日本對通過註冊旅行社預訂的遊客開放。
欲了解更多信息,包括如何與我們預訂 - 點擊這裡
日本長野
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS
logo_circle
聯繫
日本的温泉
溫泉禮節:該做的,不該做的和好處

溫泉禮節:該做的,不該做的和好處

hot-spring-onsen

對許多日本人來說,溫泉是一種常規(如果不是每天)的活動,他們從嬰儿期開始就參與其中,並貫穿他們的一生。然而,對於國際遊客來說,進入和使用溫泉可能是一件令人畏懼的事情,尤其是在他們第一次探訪時。請放心,這沒有什麼可擔心的。在這個頁面上,你會發現以下信息:

如何辨別溫泉?

溫泉的基本規則

進入溫泉:一步一步的說明

幫助你放鬆的提示

溫泉與紋身

尋找適合紋身的溫泉

溫泉的諸多好處

長野和日本中部的最佳溫泉鎮

預訂長野的溫泉旅館

雖然確實有溫泉禮儀,但它並不像許多人想像的那樣嚴格,而只是一些基本規則,以確保客人的舒適和享受,並保持溫泉的清潔。重要的是,如果你有一個或多個紋身,在脫衣服和入水之前,你應該檢查你是否被允許進入溫泉–請參閱下面的 “溫泉和紋身”,以了解為什麼這可能是一個問題,以及尋找適合紋身的溫泉。本頁旨在與我們的 “日本的溫泉 “主頁結合起來閱讀。

如何辨別溫泉?


onsen-hot-spring-banner-edit

有幾個詞、符號和字符需要注意。字面意思是 “熱水 “和 “泉水”,”溫泉 “的字樣是 “溫泉”,也可以簡單地顯示為 “湯 “或更簡單的平假名字 “ゆ”,兩者都讀作 “yu”。在建築物的外面通常可以看到一個或多個這樣的符號,通常印在 “noren”(掛在入口處的紡織品)上。大多數溫泉也會在標誌和地圖上使用這個符號來識別自己:

hot-spring-onsen

在溫泉內部,男浴池將以男性–或 “otoko”,以及女性–或 “onna “的字樣標識。

值得注意的是,如果您在溫泉酒店或賓館過夜,老闆往往會在一天中的某個時候調換浴池,將不同的浴池分別指定給男性和女性。因此,必須時刻注意你應該進入哪個浴池,因為你昨晚進入的浴池可能不再是你早上應該進入的浴池。只要留意浴池外的字符,就能知道該進哪一個。

溫泉的基本規則


onsen-hot-spring-banner-edit

第一次進入溫泉可能會有點嚇人。但不要擔心。只要你遵守這些基本規則,你就會完全好起來:

— 進入溫泉前徹底淋浴

— 千萬不要在溫泉水中清洗自己

— 不要穿任何衣服進入溫泉水中(除非有人告訴你這是可以接受的)

— 不要在溫泉水里放任何東西

— 不要濺起水花或引起騷動

— 不要高聲說話或大喊大叫

— 切勿將酒精帶入溫泉(除非有人告訴你可以這樣做)

適用於帶孩子去泡溫泉的家長:

— 嬰幼兒可以和父母一起進入任何一個溫泉,不分性別。一個好的經驗法則是,當孩子覺得舒服時,他們進入任何一個溫泉都是合適的。當孩子不舒服,想進入分配給他們的溫泉時,他們自然會讓父母知道

— 場地不是游泳池,不應允許兒童奔跑、嬉戲或大叫。為了他們自己的安全和其他客人的舒適,請確保他們不這樣做。

遵循這些基本規則,你就能融入其中。對於想要了解更多關於究竟如何去做的遊客來說,現在讓我們考慮如何去做:

進入溫泉:一步一步的說明


onsen-hot-spring-banner-edit

許多溫泉拒絕有紋身的客人進入。這有其歷史原因,但人們的態度也在發生變化。有紋身的客人在進入前一定要先確認,以避免進入溫泉後出現任何尷尬的互動。有關這方面的更多信息,請參閱下面的 “溫泉與紋身”。我們希望以下的步驟說明能對您有所幫助:

