日本长野
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
联系
Clean Green & Healthy
新型冠状病毒期间往返日本的旅游

新型冠状病毒期间往返日本的旅游

haneda-airport

新型冠状病毒对进出日本的旅行产生了重大影响,并可能在今后一段时间内对日本的生活产生持续影响。 下一页旨在向计划国际旅客探访日本的人以及已经在日本的人和计划为旅游目的在各都道府县之间旅行的人提供准确和相关的信息。 以下页面旨在为计划从船上探访日本的人,以及已经在日本的人和计划以旅游为目的的县际旅行的人提供准确的相关信息。

本页所提供的信息,是以入境日本的旅客和外国人为对象的旅游信息。 本页包括以下信息:

1 / 最新动态及资讯

2 / 进入日本

3 / 我会获得签证/被允许入境吗?

4 / 在日本会被隔离吗?

5 / 什么时候能去日本旅游?

6 / 日本的COVID-19疫苗接种计划包括疫苗接种护照

7 / #TRAVELTOMORROW:计划去日本旅游时要考虑什么

情况仍不稳定,所提供的信息截至发布时是准确的。 我们将尽力尽快更新信息,以反映任何变化。

1 / 最新动态及资讯


以下是最近的事态发展,可能会引起人们的兴趣:

2021年4月30日:政府再次表示,日本将推出某种形式的 “疫苗护照”,以智能手机应用程序的形式,方便人们进出该国。据认为,数字护照将记录接种过COVID-19疫苗的证据以及阴性测试结果,有可能允许尚未接种疫苗的人旅行。虽然还没有宣布具体的消息,但这是朝着重新开放国际边界迈出的积极一步。 更多信息,请参阅我们的 “日本COVID-19疫苗接种计划 “页面。

2021年3月21日:这是官方的。日本官方宣布,东京奥运会和残奥会将不允许国际游客作为观众进入日本。定于2021年7月23日开幕的奥运会看起来将继续进行,然而不幸的是,体育场内将没有任何国际游客。所有已经出售给国际游客的门票将全额退还。目前官方还没有关于参赛队和辅助人员入场的消息。更多信息,请参阅我们的 “东京2020″。奥运会期间在日本旅行和COVID-19 “页面。

2021年3月21日:最后四个都道府县–东京、神奈川、千叶、埼玉的 “紧急状态”(SOE)已经解除,这意味着日本目前没有任何地区处于SOE状态。目前,包括居住流和商务流在内的旅行安排的恢复情况还没有公布。一旦有消息公布,我们将及时更新本页面。

2021年3月15日:在东京羽田机场进行了拟议的 “共同通行证 “的试验。五名参与者接受了COVID-19/PCR测试,测试结果被传送到实验室,所有五名参与者都在两小时内收到了阴性测试结果到他们的手机。这些结果会以 “通用数字证书 “的形式显示出来,然后可以用来满足旅行者在原籍国办理登机手续时的目的地国的入境要求。更多信息,请参见我们的 “日本COVID-19疫苗接种计划 “页面。

2021年2月3日:继日本10个都道府县宣布延长 “紧急状态”(SOE)后,又宣布暂停旅行安排的时间将延长至SOE解除。目前,SOE的有效期至少到3月7日,因此,我们可以预计,除在日本居住的外国人外,其他外国人的入境将至少持续到该日期。

2021年1月13日:政府宣布暂时停止对11个国家的国民的安排–包括 “在留资格 “和 “商务资格”–至少到2021年2月7日为止,有效地禁止所有外国人–持有现有在留签证的人以外的人进入日本。 这一决定是为了应对COVID-19的日益蔓延,也是为了防止新的变种传入日本。 持有有效入境签证的日本公民和在日本居住的外国人仍然可以旅行,但在抵达时需要进行为期2周的检疫,并可能被要求在离开原籍国之前提供阴性的COVID-19测试结果。

2021年01月07日:为应对COVID-19在日本的日益蔓延,继讨论暂停所有外国人入境后,日本政府宣布,符合 “在留资格 “和 “商务资格 “的11个国籍可以继续申请赴日和入境。 持有现行入境签证的日本外国居民和日本公民也仍然可以入境情况还在继续发展,如果情况需要,政府的决定很可能会被推翻。 如果有进一步的信息,我们将更新本页面。

有关日本新型冠状病毒的完整信息,包括事件时间表,请参见我们的 “新型冠状病毒更新“页面。

2 / 入境日本日本开放旅游吗?


