日本长野
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
联系
日本探险旅行
日本25个最佳户外和探险体验

日本25个最佳户外和探险体验

lion-adventure

“探险旅行”是一个广泛的旅行类别,对不同的人意味着不同的事情。毕竟,一个人的探险就是另一个人的无聊,显然,这份清单上的所有东西都不会吸引所有的人。但希望它能激起你的兴趣,让你想到在日本一年四季都在等待你的所有乐趣。

snowboard-ski-winter
nagano-ski-snowboard-banner

我们的总部设在长野,全年运营,是一家注册旅行社、旅游和包车运营商。我们在这里帮助你计划、包括和预订你的下一次日本之旅,包括在日本中部的旅游探险。因此,让我们不要乱来! 让我们带着25个推荐的日本探险旅游活动跳入其中。

1 / 热气球、悬挂式滑翔机和滑翔伞运动


lion-adventure

让我们从乘坐飞机开始吧! 在日本,有很多热气球、悬挂式滑翔机和滑翔伞运营商可供选择。在白马的度假胜地享受热气球或滑翔伞,是一种从高空欣赏日本风景的好方法,可以让你在认证教练的带领下,从空中看山。有关日本中部的最佳目的地和体验的推荐,请参见我们的 “热气球、悬挂式滑翔和滑翔伞 “页面。

2 / 观鸟


takayama-nature-bird-wildlife

日本是众多鸟类的家园,包括北海道的丹顶鹤。作为一个拥有不同景观和不同季节的国家,日本拥有丰富的鸟类物种,包括地方性和迁徙性鸟类。当然,你需要走出城市才能看到最好的鸟类,北海道的开阔地和日本中部的山区和森林是观鸟的最佳目的地。关于日本中部地区的最佳目的地和体验的推荐,请参见我们的 “野生动物、观鸟、骑马和钓鱼 “页面。

3 / 露营和豪华帐篷


camping

日本拥有宜人的气候和茂盛的景观,对于露营爱好者或任何想远离一切的人来说,都是一个美妙的目的地。如果你愿意,你可以去偏远地区,或者利用该国许多设施齐全的露营地之一。春季和秋季是一年中特别美丽的户外活动时间,所以是时候开始计划了。有关日本中部地区最佳露营目的地和体验的推荐,请参见我们的 “露营和豪华帐篷 “页面。

4 / 峡谷旅行


grand-phenix-activity

溪降运动也被称为 “cayoneering”,在日本是一项越来越受欢迎的活动。峡谷漂流结合了攀爬、游泳、徒步旅行,甚至沿水路在岩石群中跳伞,是一种巨大的乐趣,儿童和成人都可以享受,是一项伟大的家庭活动。关于日本中部地区最佳的水上目的地和体验的推荐,请参阅我们的 “独木舟、皮划艇、漂流、溪降和冲浪 “页面。

5 / 探洞


caving

洞穴探险通常被称为 “spelunking “或 “potholing”,顾名思义,是指探索洞穴的活动。虽然日本在洞穴探险方面没有很大的名气,但它有一些奇妙的洞穴,而且随着这项运动的普及,预计会有更多的洞穴被发现。关于日本中部的最佳目的地和体验的推荐,请参见我们的 “徒步旅行、跋涉、登山、洞穴探险和攀登 “页面。

6 / 攀岩


climbing

攀岩在日本是一项成熟而流行的运动,据估计,日本有百分之七十的土地被认为是山地,因此,有大量的岩壁等待人们去征服,这并不奇怪。由于日本最高的山峰大多位于日本中部的阿尔卑斯山,因此该地区拥有该国许多最好的岩壁也就不足为奇。关于日本中部的最佳目的地和体验的推荐,请参见我们的 “徒步旅行、跋涉、登山、洞穴探险和攀岩 “页面。

7 / 骑自行车


matsukawa-valley-autumn-leaves-koyo

当谈到自行车运动时,日本没有欧洲和北美的传统,然而事情正在发生变化。作为一项休闲运动,各种形式的自行车运动在日本正迅速变得更加流行。日本拥有良好的公路系统和一些真正壮观的海岸和山地自行车路线–这是探索这个漫长而迷人的国家的好方法。关于日本中部的最佳目的地和体验的推荐,请参见我们的 “跑步、越野跑、自行车和山地自行车(MTB)”页面。

