DESTINATIONS
09. 松本
在安曇野要做的20件事

在安曇野要做的20件事

穂高 田植え 2

安曇野位於東京3小時以內,是一個可以讓遊客體驗日本鄉村的傳統和非凡之美的地方,這裡有許多新舊文化的亮點,是長野的下一個必遊之地。安曇野位於日本最令人印象深刻的原始城堡之一松本和冬季和綠色季節都深受國際和日本人喜愛的白馬滑雪場之間,交通便利,已經吸引了許多旅行者來往於這兩個著名地點之間。

穂高 塚原道祖神と常念岳

在日本北阿爾卑斯山的壯麗背景下,安曇野將文化、美食和體育活動奇妙地結合在一起,那些花時間停下來探索的人已經發現安曇野不應該被忽視。

hiking-mountain-alps

以下是長野下一個必去的景點–安曇野的20件事。

1. 大王山葵農場 (全年無休)

日本美食是到日本旅遊最令人愉快和誘人的理由之一。日本的美食和口味多種多樣,但 “芥末 “是日本著名的飲食文化中一個不變的元素。真正的芥末在西方以其清鼻的熱度而聞名,但它的味道卻比許多人所意識到的要微妙得多,而且用途廣泛。

Matsumotodaio farm_181015_0032

安曇野的大王山葵農場是日本最大的山葵生產地之一,本身就是一個值得一去的美麗景點。當然,Snow Monkey Resorts的旅遊項目也包括大王山葵農場

daio-wasabi-azumino

山葵的生長需要大量清澈的水,流經農場的溪流和水池,營造出如詩如畫的田園風光,讓人流連忘返。

daio-wasabi

黑澤明在1989年拍攝的電影《夢》的背景是大王神社和多德川、萬水川上的木製水車,這些都讓這裡的氣氛更加濃厚。在農場裡,您可以品嚐到芥末冰淇淋和芥末啤酒等各種用途的芥末。

2. 蕎麥麵製作體驗(全年無休)

蕎麥麵是日本料理中的主食,在蕎麥麵的生長地享受蕎麥麵是最好不過的了。安曇野以蕎麥麵的品質而聞名,有什麼比親手製作蕎麥麵更讓人沉醉的呢?

food-soba

位於安曇野的 “Konekone House”,提供了從初級到高級的蕎麥麵製作體驗。蕎麥麵的製作方法是用日語指導,但也適合不懂日語的人

food-soba

我們的 “松本城和當地美食體驗1日遊 “是一個很好的體驗方式,可以親自動手製作蕎麥麵,包括蕎麥麵的製作體驗和午餐!

3. 大雪渓酒造株式會社(全年無休)。

大雪渓酒造株式會社成立於1898年,利用安曇野及周邊山地的大雪中蘊含的豐富礦物質,釀造出了當地最好的 “清酒”。清酒在日本被稱為 “日本酒”,是日本的國酒,也是需要用一生時間才能掌握的複雜世界。

daisekkei

在這裡,您可以參觀包括生產過程在內的釀酒廠,還可以在前台的酒吧和商店裡品嚐和購買他們最好的日本酒,是一個可以讓您盡情享受這個豐富而溫暖的世界的好地方。

4. 泡在 “穂高溫泉鄉 “的 “天然溫泉 “中(全年無休)。

安曇野擁有眾多的 “溫泉”(天然溫泉),您可以在這裡放鬆身心,盡情享受當地的氣氛。溫泉在日本社會中扮演著重要的角色,它可以緩解日常生活中的壓力和煩惱,恢復體力和減輕痛苦,最重要的是可以與家人和朋友一起靜靜地聊天。從穗高車站騎自行車20~25分鐘就能到達的穗高溫泉鄉是安曇野的主要溫泉鄉,這裡有許多自帶溫泉的私人旅館和免費足浴等公共溫泉。