— 最重要的是,首先要輸入正確的溫泉! 雖然許多溫泉會使用英文單詞來表示男性和女性,但其他溫泉可能只顯示 “漢字 “字符。對於男性來說,尋找男(’otoko’意為男性),對於女性來說,尋找女(’onna’意為女性)

— 從酒店進入溫泉時,請脫掉鞋子,放在入口處或鞋盒裡

— 通常會有一個帶儲物櫃的更衣室。脫掉所有的衣服–是的,所有的衣服–並將你的衣服和大毛巾放在儲物櫃或籃子裡

— 你現在可以進入溫泉了。你唯一能帶的東西是你的小毛巾和儲物櫃鑰匙(如果需要的話)

— 現在是清洗的時候了。坐在凳子上,徹底清洗你的身體,如果你願意,也可以清洗你的頭髮。有長發的客人應該把頭髮紮起來,以免進入水中  

— 通常會有清洗碗,讓你在自己身上潑水。一旦完成,確保你身上的肥皂乾淨,並將所有東西放回原處

— 你現在可以進入浴池,並確保你脖子以上的部分不在水面以下

你的毛巾不應該進入水中,而是可以放在浴缸的一側或頭頂,只要不在水中就可以了

— 在離開溫泉時,有些人選擇用淋浴再次清洗自己–特別是在水是酸性或硫磺的情況下–但沒有要求這樣做

— 當你離開和重新進入更衣室時,確保你盡可能地擦拭自己,以避免在更衣室中造成混亂。

這將很快成為第二性質,你將能夠完全放鬆地進入體驗。

幫助你放鬆的提示


kyousen-tenryukyo

在日本,享受溫泉是一項必做的活動。但如果你仍然對這樣做感到緊張,以下幾點可能會幫助你放鬆到:

— 不要為脫衣服而感到尷尬或緊張。這對日本人來說是完全自然的

— 如果你覺得不舒服,你可以用你的小毛巾謹慎地蓋住自己(但記住,不要讓它進入水里)。如果你有紋身,請檢查溫泉是否願意讓你進去,以及/或他們是否要求你遮蓋你的墨水。

— 如果你的毛巾接觸到或不小心落入水中,不要驚慌。只需將毛巾擰到池邊,並將其安全地放在遠離邊緣的地方

— 雖然很少,但有些溫泉可能允許你在裡面帶酒。即使允許,我們也建議你在泡溫泉時不要喝酒。加熱的水、蒸汽和酒精的結合會導致你容易脫水,並很快感到不適。

溫泉與紋身


yudanaka-biyunoyado-banner-edit

對於國際遊客來說,有關紋身和溫泉的規定可能令人困惑。你是否可以在有墨水的情況下進入溫泉是一個難以回答的問題。為了以有用的方式回答這個問題,值得考慮一下為什麼紋身是一個問題的背景。在過去,多年來,紋身在日本被用來給罪犯打上烙印。使用的圖案和符號將反映犯罪的性質和地點,因此,在守法公民的眼中,紋身可以識別犯罪和危險的個人。從18世紀末開始,罪犯接受了這種做法,並開始使用精心製作的裝飾圖案作為驕傲的標誌。結果,紋身的做法在日本被取締,只有地下犯罪分子,最有名昭著的是yakuza(日本黑手黨)。

nagano-uruoikan-onsen-hot-spring

在一個基於一致性的社會中,展示紋身是一種強烈的聲明,反對被認為是良好和適當的行為。儘管社會態度開始發生變化,越來越多的日本年輕人有紋身,許多外國人也有大量的墨水,但在許多日本人眼中,紋身仍然是一種負面的恥辱。這在老一輩人中最為明顯,他們看到紋身就感到不舒服–而這正是溫泉主人所關心的。雖然業主可能很樂意接納有紋身的客人–最近的調查反映出越來越多的人樂意這樣做–但許多人在拒絕有紋身的客人進入時,考慮到年長客人的舒適度。他們擔心他們的客人,特別是他們的老年常客,會感到不舒服,因此他們拒絕任何有紋身的人進入。