对于大多数外国人来说,目前禁止到日本旅行,关于受影响国家的护照,请参考以下信息。

目前还没有明确的建议说明这种情况何时可能发生变化,但政府继续推动在新型冠状病毒中被认为是低风险的特定国家之间建立 “旅行泡泡”。 也被称为’旅行走廊’、’旅行桥梁’和’旅行自由区’,希望这种协议是2021年春季前后更全面开放边境的第一步。

目前,可以进入日本的外国人有两类:

1 / 持有合格签证的日本长期居留者 也就是说,持有外国护照的日本人的家属、留学生、在日本工作的外国人等,只要符合一定的条件,就可以回到日本,详情请看下面的 “居留轨道“。

2 / 来自特定国家的短期商务旅行者可以或即将可以进入日本进行商务相关活动,这也取决于入境者是否符合和满足一定的要求–详情请看下面的’商务轨道’信息

chubu-airport-nagoya

2019年,进入日本的外国游客达到3190万人次,这已经是连续第7年刷新纪录。 在这一强劲趋势的基础上,政府的目标是在2020年达到4000万人次。 然而,这是在新型冠状病毒出现并产生巨大影响之前。 基于这种强劲的趋势,政府的目标是在2020年达到4000万人次。 然而,这是在新型冠状病毒出现并产生巨大影响之前。 随着新型冠状病毒在世界范围内的传播,日本宣布禁止特定的外国人/护照进入日本。 因此,入境人数急剧下降,2020年4月到日本的外国护照持有者只有2900人,比去年下降了99.9%。

airport

日本有4个国际机场,分别是:成田(东京)、羽田(东京)、关西(大阪)和中部(名古屋)。 无论你打算飞往哪个机场,都有同样的要求。 鉴于新型冠状病毒对日本入境的影响,每个旅行者需要问的第一个问题是,我可以入境吗?

3 / 能否获得签证/获准进入日本


目前,禁令适用于159个国家,包括最近几周进入或过境受影响国家的非居民。 形势仍在继续变化,希望未来几个月内,很多人又能去日本旅游。 我们建议直接查阅日本外务省网站,了解受本次旅行禁令影响的国家/护照的最新名单。 如果你受到禁令的影响,你将不被允许进入日本。 如果你受到禁令的影响,你将不被允许进入日本。

政府最近采取的措施意味着,一些 外籍人士可以通过以下途径前往日本:

1 / 居留轨道:持有较长时间居留/在留签证的外国护照持有人可以返回日本。 包括(但不限于)日本人的配偶、留学生、工作居留者等家属。

要想通过 “居留轨道 “进入日本,护照持有者必须持有符合条件的签证进入日本,在出发前往日本前满足一定的要求,并在到达日本后继续满足一定的要求。 重要的是,根据居留轨道入境的人员在抵达后至少14天内必须在指定地点进行隔离/自我隔离。 值得注意的是,有些令人困惑的是,某些国家之间的短期商务旅行也可以通过居留途径办理。

更多信息,请参见我们的 “谁可以去日本旅游,需要什么条件?”页面。

2 / 商务轨道:通过与其他国家政府协商,少数国家的国民可以到日本进行短期商务旅行。

要想通过 “商务轨道 “进入日本,护照持有者必须持有符合条件的签证,在出发前往日本之前满足一定的要求,并在抵达日本后继续满足一定的要求。 重要的是,根据居留轨道入境的人必须提前提交他们的预定活动行程以获得批准,虽然他们在日本不被隔离,但实际上他们将被限制在他们的酒店和/或营业场所。 重要的是,虽然行动会受到很大的限制,但这个轨道下的游客并不需要在日本进行检疫。

更多信息,请参见我们的 “谁可以去日本旅游,需要什么条件?”页面。

4 / 在日本会被隔离吗?


hospital-health

这要看你的情况而定。 目前有资格进入日本的人–无论是外国人还是日本公民–如果最近进入了旅行禁令的国家,在抵达日本时可能会被要求接受14天的检疫,除非你是通过不需要检疫的旅行协议进入日本–详情请看上面。

hospital-health

除非你在 “商务轨道 “下免于检疫,否则要注意的是,即使你的COVID-19检测结果为阴性,你仍然需要接受检疫。 隔离可能在现场进行,即在您到达的机场或为您提供的酒店。 在此期间,你将不被允许使用公共交通工具或访问公共区域,即使你的隔离期结束,你的行动仍可能受到限制,包括禁止使用公共交通工具。