雪の積もる露天風呂06

第一次泡溫泉要脫光衣服下水,這對外國遊客來說可能會有點害怕,但只要問問住在這裡的人就知道了。在安曇野的美麗環境和雄偉的山景中,您會很快發現,泡溫泉是國人的休閒活動,而且是最適合泡溫泉的地方。

hotaka-onsenkyo-azumino

關於穗高的住宿預訂,請參考我們的 “穗高溫泉京地區 “酒店頁面。

5. 探索 “安曇野藝術線 “的博物館和畫廊(全年無休)。

從安曇野市到白馬村的50多公里長的 “安曇野藝術線”,包括19個博物館和美術館,在美麗的周邊景觀中展示傳統和現代藝術。組成”安曇野藝術線”的博物館規模不一,重點也不盡相同,其中值得一提的是六山美術館(收藏了藝術家荻原守江的雕塑作品,規模不大,但非常漂亮)、知弘美術館(以兒童讀物的插畫家和藝術家為特色)、安曇野藝術山玻璃藝術博物館等。

azumino-art-line

從古典到可愛,從現代到傳統,各種博物館的藏品琳瑯滿目。從穗高站出發,可以開車或騎自行車在各博物館之間穿梭,是最佳的出發點。車站內會講英語的工作人員會很樂意為您提供所有的細節和地圖,讓您在自助遊的過程中可以盡情地發現。

6. 安曇野知弘美術館 (全年無休)

在這個古色古香的博物館裡,展示了日本兒童讀物創作者岩崎千尋的作品和生平簡介。她一生為許多圖畫書和故事書繪製了插圖,在日本和國際上都享有盛譽。出生在福井縣的岩崎千尋,在其一生中的許多年裡,一直生活在安曇野,現在安曇野是她的博物館的所在地。博物館定期輪流展示岩崎的作品,並設有繪本館和遊戲室、帶露天平台的咖啡館和博物館商店,是家庭旅遊的好去處。

7. 安曇野天蠶中心 (全年無休)

安曇野的原始自然環境為野生蠶提供了完美的生長環境。 18世紀末,阿蘇米諾的居民開始收集蠶卵,並在當地建立了絲綢生產業。

silk-weaving

安曇野天蠶中心是為了振興近年來陷入困境的野生蠶業而於1978年開設的。該中心向遊客介紹野生蠶絲生產的生態、歷史和工作原理,包括提供示範的編織工作室和可以購買絲綢產品的博物館商店。

8. 東光寺的巨大 “Geta”(全年無休)

從穗高站步行10分鐘左右,就能看到一座有趣的當地小寺廟–“東光寺”,它位於北高站和大王山葵農場之間。寺廟位於車站和大王山葵農場之間,當你在兩個目的地之間移動時,這裡是一個快速而有趣的站點。

azumino-tokoji-temple
tokoji temple

寺院內擺放著巨大的紅色 “木屐”,來寺院的人都會注意到,並有一種想爬上去的衝動。被稱為 “二山的木屐”,據說爬上木屐並穿上它,會給人帶來好運。雖然不能保證一定有效,但試試也無妨。

9. 從穗高站出發的鄉村自行車 (4月~11月)

在以北阿爾卑斯山為背景的稻田和農莊中騎車,感受安曇野的鄉土氣息和名勝古蹟,是最好的方式。在穗高站有出租公路自行車和山地自行車的服務(包括電動自行車,可以享受更悠閒的時光),騎自行車穿越安曇野,一定會成為您的亮點。

Rental-cycle-azumino

推薦的騎行路線可以讓您按照自己的速度探索該地區,您將經過無數的稻田、農場和果園,進入葡萄酒廠、寺廟、博物館、餐館和享受溫泉。另請參考我們的博客文章 “騎車穿越鄉間的安曇野到松本山莊!”。

10. 在當地眾多的農場和果園採摘水果(4月至11月)。

長野縣的安曇野果園海拔較高,蘋果和葡萄的種植面積大,味道鮮美,氣候適宜,是長野縣最有名的水果和蔬菜產地。晝夜溫差明顯,種植了包括富士和三富士在內的眾多蘋果品種,在當地眾多的果園中,可以親自採摘並品嚐美味的蘋果。

