日本長野
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
聯繫
Clean Green & Healthy
新型冠狀病毒最新情況

新型冠狀病毒最新情況

上次更新日期:2020年11月30日

nagano-station

新型冠狀病毒對進出日本的旅行產生了重大影響,並可能在今後一段時間內對日本的生活產生持續影響。 以下頁面旨在為計劃從船上探訪日本的人,以及已經在日本的人和計劃以旅遊為目的的縣際旅行的人提供準確的相關信息。 本頁包括以下信息:

1 / 日本關於新型冠狀病毒的最新新聞和統計數據

2 / 可靠的外語信息來源

3/ 關於了解日本對新型冠狀病毒的反應的重要信息。

4/新型冠狀病毒在日本的時間表

本頁提供的信息是為國際旅行者準備的。 它來自可靠和有聲望的消息來源,目的是作為日本正在發生的事情的快照,以幫助你做出一個明智的決定,在這裡旅行。 因此,不提供與國際旅行者沒有特別關係的信息–例如,有關政府財政施捨的信息。

日本新型冠狀病毒的最新新聞和統計數據


japan-covid-soe-update

截至2020年12月12日,日本報導*。

記錄的感染總數: 147,498

記錄的死亡總數:2057

以上數據取自covid19japan.com網站,其中還包括各縣的數字。 在新型冠狀病毒期間,了解日本的都道府縣制度對於國際旅行者來說是很有意義的,因為47個都道府縣之間的條件和影響會有很大的不同。 更多信息,請參考以下信息。

* 我們每週一更新報告的數字。

最新的新聞。

2020年11月30日:從今天起,中國國民可以根據 “商務軌道 “前往日本,與新加坡、韓國和越南的國民一起。 詳情請看我們的 “誰可以去日本旅遊,需要什麼條件?”頁面。

2020年11月26日:政府已經表示,如果未來三週內COVID-19感染在全國范圍內的傳播沒有減少,他們將別無選擇,只能再次宣布 “緊急狀態”。 雖然官方還沒有做出決定,但這一公告讓國家注意到,如果局勢沒有改善,至少一些地區將重新進入緊急狀態。 隨著東京、大阪、北海道等地區COVID-19感染率以令人擔憂的速度上升,如果再次進入緊急狀態,將是2020年5月25日以來的首次。 如有任何進一步的公告,我們將更新此頁面。

2020年11月24日:新聞媒體彭博社發布了一份報告,介紹了處理COVID-19效率最高、對日常生活和經濟干擾最小的國家。 研究對53個經濟規模超過2000億美元的國家進行了10項指標的排名,包括病毒的整體傳播、死亡率、衛生系統的能力和對經濟的影響等,新西蘭排名第一,日本排名第二,台灣排名第三–在這個約1.26億人口的國家,這是一個顯著的成績,而新西蘭只有500萬,台灣只有2400萬。 報告列舉了日本以往對結核病疫情的處理情況,以及為應對COVID-19而有效重新部署的現有設施和接觸者追踪。 報告還提到,日本的社會信任度很高,人們普遍遵守關於社會疏遠、一般行為和使用口罩等個人防護設備的健康建議。

2020年11月9日:政府已同意從11月中旬起恢復從中國出發的短期和長期商務旅行,根據目前對新加坡、韓國和越南國民開放的 “商務軌道”。 這一規定的生效日期尚未確定。 一旦有了這些信息,我們將更新我們的網頁。

2020年11月5日:正如我們在9月30日的更新中所預料的那樣,日本已將包括澳大利亞、文萊、中國包括香港和澳門新西蘭、新加坡、韓國、台灣、泰國和越南在內的國家的旅行警告從3級降至2級。 日本國民和在日本居住的外國人將可以前往這些國家 — 目前僅以商務為目的 — 並在返回時免除14天的隔離期,只要旅行時間少於7天並滿足其他要求。

進入日本/旅行禁令。

由於新型冠狀病毒的持續影響,一些護照持有人目前被禁止進入日本 關於受限制的外國國民/護照持有者名單,請查閱以下網站:

可靠的外語信息來源


在日本閱讀有關新型冠狀病毒的資料時,我們鼓勵大家參考有信譽的資料。 我們推薦以下網站:

NHK

作為日本的國家廣播公司,NHK是一個很好的新聞資源,包括電視和廣播服務:https://www3.nhk.or.jp/nhkworld/en/news/。

The Japan Times

有英文網站的全國性報紙:https://www.japantimes.co.jp/.go

JNTO 新型冠狀病毒諮詢

日本國家旅遊局的網站為旅客提供最新信息,包括入境要求/禁令:https://www.japan.travel/en/coronavirus/。

JNTO 日本安全旅行推特

日本國家旅遊局在Twitter上開設了一個賬戶,提供與日本旅遊相關的實時信息:https://twitter.com/JapanSafeTravel。

Snow Monkey Resorts

我們以長野為基地,全年運作,將繼續提供有關COVID-19對日本中部影響的最新情況和信息:https://www.snowmonkeyresorts.com/。

關於了解日本對新型冠狀病毒的反應的重要信息。


hospital-health

迄今為止,日本已在國家和地方兩級採取了一系列措施,以防止新型冠狀病毒的傳播。 為了理解日本的對策,值得簡單解釋一下日本的管理方式,重要的是,它分為47個行政縣。 了解這些都道府縣的內容和地點,以及它們是如何被控制的,這對在新型冠狀病毒期間的國際旅行者很有意義,因為適用於一個都道府縣的內容可能不適用於另一個都道府縣。

日本的行政管理概況

日本的行政管理分為三級:國家、縣和市。 在國家層面,日本政府從東京的國民議會控制國家。 日本是一個民主國家,定期舉行選舉,以決定其代表和執政黨。

在國家政府之下,日本被劃分為47個面積和人口不等的 “縣”。 北海道是最大的,而東京–第三小縣–人口最多。 縣又細分為市級類別,即市、鎮等。 – 第三級行政管理

map-of-Japan

前往日本中部的旅行者可能有興趣知道,長野縣是第四大縣,人口第十六大縣。 然而,它在很大程度上是一個農村縣,人口分散,這意味著長野縣是日本人口密度最低的縣之一,這一事實在試圖阻止新型冠狀病毒的傳播時是有利的。

nagano-satoyama

國家政府顯然是國家最重要的行政機構,但憲法也賦予各都道府縣教育、勞動、社會福利和衛生等重要責任。 雖然各都道府縣之間的行政職能—-即稅收、學校、商業條件等—-存在差異。 – 大多數對國際旅行者沒有影響。

雖然各都道府縣有權力走自己的路,但需要注意的是,國家政府向各都道府縣提供的資金最多可達60%,可以通過宣布”緊急狀態”來引導都道府縣政府服從國家議程,包括關閉企業和公共設施。

這與國際旅行者有何關係?

大多數情況下,你不會注意到任何東西! 但在新型冠狀病毒期間,值得注意的是。

1/國家政府決定誰可以進入日本,進入多長時間,以及任何要求,即入境者必須接受強制性檢疫。 更多信息,請參考 “新型冠狀病毒期間往返日本“頁面。

2 / 47個省的構成和新型冠狀病毒的影響有很大不同。 對一個人的限制不一定適用於另一個人。 這一點與’緊急狀態’狀態尤其相關,到目前為止,緊急狀態較長時間只適用於少數幾個縣,而不是全國。

迄今為止,新型冠狀病毒對各都道府縣的影響各不相同,因此,值得關注各地區的數據。 更多信息,請參考我們的 “新型冠狀病毒期間在日本境內旅行“頁面。

3/而且非常重要的是,到目前為止,日本政府還沒有對國內任何地區實施封鎖。 各都道府縣和全國都曾在不同時期宣布過緊急狀態,要求關閉企業等,但日本從來沒有被強制封鎖過。

日本為什麼沒有實施封城?

為了應對新型冠狀病毒在日本的蔓延,日本政府修訂了現行法律–《豬流感特別措施法》,以界定並宣布進入緊急狀態;首先適用於北海道,其次是東京和少數縣,最終於2020年4月16日擴大到全國。

該法最初是為應對豬流感而製定的,它為哪些企業和設施應被要求關閉提供了指導,但不包括強制關閉的權力–因為在最初為應對豬流感而起草該法時,人們認為沒有必要。 因此,現行法律沒有賦予政府強行關閉企業和設施的權力。 也沒有規定對那些無視關門、呆在家裡等要求的人進行懲罰。

因此,日本從來沒有強行封鎖過。 但必須指出的是,執政的自民黨控制著議會兩院,因此可以(如果需要)修改或通過一項新的法律,其中包括對日本實施封鎖的權力。 迄今為止,人們認為沒有必要,從2020年5月25日起,緊急狀態不再適用於任何一個縣。