关于日本目前的情况,请参考我们的 “新型冠状病毒更新 “页面。

5 / 什么时候能去日本旅游?


tateyama-kurobe-alpine-route-summer-hiking

和所有国家一样,日本也希望尽快开放边界。 根据与新加坡、柬埔寨、老挝、马来西亚、缅甸、台湾、泰国、越南等国达成的 “旅行走廊 “协议,现在允许某些国家的国民以短期商务目的进入日本。

现在,外国居民和较长时间停留的游客也可以回来了。 虽然以旅游为目的的入境仍然被禁止,但这些都是朝着正确的方向迈出的步骤,我们希望很快就能取消对某些国家的限制。 随着边境对外国人的开放,日本国内的行动可能仍然会受到限制。 我们将在此页面更新公告。

6 / 日本的COVID-19疫苗接种计划包括疫苗接种护照


hospital-health

获取日本COVID-19疫苗接种计划推出的最新消息和信息,包括将使用哪些疫苗、何时接种、谁来接种、是否需要接种疫苗才能来此旅行以及疫苗接种护照的开发。

7 / #TRAVELTOMORROW:计划去日本旅游时要考虑什么


随着现在的话题转向未来几个月重新开放边境,许多人正在考虑他们的国际旅行选择。 在新型冠状病毒发生之前,国际游客的数量激增,证明了日本作为目的地的受欢迎程度。 我们希望很快再次欢迎国际游客来到这个美丽的国家。

当您计划访问日本时,我们建议您考虑以下几点。

1 / 进入日本:如上所述,目前很多国家都有入境禁令。 在预订访问日本之前,请通过上面的外务省网站链接,确保你能获准入境。 在日本长期居住的外国人和来自某些国家的短期商务旅行者,只要符合并遵守特定的要求,就可以进行旅行。 在预订访问日本之前,请在外务省网站上确认护照上的状态,以确保你能获准入境(包括上述)。

2 / 隔离检疫:使用相同的链接查看您在抵达时是否需要接受了隔离检疫。 此外,还要确认从日本回国后是否需要接受隔离检疫。

3 / 进入日本后的行动:即使进入日本,也有可能会受到行动限制和/或一些地方被关闭。 在到达之前做好调查,考虑好你想去的地方。 尽可能保持计划的灵活性,允许你在需要时改变行程。 通过使用日本的外语服务,了解每日信息。

我们的 “新型冠状病毒期间在日本境内旅行“页面为您提供COVID-19期间在日本的旅行计划信息和提示。

4 / 日本的医疗服务:日本人享有世界上最好的公共卫生系统和医疗设施之一。 作为一名国际游客,值得考虑的是,如果您在这里需要治疗,您可以获得什么以及会发生什么。 作为一名国际游客,值得考虑的是,如果您在这里需要治疗,您可以获得什么以及会发生什么。

我们的 “日本的保健和援助 “页面提供了关于您在日本时的期望和可以使用的信息。

5 / 保险:不管什么时候来日本,旅游保险都是必须的。 虽然在人身安全和财产方面,这是一个非常安全的国家,但没有一个国家是完美的,不幸的事情可能会发生。 如果您在就诊期间需要就医或住院,您的保险将对避免潜在的巨额费用至关重要。

在旅行之前,确保你的旅行保险有合理的医疗保障,并具体查看新型冠状病毒的相关保障内容。

6 / 取消和退款:当预订您的旅行–包括您的机票、住宿、旅游等。 – 检查他们关于取消和退款的政策。 一旦你可以自由地去日本旅行,情况可能又会发生变化。 当您预订未来的旅行时,请在预订前检查如果新型冠状病毒的复发使您无法旅行会发生什么。

NAGANO JAPAN
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
CONTACT
Clean Green & Healthy
Traveling to/from Japan During COVID-19

Traveling to/from Japan During COVID-19

haneda-airport

COVID-19 has had a significant impact on travel to and from Japan and is likely to have an ongoing affect on life here for some time yet. The following page is intended to provide accurate and relevant information for people planning to visit Japan from aboard, along with those already here and planning to travel between prefectures for tourism purposes.

The information provided on this page is intended for travelers and foreign nationals entering Japan for tourism purposes. This page includes the following information:

1 / Latest News & Updates

2 / Entering Japan – is Japan open for travel?

3 / Will I get a visa/be allowed to enter Japan?

4 / Will I be quarantined in Japan?

5 / Japan’s COVID-19 Vaccination Passport

6 / When will I be able to travel to Japan?

