日本长野
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
联系
日本旅游 : 清洁绿色健康
日本的COVID-19疫苗接种计划

日本的COVID-19疫苗接种计划

hospital-health-vaccine

随着COVID-19疫苗接种计划在世界各国的推广,日本也将从2021年2月中旬开始实施分阶段接种计划。下一页概述了计划推出的情况,包括:

1 / COVID-19疫苗接种计划在日本:最新消息

2 / COVID-19最新信息 日本的数字

3 / 日本的COVID-19疫苗接种计划

4 / 日本的疫苗接种阶段

5 / 如何安排您的COVID-19疫苗接种

6 / 日本COVID-19疫苗接种护照

7 / 日本COVID-19疫苗常见问题解答

8 / COVID-19疫苗接种时间表

请注意,本页面主要面向日本以外的用户。希望对您今后的日本旅行计划有所帮助。本页并非为生活在日本的人们提供详尽的资料。

1 / COVID-19日本的疫苗接种:最新消息


hospital-health

截至2021年9月20日,日本在报告*:

第二阶段管理的疫苗接种:149,882,538

这包括(往下查看有关疫苗接种阶段的信息):

接受了第一次疫苗接种:82,677,879 = 65.3%的人口部分接种了疫苗*

接受了两次疫苗接种:67,204,659 = 53.1%的人口完全接种了疫苗*

*数据是根据日本人口总数127,138,033计算出来的。 若要将日本的疫苗接种计划的进展与世界各国进行比较,请参考ourworldindata.org网站。关于日本的COVID-19疫苗接种计划将如何运作和进展的进一步信息,请参考以下信息。

*我们每周一和每当有重要进展时都会更新报告的数字。

最新的消息:

2021年9月13日:政府将开始讨论在今年年底进行第三轮COVID-19疫苗接种,以应对三角洲变体的持续蔓延。研究表明,COVID-19的抗体在注射第二针后的六个月左右会下降,这导致了在不久的将来进行第三针 “加强 “的讨论。一旦有了更多的信息,我们将更新这个页面。

2021年9月6日:政府已经宣布,从12月起,它将发放数字COVID-19疫苗接种证书。虽然尚未确认所有细节,但这些证书旨在用于国际旅行,并通过智能手机应用程序和二维扫描代码发挥作用。欲了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 “日本COVID-19疫苗接种护照 “页面。

2021年8月23日:日本的COVID-19疫苗接种计划继续加速,该国超过了50%的人口现在已经注射了第一针的里程碑。截至8月23日的官方数据是,51.3%的人口已经接种了第一针,39.7%的人已经接种了两针。

2021年6月21日:从本周起,日本的COVID-19疫苗接种计划进入一个新阶段,现在为65岁以下的人提供注射。大公司和大学是这项工作的核心,许多公司和大学在现场为员工及其家人提供接种服务。在这个阶段,该计划仅限于有大量员工或学生的公司和大学,截至昨天,共有266个场所在运作。包括日本航空公司(JAL)、全日空(ANA)、Softbank和日本中部铁路公司在内的雇主以及包括庆应大学、金德大学和东北大学在内的大学都在参与。数据显示,目前只有3.6%的人口接种了两针疫苗,但随着努力加快推广,希望所有希望接种疫苗的人都能在11月之前接种两针。

2021年6月11日:为了继续努力在奥运会(定于2021年7月23日至8月8日举行)之前加强疫苗接种,政府宣布东京的主要疫苗接种中心将从明天开始为65岁以下的人提供接种。这一修订标志着疫苗接种计划第三和第四阶段的开始,然而,在该计划第二阶段的优先人群–65岁及以上的人–接受了两针,即最新数据显示,只有超过20%的65岁及以上的人接受了第一针,但只有3%接受了两针。政府已经宣布,它打算在今年10月或11月之前完成对所有想要接种的人的疫苗接种。这项任务需要每天注射超过一百万支。

