日本长野
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
联系
计划您的探访
在日本保持现金储备和联系

在日本保持现金储备和联系

credit-card

在方便和技术方面,日本是一个矛盾体。虽然交通和在全国各地的移动令人印象深刻,但看似简单的行动,如取钱或甚至使用外国银行/信用卡,都是具有挑战性的。值得庆幸的是,近年来竞争的加剧意味着包括银行业务、电话和WiFi在内的旧障碍现在更容易安排,在这片土地上,仍然被要求传真一些东西是很常见的,事情有时比你想象的要难。在这个页面上,你会发现以下信息:

1 / 现金为王:把握住它

2 / 使用ATM机和国际卡

3 / 日本的支付方式

4 / 手机、SIM卡和WiFi

5 / 日本邮政

6 / 其他递送服务

7 / 电力

8 / 便利商店

关于更多基本的旅行信息,请参见我们的 “计划你的探访 “主页。

1 / 现金为王:把握住它


japan-money

俗话说,”现金为王”,这句话在日本再合适不过了。对于许多第一次来日本的旅行者来说,尤其是那些期待着一个机器人和巨型科技国家的人来说,最大的惊喜是这里仍然是一个现金经济。这是正确的。根据你所在的地方,你很可能在很长一段时间内第一次不得不处理现金–好的老式实物现金–并且准备好许多只接受现金的企业–尤其是在农村/地区。

japan-money

日本的货币是 “日元”,也读作 “en”,用这个符号 “円 “表示。纸币的面值为1000円、2000円*、5000円和10000円,而硬币的面值则为1円、5円、10円、50円、100円和500円。

大多数旅行者使用自动取款机提取现金–见下文我们推荐的最佳自动取款机–而货币兑换则可通过许多主要银行、邮局和国际机场进行。当然,各兑换点的汇率会有所不同,根据你来自哪里,在你的国家兑换现金可能更有意义(以获得更有竞争力的汇率)。旅行支票是另一种选择,尽管越来越不受欢迎。它们包含了更多的麻烦,并受到同样的汇率和费用变化的影响,但它们是有保险的,这使得它们成为一些旅行者的热门选择。关于日元和其他主要货币之间的当前汇率,XE.com是一个可靠的网站。

*2000円纸币在日本很少见,最常见的是由外国银行家在你旅行前发行。在日本用2000円纸币付款时,最初会有一些困惑,然后对这种许多日本人从未见过的纸币感兴趣……放心,虽然它可能会引起一些困惑的眼神和谈话,但它会被接受。

2 / 使用ATM机和国际卡


japan-post-office-atm

直到最近几年,使用外国发行的银行卡在日本的自动取款机上取钱是你在这里可能遇到的最令人气愤的经历之一。值得庆幸的是,虽然情况仍不乐观,但已经有所改善。日本有超过10,000家7-11便利店,每天24小时开放,它们的自动取款机接受大多数外国发行的卡。交易费很低,但这取决于你的银行的收费标准而有所不同。自动取款机有英语和其他外国语言版本。

japan-money-atm

下一个最好的选择是日本的20,000多台邮局自动取款机。费用通常也很低,而且机器可以切换成英语,但是位于邮局分支机构内的自动取款机只能在营业时间内使用。日本有许多银行–最大的银行是三菱UFJ、SMBC集团和瑞穗银行–还有多家国际银行也有业务。所有这些银行都有自己的自动取款机,但国际游客在使用外国发行的银行卡时经常遇到困难。如果你需要,可以去试试,但你最好还是去7-11或邮局。

3 / 日本的支付方式


credit-card

旅行者日本在移动时有一系列的支付方式,注意到小企业,特别是农村和地区的小企业,很可能不接受使用外国发行的卡或移动支付方式付款,在许多情况下,只接受现金。

使用现金支付:这仍然是日本各地最常见的方法之一,尤其是在大城市之外。在农村/地区旅行时,最好随身携带现金,以免被人发现。尤其是在家庭经营的企业,包括餐馆和旅馆,它们通常只接受现金。这适用于日本和外国客人。请放心,日本是一个安全的国家,盗窃案很少发生,所以在这里携带大量现金并不像在许多地方那样有风险。为了安全起见,我们建议你总是带着现金来支付即时的费用。