8 / 钓鱼


grand-phenix-activity

在你到日本旅行之前,你几乎可以肯定你喜欢吃鱼,因此,钓鱼是这里非常受欢迎的消遣方式,这并不奇怪。从长野和日本中部的高山河流中的飞钓,到冲绳和北海道的深海钓鱼,这里有很多让钓鱼者兴奋的地方。关于日本中部的最佳目的地和体验的推荐,请参见我们的 “野生动物、观鸟、骑马和钓鱼 “页面。

9 / 徒步旅行


alps-chubu-sangaku-hiking

说到日本的徒步旅行,富士山是许多日本和国际游客的必去之地。富士山高3,776米,从东京出发很容易到达,就像一座灯塔,召唤你走出城市,进入山区,享受一些亚洲最好的徒步旅行。构成日本阿尔卑斯山的三条山脉–在日本中部占主导地位–拥有该国其他最高的山峰和远足路线,即使不超过富士山,也能与之媲美,而北部的北海道和南部的岛屿,包括屋久岛,则提供一些出色的徒步旅行。徒步旅行路线的长度和特点各不相同,从在高架桥上的休闲散步到需要专业知识和专业装备的多日徒步旅行,应有尽有。该国大部分地区的徒步旅行季节从6月下旬持续到11月,夏季是逃离山谷和沿海城市的炎热和潮湿,前往高山的热门时间,随后是秋季的迷人色彩。关于日本中部的最佳目的地和体验的推荐,请参见我们的 “徒步旅行、跋涉、登山、洞穴探险和攀岩 “页面。

10 / 骑马


kiso-ontake

虽然日本和骑马的联系可能不会立即出现在人们的脑海中,但骑马在这里是一项受欢迎的运动,在包括日本中部和北海道在内的地区都可以享受到这项运动。赛马是一项受欢迎的运动,许多日本马匹参加了世界各地的主要比赛并取得了胜利,而游客可以在包括日本中部木曾谷在内的不同地方享受骑马的乐趣。关于日本中部地区的最佳目的地和体验的推荐,请参见我们的 “野生动物、观鸟、骑马和钓鱼 “页面。

11 / 皮划艇和独木舟


lion-adventure

皮划艇是探索日本众多美丽河流和湖泊的一个好方法,而日本中部又是这样做的最佳地区之一。日本大部分的最高山脉都在这里,河流通常发源于山脉的高处,并涌向下面的世界。这样一来,日本中部就拥有了一些日本最好的白水和皮划艇。当然,这里也有很多东西可以探索,皮划艇和独木舟是家庭的流行消遣方式。关于日本中部最好的水上目的地和体验的推荐,请参阅我们的 “独木舟、皮划艇、漂流、溪降和冲浪 “页面。

12 / 山地自行车(MTB)


mountain-bking

山地自行车迅速得到普及,是在日本进行户外活动和探索山地和森林的好方法,长野和中长野的滑雪胜地为山地车爱好者提供了越来越好的条件。随着山地自行车在日本的真正兴起,预计在未来几年会有更多的发展。关于日本中部的最佳目的地和体验的推荐,请参阅我们的 “跑步、越野跑、自行车和山地自行车(MTB)”页面。

13 / 登山运动


niigata-winter

登山运动也被称为 “高山主义”,它结合了徒步旅行、登山、滑雪和在一年中的任何时候穿越高山景观,包括在冬天的雪地上。与几乎任何人都可以享受的徒步旅行不同,登山运动通常需要高度的技能和专业设备以及风险因素,只有在具备足够的专业知识并与其他有经验的登山者和/或导游合作时才能进行。毋庸置疑,作为日本大部分最高山脉的所在地,我们的家乡日本中部是日本最重要的登山目的地。关于日本中部的最佳目的地和体验的推荐,请参见我们的 “徒步、跋涉、登山、洞穴探险和攀登 “页面。

14 / 漂流


rafting-adventure

日本有很多可以享受漂流的河流,包括那些从日本中部山区涌出的河流,包括著名的天龙河–见天龙河传统漂流–在长野南部。这也是一项成人和儿童都能享受的活动,是一项适合家庭的活动,也是在盛夏时节降温和享受乐趣的绝佳方式。关于日本中部地区最好的水上目的地和体验的推荐,请参阅我们的 “独木舟、皮划艇、漂流、溪降和冲浪 “页面。

15 / 跑步


running-tokyo-marathon

日本是一个喜欢跑步的伟大国家。它的气候宜人,道路状况良好,司机考虑周到,风景优美,这意味着任何游客都可以在这里享受跑步。这里有大量的马拉松、半程马拉松、超级马拉松和较短的比赛可供选择,其中以每年3月举行的东京马拉松最为著名,而大阪、横滨、那霸和神奈川的湘南国际马拉松则在参赛人数方面位列前五。近年来,超级马拉松和越野跑–见下文–越来越受欢迎,两者都被视为体验日本美丽风景的一种具有挑战性但又有巨大价值的方式。关于日本中部地区的最佳目的地和体验的推荐,请参见我们的 “跑步、越野跑、自行车和山地自行车(MTB)”页面。