日本的衛生系統

日本是世界上公共衛生系統最好的國家之一,日本是世界上最長壽的國家就證明了這一點。 作為世界上歷史最悠久的國家,在新型冠狀病毒疫情爆發之初,人們就十分擔心疫情對日本老齡化社會的潛在影響,以及衛生系統的應對能力。

hospital-health

前往日本的國際遊客可以放心,他們來到的是一個擁有世界上最好的醫療系統和最高標準的國家之一。 然而,鑑於新型冠狀病毒給世界各地的衛生系統和醫療設施帶來了相當大的壓力,因此,重要的是要了解你來到這里後會有什麼樣的期望,以及你可以使用哪些設施。

hospital-health

關於日本的醫療制度,包括外語服務,請參考我們的 “日本的醫療和援助 “頁面。

日本新型冠狀病毒的時間表


hospital-health

下面的時間表旨在為國際旅行者提供日本發展狀況的準確概況。

11月26日:政府已經發出信號,如果未來三週內COVID-19感染在全國范圍內的傳播速度不減,他們將別無選擇,只能宣布進入 “緊急狀態”。 雖然官方還沒有做出決定,但這一公告讓國家注意到,如果局勢沒有改善,至少一些地區將重新進入緊急狀態。

11月24日:新聞媒體彭博社發布了一份報告,介紹了處理COVID-19效率最高、對日常生活和經濟干擾最小的國家。 該研究對53個經濟規模超過2000億美元的國家進行了10項指標的排名,包括病毒的整體傳播、死亡率、衛生系統的能力和對經濟的影響等,新西蘭排名第一,日本第二,台灣第三。 報告列舉了日本以往對結核病疫情的處理情況,以及為應對COVID-19而有效重新部署的現有設施和接觸者追踪。

11月09日:政府已同意從11月中旬起恢復從中國出發的短期和長期商務旅行,根據目前對新加坡、韓國和越南國民開放的 “商務軌道”。

11月05日:日本已將澳大利亞、文萊、中國香港和澳門新西蘭、新加坡、韓國、台灣、泰國和越南等國家的旅遊警告從3級降至2級。 日本國民和在日本居住的外國人將可以前往這些國家 — 目前僅以商務為目的 — 並在返回時免除14天的隔離期,只要旅行時間少於7天並滿足其他要求。

11月2日:澳大利亞、文萊、中國、香港、澳門、新西蘭、新加坡、韓國、台灣、泰國和越南等11個國家的國民,只要在過去14天內沒有離開本國,在抵達日本時將不再需要接受COVID- 19檢測。

10月22日:政府正在考慮從11月起允許與日本有 “深厚經濟關係 “的國家的短期商務旅行者–72小時以內入境。 這將包括中國、韓國和台灣的國民,這與最近與新加坡、韓國和越南在 “商業軌道 “下達成的協議如出一轍。

10月05日:宣布韓國有可能與其他少數國家一起與日本達成商旅走廊。 這將使兩國之間的短期和長期商務旅行成為可能。

9月30日 :日本宣布,它有可能將其旅行警告從 “3級”(警告不要以任何理由旅行)降至 “2級”(警告避免所有非必要的旅行,但允許日本公民這樣做。 預計包括澳大利亞、新西蘭、越南、文萊和比利時在內的國家將出現在這份名單上。 這是日本自疫情開始以來,首次降低旅遊預警。