用信用卡/借记卡付款:大城市的商店、餐馆、住宿和旅游景点都接受用信用卡和借记卡付款,但使用海外发行的卡有时会出现问题。这与商店或他们的政策无关–毕竟,他们为什么不想接受付款–但当他们处理付款的银行不处理你试图使用的付款系统时,就会出现问题。为了避免这个问题,我们建议始终在手头准备一些现金。

用IC卡支付:”IC卡 “一词包括各种可充值的卡,主要用于支付公共交通的旅程。有很多,但最常见的一些包括Suica、Pasmo和Icoca。它们很受日本人的欢迎,日本人将卡充入火车和通票中使用,避免了为个别车次付款的麻烦。由于持卡人可以随心所欲地在卡上充值,他们也可以在许多商店(包括便利店和餐馆)进行支付。值得注意的是,IC卡不能在任何地方使用,但是如果你要在东京这样的大城市度过漫长的时间,办理一张IC卡并每隔几天给它充电,可以省去很多麻烦。关于IC卡的更多信息,请参见我们的 “在日本旅行 “页面。

手机支付:与其他国家相比,日本对移动支付的接受程度一直很慢。虽然它现在越来越受欢迎,但它并不像你所期望的那样无处不在,包括苹果支付、谷歌支付、微信支付和支付宝在内的流行服务可以在日本使用,但在你的国家可能就不那么容易。日本最流行的移动支付应用程序–包括乐天支付、Line Pay和Edy,主要针对日本人,对于国际游客来说,可能很难注册和使用。

4 / 手机、SIM卡和WiFi


phone-connected

直到最近,在日本保持联系是非常困难和昂贵的,特别是与许多其他国家的旅行相比。值得庆幸的是,近年来这方面的情况也有所改善,虽然它仍然不像你想象的那样简单,但竞争的加剧使它变得相对简单。

出租电话

在日本,安排一个临时电话是在机场最容易做到的。有许多电话亭提供基本的电话,价格约为每天200至500日元,智能电话约为每天1000至2000日元。移动数据、通话、短信等需要额外收费。当天可以租用,但许多公司为提前预订提供折扣,如果你不返回你的入境点,许多公司还提供在不同地点或通过邮寄归还手机。机场的信息亭会有讲英语、中文和其他外语的工作人员来帮助你。

SIM卡

对于大多数旅行者来说,为你现有的手机安排一个临时SIM卡是最好的选择。只要你的手机比较新,就可以在日本的网络上使用,但是要使用临时SIM卡,你的手机必须解锁。大多数临时SIM卡只提供数据,不允许语音通话,除非使用Whatsapp、LINE、Skype等应用程序。

sim-connected

这并不是什么大问题,而且通过应用程序打电话通常更有成本效益。SIM卡可以在机场购买,也可以在网上购买并送达给你,或者在东京的大型电子商店等主要零售店购买。机场和东京及大阪的许多大型电子商店的售货亭将有讲英语、中文和其他外语的工作人员协助你。对你的业务有很多竞争,所以交易相当好,而且价格总是在变化。在谷歌上简单搜索一下日本的临时SIM卡,就能找到很多选择和当前的价格。

便携式WiFi

在机场安排一个便携式WiFi路由器是另一个受欢迎的选择。路由器体积小,便于携带,它使用电话网络来创建一个本地无线网络。对于国际旅行者来说,它们是一个很好的选择,因为它们可以让你在任何时候都能访问WiFi–这是一种保持连接的成本效益的方法。与SIM卡一样,有很多竞争,价格也总是在变化。在谷歌上简单搜索一下日本的便携式WiFi,就能找到很多选择和当前的价格。