16 / 滑雪和单板滑雪


ski-snowboard-general
japan-ski-resorts-banner

日本拥有500多个滑雪场和真正的世界级雪况,可以说是亚洲最重要的冬季运动目的地。度假村分布在日本中部和北部的东半部地区。我们的家乡长野拥有最多的滑雪场–超过80个独立的滑雪场–而邻近的新泻、岐阜、群马和更遥远的东北各县也有自己的滑雪场。当然,长野县冬季的最大竞争对手是北部的北海道,它拥有一些真正出色的雪和伟大的度假村。最后,无论你选择长野或北海道的度假村–或者是其他地方!你一定会喜欢上这里。- 你肯定会喜欢上它。这里的雪真的很好,度假村组织良好,价格合理,人们也很友好。对于中级和高级滑雪者和滑雪板爱好者来说,进入滑雪道外和潜入深层的东西会让你着迷,并一次又一次地回来。关于日本中部的最佳目的地和体验的推荐,请参见我们的 “滑雪、单板滑雪、雪地摩托和冬季娱乐 “页面。

17 / 雪地自行车


nozawa-onsen-ski-resort

顾名思义,雪地自行车是安装了胖轮胎的自行车,可以在雪地上骑行。任何会骑自行车的人都可以跳上去并立即享受雪地,这比滑雪或单板滑雪更容易学习,对于那些已经知道的人来说,这也是探索度假区的一个上午或下午的有趣选择。 关于日本中部的最佳目的地和体验的推荐,请参见我们的 “滑雪、单板滑雪、雪地摩托和冬季娱乐 “页面。

18 / 雪地摩托


shiga-kogen-snowmobile-revised
tour-banner

想在冬天走得更快一点吗?在长野的滑雪胜地驾驶雪地摩托是享受美丽的白雪覆盖景观的一种刺激方式。美景和速度的罕见和以往的结合! 在包括志贺高原和白马的一些度假胜地都有,雪地摩托是快速、有趣和令人难忘的。有关日本中部地区最佳目的地和体验的推荐,请参阅我们的 “滑雪、单板滑雪、雪地摩托和冬季娱乐 “页面。

19 / 雪地车和雪地驾驶


tour-banner

虽然你可能没有听说过它们,但 “雪地车 “和 “雪地驾驶 “是容易学习的设备,允许任何年龄的游客享受雪地。雪地车包括站在一个带手柄的分体式滑雪板上,而雪地驾驶则是由一个单一的短滑雪板上的座位组成的奇特装置。这两个领域都很容易使用,在一两次尝试之后,你就会在斜坡上滑行,通常会得到那些从你身边经过的人的热烈响应,他们可能以前从来没有玩过。比起滑雪或单板滑雪,雪地车和雪地驾驶更容易学习,对于新手、儿童和家庭,或者任何想在斜坡上获得一些乐趣的人来说,雪地车和雪地驾驶是非常有趣的。有关日本中部的最佳目的地和体验的推荐,请参见我们的 “滑雪、单板滑雪、雪地摩托和冬季娱乐 “页面。

20 / 雪鞋行走


myoko-ski-snow

雪鞋行走是享受日本中部和北部冬季景观的另一种方式,虽然速度明显比雪地摩托慢!但也是一种很好的方式。租用装备的费用不高,而且一旦站起来,在雪地上行走就很容易,不言而喻了。雪地行走是欣赏风景的好方法,也有可能发现一些野生动物,雪地行走很适合任何想在冬季进行滑雪和滑雪板以外的活动的人、自然爱好者和摄影家。关于日本中部地区的最佳目的地和体验的推荐,请参见我们的 “滑雪、单板滑雪、雪地摩托和冬季娱乐 “页面。

21 / 站立式划桨冲浪(SUP)


grand-phenix-activity

在日本,SUP已经迅速确立了自己作为一种流行的消遣方式。简单易学,SUP允许你以悠闲的步伐享受水,同时让你的身体得到全面锻炼。通过站在冲浪板上,你可以看到周围的风景和下面的水–这是享受日本美丽湖泊的一个好方法。关于日本中部地区最好的水上目的地和体验的推荐,请参阅我们的 “独木舟、皮划艇、漂流、溪降和冲浪 “页面。