2021年6月9日:为了加快日本的疫苗接种,政府宣布工作场所和大学现在将参与推广,而且很快将开始针对年轻人。拥有自己的医务人员的大型工作场所将提供剂量开始接种,而东京23个区的一半以上将在6月底之前通过大学和工作场所开始为20多岁和30岁的人接种。这个群体往往在社会上更加活跃,因为继续与COVID-19在首都的传播有关。日本公布的最新数据显示,大约70%的医护人员现在已经完全接种了疫苗,超过20%的65岁及以上的人已经接种了第一针,但只有3%的人接种了两针。包括东京和大阪在内的10个县仍然处于 “紧急状态”,人数有所下降,但是专家们担心,随着人们继续购物和探访娱乐区,感染率将很快再次上升。

关于主要公告和发展的历史,请参见我们下面的 “COVID-19疫苗接种时间表”。

2 / COVID-19的更新 日本的数字


health-mask

我们的 “COVID-19更新 “页面包含了最新的数字和日本发生的新闻。我们每周一和有重要进展时都会更新该页面。

3 / 日本的COVID-19疫苗接种计划


hospital-health-vaccine

日本将使用不同的疫苗,已经签署了3.14亿支疫苗的供应合同,包括:

— 1.44亿剂辉瑞疫苗

— 1.2亿剂阿斯利康疫苗

— 5 000万剂Moderna疫苗

日本的疫苗接种计划定于2021年3月开始,先从医护人员和其他关键工作人员开始,然后再到65岁及以上的人,最后是普通民众。日本约有1.25亿人口。辉瑞公司的疫苗很可能成为日本第一个被批准和使用的疫苗。

4 / 日本的疫苗接种阶段


hospital-health-vaccine

虽然目前还不知道全部细节,但已经宣布将于2021年2月中旬开始接种疫苗,从:

第一阶段:一线医护人员和需要与COVID-19阳性者接触的人员将被优先考虑,从2月中旬开始对1万名参与安全试验的医护人员进行接种,然后从3月开始对估计370万名医护人员进行接种。

第二阶段:65岁及以上的人–估计约有3,600万人,被认为感染COVID-19的风险较高–将从3月中旬或4月初开始接种疫苗。

第三阶段:接下来将为65岁以下有潜在健康状况的人接种疫苗,因为这一群体一旦感染COVID-19,出现严重症状的风险也较高。据估计,20至64岁有基本健康状况的人总数约为820万,预计将在4月或以后开始接种。

第四阶段:普通公众将有资格接种疫苗,但某些群体,如孕妇,由于对疫苗对其影响的信息不足,没有资格接种。还有人建议,疫苗将只提供给16岁以上的人,但目前还没有完整的细节。预计普通公众的疫苗接种工作将于6月或以后开始。

5 / 如何安排您的COVID-19疫苗接种


covid-vaccination

日本的COVID-19疫苗接种计划自2月以来一直在进行。该计划在全国范围内的推广情况各不相同,包括东京和大阪在内的优先地区现在几乎为任何想要接种的人提供疫苗,而其他县仍在优先考虑特定群体。为了确定你所在地区的程序,最好向你所在的市政府查询,以确定你是否有资格,而日本各地的疫苗接种点可以通过这个网站找到。一般来说,完成COVID-19疫苗接种需要以下步骤:

1 / 一旦你有资格接种疫苗,你应该从当地市政府收到一张 “疫苗券”。该优惠券将包括如何在指定诊所预约接种疫苗的信息。一些市政府也在其办公室发放优惠券,允许居民上门索取。

2 / 你的疫苗券上会有关于如何预约注射的信息,包括身份证号码和预约网站或电话号码的链接。对于居住在东京的外国居民,有一条英语预订和咨询热线–0570-056-750,每天从7:00到19:00开通。

3 / 在接种疫苗的当天,你需要带着你的疫苗券、有效的身份证(如你的居住证或驾驶执照)和一份填写好的 “接种前筛查问卷”–可从本网站获得多种外语版本。检查完所有文件后,你会得到一些关于你要接种的疫苗的基本信息。然后你将接受你的第一针。

