日本長野
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
聯繫
Japan Adventure Travel
日本探險旅行: 野生動物、觀鳥、騎馬和釣魚

日本探險旅行: 野生動物、觀鳥、騎馬和釣魚

snow-monkey-baby-jigokudani

日本群島從北到南綿延3000多公里,包括6000多個島嶼,是各種各樣的野生動物的家園。從南部的熱帶地區,到中部的高山環境,再到北部的深寒和積雪,日本全國各地都有不同的地貌和氣候,你在這裡遇到的動物將取決於你要去的地區。

bird-wildlife

總部設在長野,日本中部是我們的家,因此,我們想向你介紹一些你將在這裡發現的野生動物,包括我們推薦的最佳野生動物和觀鳥體驗。在這一頁,你會發現以下信息:

1 / 日本中部的野生動物

2 / 推薦的野生動物體驗活動

3 / 推薦的觀鳥體驗

4 / 推薦騎馬體驗

5 / 推薦釣魚體驗

6 / 與我們一起預訂! 長野的第一大旅遊和包車運營商

關於更多的旅遊探險經歷和目的地,請看我們的 “日本旅遊探險 “主頁。我們希望這些信息對計劃你在日本的下一次探險有幫助。

1 / 日本中部的野生動物


bathing-monkey-banner-2
tour-banner

日本中部是各種動物和鳥類的家園,使其成為攝影師或任何想要享受這個迷人國家的自然一面的人的最佳目的地。這裡有一些等待被發現的動物,顯然是以我們最喜歡的動物開始:

日本獼猴

jigokudani-monkey-winter

日本獼猴被正確地稱為 “nihonzaru”(日本猴),但更經常地被簡單地稱為 “雪猴”,日本獼猴遍布全國,從南部的亞熱帶地區到北部的寒冷和雪地。獼猴具有高度的智慧、適應性和社會性,它們生活在由大約150名成員組成的隊伍中,跟隨一隻雄性首領。它們是領地性動物,通常每天在方圓幾公里的範圍內活動,在日本中部的許多地區都能找到它們,包括上信越高原國家公園、志賀高原和白馬周圍。它們因喜歡泡溫泉而聞名,這種行為是來往於地獄谷雪猴公園的隊伍所特有的,你只能在那裡看到這種景象。作為該地區的非官方大使,雪猴一年四季都會來到公園。


亞洲黑熊

black-bear-wildlife

亞洲黑熊主要分佈在國家公園的森林和山區,通常是草食性動物,而且很害羞,這意味著它通常對人類沒有什麼威脅。一旦成熟,它們的身長約為120至140厘米,雄性體重為60至120公斤,雌性體重為40至100公斤。它們比許多種熊都小,從春天到秋天最活躍,整個冬天都會冬眠。在全國各地發生了一些事件後,國家媒體有些詆毀熊,通常是熊被打了個措手不及,以及人類繼續侵占它們的棲息地的結果。雖然這類事件不容忽視,但現實情況是,熊很害羞,雖然在國家公園裡有很多熊,包括上信越高原和妙高戸隠連山國立公園,但它們很少見到。


日本髭羚

kamoshika-wildlife

在日本被稱為 “kamoshika”,是一種在整個公園內發現的山羊羚羊。成熟的山羊身高約80厘米,體重30至45公斤,有厚厚的黑灰色外套,夏季顏色變淺。它們有短的角和尾巴,通常單獨或與同伴和嬰兒一起出現。日本髭羚行動緩慢,能很好地融入景觀中,這意味著許多遊客在不知不覺中經過它們身邊。因此,請睜大你的眼睛,因為你遲早會遇到它們,而且似乎對我們也很好奇,就像我們對它們一樣。


日本花鹿

shika-spotted-deer-wildlife

花鹿被簡單地稱為 “shika”,在亞洲的各個國家被發現。這些中等大小的鹿有些獨特,因為它們通常在成年後仍保持其斑點,成熟的斑鹿肩高在50至110厘米之間,從頭到尾全長95至180厘米。成年雄鹿有鹿角,而成年雌鹿的額頭上有獨特的黑色凸起。野生鼠卡通常很膽小,但通常在白天很活躍,所以並不罕見。