22 / 天龙川漂流


tenryu-river-rafting

您在寻找一种沉浸在传统中的冒险体验吗?那么你需要前往长野县南部的天龙河地,体验乘坐木制长船或竹筏的传统漂流。在当地经验丰富的船夫的指导下,你将在船上或竹筏上坐好,沿着天龙河美丽的水道往下走,从宁静平和的地段走到白水的刺激。关于日本中部地区最好的水上目的地和体验的推荐,请参阅我们的 “独木舟、皮划艇、漂流、溪降和冲浪 “页面。

23 / 越野跑


Good runners

另一项在日本迅速普及的运动,越野跑活动现在在全国各地举行。比赛的长度和地点各不相同,从几公里的休闲儿童和家庭比赛到超过50公里或100公里的比赛,都需要精英的体能和耐力。参加越野跑的人很快就会被这项需要真正体能的运动和在美丽风景中的非密封轨道上跑步的挑战所吸引。日本中部通常在国家公园举行,是越野跑活动的中心,每年都有许多活动举行。有关日本中部的最佳目的地和体验的推荐,请参见我们的 “跑步、越野跑、自行车和山地自行车(MTB)”页面。

24 / 幸福、灵性和传统


kiso-ontake-kodo

灵性和心智可能看起来与冒险旅行的清单格格不入,但在日本并非如此。日本的本土宗教神道教有着悠久的自然崇拜传统,而修行道佛教的同步宗教则是关于进入山区,挑战自己的精神和身体的。列入世界遗产名录的纪伊半岛上的熊野古道朝圣之路只是户外活动与精神追求交叉的一个例子,日本中部的御岳古道和户隠古道也是这种悠久而诱人的传统的其他例子。有关日本中部的最佳目的地和体验的推荐,请参阅我们的 “健康、灵性和传统 “页面。

25 / 野生动物


jigokudani-monkey
tour-banner

任何有关日本野生动物的谈话都必须从我们最喜欢的家伙开始,那就是著名的地狱谷雪猴!虽然猴子是野生的,但它们每天都会来到公园,度过难得的四季。让游客有机会近距离接触这些好奇的猴子。

tanuki-wildlife

日本是一系列野生动物的家园,包括黑熊、斑马鹿、日本髭羚、野猪和可爱而好奇的貉日本亚种。你可能会问,什么是貉日本亚种?貉日本亚种通常被称为浣熊犬,它是现实生活中的动物,是你在日本各地的许多家庭和企业的入口处看到的无处不在的状态的灵感来源。

tanuki-statue

当然,作为一个岛国,在日本周围的海洋中可以看到更多的东西,包括无数种鱼、海豚、鲸鱼、鲨鱼、章鱼、海龟和很多很多的东西。当然,观察野生动物的最佳地点是日本的国家公园,其中有30多个国家公园遍布全国。关于日本中部地区的最佳目的地和体验的推荐,请参见我们的 “野生动物、观鸟、骑马和钓鱼 “页面。

与我们预订! 长野县排名第一的旅游和包车运营商


snow-fun-tour-guests-shiga-kogen
tour-banner

我们的总部设在长野,全年运营,是长野的第一大旅游和包车运营商。我们对去哪里、什么时候去以及去了之后做什么都有丰富的当地知识,以确保你在日本中部的探险活动中获得最大的收获 作为一家注册旅行社,我们可以安排探险体验和旅游、交通、住宿和配套。因此,无论你在寻找什么,我们都能满足你的要求,包括把你带到该地区最好的户外目的地和活动。

snow-monkey-resorts-vehicles-bus

对于希望在自己的交通工具中舒适地前往这些目的地的客人,我们可以安排私人旅游或包车,以满足您的需求,在该地区的任何目的地开始和结束。我们的司机和车辆都经过全面认证,允许我们结合任何适合您的日程安排的活动,运送您到您喜欢的目的地。所有车辆都装有保护屏–将司机与乘客和行李区隔开–我们的司机戴着保护面罩,让您在目的地之间舒适、安全地旅游。

394-Hi-Ace-Charter-Bus

我们既可以安排有英语导游的私人旅游,也可以安排私人包车,包括私人车辆和司机,但没有导游。我们很乐意成为您在日本中部探险的一部分,并帮助您发现更多的东西!

为什么选择我们?

我们的雪猴公园、善光寺和清酒一日游获得了2019年TripAdvisor旅行者选择奖–被公认为日本十大体验之一–我们拥有当地的知识和经验,帮助你在长野和日本中部获得最大的收获。

有关于探访长野和日本中部的问题吗?请与我们联系:snowmonkeyresorts@machinovate.com,让我们一起制定计划!

