out of your time in Nagano.

Got a question about visiting Matsushiro? Click on the INQUIRY button below or contact us at snowmonkeyresorts@machinovate.com and let’s get planning together!

Nagano City & Togakushi

TOURS

ACTIVITIES

HOTELS

RESTAURANTS

EVENTS

BLOG

Recommended Winter Tours

Ski & Snowboard Deals 2021/2022

Recommended Hotels

Clean Green & Healthy Travel

Things to Do

Inquiry

FIND A HOTEL