日本狸

tanuki-wildlife

tanukis也被稱為 “浣熊犬”,在整個日本中部都可以找到。作為一種適應性很強的動物,它們大多是夜間活動,但在白天發現它們並不罕見。事實上,它們與狐狸和狼的關係比與浣熊更密切。它們具有很強的社會性,但通常是以交配的形式出現在一起,而且作為一種犬科動物,它們在冬季會冬眠,這一點有些獨特。阿狸在日本民間傳說中扮演著重要的角色,許多故事認為它們是一種 “Yokai “或超自然的生物,促使它們成為日本家庭和企業門口經常出現的“清酒瓶和雕像中找到 “。


日本獾

badger-anaguma-wildlife

日本獾在當地被稱為 “anaguma”,可以在整個日本中部的森林地區找到,有時會被誤認為是黃鼠狼。在日本的民間傳說中,據說日本獾能夠變身並變成人形。雖然沒有證據表明這一點,但你永遠不能太小心,所以要留意任何可疑的人。當變成獾的形態時,它們比它們的歐洲表親要小,雄性可達79厘米,雌性約72厘米。與塔努奇一樣,阿納古瑪在夜間最為活躍,並在整個冬季佔據林間棲息地,包括靠近人類的地方和該地區國家公園的森林中。


日本松鼠

squirrel-wildlife

日本松鼠是日本中部森林和林區的常見景象,它們在早上最活躍,大部分時間都在睡覺,然後在晚上再次出現。它們很適應離開地面的生活,能夠在樹之間跳躍,並在離地面很高的地方建造多個巢穴,它們每天都在這些巢穴之間移動。它們的被毛會隨著季節的變化而改變顏色,在夏季為橘紅色,在一年中較冷的幾個月逐漸變成灰色至淺褐色。


日本赤狐

fox-wildlife

另一種在民間傳說中扮演重要角色的動物,日本赤狐或 “Kitsune “是另一種變身者和搗蛋鬼。當你以狐狸的形狀活動時,你可能會在任何地方遇到它們。狐狸有很高的智慧,是一種活動範圍很廣的動物,從昆蟲和蚯蚓到水果、漿果甚至小的囓齒動物,它們都吃。狐狸佔據的棲息地範圍很廣,從謹慎地生活在城市地區,到農田和包括國家公園在內的野生地區。


白鼬

stoat-okojo-wildlife

日本鼬被稱為 “Okojo”,是黃鼠狼的一個物種,佔據亞高山地區,即海拔1500米以上的棲息地。它們的皮毛在不同的季節似乎會完全改變顏色,從夏季的深棕色和白色的底部到冬季的幾乎完全白色。


岩雷鳥

hakuba-raicho-bird-wildlife

岩雷鳥在日語中被稱為 “雷鳥”,發現於日本中部的高山地區,包括立山山頂和立山-黑部高山路線周圍。 Raicho被翻譯成 “雷鳥”,傳統上被認為是神的使者,因此不被獵殺。時至今日,雷鳥並不懼怕人類,它們會走到你面前,似乎在擺姿勢拍照,似乎對我們和它們都很感興趣。它們的羽毛隨季節變化,春夏時呈褐色,冬季呈白色。佔據山區寒冷的上部地區,在冬季冬眠,然後在冬季雪融化時重新出現。


綠雉

kiji-green-pheasant-wildlife

作為日本的國鳥,”kiji “或綠雉在日本中部的森林地區、農田、草地和公園中普遍存在。它的胸部、下頸部和側面有深綠色的羽毛,翅膀和尾巴是棕色和灰色的混合體,上頸部和頭部有紅色、黑色和藍色的羽毛。雌性野雞的棕色和灰色的混合體更為低調。綠雉是野味中大約三十個遊戲品種之一,可以被獵殺。


金雕

washi-eagle-wildlife

日本美麗的金雕從北部的北海道到南部的九州都可以找到,橫跨日本四個主要島嶼的整個幅員。上信越高原國家公園多樣化的生態環境為金雕提供了一個理想的環境,一年四季都有大量的獵物可以捕食。