尋找適合紋身的溫泉


yudanaka-tsubakino-onsen-edit

積極的消息是,有很多溫泉你可以進入! 壞消息是,如果不露面試試運氣,他們可能很難識別。最好的建議是,在試圖進入浴場之前,先通過電話或親自去檢查。最好的辦法是打電話–最好用日語–先詢問一下。如果做不到這一點,你可以在溫泉接待處詢問。有些會明確宣傳禁止紋身,而有些則認為這只是眾所周知的事情,所以即使沒有拒絕入浴的標誌,也一定要先問清楚,以免以後出現尷尬的互動。另一個選擇是遮蓋你的紋身。雖然較小的紋身可能不被注意或忽視(如果它們確實很小),但較大的紋身就不會。對於小型和中型的紋身,最好用繃帶遮蓋,在藥店和一些便利店都有出售。袖子、腿部、背部和其他無法覆蓋的大型紋身是最大的問題。如果你全身有刺青,你需要在進入之前向主人確認。如果他們拒絕進入,不要把它放在心上。這是一種文化規範,並無冒犯之意。請放心,你會發現很多地方會讓你進去。

溫泉的諸多好處


gero-onsen

許多文化早已認識到浸泡在溫泉和礦泉中對健康的益處。從羅馬人和他們著名的浴場,到今天的斯堪的納維亞半島和其他許多例子,從我們有記錄以來,人們就一直在尋找天然的溫泉和礦泉。也許比起任何其他國家,日本一直承認定期利用其許多自然產生的溫泉有許多好處–一些是已知的,一些是假定的。最初是用於醫療目的,現在許多人探訪溫泉純粹是為了放鬆,特定溫泉的治療特性也仍然吸引著許多遊客。

常見的溫泉水的類型

manza-onsen-banner-edit

“奈療法 “是對在天然溫泉和礦泉中沐浴的健康益處的研究。這項研究的支持者調查了熱水和冷水的使用情況,以及利用水進行的按摩、放鬆和刺激,以及富含礦物質的溫泉的好處,包括矽、硫、鐳和其他特性。從理論上講,這些礦物質和其他元素會滲透到身體裡,促進荷爾蒙的分泌。當你進入溫泉時,交感神經成為主導,血壓上升,心率加快,血糖升高。為了應對這種情況,副交感神經被激活,在恢復身體平衡方面,據稱具有恢復和治療的作用。出於這個原因,日本人長期以來一直在尋找溫泉。有許多類型的水俱有特定的(聲稱的)好處,包括:

單純泉:最常見的溫泉類型,水的礦物質含量均衡,沒有主要的元素、顏色或氣味。許多溫泉都屬於這種分類,因此,它們的具體特性和好處也有很大的不同。簡單的水很適合所有年齡段的人,從年輕人到老年人。岐阜的下呂溫泉以其單純泉而聞名。

酸性泉:具有很強的細菌作用,經常用於皮膚治療,包括癒合疤痕和慢性皮膚病。酸性水由火山氣體和地下水混合而成,據說可以去除老皮。然而,有些人發現他的影響太強,洗澡後最好把水洗掉。不管怎麼做,都不要喝它。群馬縣的草津溫泉是日本最著名的酸性泉之一。

美人湯(鹼性泉):被稱為 “美麗女士的溫泉”,鹼性泉感覺厚實而絲滑。它可以去除皮膚角質,使其光滑並消除斑點,因此它與美容和抗衰老有關。長野縣的晝神溫泉以其美人湯而聞名。

硫磺泉:通常帶有強烈的硫磺氣味,水中的顏色也很容易識別。這種氣體能清除喉嚨,並能抵禦包括支氣管炎在內的疾病。據說這種水可以打開血管,因此有助於防止心髒病、動脈硬化和其他皮膚病。群馬縣萬座溫泉的乳白色水是日本嘗試硫磺泉的最佳目的地之一。