免费WiFi热点

在日本,免费访问WiFi并不像你想象的那样容易,当然也不像在许多其他国家那样容易。幸运的是,近年来,情况也有所改善,但仍有很大的差距。任何大型/现代酒店都会在所有区域和房间免费提供WiFi,但传统的宾馆和农村地区的住宿可能只在接待区提供WiFi–这加强了便携式WiFis作为保持联系的一个良好选择。

wifi-connected

当你外出时,你会在国际机场、主要火车站(包括一些火车服务)、旅游信息办公室以及一些便利店和特许经营的咖啡店和餐馆找到免费的WiFi热点。然而,要连接到其中的许多地方,你首先需要通过一个注册过程,这个过程可能很慢,而且令人恼火,一旦你不得不做多一次,很快就会变得很烦人。值得庆幸的是,以下的免费服务只需要你注册一次,就可以访问成千上万的免费热点。

日本连接-免费WiFi为日本各地约20万个热点提供一次性注册,而免费WiFi护照则提供约40万个热点的访问,包括咖啡馆、餐馆、火车站和其他地点。这两项服务都需要你提供个人数据,以便使用。

5 / 日本邮政


japan-post-office

日本的邮政服务简称为 “日本邮政 “或 “邮便局”(yu-bin-kyo-ku),非常可靠,而且相对容易使用(至少在国内)。你可以在全国各地找到邮局,包括在机场、主要的火车站和周围以及热门的旅游景点。总共约有24,000个网点,通常在周一至周五的9:00至17:00开放。地方分支机构在周末和公共假期不营业,但每个城市都会有一个中央邮局–如果你需要找到它,请搜索 “中央邮便局”–全天候开放。完整的服务通常在周一至周五9:00至19:00,周六9:00至17:00,周日9:00至12:30提供,其中一些服务可通过这些时间之间的夜间窗口提供。

在机场、主要火车站及周边地区和热门旅游景点的分行可能有讲英语的工作人员。这并不保证,但如果你需要做任何涉及详细对话的事情,最好是前往这些分支机构之一。一旦你离开这些分行,你就不太可能遇到讲英语的工作人员,除了最简单的交易外,其他事情都可能变得混乱。

在日本国内寄送物品是非常直接的,而且相对便宜,而向国外寄送物品则在价格和复杂程度上有所不同。你可能期望的所有服务都可以使用,包括标准邮件、挂号邮件和快件。该服务是可靠、快速和安全的。在向国外邮寄物品时,要准备好填写表格和回答问题。邮局的特快专递服务(EMS)是非常可靠的,但对你所寄的东西可能相当严格,这取决于你所寄的物品和它们的目的地国家。预计邮局工作人员会查阅一大本关于你可以和不可以寄到每个国家的书,如果这是一个他们不熟悉的过程,你可能会被莫名其妙地告知你可以随便寄东西。出于这个原因,如果你需要向海外寄送包裹,请通过主要/中心分支机构寄送,他们更有可能习惯于这个过程。

如上所述,邮局的自动取款机是在日本使用外国发行的卡时的两个最佳选择之一。自动取款机可以切换成英语,使其易于使用,但值得注意的是,它们通常只能在分行的营业时间内使用,并且在夜间会关闭。

6 / 其他递送服务


在日本和海外有多种寄送包裹的服务,其中一些服务可能比邮局提供更好的价值和效率。最常见的是 “Kuro Neko “或 “Black Cat”,Yamato Transport是邮局以外最受欢迎和最普遍的快递服务。他们在日本各地都有办事处,包括机场和主要火车站,而且大多数酒店都会为你安排取货和/或运送物品。他们有一个非常好的网站,虽然可能更贵,但有时会比日本邮政更容易使用–特别是在向海外发送包裹时。Kuro Neko还在日本各地提供出色的行李转运服务,允许你提前将行李送至下一家酒店、机场或任何其他目的地,以节省携带行李的时间。这项服务快速、可靠,而且便宜得令人吃惊。大多数住宿场所,甚至是小旅店,都会根据你的要求为你安排这项服务。关于行李转运的更多信息,请参见我们的 “在日本旅行 “页面。