其他鳥類動物

bird-chubu-sangaku-wildlife

日本有眾多的地方性和候鳥物種,包括鶺鴒、林鴿、啄木鳥、貓頭鷹、老鷹、鷹等等。春末至秋季是換鳥者的最佳季節。

2 / 推薦的野生動物體驗活動


jigokudani-monkey

日本中部是一個擁有開放景觀的地區,包括多個大型國家公園,是該國欣賞本地野生動物的最佳地區之一。以下是我們對該地區最佳野生動物體驗的推薦。

地獄谷雪猴公園 / 全年無休


bathing-monkey-banner
tour-banner

地獄谷雪猴公園距離長野車站約50分鐘車程,是長野著名的愛好溫泉的猴子的家。這些猴子–確切地說,是日本獼猴–以其在冬季的滑稽表演而聞名,事實上,它們一年四季都會來到公園。該公園位於上信越高原國家公園的山腳下,這支猴子和其他許多猴子在該地區自由活動。進入公園的猴群確實是野生的,在猴子和遊客之間沒有障礙,參觀公園是一個獨特的機會,可以近距離接觸這些好奇的猴子。

jigokudani-monkey

我們全年都在運營,提供一系列的團體旅遊,將參觀公園與其他偉大的地區目的地結合起來,或者如果你願意,可以提供一個完全可定制的私人旅遊路線。點擊上面的橫幅或直接進入我們的 “旅遊 “頁面,開始計劃你的猴子之旅。

志賀高原 / 最佳:6月至11月


kamoshika-wildlife

攀登到雪猴公園上方的山脈,遊客可以進入志賀高原。志賀高原佔地約30,000公頃/300平方公里,是一個由多座山峰、混合森林、池塘、湖泊和偉大的步行道組成的高山地區。該地區於1980年被宣佈為聯合國教科文組織生物圈保護區,以表彰該地區的重要性,該地區是一系列動物的家園,包括猴子、鹿、熊和鳥類,包括金雕。

上信越高原國家公園 / 最佳:6月至11月


shika-spotted-deer-wildlife

志賀高原屬於範圍更廣的上信越高原國家公園。上信越高原橫跨長野縣、新潟縣和群馬縣,是日本第四大國家公園,面積為148194公頃/1481.94平方公里。該公園的特點與志賀高原相似,許多山峰和日本最活躍的兩座火山–淺間山和草津白根山–都在其邊界內。不出所料,國家公園內存在多種多樣的野生動物,遊客可以看到上面列出的所有動物。

上高地 / 4月至11月


monkeys-wild

上高地山谷位於松本市以西約50公里處,位於中部山岳國家公園內,在日本第三高山穗高山的山頂下,是一個令人驚嘆的高山山谷。山谷全長18公里,位於海拔1400至1600米之間,沿著梓川穿過水路、混合森林和灌木叢的混合景觀,然後在樹線以上升起山脈。上高地的遊客可以欣賞到多種多樣的野生動物,包括猴子、日本髭羚、黑熊和大量的鳥類,包括永遠充滿好奇的岩雷鳥。

3 / 推薦的觀鳥體驗


kiji-green-pheasant-wildlife

對於鳥類愛好者來說,日本中部有一些很好的觀鳥地點,包括:

輕井澤野生鳥類保護區 / 全年無休


karuizawa-bird-wildlife

位於度假勝地輕井澤–國家公園的南部門戶–的輕井澤野生鳥類保護區是日本四個此類地點之一。該保護區佔地約100公頃,是至少八十種鳥類和四十種哺乳動物的家園。這些物種太多,種類繁多,無法在此一一列舉,但包括本地雉雞、啄木鳥、鶺鴒、貓頭鷹和很多很多。