含鉄泉:顏色清澈,但一旦暴露在氧氣中,鐵被氧化就會變成紅/棕色。它很容易辨認,因為有一股鐵鏽味和一種苦澀的金屬味。鐵含量意味著這種水可以治療貧血和更年期或月經紊亂。這些對婦女的積極影響意味著它也被稱為 “fujin-no-yu “或 “婦女之水”。據說還有助於血液循環和血液健康,這種水經常被少量飲用。在長野縣涉溫泉的遊客可以嘗試甘鐵泉–浸泡和飲用它。

炭酸水素塩泉:看起來像普通水,但小氣泡會粘在你的皮膚上。據說它比普通水能更快地促進血液循環,對排毒有好處。炭酸水素塩泉很罕見,很難找到。

關於在哪裡可以找到該地區最好的溫泉,包括上面列出的那些,請參閱下面的 “長野和日本中部的最佳溫泉鎮 “的建議。最後,關於 “湯之花”的世界……

在一些溫泉中,你可能會注意到水中漂浮的顆粒。這通常是白色和蓬鬆的,第一次遇到時可能會讓人不快,因為人們可以理解地認為水不干淨。請不要驚慌。你所經歷的被稱為 “Yu-no-hana “或 “湯之花”,是漂浮在水中的自然產生的沉積物。湯之花來自地球深處,在熱水中漂浮到表面。它們是乾淨的,本來就應該存在,如果你看到很多這樣的東西,你所享受的溫泉很可能因它們而聞名。

長野和日本中部的最佳溫泉鎮


shibu-onsen-banner-edit
tour-banner

我們的家鄉長野和日本中部地區是該國一些最具歷史意義和最好的溫泉小鎮的所在地。我們的 “長野和日本中部20個最佳溫泉小鎮 “頁面告訴你在哪裡可以找到它們,以及你為什麼要來這裡–所以趕緊來吧,享受該地區所能提供的最佳服務。

預訂長野的溫泉旅館


senjukaku-banner-edit
japan-ski-resorts-banner

我們總部設在長野,全年運營,是該地區排名第一的旅遊和包車運營商。作為一家註冊旅行社,我們可以安排長野和日本中部地區最好的溫泉旅館的住宿,同時還提供全套服務,包括旅遊、交通、滑雪配套等等 我們的 “預訂長野的溫泉旅館 “頁面是一個很好的開始,當你在這裡尋找推薦的住宿地點時。我們希望很快在長野見到你!

Japan is open to tourists booking via registered travel agents.
For more information including how to book with us – click here
NAGANO JAPAN
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS
logo_circle
CONTACT
ONSEN IN JAPAN
Onsen Etiquette: Do’s, Don’ts & Benefits

Onsen Etiquette: Do’s, Don’ts & Benefits

hot-spring-onsen

For many Japanese, onsen is a regular (if not daily) activity, something they engage in from infancy and throughout their lives. Yet for international visitors, entering and using an onsen can be intimidating, especially on their first visit. Rest assured it’s nothing to worry about. On this page you will find the following information:

How Can I Identify an Onsen?

The Basic Rules of Onsen

Entering an Onsen: Step-by-Step Instructions

Tips to Help You Relax

Onsen & Tattoos

Finding a Tattoo-Friendly Onsen

The Many Benefits of Onsen

Best Onsen Towns in Nagano & Central Japan

Book an Onsen Guesthouse in Nagano

While there is certainly an onsen etiquette, it is not as strict as many imagine rather just a few basic rules to ensure the comfort and enjoyment of guests and maintain the cleanliness of the hot spring. Importantly, if you have one ore more tattoos, you should check whether you are allowed into an onsen before undressing and entering the water – see ‘Onsen & Tattoos’ below for information about why this can be an issue and finding a tattoo-friendly hot spring. This page is intended to be read in combination with our ‘Onsen in Japan’ main page.