7 / 电力


japan-eletricity

日本使用A型或B型电气插头。A型是最常见的类型–类似于北美使用的类型–它有两个非极化和不接地的针脚,或者有两个针脚和一条接地线。B型插头在这里也有,最常见于老式建筑,使用两个针脚,下面有第三个圆形的针脚。

最重要的一点是,日本在其住宅电源中使用相对较低的100伏电压。这明显低于许多其他国家,包括澳大利亚230V、中国110V、香港220V、印度230V、印度尼西亚230V、韩国220V、马来西亚230V、菲律宾115V、新加坡230V、泰国220V、英国230V、美国120V和欧洲大部分地区230V。  虽然这不会影响需要少量电力的电器,如你的手机、平板电脑或笔记本电脑,但如果你携带的设备需要较大的电力,请注意它们在较低的电压下可能无法正常工作。

8 / 便利商店


convenience-store

日本喜欢它的便利店。它真的非常喜欢它的便利店!据估计,有超过50,000家便利店分布在全国各地,24小时营业。据估计,有超过50,000家便利店分布在全国各地,24小时营业,你可以–而且很多人也确实如此–依靠它们满足你的日常需求。其中7-11是最常见的,而劳森和家庭超市也随处可见。在日本铁路(JR)运营的主要车站内,你会发现每日新闻便利店,而在全国各地,有许多小型和区域性的特许经营店。

大多数商店都维护得很好,并备有大量的物品,从食品和饮料(包括酒类)到洗漱用品、基本的电器用品(如USB线和手机充电器)、充值卡、基本的服装、杂志、书籍等等。主要的三家商店–7-11、劳森和家庭超市–通常都有自动取款机、带扫描和电子邮件设施的复印机,使它们成为国际游客的一个伟大选择。如上所述,7-11的20,000多家商店是您寻找接受外国发行的卡的自动取款机的最佳选择。他们的自动取款机通常24小时开放,通常有合理的费用(取决于哪个银行发行的卡)。

如果你来自一个便利店只卖垃圾食品,而且普遍有点邋遢的国家,那就忘掉这一切吧。日本的便利店是世界上最好的,提供一些像样的食物,包括新鲜水果和你在这里生存所需的所有基本物品。

计划您的探访

NAGANO JAPAN
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
CONTACT
Plan Your Visit
Staying Cashed-Up & Connected in Japan

Staying Cashed-Up & Connected in Japan

credit-card

Japan is something of a contradiction when it comes to convenience and technology. While transport and moving around the country is impressively easy, seemingly simple actions like withdrawing money or even using a foreign bank/credit card can be challenging. Thankfully, increased competition in recent years means that old stumbling blocks including banking, phones and WiFi are now much more easy to arrange, in a land where it’s not uncommon to still be asked to fax something, things are sometimes harder than you’d expect. On this page you will find the following information:

1 / Cash is King: Getting Your Hands on It

2 / Using ATMs & International Cards

3 / Payment Methods in Japan

4 / Phones, SIM Cards & WiFi

5 / Japan Post

6 / Other Delivery Services

7 / Electricity

8 / Convenience Stores

For further essential travel information, see our ‘Plan Your Visit’ main page.

1 / CASH IS KING: GETTING YOUR HANDS ON IT


japan-money

As the old saying goes, ‘cash is king’ and nowhere is that more true than in Japan. The big surprise for many first-time travellers to Japan – especially those expecting a country of robots and mega-tech – is that this is still very much a cash economy. That’s right! Depending where you are from, you may well have to handle cash – good old physical cash – for the first time in a long time and be prepared for many businesses that only accept cash – especially in rural/regional areas.

japan-money

The Japanese currency is the ‘yen’ – also pronounced ‘en’ – and represented by this symbol ‘円’. Bank notes are issued in denominations of 1000円, 2000円*, 5000円 and 10,000円, while coins are issued in in denominations of 1円, 5円, 10円, 50円, 100円 and 500円.