戸隠 / 最佳:6月至11月


takayama-nature-bird-wildlife

以其重要的神道教神社、”蕎麥麵”(soba)和秋色而聞名,戶隠是一個一年四季都很好的目的地,安靜地坐落在長野市的邊界內。在日本的觀鳥者中,該地區是著名的欣賞和拍攝鳥類的最佳地區之一,包括120多種已知棲息在山林中的鳥類。通往戶隠森林植物園的小路被認為是欣賞各種鳥類和其他動物(包括鹿)的最佳地點。

該地區經常有黑熊出沒,尤其是在大多數人離開該地區的黃昏時分。這沒什麼好驚慌的,不應該阻止你去,但值得注意的是。你不會錯過那裡的警告標誌。對於鳥類愛好者來說,最好的訪問時間是6月至11月……在冬季來臨之前。

立山-黑部高山路線 / 4月至11月


raicho-bird-wildlife

從4月中旬到11月中旬開放,立山-黑部阿爾卑斯山脈路線是日本最具代表性的目的地之一。被稱為 “日本屋脊 “的壯觀的高山景觀由於受到大量降雪的影響,在冬季是無法進入的。隨著春天的到來,積雪開始消退,在冰面上開出一條道路,形成了傳說中的立山黑部雪牆。聳立在道路上方20米處,這是長野和日本最具代表性的景觀。隨著天氣的不斷變暖和夏季的到來,雪會慢慢融化,露出美麗的高山景觀。從室堂站出發的小路為遊客提供了出色的徒步旅行機會,包括登上日本三大神山之一的塔特山的山頂。到了秋天,隨著樹葉的變化,景觀變成了琥珀色、紅色、黃色和棕色的馬賽克。

tateyama-mountain-worship-tour

這是 “岩雷鳥 “或 “雷鳴鳥 “的領地,它們是神的使者,對登高望遠的人類充滿了好奇。你似乎不怕我們,可以非常接近雷鳥,當它們在地面上點綴時,很樂意在壯觀的高山背景下擺出照片。這是日本中部最具代表性和最有價值的體驗之一。

4 / 推薦騎馬體驗


kiso-ontake

雖然很多人可能不會把這個國家與騎馬聯繫起來,但日本有強大的騎馬傳統。事實上,賽馬在日本是一項非常受歡迎的運動,日本的馬匹在世界各地的主要比賽中競爭並獲勝。

我們很抱歉,目前我們沒有提供任何騎馬活動,但我們希望不久後能更新這一信息。

5 / 推薦釣魚體驗


grand-phenix-activity

在長野縣和日本中部的高山河流中進行飛釣,是許多日本人喜愛的消遣方式,也是想要欣賞該地區美麗風景的國際遊客的任何愉快活動。

我們很抱歉,目前我們沒有提供任何釣魚活動,但我們希望不久後能更新這一信息。

6 / 與我們一起預訂! 長野的第一大旅遊和包車運營商


snow-monkey-resorts-vehicles-bus
tour-banner

我們的總部設在長野,全年運營,是長野的第一大旅遊和包車運營商。我們對去哪裡、什麼時候去以及去了之後做什麼都有當地的了解,以確保你在日本中部的探險活動中得到最大的收穫作為一家註冊旅行社,我們可以安排野生動物體驗和旅遊、交通、住宿和旅遊配套。因此,無論你在尋找什麼,我們都能滿足你的要求,包括讓你去該地區最好的戶外目的地和活動。

394-Hi-Ace-Charter-Bus

對於想要在自己的交通工具中舒適地進入這些目的地的客人,我們可以安排私人旅遊或包車,以滿足您的需求,在該地區的任何目的地開始和結束。我們的司機和車輛都經過全面認證,允許我們結合任何適合您的日程安排的活動,運送您到您喜歡的目的地。所有車輛都裝有保護屏–將司機與乘客和行李區隔開–我們的司機戴著保護面罩,讓你在目的地之間舒適而安全地旅遊。

jigokudani-monkey

我們既可以安排有英語導遊的私人旅遊,也可以安排私人包車,包括私人車輛和司機,但沒有導遊。我們很樂意成為您在日本中部探險的一部分,並幫助您發現更多的東西!

為什麼選擇我們?