HOW CAN I IDENTIFY AN ONSEN?


onsen-hot-spring-banner-edit

There are several words, symbols and characters to look-out for. Literally translating to ‘hot water’ and ‘spring’, the characters for ‘onsen’ are 温泉 or can simply be displayed as 湯 or the simpler hiragana character of ゆ – both pronounced ‘yu’. One or more of these will usually be visible on the outside of the building, often printed on the ‘noren’, textile hanging in front of the entrance. Most onsen will also use this symbol to identify themselves on signs and maps:

hot-spring-onsen

Inside the onsen itself, the mens bath will be identified with the character for male – 男 – or ‘otoko’, and female – 女 – or ‘onna’.

It’s worth noting that if you are staying at an onsen hotel or guesthouse overnight, the owners will often switch the baths at some time during the day, designating different baths to men and women respectively. For that reason, it’s important to always pay attention to which bath you should be entering as the one you entered last night might no longer be the one you should in the morning. Just keep an eye-out for the characters outside the bath which will tell you which one to enter.

THE BASIC RULES OF ONSEN


onsen-hot-spring-banner-edit

It can be a little intimidating entering an onsen for the first-time. But don’t worry. You’ll quickly get the hang of it and as long as you follow these basics rules, you’ll be totally fine:

— shower thoroughly before you enter the onsen

— never wash yourself in the onsen water

— do not wear any clothing into the onsen water (unless you are told it’s acceptable)

— do not put anything in the onsen water

— do not splash or cause a disturbance

— don’t speak loudly or yell

— never take alcohol into the onsen (unless you are told it’s acceptable)

For parents taking children into an onsen:

— babies, infants and young children can enter either onsen with their parent, regardless of gender. A good rule of thumb is that while the child is comfortable to do so, it’s appropriate for them to enter either onsen. Children will naturally let their parents know when they aren’t comfortable and want to enter the onsen assigned to them

— onsens are not pools and children should not be allowed to run, splash or yell. Please ensure they do not for their own safety and comfort of other guests.

By following those basic rules you’ll blend right in. For visitors wanting a little more information of exactly how to go about it, let’s now consider how to:

ENTERING AN ONSEN: STEP-BY-STEP INSTRUCTIONS


onsen-hot-spring-banner-edit

Many onsen refuse entry to guests with tattoos. There are historical reasons for this but attitudes are also changing. Guests with tattoos should always check first before entering to avoid any awkward interactions once in the onsen. For more information about this, see ‘Onsen & Tattoos’ below. We hope the following STEP-BY-STEP INSTRUCTIONS are of assistance:

— most importantly, start by entering the correct onsen! While many will use the English words for men’s and women’s, others may only display the ‘kanji’ character. For men, look for 男 (‘otoko’ meaning male) and for women, look for 女 (‘onna’ meaning female)

— when passing from the hotel into the onsen, take off your shoes and leave them at the entrance or inside a shoebox

— there will usually be a change room with lockers. Remove all clothes – yes, all clothes – and place your clothing and large towel in a locker or basket

— you are now ready to enter the onsen. The only things you can take with you is your small towel and locker key (if required)

— it’s now time to wash. Sit on a stool and thoroughly wash your body and if you want, also wash your hair. Guests with long hair should tie it so it doesn’t enter the water

— wash bowls are usually on-hand to allow you to throw water over yourself. Once done, make sure you are clean of any soap and place everything back as you found it

— you can now enter the bath and ensure nothing above your neck is below the water surface

your towel should not enter the water but instead can be placed to the side of the bath or atop of your head, as long as it’s out of the water

— when leaving the onsen, some people choose to wash themselves down again with the shower – especially if the water is acidic or sulfuric – but there’s no requirement to do so

— as you leave and re-enter the change room, ensure you wipe yourself down as best as possible to avoid creating a mess in the change room.

This will quickly become second-nature and you’ll be able to relax fully into the experience.

TIPS TO HELP YOU RELAX


kyousen-tenryukyo

Enjoying an onsen is something of a must-do activity while in Japan. But if you’re still nervous about doing so, the following points might help you relax into:

— don’t feel embarrassed or nervous about being undressed. It’s totally natural for Japanese

— if you feel uncomfortable, you can use your small towel to discretely cover yourself (but remember, don’t let it enter the water). If you have a tattoo, check that the onsen is happy to allow you in and / or if they require you to cover your ink.