堀金 りんごと常念岳2

這種休閒活動適合所有年齡段的人參加,尤其受到家庭的歡迎,他們的孩子很喜歡難得的機會,可以置身於果園之中,直接從樹上挑選自己的美味蘋果。

11. 大王山葵農場休閒船和SUP (4月至11月)

由多德川和萬水川哺育的農場,最引人注目的是無盡的純淨的水從溪流中流過,滋養著廣闊的芥末床。

Matsumotodaio farm_181015_0028

清澈見底的水讓人愉悅,並隨著水的涓涓細流從感官中走過,給農場注入了活力和寧靜的氛圍。

穂高 蓼川クリアボート 秋

漂浮在水面上的平靜體驗也許是最好的享受,可以在導遊的帶領下乘船或自駕SUP(站立式划槳)在河流上漂浮,經過農場標誌性的水輪。下面的水的清澈程度會讓人驚嘆,當你深情地凝視著波光粼粼的溪流時,任何煩惱和壓力都會很快被遺忘……

12. 山澗攀岩(夏季最佳嘗試)。

安曇野位於日本北阿爾卑斯山的陰影下,從山上流向山下平原的溪流和河流滋養了安曇野鬱鬱蔥蔥的農莊。近年來,探索和”攀登”山間溪流成為當地的熱門活動,適合所有年齡段的客人,非常有趣! 在英語導遊的帶領下,將為所有客人提供頭盔和救生衣等安全裝備,您將在安曇野美麗的水面上跳躍、潛水、游泳和漂流,沿著中草川而上。

13. 在迷人的北阿爾卑斯山進行山地徒步旅行 (4月至11月)

長野的飛驒山更多地被稱為北阿爾卑斯山,是橫貫長野的三條山脈中的第三條,共同構成了日本的阿爾卑斯山。日本最高的山峰大部分都在這裡,這個壯觀的高山景觀提供了日本最令人驚嘆的遠足和登山路線,有許多適合各種體能和專業知識水平的小徑。

mountain-alps-landscape

最受歡迎的路線之一是 “全景銀座”,沿著山脊線行走,可以看到包括槍嶽山(3180米)等名山在內的壯麗景色。

登山風景03

這條經過精心開發的小徑由山間小屋網絡提供服務,是發現日本山地中心和日本最引人注目的景觀的理想場所。

14. 在廢棄的 “廃線敷 “火車線路上徒步旅行(4月至11月)。

從1902年到1988年,信濃線的前身是一條連接松本市和長野市的火車,沿途山路縱橫,風景優美,至今仍能看到它的身影。廢棄的火車已經停用了30多年,現在被稱為 “廃線敷”,是一條很受歡迎的登山路線。

明科 廃線敷 秋2

穿過鬱鬱蔥蔥的山林,廃線敷是一次穿越時空的旅行,通過隧道和過去的文物,講述著它曾經的用途。.

Haisenjiki-trail-azumino

這是一個輕鬆的徒步課程,氛圍獨特,是真正讓你脫胎換骨的體驗!

15. 光城山賞櫻(春/4~5月)。

日本春天最典型的消遣活動莫過於賞花。每年4月至5月間,安曇野的櫻花樹上開滿了白色和粉色的櫻花,一年四季,這些美麗而脆弱的花兒從樹上落下,鋪滿了地面,形成了柔和的對比。

Hikarujoyama

安曇野的最佳賞花地點之一,是走在高大的光城山步道上,從花樹的樹冠下一直走到912米的山頂。

cherry-blossoms-sakura

到了那裡,你可以看到下面的風景,然後再蜿蜒而下,再次進入這些最日本的花的安靜之美。

16. 從長峰山看日出 (全年無休)

長峰山是一座小而美的山峰,日出時分,當光線照射到山頂時,與北阿爾卑斯山的美麗背景相映成趣,是欣賞日出的最佳地點。

冬の北アルプスと安曇野の朝焼け30

著名作家川端康成曾讚美過它的美,雖然四季都可以欣賞,但在長峰山等白雪覆蓋的山峰上,清澈的光線放射出來,也許是冬日清晨的最佳狀態。

17. 安曇野煙火大會 (僅8月14日)