7 / Japan’s COVID-19 Vaccination Program inc. Vaccination Passport

8 / #TRAVELTOMORROW: what to consider when planning your visit to Japan

The situation remains fluid and the information provided is accurate as of time of publication. We will endeavour to update the information to reflect any change as quickly as possible.

1 / LATEST NEWS & UPDATES


haneda-airport

The following recent developments may be of interest:

Apr-30 2021: the government has again commented that Japan will introduce some form of ‘vaccine passport’ in the form of a smartphone app that will facilitate movement of people in and out of the country. It is believe digital passport will record evidence of having had a COVID-19 vaccination along with negative test results, potentially allowing persons who have not yet been vaccinated to travel. While nothing concrete has yet been announced, it’s a positive step toward re-opening the international border. or further information, see our ‘Japan’s COVID-19 Vaccination Passport’ page.

Mar-21 2021: it’s official. Japanese officials have announced that international visitors will not be permitted to enter Japan as spectators for the Tokyo Olympic and Paralympic Games. Scheduled to start on July 23rd 2021, the Games look set to go ahead however it will unfortunately be without any international visitors in the stadiums. All tickets already sold to international visitors will be refunded in full. There is no official word yet about entry of the teams and supporting staff. For further information, see our ‘Tokyo 2020: Traveling in Japan During the Olympics & COVID-19’ page.

Mar 21 2021: the ‘State of Emergency’ (SOE) has been lifted from the last four prefectures – Tokyo, Kanagawa, Chiba and Saitama – meaning that no region of Japan is under a SOE at this time. There is yet to be an announcement about the resumption of travel arrangements including the residence and business streams. Once an announcment is made and that information is avaialbe, we will update this page.

Mar-15 2021: trials of a proposed ‘Common Pass’ have taken place at Tokyo’s Haneda Airport. Five participants underwent COVID-19/PCR tests which were transmitted to a laboratory with all five participants receiving negative test results to their phones within two hours. Those results are then displayed as a ‘universal digital certificate’ which can then be used to satisfy entry requirements of a travelers’ destination country upon check-in in their country of origin. For further information, see our ‘Japan’s COVID-19 Vaccination Program’ page.

Feb 03 2021: following the announcement of extension of the ‘State of Emergency’ (SOE) in ten prefectures in Japan, it has also been announced that the suspension of travel arrangements will be extended until the SOE has been lifted. At this time, the SOE is in effect until at least March 7th therefore we can expect that entry for foreign nationals – other than foreign residents of Japan – will continue until at least that date.

Jan 13 2021: the government has announced the temporary suspension of arrangements – including the ‘Residence Track’ and ‘Business Track’ – for nationals of 11 countries, effectively banning entry to Japan by all foreign nationals – other than those with an existing residence visa – until at least February 7th 2021. The decision is in response to the increasing spread of COVID-19 and in order to prevent the introduction of new variants to Japan. Japanese citizens and foreign residents of Japan with a valid entry visa are still able to travel however are required to undertake 2-weeks quarantine upon arrival and may be asked to provide a negative COVID-19 test result prior to departure from their country of origin.

Jan 07 2021: in response to the increasing spread of COVID-19 in Japan and following discussion of suspending entry for all foreign nationals, the government has announced that the 11 nationalities eligible to travel under the ‘Residence Track’ and ‘Business Track’ can continue to apply to travel to and enter Japan. Foreign residents of Japan with a current entry visa and Japanese citizens are also still able to enter. The situation continues to develop and the government’s decision may well be reversed should circumstances demand it. We will update this page if further information becomes available.

For complete information regarding COVID-19 in Japan including a timeline of events, please see our ‘COVID-19 Update’ page.

2 / ENTERING JAPAN – IS JAPAN OPEN FOR TRAVEL?


For most foreign nationals, travel to Japan is currently banned – see below for information regarding affected countries passports. There is no definitive advice on when this is likely to change however the government continues to push for ‘travel bubbles’ between specific countries deemed to be low-risk in terms of COVID-19. Also referred to as ‘travel corridors’, ‘travel bridges’ and ‘travel free zones’, it is hoped that such agreements are the first step to opening the border to more fully around spring 2021.

For the time being, there are two categories of foreign nationals who can enter Japan:

1 / Long-term residents of Japan with an eligible visa i.e. foreign passport-holders who are dependents of Japanese nationals, international students, residing in Japan for work, etc. are now able to return to Japan as long as they meet and follow certain requirements – see ‘Residence Track’ information below for details.