日本探险旅行

NAGANO JAPAN
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
CONTACT
Japan Adventure Travel
25 Best Outoor & Adventure Experiences in Japan

25 Best Outoor & Adventure Experiences in Japan

lion-adventure

‘Adventure travel’ is a broad category of travel that means different things to different people. After all, one person’s adventures is another person’s boredom and clearly not everything on this list will appeal to all people. But hopefully it’ll pique your interest and get you thinking of all the fun that’s waiting for you all year round in Japan.

snowboard-ski-winter
nagano-ski-snowboard-banner

Based in Nagano and operating all year round, we are a registered travel agent, tour and charter operator. We’re here to help you plan, package and book your next trip to Japan including travel adventure in Central Japan. So let’s not mess around! Let’s jump into it with 25 recommended adventure travel activities in Japan:

1 / BALLOONING, HANG-GLIDING & PARAGLIDING


lion-adventure

Let’s start by taking to the air! There are plenty of hot-air balloon, hang-gliding and paragliding operators to choose from through-out Japan. A great way to enjoy the landscapes of Japan from above, enjoying ballooning or paragliding in the resorts of Hakuba allows you to see the mountains from the air in a tandem flight with a certified instructor. For recommendations of the best destinations and experiences in Central Japan, see our ‘Hot Air Ballooning, Hang-Gliding & Paragliding’ page.

2 / BIRD-WATCHING


takayama-nature-bird-wildlife

Japan is home to numerous species of birds including Hokkaido’s red-crowned cranes. As a country of diverse landscapes and contrasting seasons, Japan is blessed bird species including both endemic and migratory birds. Naturally, you’ll need to get outside of the cities to see the best of them with open landscapes of Hokkaido and mountains and forests of Central Japan being the great destinations for bird-watching. For recommendations of the best destinations and experiences in Central Japan, see our ‘Wildlife, Bird-Watching, Horse-Riding & Fishing’ page.

3 / CAMPING & GLAMPING


camping

Blessed with an agreeable climate and lush landscape, Japan is a fantastic destination for camping enthusiasts or anyone just looking to get away from it all. You can go remote if you want or take advantage of one of the country’s many well-appointed campgrounds. Spring and autumn are particularly beautiful times of year to get outdoors so time to start planning. For recommendations of the best camping destinations and experiences in Central Japan, see our ‘Camping & Glamping’ page.

4 / CANYONING


grand-phenix-activity

Also called ‘cayoneering’, cayoning is an increasingly popular activity in Japan. A combination of climbing, swimming, hiking and even abseiling along waterways through rock formations, cayoning is tremendous fun and can be enjoyed by both children and adults making it a great family activity. For recommendations of the best water destinations and experiences in Central Japan, see our ‘Canoeing, Kayaking, Rafting, Canyoning & SUP’ page.

5 / CAVING


caving

Commonly referred to as ‘spelunking’ or ‘potholing’, caving is – as the name suggests – the activity of exploring caves. While Japan doesn’t have a big reputation for caving, it is home to some marvellous caves and with the sport gaining popularity, expect more to be discovered. For recommendations of the best destinations and experiences in Central Japan, see our ‘Hiking, Trekking, Mountaineering, Caving & Climbing’ page.

6 / CLIMBING


climbing

Climbing is an established and popular sport in Japan and with an estimated seventy percent of the land mass considered mountainous, it’s no surprise that there are plenty of rock faces waiting to be conquered. With most of Japan’s highest mountains found in the Japan Alps of Central Japan, it’s no surprise that the region is home to many of the best rock faces in the country. For recommendations of the best destinations and experiences in Central Japan, see our ‘Hiking, Trekking, Mountaineering, Caving & Climbing’ page.

7 / CYCLING


matsukawa-valley-autumn-leaves-koyo

Japan doesn’t have the tradition of Europe and North America when it comes to cycling as a sport however things are changing. Cycling in all forms is quickly becoming more popular as a recreational sport in Japan. The country boasts an excellent road system and some truly spectacular coastal and mountain cycling routes – a great way to exploring this very long and fascinating country. For recommendations of the best destinations and experiences in Central Japan, see our ‘Running, Trail-Running, Cycling & Mountain-Biking (MTB)’ page.