夏天是日本的節日,尤其是煙花表演的季節! 在炎熱潮濕的夏季,全國各地的大型煙花大會,在涼爽的夜晚,親朋好友齊聚一堂,仰望著上面炫目的光芒和色彩,吸引了大量的人群。

987a20dcce76474aa31fbaa878f88d4b_m

每年8月14日舉行的安曇野煙火大會是長野第二大煙火大會(僅次於每年8月的諏訪大煙火),在犀川河畔舉行,是安曇野的盛大活動。

azumino-fireworks

想要預定煙花節的座位嗎? 8月14日參加我們的安曇野煙花節和雪猴公園1日遊吧!

18. 穗高神社大船祭 (僅9月27日)

日本人喜歡 “祭典”,而在地方上體驗祭典是最好的方式。每年秋天舉行的 “大船祭”,是讓鄉民們將祭祀花車向穗高神社巡遊,感受日本農村的社區精神的最佳方式。

穂高神社1

安曇野的名字是 “安曇之國 “的意思,據說當地的原住民是從海上來到這裡的。為了紀念這個起源的故事,一男一女的小船像花車一樣穿過城鎮向神社駛去。在途中,他們會相撞,象徵著對生育和延續安曇野社區的願望。

三郷 お船祭り

祭典是社區的慶祝活動,通常會喝很多酒。您一定會受到熱烈的歡迎。 9月27日的 “雪猴公園和安曇野大船祭1日遊 “包括在神社的指定座位,這是近距離體驗祭典的最佳方式。

19. 阿爾卑斯山安曇野國立公園的燈光活動 (11月至1月)

每年11月至1月上旬舉行,將公園裝扮成璀璨奪目的燈光,供大家欣賞。

アルプスあづみの公園イルミネーション1

秋天的夜晚一定會很冷,但70多萬盞燈火的照耀,會讓你眼花繚亂,心曠神怡。入園費410日元,2018年11月11日至2019年1月8日期間,每天下午4點至晚上9點。

アルプスあづみの公園イルミネーション3

20. 穗高神社的神竹燈(12月7日-9日)。

每年12月在安曇野的穗高神社舉行的 “神竹燈”,在初冬清涼的傍晚,2400盞竹燈在神社內燃燒,給神社披上了一層神秘的外衣,非常迷人。雖說是小規模的活動,但也是當地人的最愛,一定會讓安曇野的遊客們大飽眼福。

穂高神社 神灯り2
穂高神社 神灯り1

訪問

從東京出發:從JR新宿站乘坐特快列車 “Azusa “或 “超級Azusa “到JR松本站。抵達松本約需2小時40分鐘(然後按照從松本到安曇野的路線)。

limited-express-azusa

從名古屋出發,乘坐開往長野的中央西線特快列車 “信濃 “號,在松本下車。到達松本約需2小時50分鐘(然後按照從松本到安曇野的路線)。

shinano-train

從名古屋出發:也可乘坐開往名古屋的特快信濃列車,在松本下車。車程約1小時20分鐘到達松本(然後按照從松本到安曇野的路線)。

shinano-limited-express

從松本出發,乘坐當地的大糸線電車到穗高站下車,車程約30分鐘。車程約30分鐘,到站後,旅遊諮詢處 (有英語工作人員和出租自行車) 將為您提供必要的幫助,幫助您探索安曇野。

snow-monkey-resorts-vehicles

作為長野第一的旅遊和包車運營商,Snow Monkey Resorts提供一系列的團隊和私人旅遊,以安曇野的亮點,並提供符合您的需求和興趣的私人包車,並幫助打開這個美麗的地區!

tour-banner

DESTINATIONS
09. MATSUMOTO
20 Things to Do In & Around Azumino

20 Things to Do In & Around Azumino

azumino-satoyama

Located within three hours of Tokyo, Azumino offers visitors a chance to experience the tradition and remarkable beauty of rural Japan with numerous cultural highlights – both old and new – combining to make this Nagano’s next must-visit destination. Conveniently positioned between Matsumoto – home to one of Japan’s most impressive original castles – and the ski resorts of the Hakuba – wildly popular with both international and Japanese in both winter and green season – Azumino already attracts many travelers en route between these more famous locations.