Most travelers use ATMs to withdraw cash – see below for our recommendation of the best ATMs to use – while currency exchange is available through many major banks, post offices and at the international airports. Exchange rates will of course vary between outlets and depending on where you are coming from, it might make more sense to exchange your cash in your home country (to get a more competitive rate). Traveler’s cheques are another option although increasingly less popular. They include a little more hassle and are subject to the same variation in exchange rates and fees however they are insured, making them a popular option for some travelers. For the current exchange rate between Japanese yen and other major currencies, XE.com is a reliable website.

*2000円 notes are rarely seen in Japan and most commonly, issued by foreign bankers before you travel. When paying with a 2000円 note in Japan, expect some initial confusion and then interest in a note many Japanese have never seen… and rest assured, while it might prompt some confused looks and conversation it will be accepted.

2 / USING ATMs & INTERNATIONAL CARDS


japan-post-office-atm

Until recent years, withdrawing cash from a Japanese ATM using a foreign-issued card was one of the more infuriating experiences you could have here. Thankfully, while still not great things have improved. Open 24 hours a day, Japan’s more than 10,000 7-11 convenience stores have ATMs that accept most foreign-issued cards. The transaction fee is low however this varies depending on the charges of your bank. ATMs are available in English and other foreign languages.

japan-money-atm

The next best option is Japan’s more than 20,000 post office ATMs. Fees are also typically low and machines can be switched to English however located inside post office branches, the ATMs can only be accessed during business hours. Japan has many banks – the largest being Mitsubishi UFJ, SMBC Group and Mizuho – with multiple international banks also having a presence. All of them have their own ATMs however international visitors often encounter difficulty using foreign-issued cards at them. If you need to, give them a go but your best bet is always going to be 7-11 or the post office.

3 / PAYMENT METHODS IN JAPAN


credit-card

Travellers Japan have a range of payment methods as they move around, noting that small businesses, especially those in rural and regional, are likely not to accept payment by using foreign-issued cards or mobile payment options and in many cases, only accepting cash:

Payment using cash: remains one of the most commons methods throughout Japan and especially outside the large cities. When traveling through rural/regional areas, it’s a good idea to carry cash with you to avoid being caught-out. This is especially the case at family-run businesses including restaurants and guesthouses, that will often only accept cash. This applies to both Japanese and foreign guests. Rest assured, Japan is a safe country and theft is rare so carrying large amounts of money here is not the risk it is in many places. To be safe, we recommend always having cash on you to cover immediate expenses.

Payment by credit/debit card: shops, restaurants, accommodation and tourist attractions in big cities will all accept payment by credit and debit card however there can on occasions be problems using cards issued overseas. This has nothing to do with the store or their policy – after all, why wouldn’t they want to take payment – but comes up when the bank they process payment through doesn’t handle the payment system you are trying to use. To avoid this problem we recommend always having some cash on-hand.

Payment by IC Card: the term ‘IC Card’ covers various rechargeable cards that are primarily used to pay for journeys on public transport. There are many but some of the most common include Suica, Pasmo and Icoca. They are popular with Japanese who charge the cards to be used on trains and passes and to avoid the hassle of having to pay for individual trips. As the card holder can charge the cards with as much money as they like, they can also be used to make payment at many shops including convenience stores and restaurants. It is important to note that IC Cards cannot be used everywhere however if you are spending an extended in a large city as Tokyo, getting one and charging it every few days can save a lot of hassle. For more information about IC Cards, see our ‘Moving Around Japan’ page.

Mobile payment: compared to other countries, Japan has been slow on the uptake of mobile payment. While it is now growing in popularity, it isn’t as ubiquitous as you might expect and popular services including Apple Pay, Google Pay, WeChat Pay and Alipay can be used in Japan but perhaps not as readily in your home country. The most popular mobile payment apps in Japan – including Rakuten Pay, Line Pay and Edy are primarily aimed at Japanese and can be hard to register and use for international visitors.