4 / 接受辉瑞或Moderna疫苗的居民需要在几周后安排第二次注射。辉瑞公司的第二针通常在第一针后三周左右进行,而第二针则在四周左右进行。你需要保管好你的疫苗券和任何其他提供给你的文件,一旦你符合条件,就按照上述步骤预约第二针。到那时,你就完成了疫苗接种过程。

6 / 日本COVID-19疫苗接种护照 


covid-19-vaccination-passport

与世界上许多国家一样,日本已经宣布它打算利用某种形式的数字疫苗接种护照,以努力重新开放其国际。虽然这将如何运作以及日本将使用哪个数字平台的确切细节尚未确认,但政府似乎致力于推出一个智能手机应用程序,旅行者可以用它来满足健康要求,并允许他们到日本旅行。希望这将有助于在不久的将来开放国际边界。欲了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 “日本COVID-19疫苗接种护照 “页面。

7 / 日本 COVID-19 疫苗常见问题解答


hospital-health

关于日本的疫苗接种计划将如何推出,有很多问题在坊间流传。其中一些问题的答案是已知的,而另一些问题的答案还不清楚。这些都是一些最常见的问题:

日本使用的是哪种疫苗?

日本正在使用Moderna和辉瑞公司(美国)和阿斯利康公司(联合王国)生产的三种不同疫苗。已经采购了大约3.14亿剂疫苗,以覆盖日本约1.25亿人口。辉瑞公司的疫苗很可能是第一个在日本批准和使用的疫苗。

什么时候开始接种,如何接种?

预计首批接种将于2021年2月中旬开始,先从基本卫生工作者的试验组开始,然后再对日本所有主要卫生工作者进行接种,接着是老年人、有基础健康状况的人,最后是普通民众。更多详情请见上文。

谁会先接种疫苗?

基本医护工作者—-共约370万人—-将在65岁及以上的人成为普通公众中第一批接种疫苗的人之前优先接种。详情见上文。

日本为什么比其他国家晚开始接种疫苗?

近年来,日本在测试和批准疫苗方面历来谨慎行事。根据这种谨慎的做法,政府为候选疫苗的必要测试留出了充足的时间

去日本旅游需要打疫苗吗?

目前,除了外国居民和一些商务旅行者外,大多数外国公民无法入境。随着疫苗接种计划在全球范围内的推广,目前还没有公布是否会将接种疫苗的证明作为入境要求,或者是否会优先考虑已接种疫苗的人。我们将在有进一步消息时更新本页面。

我是在日本居住的外国人。我可以接种COVID-19疫苗吗?

是的,政府已经宣布,日本的外国居民只要在市町村登记居住,就有资格接种COVID-19疫苗。

8 / COVID-19 疫苗接种时间表


hospital-health

以下时间轴旨在提供日本COVID-19疫苗接种计划的历史快照:

9月13日:政府将在今年年底开始讨论进行第三轮COVID-19疫苗接种,以应对三角洲变种的持续蔓延。研究表明,COVID-19的抗体在注射第二针后的6个月左右就会下降,从而导致在不久的将来进行第三次 “加强 “注射的讨论。

9月6日:政府已经宣布,从12月起,它将发放数字COVID-19疫苗接种证书。虽然尚未确认所有细节,但这些证书旨在用于国际旅行,并通过智能手机应用程序和二维扫描代码发挥作用。

8月23日:日本的COVID-19疫苗接种计划继续加速进行,该国超过了50%的人口现在已经接种了第一针的里程碑。截至8月23日的官方数据是,51.3%的人口已经接种了第一针,39.7%的人已经接种了两针。