穂高 塚原道祖神と常念岳

Those who have taken the time to stop and explore have discovered the Azumino should not be overlooked, offering a fantastic combination of cultural, culinary, and sporting activities all set against the stunning backdrop of Japan’s Northern Alps.

hiking-mountain-alps

Here are 15 things to do in Azumino, Nagano’s next must-visit destination:

1.  Daio Wasabi Farm (all year round)

Japanese food is one of the most enjoyable and seductive reasons to visit the country. Offering an array of cuisine and tastes, one constant across the wide spectrum of Japan’s celebrated food culture is ‘wasabi’. Known in the West for its nasal-clearing heat, real wasabi is a much more subtle and highly versatile taste than many people realize.

Matsumotodaio farm_181015_0032

Azumino’s Daio Wasabi Farm is one of  Japan’s largest producer of wasabi and in itself, a beautiful destination well-worth visiting. Of course, Snow Monkey Resorts has a tour that includes a visit to Daio Wasabi Farm.

daio-wasabi-azumino

Wasabi requires large amounts of clear water to grow and the streams and pools that flow across the farm create a picturesque and idyllic setting in which to wander.

daio-wasabi

Daio Shrine and wooden water wheels on the Tade and Yorozui Rivers – the setting for Kurosawa Akira’s 1989 film ‘Dreams’ – only add to that atmosphere. While at the farm you can delight in the varied uses of wasabi including both wasabi ice cream and wasabi beer.

2.  Soba-making experience (all year round)

‘Soba’ or buckwheat noodles are a staple of Japanese cuisine and one best enjoyed in the very place it’s grown. Azumino is known for the quality of its soba and what better way to indulge than with the hands-on experience of making your own!

food-soba

Konekone House in Azumino offers soba-making experience for beginners upward as itself. Known for their friendly cooks who will guide you every step of the way, instruction is in Japanese however is also suitable for non-Japanese speakers with hand gestures and friendly guidance all you need to roll your way to a perfect soba noodle!

food-soba

Our 1-Day Matsumoto Castle & Local Food Experience tour is a great way to get hands-on and make your own soba, with a soba-making experience and lunch included!

3.  Daisekkei Sake Brewery (all year round)

Established in 1898, Daisekkei Sake Brewery utilizes the pure and mineral rich waters from the heavy snow of Azumino and the surrounding mountains to produce some of the region’s best ‘sake’. Known as ‘nihonshu’ in Japanese, sake is Japan’s national drink and highly complex world which takes a lifetime to master.

daisekkei

Daisekkei is a great venue to dip your toes into this rich and warming world, offering tours of the brewery including the production process, and welcoming front bar and store where you can sample and buy, their very best nihonshu!

4. Soak in an ‘onsen’ (natural hot spring) at Hotaka Onsen-kyo (all year round)

Azumino is home to numerous ‘onsen’ (natural hot springs) in which you can unwind and soak in the full atmosphere of the region. Playing a central role in Japanese society, time at an onsen is intended to relieve the stress and worry of daily life, recuperate from injury and relieve pain, and perhaps most importantly, spend time with family and friends as you chat quietly and informally. Situated within 20 to 25 by bicycle from Hotaka Station, Hotaka Onsen-kyo is Azumino’s main onsen village and home to many private ‘ryokans’ (traditional guesthouses) with their own hot springs and public onsens including free ‘ashi-yu’ or foot onsens.

雪の積もる露天風呂06

Requiring to you strip down and enter the water without any clothing, the first onsen experience can be a little intimidating for international visitors, but just ask those who live here! You will quickly lose that inhibition as you discover just why soaking in an onsen is a national past-time; and there is no better place to do so than the beautiful surroundings of Azumino and its majestic mountain vistas.

hotaka-onsenkyo-azumino

For accommodation bookings in Hotaka, please refer to our ‘Hotaka Onsen-kyo Area’ hotel page.