— if your towel comes in contact or falls into the water by accident, don’t panic. Just wring-out the towel to the side of the pool and place it safely away from edge

— although rare, some onsen may allow you to take alcohol inside. Even if allowed, we recommend that you don’t drink while in onsen. The combination of heated water, steam and alcohol can lead you to dehydrate easily and feel sick quickly.

ONSEN & TATTOOS


yudanaka-biyunoyado-banner-edit

For international visitors, rules regarding tattoos and onsen can be confusing. Whether you can enter an onsen when sporting some ink is a tricky question to answer. In order to answer it in a useful way, a little background to why tattoos are an issue is worth considering. In the past and for many years, tattoos were used to brand criminals in Japan. The patterns and symbols used would reflect the nature and place of the crime and therefore, in the eyes of law-abiding citizens, tattoos identified criminal and dangerous individuals. From the late-18th century onward, criminals embraced this practice as their own and began to use elaborate decorative patterns as a mark of pride. As a result, the practice of tattooing was outlawed in Japan and only practiced by the criminal underground, most notoriously, the yakuza (Japanese mafia).

nagano-uruoikan-onsen-hot-spring

In a society based on conformity, displaying a tattoo is a strong statement against what is considered good and proper behaviour. Though social attitudes are beginning to change, with an increasing number of young Japanese having tattoos and many foreigners heavily inked, in the eyes of many Japanese tattoos maintain a negative stigma. This is most pronounced with the older generation who feel uncomfortable at the sight of a tattoo – and this is what matters to onsen owners. While an owner may be comfortable admitting guests with tattoos – recent surveys reflect an increasing number of whom are happy to do so – many are thinking of the comfort of their older guests when refusing entry to guests with tattoos. They worry they their guests, particularly their elderly regulars, will be uncomfortable therefore they decline entry to anyone with a tattoo.

FINDING A TATTOO-FRIENDLY ONSEN


yudanaka-tsubakino-onsen-edit

The positive news is that there are plenty of onsens you can enter! The bad news is they can be hard to identify without just showing-up and trying your luck. The best advice is to check first, by phone or in person, before trying to enter bath. A phone call – best made in Japanese – to enquire first is the best option. Failing that, you can ask at the onsen reception. Some will clearly advertise a ban on tattoos while others assume it is simply known, so even if there is no sign refusing entry, always ask first to avoid an awkward interaction later on. Another option is to cover your tattoos. While smaller tattoos may go unnoticed or ignored (if they are indeed small), larger ones will not. For small and mid-sized tattoos, it’s best to cover them with bandages, available for sale in pharmacies and some convenience stores. Sleeves, leg, back and other large tattoos that are impossible to cover are the biggest problem. If you are heavily inked you will need to check with the owner before entering. If they decline entry, don’t take it personally. It’s a cultural norm and no offence is intended. Rest assured you will find plenty that will let you in.

THE MANY BENEFITS OF ONSEN


gero-onsen

Many cultures have long recognised the health benefits of soaking in hot and mineral springs. From the Romans and their famous baths, to present-day Scandinavia and many other examples, people have been seeking-out natural hot and mineral springs for as long as we have records. Perhaps more than any other country, Japan has always acknowledged the many – some known and some presumed – benefits of regularly making use of its many naturally-occurring hot springs. Originally used for medicinal purposes, many people now visit onsen purely for relaxation with the curative properties of specific hot springs also still attracting many visitors.