6月21日:从本周起,日本的COVID-19疫苗接种计划进入一个新阶段,现在为65岁以下的人提供注射。大公司和大学是这项工作的核心,许多公司和大学在现场为员工及其家人提供接种服务。在这个阶段,该计划仅限于有大量员工或学生的公司和大学,截至昨天,共有266个场所在运作。包括日本航空公司(JAL)、全日空(ANA)、Softbank和日本中部铁路公司在内的雇主以及包括庆应义塾大学、学校法人近畿大学和东北大学在内的大学都在参与。数据显示,目前只有3.6%的人口接种了两针疫苗,但随着努力加快推广,希望所有希望接种疫苗的人都能在11月之前接种两针。

6月11日:为了继续努力在奥运会(定于2021年7月23日至8月8日举行)之前加强疫苗接种,政府宣布东京的主要疫苗接种中心将从明天开始为65岁以下的人提供接种。这一修订标志着疫苗接种计划第三和第四阶段的开始,然而,在该计划第二阶段的优先人群–65岁及以上的人–获得两剂疫苗的时间相对较少。

6月9日:为了加快日本的疫苗接种工作,政府宣布工作场所和大学现在将参与推广工作,而且很快将开始针对年轻人。拥有自己医务人员的大型工作场所将提供剂量以开始接种,而东京23个区的一半以上将在6月底之前通过大学和工作场所开始为20多岁和30多岁的人接种。这个群体往往在社会上更加活跃,因为继续与COVID-19在首都的传播有关。日本公布的最新数据显示,大约70%的医护人员现在已经完全接种了疫苗,超过20%的65岁及以上的人已经接种了第一针,但只有3%的人接种了两针。包括东京和大阪在内的10个县仍然处于 “紧急状态”,人数有所下降,但是专家们担心,随着人们继续购物和访问娱乐区,感染率将很快再次上升。

5月31日:面对有关其疫苗接种计划推出缓慢的持续批评,政府已宣布,符合该计划第三阶段的人–即20至64岁、有潜在健康状况、一旦感染COVID-19就有可能出现严重症状的人–将很快有资格接种,与此同时,第二阶段即65岁及以上的人将继续接受疫苗接种。这个群体大约有820万人,但没有精确的数据。在宣布这一消息的同时,第二阶段的工作继续进展缓慢,估计有3600万65岁及以上的日本人中只有一小部分人接种了两针疫苗,而且正在全国各地建立大型疫苗接种中心以加快该计划。

5月24日:从今天起,大规模的疫苗接种中心在东京和大阪开始运作。由自卫队运营,希望这些中心能够加快日本的疫苗接种计划,该计划一直被批评为落后于许多其他国家。这些中心将使用Moderna疫苗(上周获准在日本使用),目标是在东京每天接种10,000次,在大阪每天接种5,000次,中心每天上午8点至晚上8点运营,包括周末和公共假期。疫苗接种计划目前处于第二阶段,即为65岁及以上的人接种疫苗。至少有28个县也在计划或考虑建立大规模的疫苗接种中心,包括群马县、爱知县和宫城县,这些县将在不久后开放其中心。

5月19日:政府已宣布将成立一个 “研究小组”,考虑发放数字 “疫苗接种证书 “的可能性。这些证书由地方政府颁发,将作为一个人的疫苗接种史的可核查证据。这反映了一些外国的举措,以及一旦边境开始重新开放,国际旅行可能需要此类文件的预期。

5月10日:卫生部宣布,第一阶段的疫苗接种计划应在本周完成,所有基本的医务工作者都将很快接受这两种疫苗接种。该计划的第二阶段–为65岁及以上的人接种疫苗–已经在进行中,但由于进展缓慢而受到了批评。作为回应,政府已宣布将加快疫苗的交付速度,并正在与地方政府讨论建立大规模的疫苗接种中心。

4月30日:政府再次表示,日本将推出某种形式的 “疫苗护照”,以智能手机应用程序的形式,方便人们进出该国。据认为,数字护照将记录接种过COVID-19疫苗的证据以及阴性测试结果,有可能允许尚未接种疫苗的人旅行。虽然还没有宣布具体的消息,但这是朝着重新开放国际边界迈出的积极一步。