我們的雪猴公園、善光寺和清酒一日遊獲得了2019年TripAdvisor旅行者選擇獎–被公認為日本十大體驗之一–我們擁有當地的知識和經驗,幫助你在長野和日本中部獲得最大的收穫。

有關於探訪長野和日本中部的問題嗎?請與我們聯繫:snowmonkeyresorts@machinovate.com,讓我們一起制定計劃!

NAGANO JAPAN
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
CONTACT
Japan Adventure Travel
Japan Adventure Travel: Wildlife, Bird-Watching, Horse-Riding & Fishing

Japan Adventure Travel: Wildlife, Bird-Watching, Horse-Riding & Fishing

snow-monkey-baby-jigokudani

Stretching over 3000km from north to south and including more than 6,000 islands, the archipelago of Japan is home to a diverse range of wildlife. Occupying the varied landscapes and climates found across the country – from the tropical south, to the high alpine environments of Central Japan and the deep cold and snow of the north – the animals you will encounter while here depend on which area you are headed to.

bird-wildlife

Based in Nagano, Central Japan is our home and as such, we’d like to introduce you to some of the wildlife you’ll find here including our recommendations of the best wildlife and bird-watching experiences. On this page you will find the following information:

1 / Wildlife of Central Japan

2 / Recommended Wildlife Experiences

3 / Recommended Bird-Watching Experiences

4 / Recommended Horse-Riding Experiences

5 / Recommended Fishing Experiences

6 / Book With Us! Nagano’s No.1 Tour & Charter Operator

For more travel adventures experiences and destinations, see our main ‘Japan Travel Adventure’ page. We hope this information is helpful in planning your next adventure in Japan.

1 / WILDLIFE OF CENTRAL JAPAN


bathing-monkey-banner-2
tour-banner

Central Japan is home to a diverse range of animals and birds making it a great destination for photographers or anyone just wanting to enjoy the natural side of this fascinating country. Here are some of the many animals waiting to be discovered, obviously starting with our favourites:

Japanese Macaque

jigokudani-monkey-winter

Properly referred to as ‘nihonzaru’ (Japanese monkey) but more often simply referred to as ‘snow monkeys’, Japanese macaques are found throughout the country, from the sub-tropics of the south to the cold and snow of the north. Highly intelligent, adaptable and social, macaques live in troops of around 150 members following an alpha-male. They are territorial and typically move within a radius of several kilometres on a daily basis and can be found in many areas in Central Japan including Joshinetsu Kogen National Park, Shiga Kogen Highlands and around Hakuba. Famous for their hot spring-loving antics, that behaviour is unique to the troop that comes and goes to the Jigokudani Monkey Park – a sight you will only see there. The unofficial ambassadors of the region, the snow monkeys come to the park at all times of year.


Asiatic Black Bear

black-bear-wildlife

Mostly found in the forests and mountains of national parks, the Asiatic black bear is typically herbivorous and shy, meaning that it is usually little threat to humans. Once mature they reach around 120 to 140cm in length, with males weighing between 60 to 120kg and females weighing between 40 to 100kg. Smaller than many species of bear, they are most active from spring to autumn and hibernate through winter. National media somewhat vilifies bears following some incidents across the country, typically the result of a bear being taken by surprise and the continued encroach of humans on their habitat. While such incidents are not be ignored, the reality is that the bears are shy and while there are plenty in national parks including Joshinetsu Kogen and Myoko-Togakushi Renzan, they are rare to see.


Japanese Serow

kamoshika-wildlife

Known as ‘kamoshika’ in Japanese, is a type of goat-antelope found throughout the park. Mature kamoshika stand around 80 centimetres tall and weight 30 to 45kg and have thick black-grey coats that lighten in colour during summer. They have short horns and tails and are typically seen alone or with a partner and infant. Kamoshika are slow moving and blend into the landscape well, meaning that many visitors pass-by them without noticing. So keep your eyes open as sooner or later you’ll encounter one and seem as curious about us as we are about them.