2 / Short-term business travelers from specific countries can or will soon be able to enter Japan to undertake business-related activities, also dependent on entrants meeting and meeting certain requirements – see ‘Business Track’ information below for details.

chubu-airport-nagoya

In 2019, 31.9 million foreign visitors entered Japan – the seventh successive year that set a new record. Building on this strong trend, the government targeted 40 million arrivals in 2020. That however was prior to the emergence and dramatic impact of COVID-19. As COVID-19 has spread around the world, Japan has announced bans for specific foreign nationals/passport on entering Japan. As a result, arrivals have dropped sharply with only 2,900 foreign passport holders arriving in Japan in April 2020 – a drop of 99.9% from the previous year.

airport

Japan has four major international airports: Narita (Tokyo), Haneda (Tokyo), Kansai (Osaka) and Chubu (Nagoya). Regardless of which airport you intend to fly into, the same requirements apply. Given the impact of COVID-19 on entry to Japan, the first question every traveler needs to ask is, will I be allowed to enter?

3 / WILL I GET A VISA/ALLOWED TO ENTER JAPAN?


travel-visa

At this time, a ban applies to 159 countries including non-residents who have entered or transited the affected countries in recent weeks. We recommend referring directly to the website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan for the up-to-date list of countries/passports affected by the current travel ban. If you are affected by the ban, you will not be allowed to enter Japan.

Recent steps taken by the government mean that some foreign nationals can travel to Japan under the following tracks:

1 / Residence Track: foreign passport-holders with longer stay/residence visas are able to return to Japan. This covers (but is not limited to) dependents on Japanese nationals i.e. partners, international students, people resident for work, etc.

In order to enter Japan under the ‘residence track’, the passport-holder must have an eligible visa to enter Japan, fulfill certain requirements prior to departing for Japan, and continue to meet certain requirements upon arrival. Importantly, people entering under the residence track will be required to quarantine/self-isolate at a designated location for at least 14-days after arrival. It is important to note that – somewhat confusingly – some short-term business travel between certain countries may also be process through the residence track.

For further information, see our ‘Who Can Travel to Japan & What’s Required?’ page.

2 / Business Track: through negotiation with other governments, nationals of a limited number of countries can travel to Japan for short-term business trips.

In order to enter Japan under the ‘business track’, the passport-holder must have an eligible visa, fulfill certain requirements prior to departing for Japan, and continue to meet certain requirements upon arrival. Importantly, people entering under the residence track will have to submit their intended itinerary of activities in advance for approval and while not quarantined in Japan, they will effectively be restricted to their hotel and/or places of business. The important thing is that while movement will be very restricted, visitors under this track aren’t required to quarantine in Japan.

For further information, see our ‘Who Can Travel to Japan & What’s Required?’ page.

4 / WILL I BE QUARANTINED IN JAPAN?


hospital-health

In response to the changing nature of the pandemic and who can entry Japan, rules around quarantine also regularly change. We will endeavor to keep this information up-to-date. As of June 2021, only Japanese citizens and foreign residents of Japan are able to enter. In order to do so, any person seeking to enter Japan must provide evidence of a negative COVID-19 test taken within 72 hours of their departure for Japan. All persons are currently also required to self-isolate for 14-days upon arrival during which time they must also report their location and health status and they are not permitted to use public transport in that time.

hospital-health

At this time there are different types of quarantine depending on the travel history of the entrant starting with:

1 / MUST SPEND FIRST 10 DAYS IN A GOVERNMENT FACILITY

Japanese citizens and foreign residents who have visited Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, the Maldives, Pakistan or Sri Lanka in the past 14-days must spend the first 10 days of isolation in a government facility where they will be tested multiple times. If all tests are negative, after 10 days then can leave the facility and complete their 14-day quarantine at home.

2 / MUST SPEND FIRST 6 DAYS IN A GOVERNMENT FACILITY

Japanese citizens and foreign residents who have visited Malaysia or Vietnam in the past 14-days must spend the first 6 days of isolation in a government facility where they will be tested multiple times. If all tests are negative, after 6 days then can leave the facility and complete their 14-day quarantine at home.

3 / MUST SPEND FIRST 3 DAYS IN A GOVERNMENT FACILITY

Japanese citizens and foreign residents who have a long list of countries and region in the past 14-days must spend the first 3 days of isolation in a government facility where they will be tested multiple times. If all tests are negative, after 3 days then can leave the facility and complete their 14-day quarantine at home. The list of affected regions is long and constantly changing but at this time applies to most European countries and others including Brazil, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Lebanon, Nigeria, the Philippines, South Africa, Thailand, Tunisia, the UAE and multiple states in the United States. Please refer to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs website for the latest information.