4月12日:从今天起,日本将开始其疫苗接种计划的第二阶段,向65岁及以上的人提供第一批接种疫苗。这一最早的疫苗接种将从今天开始进行,预计从5月初开始全面推广。这个群体在社区中占了很大比例,估计有3600万人。这是继第一阶段为医护人员和其他重要工作人员接种疫苗之后的又一举措。

3月15日:在东京羽田机场进行了拟议的 “共同通行证 “的试验。五名参与者接受了COVID-19/PCR测试,测试结果被传送到实验室,所有五名参与者都在两小时内收到了阴性测试结果到他们的手机。然后,这些结果会以 “通用数字证书 “的形式显示出来,然后可以用来满足旅行者在原籍国办理登机手续时的目的地国的入境要求。

2月22日:厚生劳动省公布了日本首批疫苗接种情况。截至2021年2月22日下午5点,共有11934人接种了疫苗。

2月03日:日本首相菅义伟宣布,日本首批疫苗接种将于2月中旬开始,比预期的2月底开始日期提前。疫苗接种计划将首先对1万名医护人员进行试接种,然后所有基本医护人员–估计370万人–成为首批接种疫苗的大群体。

NAGANO JAPAN
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
CONTACT
Clean Green & Healthy
Japan’s COVID-19 Vaccination Program

Japan’s COVID-19 Vaccination Program

hospital-health-vaccine

As COVID-19 vaccination programs are rolled-out in countries around the world, Japan will also be implementing a phased vaccination schedule from mid-February 2021. The following page provides an overview of program roll-out including:

1 / COVID-19 Vaccination in Japan: Latest News

2 / COVID-19 Update inc. Numbers in Japan

3 / Japan’s COVID-19 Vaccination Program

4 / Stages of Vaccination in Japan

5 / Japan’s COVID-19 Vaccination Passport

6 / Japan COVID-19 Vaccine FAQs

7 / COVID-19 Vaccination Timeline

Please note, that this page is primarily intended for users outside of Japan. We hope it is helpful in planning your future travel to Japan. This page is not intended to be an exhaustive resource for people living in Japan.

1 / COVID-19 VACCINATION IN JAPAN: LATEST NEWS


hospital-health

As of June 21st 2021, Japan is reporting*:

Total administered vaccinations: 28,887,137

This includes (scroll down for information re: stages of vaccination):

STAGE 1 administered vaccinations: 9,686,290

STAGE 2 administered vaccinations: 19,200,847

STAGE 3 administered vaccinations: some people now eligible

STAGE 4 administered vaccinations: some people now eligible

To compare the progress of Japan’s vaccination programs to countries around the world, please refer to the ourworldindata.org website. For further information about how Japan’s COVID-19 vaccination program will work and is progressing, refer to the information below.

*We update reported numbers every Monday and whenever there’s an important development.

Latest News:

June 21 2021: as of this week, Japan’s COVID-19 vaccination program moves into a new phase with shots now being offered to persons under 65 years of age. Large companies and universities are central to this push with many offering inoculations to employees and their families on-site. At this stage, the push is limited to companies and universities with a large number of employees or students, with 266 venues operating as of yesterday. Employers including Japan Airlines (JAL), All Nippon Airways (ANA), Softbank and Central Japan Railways are participating along with universities including Keio, Kindai and Tohoku. Data shows that only 3.6% of the population has now received two shots however with efforts to speed-up the roll-out it is hoped that all persons that wish to be vaccinated will have received both shots by November.

June 11 2021: in a continued effort to ramp-up vaccinations prior to the Olympic Games – scheduled to take place from July 23 until August 8 2021 – the government has announced that the main vaccination centre in Tokyo will begin providing inoculations for people aged under 65 from tomorrow onward. This revision marks the beginning of Stages 3 and 4 of the vaccination program however does so at a time that relatively few people prioritized under Stage 2 of the program – people aged 65 and over – have received two doses i.e. the latest data shows that just over 20% of people aged 65 and over have had their first shot but only 3% have had both shots. The government has declared that it intends to finish vaccinating everyone who wants to receive the shots by October or November this year. A task that will require more than one million does to be administered each day.