5. Explore the museums and galleries of the ‘Azumino Art Line’ (all year round)

Extending from over 50km from Azumino City to Hakuba Village, the ‘Azumino Art Line’ includes 19 museums and art galleries showcasing both traditional and contemporary arts within the beauty of the surrounding landscape. The museums forming the Art Line range in scale and focus with notable stops including Rokuzan Art Museum (a small but beautiful museum housing a sculpture collection of artist Morie Ogiwara), the Chihiro Art Museum (featuring illustrators and artists of childrens’ books) and the Azumino Art Hills Museum of glass art.

azumino-art-line

Collections vary between classic to cute, contemporary to traditional in an eclectic array of museums. Your best starting point is from Hotaka Station from where you can drive or cycle between the museums of your choosing. The station’s friendly English-speaking information staff will happily provide you with all the details and maps you need to set-off on your self-guided discovery.

6.  Chihiro Art Museum Azumino (all year round)

This quaint museum exhibits the work and profiles the life of Chihiro Iwasaki, a creator of Japanese children’s books. Through her life, she illustrated many picture and storybooks which brought her fame in Japan and international acclaim. Born in Fukui Prefecture, Iwasaki spent many years later in her life living in Azumino which now is the proud home of her museum. The museum regularly rotates its display of Iwasaki’s work and features a picture book library and playroom, a café with outdoor terrace and museum shop, making it a great destination for families.

7.  Azumino Tensan Center (all year round)

Azumino’s pristine natural environment provides the perfect environment for wild silkworms to thrive. In the late-18th century, the residents of Azumino began collecting the eggs and established a local silk production industry.

silk-weaving

The Azumino Tensan Center opened in 1978 in order to revive the wild silkworm industry, which had struggled in recent years. The center introduces visitors to the ecology, history, and workings of wild silk production including a weaving studio providing demonstrations and museum shop wear silk products can be purchased.

8.  The giant ‘geta’ of Toko-ji Temple (all year round)

Toko-ji is an interesting, very local little temple located about 10 minutes walk from Hokaka Station. Located between the station and Daio Wasabi Farm, the temple is a quick and interesting stop as you move between the two destinations.

azumino-tokoji-temple
tokoji temple

Any visitor to the temple will notice the huge red ‘geta’ (wooden sandals) positioned within the temple grounds and feel the compulsion to climb onto them. Known as ‘Niyosama’s geta’, climbing onto and wearing the sandals is said to bring the person great luck. We can’t guarantee that it works but it can’t hurt to try!

9. Rural cycling from Hotaka Station (April to November)

There’s no better way to experience the rural atmosphere, sights and sounds of Azumino than cycling through the landscape of rice fields and farms all set against the stunning backdrop of the Northern Alps. With rental road and mountain bicycles available outside Hotaka Station (including e-bikes for an even more leisurely time), cycling through Azumino promises to be the highlight of any visit.

Rental-cycle-azumino

Suggested cycling routes allow you to explore the area to your own speed and will lead you past countless rice fields, farms, and orchards and onto wineries, temples, museums, eateries, and well-earned ‘onsen’ (hot springs). See also our blog article “CYCLING THROUGH RURAL AZUMINO TO MATSUMOTO CASTLE!”

10. Fruit-picking at one of the region’s numerous farms and orchards (April to November)

Blessed with an ideal climate for growing countless varieties of fruit and vegetables, Nagano is most famous for its apples and grapes, both of which grow to impressive size and deliciously flavorful in the higher elevation of Azumino’s orchards. Growing many varieties of apples including well-loved Fuji and San Fuji types, the pronounced temperature difference between day and night promotes the growth of delicious apples which you can pick and enjoy for yourself and several of the region’s many orchards.

堀金 りんごと常念岳2

This leisurely activity is suitable for all ages and is particularly popular with families, whose children relish the rare chance to be among orchards and choosing their own delicious apples directly from the tree.