Spotted Deer

shika-spotted-deer-wildlife

Known simply as ‘shika’, spotted deer are found-out in various countries through Asia. These medium-sized deer are somewhat unique in that they often keep their spots through adulthood, with mature shika standing between 50 to 110cm tall at the shoulders and 95 to 180 tall in full head-to-tail length. Mature stags have antlers while mature females have distinctive black bumps on their foreheads. Wild shika are typically timid but typically active through the day, so are not uncommon to see.


Tanuki

tanuki-wildlife

Also referred to as a ‘raccoon dog’, tanukis can be found throughout Central Japan. A highly adaptive animal, they are mostly nocturnal however it isn’t unusual to spot them during them day. They are in fact more closely-related to foxes and wolves than to raccoons. They are highly social but are typically seen together as mating pairs and are somewhat unique for a type of canine in that they hibernate through winter. The tanuki plays an important role in Japanese folklore with many stories considering them as a type of ‘yokai’ or supernatural beings, spurring their popularity as ‘sake’-carrying statues often seen at the front of homes and businesses in Japan.


Japanese Badger

badger-anaguma-wildlife

Known locally as ‘anaguma’, Japanese badgers can be found in forested areas throughout Central Japan and are sometimes mistaken for tanuki. Also referenced in Japanese folklore, anaguma were said to be able to shape-shift and take on human form. While there’s no evidence of this you never can be too careful so keep an eye-out for anyone suspicious. When in badger form they smaller than their European cousins, with males measuring up to 79cm and females around 72cm. Much like tanuki, anaguma are most active at night and hibernate through the winter occupying wooded habitats including near human populations and through the forests of the region’s national parks.


Japanese Squirrel

squirrel-wildlife

A common sight through the forests and wooded areas of Central Japan, Japanese squirrels are most active in the morning and mostly sleep through the day before reemerging again in the evening. They are well-adapted to life off the ground, able to jump between trees and building multiple nests high off the ground which they move between from day to day. Their coats change colour with the season being red-orange through summer and gradually turning grey to light-brown through the colder months of the year.


Japanese Red Fox

fox-wildlife

Another animal that plays an important role in folklore, the Japanese red fox or ‘kitsune’ is another shape-changer and a trickster spirit. While getting about in the shape of a fox you might encounter them anywhere. Highly-intelligent, foxes are far-ranging animals that eat anything from insects and earthworms to fruit, berries or even small rodents. Foxes occupy a wide range of habitats from living discretely in urban areas, to farmland and wilder regions including national parks.


Stoat

stoat-okojo-wildlife

Known as ‘okojo’, Japanese stoats are a species of weasel occupying sub-alpine regions i.e. habitats over 1,500 metres above sea level. Their coats remarkably seem to entirely change colour between seasons, from dark brown with a white underside during summer to almost completely white in winter.


Rock Ptarmigan

hakuba-raicho-bird-wildlife

Called ‘raicho’ in Japanese, rock ptarmigans are found in alpine areas in Central Japan including around the summit of Mount Tate and the Tateyama-Kurobe Alpine Route. Translating as ‘thunderbird’, raicho were traditionally regarded as messengers of the gods and as a result, were not hunted. To this day raicho are not afraid of humans and will wander up to you and seemingly pose for photos, seemingly as interested in us as we are in them. Their plumage changes through the seasons, coloured brown in spring and summer and white in winter. Occupying the cold upper areas of the mountains, raicho hibernate in winter before re-emerging as the snow melts in winter.


Green Pheasant

kiji-green-pheasant-wildlife

The national bird of Japan, the ‘kiji’ or green pheasant is commonly found in Central Japan through forested areas, farmlands, grasslands and in parks. Sporting dark green plumage on its breast, lower neck and sides, the wings and tail are a mix of brown and grey with red, black and blue plumage on the upper neck and head. The female pheasant is a more subdued mix of brown and grey. One of around thirty games species in game, the green pheasant can be hunted.


Golden Eagle

washi-eagle-wildlife

The beautiful golden eagles of Japan can be found from Hokkaido in the north to Kyushu in the south, spanning the entire expanse of Japan’s four main islands. The diverse ecologically of Joshinetsu Kogen National Park provides the eagles with an ideal environment with plenty of prey to hunt at all times of year.