Common Types of Water

manza-onsen-banner-edit

‘Balneotherapy’ is the study of the health benefits of bathing in natural hot springs and mineral spas. Proponents of this study investigate the use of both hot and cold water, along with massage, relaxation and stimulation using water, and the benefits of mineral rich spas including silica, sulfur, radium and other properties. In theory, these minerals and other elements penetrate the body, promoting hormone secretion. When you enter an onsen, the sympathetic nerve becomes predominant, blood pressure rises, heart rate goes up and blood sugar increases. To counter-act this, the parasympathetic nerve is activated and in restoring equilibrium to the body, it is claimed to have a restorative and curative effect. Japanese have long sought-out hot springs for this reason. There are many types of water with specific (claimed) benefits including:

tanzyun-sen (simple water): the most common type of onsen, the water has a balanced mineral content with no predominant element, colour or odour. Many onsen fall under this classification and as such, there is a huge diversity in their exact properties and benefits. Simple water is well-suited to all ages, from young to old. Gero Onsen in Gifu is known for its tanzyun-sen.

sansei-sen (acidic water): has a strong bacterial effect and often used for skin treatment including healing scars and chronic skin conditions. Acidic water results from a mixture of volcanic gas and ground water and is said to remove old skin. However some people find he affect too strong and it’s a good idea to wash-off the water after bathing. Whatever you do, do not drink it. Kusatsu Onsen in Gunma is one of Japan’s most renowned towns for sansei-sen.

bijin-no-yu (alkaline water): known as the ‘onsen of beautiful ladies’, alkaline water feels thick and silky. It exfoliates the skin, making it smooth and removing spots, hence its association with beauty and anti-ageing. Hirugami Onsen in Nagano is famous for its bijin-no-yu.

iou-sen (sulfuric water): often carries a strong sulfuric smell and colour in the water making it easy to identify. The gas clears the throat and counteracts ailments including bronchitis. The water is said to open blood vessels and therefore helps protect against heart disease, arteriosclerosis and other skin diseases. The milky white water of Manza Onsen in Gunma is one of Japan’s best destinations to try iou-sen.

gantetsu-sen (iron water): is clear in colour but changes to red/brown once exposed to oxygen and the iron is oxidized. It is easy to recognise as there is a smell of rust and a bitter, metallic taste. The iron content means the water treats anemia and menopausal or menstruation disorders. These positive affects for women mean that it is also referred to as ‘fujin-no-yu’ or ‘water of women’. Said to also aid circulation and blood health, the water is often drunk in small amounts. Visitors to Shibu Onsen in Nagano can try gantetsu-sen – both soaking and drinking it.

tansan-sen (carbonated water): looks like normal water but small bubbles stick to your skin. Said to improve circulation quicker than normal water and is good for detoxing. Tansen-sen is rare and hard to find.

For recommendations as to where to find some the region’s best onsens, including those listed above, see ‘Best Onsen Towns in Nagano & Central Japan’ below. Finally, a world about ‘Hot Water Flowers’

In some onsen you might notice particles floating in the water. Often white and fluffy, this can be off-putting the first time you encounter it as people understandably assume the water is not clean. Don’t be alarmed. What you are experiencing is called ‘yu-no-hana’ or ‘hot water flowers’, naturally occurring sediments floating in the water. Yu-no-hana come from deep inside the Earth, and float to the surface in the thermal water. They are clean, meant to be there, and if you see a lot of them, the onsen you are enjoying is likely to be famous for them.

BEST ONSEN TOWNS IN NAGANO & CENTRAL JAPAN


shibu-onsen-banner-edit
tour-banner

Our home region of Nagano and Central Japan is home to some of the country’s most historic and best onsen towns. Our ’20 Best Onsen Towns in Nagano & Central Japan’ page tells you where to find them and why you should visit – so hop to it and enjoy the best that the region has to offer.

BOOK AN ONSEN GUESTHOUSE IN NAGANO


senjukaku-banner-edit
japan-ski-resorts-banner

Based in Nagano and operating all year round, we are the region’s No.1-rated tour and charter operator. As a registered travel agent, we can arrange accommodation at the best onsen guesthouses in Nagano and Central Japan while also offering a full suite of services including tours, transport, ski packages and more! Our ‘Book an Onsen Guesthouse in Nagano’ page is a great place to start when looking for recommendations of where to stay once you’re here. We hope to see you soon in Nagano!