June 9 2021: in an effort to speed-up vaccinations in Japan, the government has announced that workplaces and universities will now be involved in the roll-out and it will soon begin to target younger people. Large workplaces with their own medical staff will be provided doses to begin inoculation while more than half of Tokyo’s 23 wards will start inoculating people in their 20s and 30s by the end of June through universities and workplaces. This group tends to be more socially active as continues to be linked to the spread of COVID-19 in the capital. The latest figures released in Japan show that around 70% of healthcare workers have now been fully vaccinated and more than 20% of people aged 65 and over have had their first shot but only 3% have had both shots. Ten prefectures including Tokyo and Osaka remain under a ‘state of emergency’ with numbers falling however experts are concerned that as people continue to shop and visit entertainment district, the infection rate will soon rise again.

May 31 2021: facing continued criticism regarding the slow roll-out of its vaccination program, the government has announced that persons eligible under Stage 3 of the program – i.e. aged 20 to 64 with underlying health conditions that put them at risk of severe symptoms if they contract COVID-19 – will soon be eligible for inoculation at the same time that Stage 2 i.e. persons aged 65 years and older, are continuing to be vaccinated. This group is though to be around 8.2 million people however precise data does not exist. The announcement comes as Stage 2 continues to be slow, with only a small percentage of the estimated 36 million Japanese aged 65 and over having received two shots and large vaccination centres are being established around the country to speed-up the program.

For history of major announcements and developments, see our ‘COVID-19 Vaccination Timeline’ below.

2 / COVID-19 UPDATE inc. NUMBERS IN JAPAN


health-mask

Our ‘COVID-19 Update’ page includes the latest numbers and news of what’s happening in Japan. We update the page every Monday and whenever there’s an important development.

3 / JAPAN’S COVID-19 VACCINATION PROGRAM


hospital-health-vaccine

Japan will be using different vaccines having signed contracts for a supply of 314 million does including:

— 144 million doses of the Pfizer vaccine

— 120 million doses of the AstraZeneca vaccine

— 50 million doses of the Moderna vaccine

The vaccination program in Japan is set to begin in March 2021, starting with healthcare and other critical workers before moving onto persons aged 65 and above and finally, the general public. Japan has a population of around 125 million people. The Pfizer vaccine is likely to be the first approved and used in Japan.

4 / STAGES OF VACCINATION IN JAPAN


hospital-health-vaccine

While full details are not yet known, it has been announced that vaccinations will begin in mid-February 2021, starting with:

STAGE 1: front-line healthcare workers and persons required to be in contact with COVID-19 positive people will be prioritised, starting with vaccination of 10,000 healthcare workers participating in safety trials from mid-February before an estimated 3.7 million health care workers are inoculated from March onward.

STAGE 2: persons aged 65 and older – a group estimated to be around 36 million people and considered to be of higher risk if they contract COVID-19 – will be vaccinated from mid-March or early-April onward.

STAGE 3: persons aged under 65 with underlying health conditions will be vaccinated next, as this group is also a higher risk on severe symptoms should they contract COVID-19. People aged 20 to 64 with underlying health conditions are estimated to total around 8.2 million and are expected to begin vaccination in April or later.

STAGE 4: the general public will then be eligible for vaccination with certain groups, such as pregnant women, not eligible due to insufficient information about the effect of the vaccine on them. It has also been suggested that vaccines will only be made available to persons over the age of 16 however full details are not yet available. It is expected that vaccination of the general public will begin sometime from June or later.