Other Birdlife

bird-chubu-sangaku-wildlife

Japan has numerous species of endemic and migratory birds including wagtails, forest doves, woodpeckers, owls, eagles, hakws and more. Late-spring to autumn are the best seasons for the twitchers out there.

2 / RECOMMENDED WILDLIFE EXPERIENCES


jigokudani-monkey

A region of open landscapes including multiple large national parks, Central Japan is one of the best areas in the country for enjoying the native wildlife. Here are our recommendations of the best wildlife experiences in the region:

Jigokudani Monkey Park / all year round


bathing-monkey-banner
tour-banner

Located around 50-minutes from Nagano Station, the Jigokudani Monkey Park home to Nagano’s famous hot spring-loving monkeys. Most famous for their antics in winter, the monkeys – Japanese macaques to be exact – in fact come to the park all year round. The park is located in the foothills of Joshinetsu Kogen Natioanl Park, an area through which this troop and many others freely move. The troop that ventures into the park are indeed wild and with no barriers between the monkeys and visitors, a visit to the park is a unique opportunity to get-up close to these curious creatures.

jigokudani-monkey

Operating all year round, we offer a range for group tours combining a visit to the park with other great regional destinations or should you prefer, a private tour with a fully-customisable itinerary. Click on the banner above or head straight to our ‘Tours’ page to start planning your trip to the monkeys.

Shiga Kogen Highlands / best: June to November


kamoshika-wildlife

Ascending into the mountains above the monkey park, visitors have access to Shiga Kogen Highlands. Covering an area of around 30,000ha/ 300km², Shiga Kogen is an alpine area of multiple mountain peaks, mixed forests, ponds, lakes and great walking trail. The area was declared a UNESCO Biosphere Reserve in 1980 in recognition of the importance of the area , which is home to an array of animals including monkeys, deer, bears and birdlife including golden eagles.

Joshinetsu Kogen National Park / best: June to November


shika-spotted-deer-wildlife

Shiga Kogen Highlands falls within the more expansive Joshinetsu Kogen National Park. Stretching across Nagano, Niigata and Gunma Prefectures, Joshinetsu Kogen is Japan’s fourth largest national park at 148,194ha / 1481.94km² in size. The park is similar in character to Shiga Kogen with many peaks and two of Japan’s most active volcanoes – Mount Asama and Mount Kusatsu-Shrine – falling within its boundary. Unsurprisingly a diverse range of wildlife exists within the national park with visitors able to see everything animal listed above.

Kamikochi / April to November


monkeys-wild

Located approximately 50km to the west of Matsumoto City, the stunning alpine valley of Kamikochi sits within the Chubu Sangaku National Park and beneath the peak of Japan’s third tallest mountain, Mount Hotaka. Stretching 18km in length, the valley lies between 1400 to 1600 metres above sea level and follows the Azusa River through a mixed landscape of waterways, mixed forest and brushland before the mountains rise above the tree-line. Visitors to Kamikochi can enjoy a diverse range of wildlife including monkeys, kamoshika, black bears and plenty of birdlife including the ever-curious raicho.

3 / RECOMMENDED BIRD-WATCHING EXPERIENCES


kiji-green-pheasant-wildlife

For the twitchers out there, Central Japan has some excellent bird-watching spots including:

Karuizawa Wild Bird Sanctuary / all year round


karuizawa-bird-wildlife

Located in the resort town of Karuizawa – the southern gateway to the national park – the Karuizawa Wild Bird Sanctuary is one of four such locations in Japan. Covering around 100 hectares, the protected forest is home to at least eighty species of bird and forty species of mammals. The species are too many and diverse to list here but include native pheasants, woodpeckers, wagtails, owls and many, many more.

Togakushi / best: June to November


takayama-nature-bird-wildlife

Best-known for its important Shinto shrines, ‘soba’ (buckwheat noodles) and autumn colours, Togakushi is a fantastic all-year-round destination sitting quietly within the boundary of Nagano City. Among Japanese birdwatchers, the area is well-known as one of the best areas in the region to enjoy and photograph birdlife including more than 120 species known to inhabit the mountain forests. The trails leading through the Togakushi Forest Botanical Garden are regarded as the best spot to enjoy the varied birdlife along with other animals including deer.