8 / FISHING


grand-phenix-activity

Before you’ve even travelled to Japan you’re almost certain to love for eating fish therefore it’s no big surprise that fishing is a hugely popular pastime here. From fly-fishing in the alpine rivers of Nagano and Central Japan to the deep-sea fishing of Okinawa and Hokkaido, there is plenty for anglers to get excited about. For recommendations of the best destinations and experiences in Central Japan, see our ‘Wildlife, Bird-Watching, Horse-Riding & Fishing’ page.

9 / HIKING


alps-chubu-sangaku-hiking

When it comes to hiking in Japan, Mount Fuji is something of a must-do for many Japanese and international visitors. Standing 3,776 metres tall, Fuji is readily accessible from Tokyo and acts as a beacon calling you out of the cities and into the mountains to enjoy some of Asia’s best hiking. The three ranges making-up the Japan Alps – and dominating Central Japan – boast the rest of the country’s tallest peaks and hiking routes that rival if not surpass Fuji, while the Hokkaido in the north and the southern islands including Yakushima offer some outstanding trekking and walking. Hiking trails vary in length and character with everything to leisurely walks on raised walkways to multi-day treks that demand expertise and specialist gear. Hiking season in most areas of the country runs from late-June through to November, with summer being a popular time to escape the heat and humidity of the valleys and coastal cities and head high into the mountains, followed by the stunning colours of autumn. For recommendations of the best destinations and experiences in Central Japan, see our ‘Hiking, Trekking, Mountaineering, Caving & Climbing’ page.

10 / HORSE-RIDING


kiso-ontake

While the association of Japan and horse-riding might not immediately spring to mind, it is a popular sport here and one that can be enjoyed in areas including Central Japan and Hokkaido. Horse racing is a popular sport with many Japanese horses competing and winning major races around the world while visitors can enjoy horse-riding in various locations including Kiso Valley in Central Japan. For recommendations of the best destinations and experiences in Central Japan, see our ‘Wildlife, Bird-Watching, Horse-Riding & Fishing’ page.

11 / KAYAKING & CANOEING


lion-adventure

Kayaking is a great way to explore Japan’s many beautiful rivers and lakes with Central Japan again being one of the best regions to do so. Home to the majority of Japan’s highest mountains, rivers often originate in the higher reaches of the ranges and come gushing down to the world below. In doing so, Central Japan is blessed with some of Japan’s best white water and kayaking. Of course there’s plenty of stuff to explore too, with kayaking and canoeing being a popular pastime for families. For recommendations of the best water destinations and experiences in Central Japan, see our ‘Canoeing, Kayaking, Rafting, Canyoning & SUP’ page.

12 / MOUNTAIN-BIKING (MTB)


mountain-bking

Quickly gaining popularity, MTB is a great way to get outdoors and explore the mountains and forests in Japan with the ski resorts of Nagano and Central Nagano increasingly well-setup for mountain-bikers. Expect to see a lot more development over coming years as MTB really takes-off in Japan. For recommendations of the best destinations and experiences in Central Japan, see our ‘Running, Trail-Running, Cycling & Mountain-Biking (MTB)’ page.

13 / MOUNTAINEERING


niigata-winter

Also called ‘alpinism’, mountaineering combines hiking, climbing, skiing and traversing alpine landscapes at any time of year including in the snow of winter. Unlike hiking which can be enjoyed by almost anyone, mountaineering typically requires a high degree of skill and specialist equipment and an element of risk and should only be undertaken with adequate expertise and in partnership with other experienced climbers and/or a guide. Needless to say, home to the majority of Japan’s tallest mountains, our home of Central Japan is the premier mountaineering destination in the country. For recommendations of the best destinations and experiences in Central Japan, see our ‘Hiking, Trekking, Mountaineering, Caving & Climbing’ page.

14 / RAFTING


rafting-adventure

Japan has plenty of rivers on which to enjoy rafting including those gushing down from the mountains of Central Japan including the famous Tenryu River – see Tenryu Traditional River Rafting – in southern Nagano. Another activity that can enjoyed by both adults and kids, it’s a great activity for families and a terrific way to cool down and have a whole lot of fun in the middle of summer. For recommendations of the best water destinations and experiences in Central Japan, see our ‘Canoeing, Kayaking, Rafting, Canyoning & SUP’ page.

15 / RUNNING


running-tokyo-marathon

Japan is a great country to enjoy running. Its climate is agreeable, road conditions a good, drivers are considerate and the scenery is outstanding meaning that any visitor can enjoy running here. There are plenty of marathons, half-marathons, ultra-marathons and shorter races to choose from with the Tokyo Marathon – held in March each year – being the most famous with Osaka, Yokohama, Naha and Shonan International Marathon in Kanagawa rounding-out the top five in terms of participant numbers. Over recent years ultra-marathons and trail running – see below – have enjoyed increasing popularity with both being seen as a challenging yet massively rewarding ways to experience Japan’s beautiful landscapes. For recommendations of the best destinations and experiences in Central Japan, see our ‘Running, Trail-Running, Cycling & Mountain-Biking (MTB)’ page.