11.  Leisurely boat ride and SUP at Daio Wasabi Farm (April to November)

Fed by the Tade and Yorozui Rivers, one of the farm’s most striking elements is the endless pure water that follows through the streams and feed the expansive beds of wasabi.

Matsumotodaio farm_181015_0028

The clarity of water delights and imbues the farm with an atmosphere of vitality and tranquility as it trickles and follows past the senses.

daio-wasabi

The calming experience of the water is perhaps best enjoyed while floating on it yourself, which can be done with a guided boat ride or self-propelled SUP (Stand-up Paddling) over the rivers and past the farm’s iconic water wheels. The clarity of the water below will amaze and as you gaze deep into shimmering streams, any worry and stress is quickly forgotten…

12.  Mountain Stream Climbing (best tried in summer)

Situated in the shadows of Japan’s Northern Alps, the lush farms of Azumino are nourished by the streams and rivers that flow from the mountains to the plain below. In recent years, exploring and “climbing” mountain streams has become a popular activity in the region, suitable for guests of all ages and great fun! Led by an English-speaking guide who will provide safety gear including a helmet and life jackets to all guests, you’ll be led up the Nakabusa River as you jump, dive, swim and float your way along the beautiful waters of Azumino.

13. Mountain-hiking in the stunning Northern Alps (April to November)

The Hida Mountains of Nagano are more commonly referred to as the Northern Alps, the third of three extensive mountain ranges that cut across Nagano and collectively form the Japanese Alps. Home to the majority of Japan’s highest mountain peaks, this dramatic alpine landscape offers some of Japan’s most stunning hiking and mountaineering routes, with numerous trails catering for all levels of fitness and expertise.

mountain-alps-landscape

One of the most popular routes is the ‘Panorama Ginza’, known for its breath-taking vistas including Mount Yarigatake (3180m) among other famous peaks, as it walks the ridge line.

登山風景03

This well-trodden trail is serviced by a network of mountain huts, making it an ideal place to discover the mountainous heart of Japan and some of the most dramatic landscapes that the country has to offer.

14. Hike the abandoned train line of the ‘Haisenjiki’ (April to November)

In operation from 1902 until 1988, the former Shinano Line connected the region’s principal cities of Matsumoto and Nagano by train, along a mountainous, often beautiful route which can still be traced today. Now out of use for former than 30 years, the abandoned train is now a popular hiking course now called the ‘Haisenjiki’.

明科 廃線敷 秋2

Winding through a lush terrain of mountain forest the Haisenjiki is an evocative journey through time and space; one that takes you through tunnels and past artefacts which tell the story of its former use.

Haisenjiki-trail-azumino

This is a relaxed hiking course with a unique atmosphere, an experience that really does take you off the beaten track!

15. Cherry blossom viewing at Mount Hikarujo (spring / April to May)

There is no more quintessential Japanese past-time in spring that ‘hanami’ or flower viewing. Blooming each year around April to May, Azumino’s glorious ‘sakura’ (cherry blossom trees) transform the landscape into a softly contrasting mosaic of white and soft pink and these beautiful, fragile flowers make their yearly appearance before falling from the trees to carpet the ground below.

Hikarujoyama

One of the best locations to view the blossoms while Azumino is walking one of the altnerate Mount Hikarujo trails, which run below a canopy of blossom trees all the way to the mountains peak at 912 meters.

cherry-blossoms-sakura

Once there you are afforded views of the landscape below before meandering back down and again into the quiet beauty of these most Japanese of flowers.

16.  Sunrise observation from Mount Nagamine (all year round)

Mount Nagamine is a small but beautiful mountain best enjoyed at sunrise as the emerging light hits its peak and illuminates it against the stunning backdrop of the larger Northern Alps.

冬の北アルプスと安曇野の朝焼け30

The acclaimed writer Yasunari Kawabata once praised its beauty and while it can be enjoyed in all seasons, it is perhaps at its best in the early winter mornings as the crisp, clear light radiates atop the snow-covered mountain peaks of Mount Nagamine and beyond.