5 / JAPAN’S COVID-19 VACCINATION PASSPORT


covid-19-vaccination-passport

Consistent with many countries around the world, Japan has announced its intention to utilise some form of digital vaccination passport in an effort to re-open its international. While the exact details of how this will work and which digital platform Japan will use are not yet confirmed, the government appears committed to rolling-out a smartphone app which travelers can use to satisfy the health requirement and allowing them to travel to Japan. It is hoped that this will facilitate opening of the international border in the near future. For further information, see our ‘Japan’s COVID-19 Vaccination Passport’ page.

6 / JAPAN COVID-19 VACCINE FAQs


hospital-health

There are lots of questions swirling around about how Japan’s vaccination program will be rolled-out. The answers to some of those questions are known while others are still unclear. These are some of the most common questions:

Which vaccine is Japan using?

Japan is using three different vaccines produced by Moderna and Pfizer (from the United States) and AstraZeneca (from the United Kingdom). Approximately 314 million doses have been procured to cover Japan’s population of around 125 million people. The Pfizer vaccine is likely to be the first approved and used in Japan.

When will vaccination begin and how will it work?

The first inoculations are expected to begin in mid-February 2021, starting with a test group of essential health workers before vaccination of all key health workers in Japan, followed by the elderly, persons with underlying health conditions and eventually the general public. See above for further details.

Who will be vaccinated first?

Essential health workers – which totals a group of around 3.7 million people – will be prioritised before persons aged 65 and over are the first people within the general public to be vaccinated. See above for further details.

Why is Japan starting vaccination later than other countries?

In recent years, Japan has a history of proceeding cautiously when it comes to testing and approving vaccines. In-keeping with that cautious approach, the government is allowing adequate time for necessary testing of candidate vaccines.

Do I need to be vaccinated to travel to Japan?

At this time, entry for most foreign nationals – other than foreign residents and some business travellers – is not possible. As vaccination programs are rolled-out around the world, it has not yet been announced whether proof that you have been vaccinated will become an entry requirement or if priority will be given to those who have been inoculated. We will update this page as further information becomes available.

I am a foreign resident of Japan. Am I eligible for the COVID-19 vaccination?

Yes. The government has announced that foreign residents of Japan will be eligible for the COVID-19 vaccination as long as their residence is registered with a municipality.

7 / COVID-19 VACCINATION TIMELINE


hospital-health

The following timeline is intended to provide a historical snapshot of Japan’s COVID-19 vaccination program:

June 21 2021: as of this week, Japan’s COVID-19 vaccination program moves into a new phase with shots now being offered to persons under 65 years of age. Large companies and universities are central to this push with many offering inoculations to employees and their families on-site. At this stage, the push is limited to companies and universities with a large number of employees or students, with 266 venues operating as of yesterday. Employers including Japan Airlines (JAL), All Nippon Airways (ANA), Softbank and Central Japan Railways are participating along with universities including Keio, Kindai and Tohoku. Data shows that only 3.6% of the population has now received two shots however with efforts to speed-up the roll-out it is hoped that all persons that wish to be vaccinated will have received both shots by November.

June 11 2021: in a continued effort to ramp-up vaccinations prior to the Olympic Games – scheduled to take place from July 23 until August 8 2021 – the government has announced that the main vaccination centre in Tokyo will begin providing inoculations for people aged under 65 from tomorrow onward. This revision marks the beginning of Stages 3 and 4 of the vaccination program however does so at a time that relatively few people prioritized under Stage 2 of the program – people aged 65 and over – have received two doses.

June 9 2021: in an effort to speed-up vaccinations in Japan, the government has announced that workplaces and universities will now be involved in the roll-out and it will soon begin to target younger people. Large workplaces with their own medical staff will be provided doses to begin inoculation while more than half of Tokyo’s 23 wards will start inoculating people in their 20s and 30s by the end of June through universities and workplaces. This group tends to be more socially active as continues to be linked to the spread of COVID-19 in the capital. The latest figures released in Japan show that around 70% of healthcare workers have now been fully vaccinated and more than 20% of people aged 65 and over have had their first shot but only 3% have had both shots. Ten prefectures including Tokyo and Osaka remain under a ‘state of emergency’ with numbers falling however experts are concerned that as people continue to shop and visit entertainment district, the infection rate will soon rise again.