16 / SKIING & SNOWBOARDING


ski-snowboard-general
japan-ski-resorts-banner

With over 500 ski resorts and truly world-class snow conditions, Japan can lay claim to being Asia’s premier winter sports destination. Resorts are spread-out across the eastern half of the country in Central and North Japan. Our home of Nagano is home to the greatest number of resorts – with more than 80 individual ski resorts – while neighbouring Niigata, Gifu, Gunma and the more distant prefectures of Tohoku also have their share. Of course Nagano’s great winter rival is Hokkaido in the north which boasts some truly outstanding snow and great resorts. In the end, whether you opt for the resorts of Nagano or Hokkaido – or perhaps somewhere else! – you’re sure to love it. The snow really is fantastic, the resorts are well-organised and well-priced and people are friendly. For intermediate and advanced skiers and boarders, getting off-piste and diving into the deep stuff will have you hooked and coming back again and again. For recommendations of the best destinations and experiences in Central Japan, see our ‘Skiing, Snowboarding, Snowmobiling & Winter Fun’ page.

17 / SNOWBIKING


nozawa-onsen-ski-resort

As the name suggests, snowbikes are bicycles fitted-out with fat tyres allowing you to ride on snow. Anyone who can ride a bike can jump on and immediately enjoy the snow, a much easier learning curve than skiing or snowboarding or for those who already know, a fun alternative for a morning or afternoon of exploring a resort.
For recommendations of the best destinations and experiences in Central Japan, see our ‘Skiing, Snowboarding, Snowmobiling & Winter Fun’ page.

18 / SNOWMOBILING


shiga-kogen-snowmobile-revised
tour-banner

Want to go a little faster in winter? Snowmobiling in the ski resorts of Nagano is a thrilling way to enjoy the beautiful snow-covered landscape. The rare and previous combination of beauty and speed! Available in resorts including Shiga Kogen and at some of the resorts of Hakuba, snowmobiling is fast, fun and unforgettable. For recommendations of the best destinations and experiences in Central Japan, see our ‘Skiing, Snowboarding, Snowmobiling & Winter Fun’ page.

19 / SNOWSCOOTS & SNOWDRIVES


tour-banner

While you might not of heard of them, ‘snowscoots’ and ‘snowdrives’ are easy devices to learn, allowing visitors of any age to enjoy the snow. Snowscoots involve standing on a split board with a handle while snowdrives are odd devices comprising a seat on a single short ski. Both area easy to use and within one or two attempts you’ll be gliding down the slope and usually getting a lot of reaction from those going past you who may never have them before. Much easier to learn than skiing or snowboarding, snowscoots and snowdrives are great fun for newbies, kids and families, or anyone just wanting to have some fun on the slopes! For recommendations of the best destinations and experiences in Central Japan, see our ‘Skiing, Snowboarding, Snowmobiling & Winter Fun’ page.

20 / SNOWSHOEING


myoko-ski-snow

Snowshoeing is another way to enjoy the winter landscape of Central and North Japan, although at a notably slower pace than snowmobiling! Renting gear is inexpensive and once on your feet, walking over snow is easy and self-explanatory. A great way to enjoy the landscape and hopefully spot some wildlife, snowshoeing is well-suited to anyone wanting an alternative winter activity to skiing and snowboarding, nature enthusiast and photographers. For recommendations of the best destinations and experiences in Central Japan, see our ‘Skiing, Snowboarding, Snowmobiling & Winter Fun’ page.

21 / STAND-UP PADDLE BOARDING (SUP)


grand-phenix-activity

SUP has quickly established itself as a popular past-time in Japan. Simple to learn, SUP allows you to you enjoy the water at a leisurely pace while giving you a full body workout. By standing on the board, you have a view of the surrounding landscape and water below – a great way to enjoy Japan’s beautiful lakes. For recommendations of the best water destinations and experiences in Central Japan, see our ‘Canoeing, Kayaking, Rafting, Canyoning & SUP’ page.