4 / CAN SELF-ISOLATE AT HOME FOR ALL 14-DAYS

Japanese citizens and foreign residents who have not travelled to any of the above countries and regions in the past 14 days must take a COVID-19 test upon arrival and if negative, can self-isolate at home for the entire 14-day period.

For information about the current situation in Japan, please refer to our ‘COVID-19 Update’ page.

5 / JAPAN’S COVID-19 VACCINATION PASSPORT


covid-19-vaccination-passport

Consistent with many countries around the world, Japan has announced its intention to utilise some form of digital vaccination passport in an effort to re-open its international. While the exact details of how this will work and which digital platform Japan will use are not yet confirmed, the government appears committed to rolling-out a smartphone app which travelers can use to satisfy the health requirement and allowing them to travel to Japan. It is hoped that this will facilitate opening of the international border in the near future. For further information, see our ‘Japan’s COVID-19 Vaccination Passport’ page.

6 / WHEN WILL I BE ABLE TO TRAVEL TO JAPAN?


tateyama-kurobe-alpine-route-summer-hiking

Like all countries, Japan wants to open its borders as soon as possible. Nationals of certain countries are now allowed to enter Japan for short-term business purposes under the ‘travel corridor’ agreed with nations including Singapore, Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Taiwan, Thailand, Brunei, and South Korea.

Foreign residents and longer stay visitors can now also return. While entry for tourism purposes remains banned, these are steps in the right direction and we hope restrictions on certain countries may soon be lifted. As the borders open for foreign arrivals, it is likely that movement within in Japan will still be restricted. We will update this page with announcements as that takes place.

7 / JAPAN’S COVID-19 VACCINATION PROGRAM INC. VACCINATION PASSPORT


hospital-health

Get the latest news and information about the roll-out of Japan’s COVID-19 vaccination program including which vaccines will be used, when and who will be vaccinated, whether you need to be vaccinated to travel here and development of a vaccination passport.

8 / #TRAVELTOMORROW: WHAT TO CONSIDER WHEN PLANNING YOUR VISIT TO JAPAN


With conversation now turning to reopening the borders over the coming months, many people are considering their options for international travel. The booming numbers of international arrivals prior to the onset of COVID-19, attest to the popularity of Japan as a destination. We hope to again be welcoming international visitors to this beautiful country soon.

When planning your visit to Japan, we encourage you to consider the following:

1 / Entering Japan: as discussed above, many countries are subject to an entry ban at this time. A limited number of foreign nationals – long-term residents of Japan and short-term business travelers from certain countries – are able to travel so long as they meet and follow specified requirements. Prior to booking your visit to Japan, ensure that you will be permitted entry by checking the status on your passport on the Ministry of Foreign Affairs website (included above).

2 / Quarantine: use the same link to check whether you will be required to undergo quarantine upon arrival. In addition, also check the re-entry requirements to your own country to confirm whether you will be required to undergo quarantine upon your return from Japan.

3 / Movement once in Japan: it is possible that even once you enter Japan, restrictions on your movement may still apply and/or some localities may be closed. Do your research and consider where you want to visit prior to arriving. As much as possible, keep your plans flexible, allowing you to change your itinerary if required. Stay informed by using foreign language services in Japan to check the daily information.

Our ‘Traveling inside Japan during COVID-19’ page provides information and tips on planning your travel in Japan during COVID-19.

4 / Health services in Japan: Japanese enjoy one of the world’s best public health systems and medical facilities. As an international visitor, it is worth considering what you have access to and what will happen, should you need treatment while here. Our ‘Heath Care & Assistance in Japan’ page provides information regarding what to expect and what you have access to while here.

5 / Insurance: regardless of when you come to Japan, travel insurance is a must. While it is a very safe country in terms of personal safety and your possessions, no country is perfect and unfortunate things can happen. Should you require medical attention or hospitalisation during your visit, your insurance will be crucial to avoiding a potentially huge cost. Prior to traveling ensure that your travel insurance has reasonable cover for medical treatment and specifically check what is covered in relation to COVID-19.

6 / Cancellations and refunds: when booking your travel – including your air travel, accommodation, tours, etc. – check their policy regarding cancellation and refunds. Once you are free to travel to Japan, things may yet change again. When booking your future travel, check what happens should a recurrence of COVID-19 prevent you from traveling prior to booking.