May 31 2021: facing continued criticism regarding the slow roll-out of its vaccination program, the government has announced that persons eligible under Stage 3 of the program – i.e. aged 20 to 64 with underlying health conditions that put them at risk of severe symptoms if they contract COVID-19 – will soon be eligible for inoculation at the same time that Stage 2 i.e. persons aged 65 years and older, are continuing to be vaccinated. This group is though to be around 8.2 million people however precise data does not exist. The announcement comes as Stage 2 continues to be slow, with only a small percentage of the estimated 36 million Japanese aged 65 and over having received two shots and large vaccination centres are being established around the country to speed-up the program.

May 24 2021: as of today, large-scale vaccination centres are operating in Tokyo and Osaka. Operated by the Self-Defence Forces, it is hoped that the centres will speed-up Japan’s vaccination program which has been criticised for lagging behind many other countries. The centres will use the Moderna vaccine (approved for use in Japan last week) with targets of 10,000 vaccinations per day in Tokyo and 5,000 per day in Osaka, with centres operating 8AM to 8PM daily including weekends and public holidays. The vaccination program is currently at Stage 2 i.e. the vaccination of persons aged 65 and older. At least twenty-eight prefectures are also planning or considering setting-up large-scale vaccination centres including Gunma, Aichi and Miyagi which will open their centres shortly.

May-19 2021: the government has announced that it will set-up a ‘study team’ that will consider the possibility of issuing digital ‘vaccination certificates’. Issued by local municipalities, the certificates would act as verifiable evidence of a person’s vaccination history. This reflects a move in some foreign countries and an expectation that such documents may be required to travel internationally, once borders begin to reopen.

May-10 2021: the Ministry of Health has announced that the first stage of its vaccination program should be complete this week, with all essential medical workers soon to have received both inoculations. The second stage of the program – vaccination of persons aged 65 years and above – is already underway however has been criticised for its slow progress. In response, the government has announced that it will speed-up delivery of vaccine does and is in discussion with local governments about setting-up mass-vaccination centres.

Apr-30 2021: the government has again commented that Japan will introduce some form of “vaccine passport” in the form of a smartphone app that will facilitate movement of people in and out of the country. It is believe digital passport will record evidence of having had a COVID-19 vaccination along with negative test results, potentially allowing persons who have not yet been vaccinated to travel. While nothing concrete has yet been announced, it’s a positive step toward re-opening the international border.

Apr-12 2021: as of today, Japan will begin the second stage of its vaccination program with delivery of the first inoculations to people aged 65 and over. This earliest vaccinations will take place from today with the full roll-out expected from early-May onward. This group accounts for a significant proportion of the community, an estimated 36 million people. It follows on from the first stage which saw healthcare and other critical workers vaccinated.

Mar-15 2021: trials of a proposed ‘Common Pass’ have taken place at Tokyo’s Haneda Airport. Five participants underwent COVID-19/PCR tests which were transmitted to a laboratory with all five participants receiving negative test results to their phones within two hours. Those results are then displayed as a ‘universal digital certificate’ which can then be used to satisfy entry requirements of a travelers’ destination country upon check-in in their country of origin.

Feb-22 2021: the Ministry of Health, Labor and Welfare (MHLW) has announced the first vaccinations in Japan. A total of 11,934 persons have been vaccinated as of 5PM on February 22nd 2021.

Feb-03 2021: Japan’s Prime Minister, Suga Yoshihide, has announced that the first vaccinations in Japan will begin in mid-February, ahead of the expected start date at the end of February. The vaccination program will begin with trial innoculation of 10,000 healthcare workers before all essential healthcare workers – an estimated 3.7 million people – become the first large group to receive the vaccine.