22 / TENRYU TRADITIONAL RIVER RAFTING


tenryu-river-rafting

Looking for an adventure experience steeped in tradition? Then you need to head to the Tenryu Riverlands in southern Nagano to experience traditional river rafting in timber longboats or bamboo rafts. Guided by an experienced local boatsman, you’ll sit tight in the boat or on the raft and descend the beautiful waterways of Tenryu, going from serene and calm stretches through the thrill of whitewater. For recommendations of the best water destinations and experiences in Central Japan, see our ‘Canoeing, Kayaking, Rafting, Canyoning & SUP’ page.

23 / TRAIL-RUNNING


Good runners

Another sport that has quickly grown in popularity in Japan, trail running events are now taking place all over the country. Races vary in length and location, from leisurely kids and families races of a couple of kilometres to events of over 50km or 100km requiring elite fitness and durability. People who take-up trail running quickly get hooked by the combination of a sport that requires true fitness and the challenge of running on unsealed tracks through beautiful landscapes. Often held in national parks, Central Japan is something of an epicentre for trail running events with many events taking place each year. For recommendations of the best destinations and experiences in Central Japan, see our ‘Running, Trail-Running, Cycling & Mountain-Biking (MTB)’ page.

24 / WELL-BEING, SPIRITUALITY & TRADITION


kiso-ontake-kodo

Spirituality and mindfulness might seem out of place on a list of adventure travel, but not in Japan. Japan’s native religion of Shinto has a long tradition of nature worship while the syncretic religion of Shugendo Buddhism is all-about getting into the mountains and challenging yourself both spirituality and physically. The World Heritage-listed Kumano Kodo pilgrimage trails on the Kii Peninsula is just one example of the cross-cover between outdoor pursuits and the spiritual, with the Ontake Kodo and Togakushi Kodo pilgrimage trails in Central Japan being other examples of this long and seductive tradition. For recommendations of the best destinations and experiences in Central Japan, see our ‘Well-Being, Spirituality & Tradition’ page.

25 / WILDLIFE


jigokudani-monkey
tour-banner

Any conversation of wildlife in Japan has to start with our favourite guys, the famous snow monkeys of Jigokudani! While the monkeys are wild they come to the park on a daily basis through all seasons of the rare, giving visitors a rare chance to get up close and personal to these curious creatures.

tanuki-wildlife

Japan is home to an array of wildlife including black bears, spotted deer, Japanese serow, wild boar and the cute and curious tanuki. You might ask, what is a tanuki? Often referred to as a raccoon dog, tanuki are the real-life animals which inspire the ubiquitous states you see all over Japan at the entrances of many homes and businesses.

tanuki-statue

Of course as an island nation, there’s even more to see in the seas surrounding Japan including countless species of fish, dolphins, whales, sharks, octopuses, turtles and many, many more. Naturally, the best place to spot wildlife is in the national parks of Japan of which there are more than thirty spread across the country. For recommendations of the best destinations and experiences in Central Japan, see our ‘Wildlife, Bird-Watching, Horse-Riding & Fishing’ page.

BOOK WITH US! NAGANO’S NO.1-RATED TOUR & CHARTER OPERATOR


snow-fun-tour-guests-shiga-kogen
tour-banner

Based in Nagano and operating all year round, we are Nagano’s No.1 tour and charter operator. We have the local knowledge of where to go, when to go and what to dowhen you’re there to make sure you get the most out of your adventure in Central Japan! As a registered travel agent we can arrange adventure experiences and tours, transport, accommodation and inclusive packages. So no matter what you’re looking for, we’ve got you covered including getting you to the best outdoor destinations and events in the region.

snow-monkey-resorts-vehicles-bus

For guests wanting to access these destinations in the comfort of their own transport, we can arrange a private tour or charter customised to fit your needs, starting and ending at any destination in the region. Our drivers and vehicles are fully certified, allowing us to transport you to and from your preferred destinations in combination with any activity that suits your schedule. All vehicles are fitted with a protective screen – separating the driver from passenger and luggage area – and our drivers wear protective masks, allowing you to move between your destinations in comfort and safety.

394-Hi-Ace-Charter-Bus

We can arrange both private tours with an English-speaking guide or a private charter, including a private vehicle and driver but without a guide. We’d love to be part of your adventure in Central Japan and help you discover even more!

Why choose us?

Awarded a 2019 TripAdvisor Travelers’ Choice Award for our 1-Day Snow Monkeys, Zenko-ji Temple & Sake Tour – recognised as one of the Top 10 Experiences in Japan – we have the local knowledge and experience to help you get the most out of your time in Nagano and Central Japan.

Got a question about visiting Nagano and Central Japan? Contact us at snowmonkeyresorts@machinovate.com and let’s get planning together!