4 / PHONES, SIM CARDS & WiFi


phone-connected

Until quite recently, staying connected while in Japan was surprisingly difficult and expensive, particularly when compared to travel in many other countries. Thankfully, things have also improved in this regard over recent years and while it’s still not as simple as you might expect, increased competition makes it relatively straight-forward.

Rental Phones

Arranging a temporary phone while in Japan is most easily done while at the airport. There are many kiosks offering basic phones for around JPY200 to JPY500 per day to around JPY1000 to JPY2000 per day for smartphones. Additional fees will apply for mobile data, calls, messaging, etc. Same-day rental is available however many companies offer discounts for advanced reservations with many also offering return of the phone at a different location or by post, if you’re not returning to your point of entry. Kiosks at the airport will have English, Chinese and other foreign language-speaking staff to assist you.

SIM Cards

For most travelers, arranging a temporary SIM for your existing phone is the best option. As long as your phone is relatively modern, it will work on the Japanese network however to use a temporary SIM your phone needs to be unlocked. Most temporary SIM cards are data-only and do not allow voice calls other than when using apps such as Whatsapp, LINE, Skype, etc.

sim-connected

This isn’t a big deal and making calls via an app is typically more cost effective. SIM cards can be purchased at the airports, online and delivered to you, or a major retail shops such as large electronic stores in Tokyo. Kiosks at the airports and many large electronic stores in Tokyo and Osaka will have English, Chinese and other foreign language-speaking staff to assist you. There is a lot of competition for your business so deals are quite good and rates are always changing. A simple Google search for a temporary SIM in Japan will bring up lots of options and current pricing.

Portable WiFi

Arranging a portable WiFi router at the airport is another popular option. Small and easy to carry, the router uses the phone network to create a local wireless network. They are a good option for international travelers as they allow you to access WiFi at all time – a cost effective way to stay connected. Much like SIM cards, there is a lot of competition and rates are always changing. A simple Google search for portable WiFi in Japan will bring up lots of options and current pricing.


Free WiFi Hot-spots

Accessing WiFi for free in Japan isn’t as easy as you might expect and certainly not as easy as in many other countries. Luckily, in recent years the situation has also improved but it still is a long way behind. Any large/modern hotel will provide WiFi free of charge in all area and rooms, however traditional guesthouses and accommodation in rural areas may only provide WiFi in the reception area – reinforcing portable WiFis as a good option to stay connected.

wifi-connected

While you’re out-and-about, you’ll find free WiFi hot-spots at the international airports, major train stations including on some train services, tourist information offices, and some convenience stores and franchise coffee shops and restaurants. However, to connect to many of these you will first need to go through a registration process that can be slow and infuriating, which once you’ve had to do more than once, will quickly become annoying. Thankfully, the following free services only require you to register once for access to thousands of free hot spots:

Japan Connected-Free WiFi provides a one-off registration for approximately 200,000 hot-spots around Japan while Free WiFi Passport provides access to around 400,000 hot-spots including cafes, restaurants, train stations and other locations. Both services require you to provide personal data in order to use them.

5 / JAPAN POST


japan-post-office

Japan’s postal service, known simply as ‘Japan Post’ or ‘郵便局’ ‘(yu-bin-kyo-ku), is very reliable and relatively easy to use (at least domestically). You will find post offices throughout the country including at the airports, in and around major train stations and in popular tourist spots. In total, there are approximately 24,000 locations typically open Monday to Friday from 09:00 to 17:00. Local branches are closed on weekends and public holidays however each city will have a central post office – if you need to find it, search for ‘中央郵便局’ – open 24/7. Full services will usually be available on Monday to Friday from 09:00 to 19:00, Saturday from 09:00 to 17:00 and Sunday from 09:00 to 12:30 with some services available via an all-night window between those hours.