17.  Azumino Fireworks Festival (August 14th only)

Summer is a time for festivals in Japan and especially fireworks displays! Known as ‘hanabi’ in Japanese, the huge fireworks displays taking place across the country through the hot and humid months of summer draw massive crowds as family and friends come together in the cooler evenings to gaze up in wonderment to dazzling displays of light and color above.

987a20dcce76474aa31fbaa878f88d4b_m

Held on August 14th each year, the Azumino Fireworks Festival is the second largest fireworks event in Nagano (after Suwa’s grand fireworks display each August) and takes place on the banks of the Saigawa River – a grand event on the Azumino calendar!

azumino-fireworks

Want a reserved seat at the festival? Join our 1-Day Azumino Fireworks Festival & Snow Monkeys tour on August 14th!

18. O-fune Festival at Hotaka Shrine (September 27th only)

Japanese love a ‘matsuri’ (festival) and there’s no better way to experience one than at the local level. Held every autumn, the O-Fune Matsuri/Festival is a great way to enjoy the community spirit of rural Japan as the townspeople parade the festival floats toward Hotaka Shrine.

穂高神社1

The name Azumino means ‘Land of the Azumi’, the original people of the region are said to have journeyed there from the sea. In commemoration of that origin story, to boat like floats – one male and one female – are carried through town toward the shrine. En route they will collide, a symbolic wish for fertility and the continuation of the Azumino community.

三郷 お船祭り

Matsuri is very much a community celebration and usually involves plenty of drinking. You’re sure to be warmly welcomed! Our 1-Day Snow Monkeys & Azumino O-Fune Festival tour on Sept 27th includes reserved seating at the shrine – the best way to experience all the festivities up close and personal!

19.  Illumination at the Alps Azumino National Govenment Park (November to January)

Taking place each year from November to early January, this illumination event brings the park into bright and splendid light for all to enjoy.

アルプスあづみの公園イルミネーション1

While the autumn evening is sure to be chilly, the more than 700,000 lights that illuminate the park will dazzle and delight you. Admission costs JPY410 and runs from 4PM to 9PM daily, between November 11th 2018 to January 8th 2019.

アルプスあづみの公園イルミネーション3

20.  Kamiakari at Hotaka Shrine (December 7-9th)

Held each December, the Kamiakari Festival at Azumino’s Hotaka Shrine is a charming event in which 2400 bamboo lanterns burn in the cool evening of early winter and imbue the shrine with an other-worldly quality. A small event in nature, it is a favorite with locals and is sure to delight any visitor to Azumino.

穂高神社 神灯り2
穂高神社 神灯り1

Access

From Tokyo: take the Limited Express ‘Azusa’ or ‘Super Azusa’ from JR Shinjuku Station to JR Matsumoto Station. The journey takes approximately 2 hours and 40 minutes to reach Matsumoto (then follow the directions from Matsumoto to Azumino).

limited-express-azusa

From Nagoya: take the ‘Chuo-saisen’ (Central West Line) Limited Express ‘Shinano’ train bound for Nagano, and disembark at Matsumoto. The journey takes approximately 2 hours and 50 minutes to reach Matsumoto (then follow the directions from Matsumoto to Azumino).

shinano-train

From Nagano: also take the Limited Express Shinano train bound for Nagoya and disembark at Matsumoto. The journey takes approximately 1 hour and 20 minutes to reach Matsumoto (then follow the directions from Matsumoto to Azumino).

shinano-limited-express

From Matsumoto: take a local train on the Oito Line to Hotaka Station. The journey takes approximately 30 minutes and once at the station, Tourist Information (including English-speaking staff and rental bikes) can provide you with the assistance necessary to get you going on your discovery of Azumino.

snow-monkey-resorts-vehicles

As Nagano’s No.1-rated tour and charter operator, Snow Monkey Resorts offers a range of group and private tours that take in the highlights of Azumino, along with offering private charters that suit your needs and interests and help open-up this beautiful region!

tour-banner