The area is frequented by black bears, particularly around dusk when most people have left the area. It’s nothing to be alarmed about and shouldn’t stop you from going but it is worth noting. You won’t miss the signs there warning you. For twitchers, the best time to visit is from June to November… before winter takes hold.

Tateyama-Kurobe Alpine Route / April to November


raicho-bird-wildlife

Open from mid-April until mid-November, the Tateyama-Kurobe Alpine Route is one of Japan’s most iconic destinations. Known as the ‘Roof of Japan’, the dramatic alpine landscape is inaccessible through winter due to the massive snowfall it is subject to. As spring takes hold and the snow begins to recede, a road is carved through the ice creating the fabled Snow Walls of Tateyama-Kurobe. Towering 20 meters above the road, this is tone of Nagano and Japan’s most iconic sights. As the weather continues to warm and summer arrives, the snow will slowly melt revealing a beautiful alpine landscape. Trails lead away from Murodo Station and offer visitors outstanding hiking opportunities including to the summit of Mt Tate – one of Japan’s three sacred mountains. In autumn, the landscape transforms into a mosaic of amber, red, yellow and brown with the changing leaves.

tateyama-mountain-worship-tour

This is the domain of the ‘raicho’ or ‘thunderbirds’, messengers of the gods and strangely curious about the humans ascending high into the mountain realm. Seemingly unfraid of us, you can get very close to the raicho and as they dotter about on the ground, happy to pose for photos set against a spectacular alpine backdrop. This is one of Central Japan’s most iconic and rewarding experiences.

4 / RECOMMENDED HORSE-RIDING EXPERIENCES


kiso-ontake

While many people might not associate the country with horse-riding, Japan has a strong tradition of horse-riding. Indeed horse racing is a hugely popular sport in Japan with Japanese horses competing in and winning major races all around the world.

We apologise that at this time we do not have any horse-riding activities to offer however we hope to update this information shortly.

5 / RECOMMENDED FISHING EXPERIENCES


grand-phenix-activity

Fly-fishing in the alpine rivers of Nagano and Central Japan is a popular past-time for many Japanese and any enjoyable activity for international visitors wanting to enjoy the beautiful landscapes of the region.

We apologise that at this time we do not have any fishing activities to offer however we hope to update this information shortly.

6 / BOOK WITH US! NAGANO’S NO.1 TOUR & CHARTER OPERATOR


snow-monkey-resorts-vehicles-bus
tour-banner

Based in Nagano and operating all year round, we are Nagano’s No.1 tour and charter operator. We have the local knowledge of where to go, when to go and what to do when you’re there to make sure you get the most out of your adventure in Central Japan! As a registered travel agent we can arrange wildlife experiences and tours, transport, accommodation and inclusive packages. So no matter what you’re looking for, we’ve got you covered including getting you to the best outdoor destinations and events in the region.

394-Hi-Ace-Charter-Bus


For guests wanting to access these destinations in the comfort of their own transport, we can arrange a private tour or charter customised to fit your needs, starting and ending at any destination in the region. Our drivers and vehicles are fully certified, allowing us to transport you to and from your preferred destinations in combination with any activity that suits your schedule. All vehicles are fitted with a protective screen – separating the driver from passenger and luggage area – and our drivers wear protective masks, allowing you to move between your destinations in comfort and safety.

jigokudani-monkey

We can arrange both private tours with an English-speaking guide or a private charter, including a private vehicle and driver but without a guide. We’d love to be part of your adventure in Central Japan and help you discover even more!

Why choose us?

Awarded a 2019 TripAdvisor Travelers’ Choice Award for our 1-Day Snow Monkeys, Zenko-ji Temple & Sake Tour – recognised as one of the Top 10 Experiences in Japan – we have the local knowledge and experience to help you get the most out of your time in Nagano and Central Japan.

Got a question about visiting Nagano and Central Japan? Contact us at snowmonkeyresorts@machinovate.com and let’s get planning together!