Branches at the airports, in and around major train stations and popular tourist spots are likely to have English-speaking staff. It isn’t guaranteed but if you need to do anything that involves detailed conversation, it’s best to head to aim for one of those branches. Once you are away from those branches, you are unlikely to encounter English-speaking staff and anything but the most simple transactions can become confusing.

Sending items within Japan is pretty straight-forward and relatively cheap while sending items abroad can vary in price and complexity. All services you might expect are available including standard mail, registered mail and express mail. The service is reliable, fast and safe to use. When sending items abroad, be prepared to fill-out forms and answer questions. The post office Express Mail Service (EMS) is very reliable however can be quite strict about what you sending, depending on the items you are posting and the country they are bound for. Expect post office staff to consult a big book about what you can and can’t send to each country, and if it’s a process they aren’t familiar with, you might be inexplicably told you can send random items. For this reason, should you need to send packages overseas do so via the main/central branches who are more likely to be used to the process.

As noted above, post office ATMs are one of two the best options in Japan when using foreign-issued cards. ATMs can be switched to English making them easy to use but it’s worth noting that they are usually only accessible during the branch’s business hours and will be closed at night.

6 / OTHER DELIVERY SERVICES


There are multiple services for sending parcels around Japan and overseas, some of which might offer better value and efficiency than the post office. Most commonly referred to as ‘Kuro Neko’ or ‘Black Cat’, Yamato Transport is the most popular and ubiquitous delivery service outside of the post office. They have offices all over Japan including the airports and major train stations, and most hotels will arrange for pickup and/or delivery of items on your behalf. They have a very good website and while possibly more expensive, can at times be easier to use than Japan Post – especially when sending packages overseas. Kuro Neko also offer an excellent luggage forwarding service all over Japan, allowing you to send your luggage ahead of you to your next hotel, airport or any other destination to save carrying it with you. This service is fast, reliable and surprisingly cheap. Most accommodation, even small guesthouses, will arrange this for you at your request. For more information about luggage forwarding, see our ‘Moving Around Japan’ page.

7 / ELECTRICITY


japan-eletricity

Japan uses Type A or Type B electrical plug. Type A is the most common type – similar to those used in North America – which either has two non-polarised and ungrounded pins or two pins and a ground wire. Type B plugs are also found here, most commonly in older buildings, using two pins with a third rounded pin below.

The most important thing to note is that Japan uses a relatively low 100 volts in its residential power supply. This is notably lower than many other countries including Australia 230V, China 110V, Hong Kong 220V, India 230V, Indonesia 230V, Korea 220V, Malaysia 230V, Philippines 115V, Singapore 230V, Thailand 220V, United Kingdom 230V, United States 120V and most of Europe 230V.  While this won’t affect electrical items requiring small amounts of power such as your phone, tablet or laptop, if you are carrying equipment that requires larger amounts of power be aware that they may not working properly on the lower voltage.

8 / CONVENIENCE STORES


convenience-store

Japan loves its convenience stores. It really, really loves its conveniences stores! There are estimated to be more than 50,000 of them spread throughout the country and open 24/7, you could – and many people do – rely on them for your daily needs. Among them 7-11 is the most common while Lawson and Family Mart are also everywhere. Inside major stations operated by Japan Rail (JR) you will find Daily News convenience stores while around the country there are many smaller and regional franchises.

Most are very well-maintained and stock a huge range of items from food and drink including alcohol, to toiletries, basic electrical item such as USB cables and phone chargers, top-up cards, basic clothing, magazines, books and more! The major three – 7-11, Lawson and Family Mart – will typically have ATMs, photocopiers with scanning and email facilities making them a great option for international visitors. As noted above, 7-11’s more than 20,000 stores are your best bet when looking for an ATM that will accept a foreign-issued card. Their ATMs are usually available 24 hours and typically have reasonable fees (depending on which bank issued your card).

If you come from a country where convenience stores only sell junk food and are generally a bit grotty, forget all about that. Japan’s convenience stores are the best in the world and offer some decent food including fresh fruit and all the basics you need to survive while here.