9月23日:政府宣布打算從10月起放寬對逗留時間較長的遊客(即逗留3個月或以上的國際學生)的入境要求。

9月11日:政府宣布將新加坡列入 “旅遊走廊 “覆蓋的國家。 在現階段,它仍然受到嚴格控制,只限於短期商務訪客。

9月 8日:政府宣布將為來自柬埔寨、老撾、馬來西亞、緬甸、台灣、泰國和越南的短期商務遊客開放 “旅遊走廊”。

7月24日:被禁止進入日本的國家名單中又增加了17個國家,使總數達到146個。

07月1日:被禁止進入日本的國家又增加了18個,總數達到129個。

5月27日:在今天和前一天被禁的國家名單上又增加了一些國家,使總數達到111個

5月25日: 東京、佐藤山、千葉、神奈川、北海道等縣解除緊急狀態。

5月21日 :大阪、京都和兵庫解除緊急狀態。

5月14日:政府解除了日本47個縣中39個縣的緊急狀態。 仍有以下地區的緊急狀態宣布:東京、埼玉、千葉、神奈川、兵庫、京都、大阪和北海道。

5月07日:數據改善導致政府宣布可能在5月21日解除緊急狀態。

5月3日: 政府將緊急狀態延長至5月31日。

4月27日 : 日本將入境禁令擴大到另外14個國家,目前共有87個國家被禁止入境。

4月17日 :新型冠狀病毒新型冠狀病毒案件超過10 000例

4月16日 :政府宣布全國進入緊急狀態 至少將持續到5月 6日

4月10日: 東京政府宣布進一步關閉首都的企業和其他組織。

4月 7日: 政府宣布7個縣進入緊急狀態。東京、神奈川、埼玉、千葉、兵庫、福岡、北海道等七縣進入緊急狀態。

4月3日: 所有進入日本的日本人和外國人都必須接受14天的隔離檢疫

4月01日 :日本醫學會警告說,由於新型冠狀病毒患者的病床短缺,即將出現 “醫療危機狀況”。

3月30日 :東京奧運會改在2021年7月至8月舉行。 東京市民請勿外出 東京市民請留在家中

3月26日鑽石公主號離開日本海域

3月25日 :東京政府宣布首次對首都進行 “軟封鎖”,包括關閉餐廳、現場音樂等

3月24日:政府宣布,東京奧運會將推遲一年舉行。

3月23日 :東京超越北海道,成為新型冠狀病毒病例最多的縣。 加拿大宣布不參加定於7月下旬在東京舉行的2020年奧運會。

3月22日:美國警告公民避免到日本進行非必要的旅行。 作為回應,日本禁止從美國入境。

3月19日 :日本對來自38個國家–主要是歐洲國家–的入境者實施14天的檢疫期。

3月17日:日本以前是世界上感染率第二高的國家 現在排名第11位

3月14日:日本中部鐵路公司減少了東海道新幹線的服務。日本中央鐵道公司減少了東京和大阪之間的東海道新幹線的服務,以防止新型冠狀病毒的傳播。

3月11日:政府延長禁止公共活動的要求。

3月05日: 日本禁止來自中國、韓國和伊朗的旅行者入境。

3月 4日 :日本的新型冠狀病毒病例總數超過1 000例,其中12例死亡。

2月29日: 北海道縣首次宣布進入緊急狀態 政府宣布首次緊急財政方案

2月27日 :政府宣布日本全國所有學校將於3月2日停課

2月26日: 政府要求取消所有大型體育和文化活動,以減緩新型冠狀病毒的傳播 野縣公佈首例新型冠狀病毒病例。

2月20日:第二次和第三次死亡是由於新型冠狀病毒,以前是鑽石公主號上的乘客。

2月13日:日本報告了第一起已知的死亡事件 一個80多歲的日本人在神奈川縣的死亡事件,來自新型冠狀病毒

2月10日鑽石公主號上的新型冠狀病感染病例現已確認為 “遠超100例

2月 7日: 日本成為感染病例第二多的國家–僅次於中國–主要是由於 “鑽石公主 “號上的病例。

2月3日鑽石公主號遊輪在橫濱海岸被隔離,因為一名前乘客的新型冠狀病毒測試呈陽性。

1月31日:日本禁止過去14天內到過中國湖北省的外國人入境,並建議日本人避免到中國進行非必要的旅行。

1月28日 :最近沒有出過日本的人首次被確診感染。

1月24日:第二名在日本的中國人新型冠狀病毒檢測結果呈陽性

1月23日: 建議日本國民避免前往中國武漢。

1月16日 :日本首例新型冠狀病毒病例在神奈川縣被確認為中國人。

*與其他許多國家不同,日本政府沒有實施封城。 詳情請見上文。

NAGANO JAPAN
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
CONTACT
Clean Green & Healthy
COVID-19 Update

COVID-19 Update

Last Updated: November 30, 2020

nagano-station

COVID-19 has had a significant impact on travel to and from Japan and is likely to have an ongoing affect on life here for some time yet. The following page is intended to provide accurate and relevant information for people planning to visit Japan from aboard, along with those already here and planning to travel between prefectures for tourism purposes. This page includes the following information

1 / Latest news and statistics re COVID-19 in Japan

2 / Reliable foreign language information sources

3 / Important information re understanding Japan’s COVID-19 response

4 / Timeline of COVID-19 in Japan

The information provided on this page is intended for international travelers. It is taken from reliable and reputable sources, intended as a snapshot of what is happening in Japan, to help you make an informed decision about travelling here. As such, information not specifically relevant to international travelers – for example, information regarding government financial hand-outs – is not provided.

Latest news and statistics re COVID-19 in Japan


japan-covid-soe-update

As of November 30th 2020, Japan is reporting*:

Total recorded infections: 147,498

Total recorded deaths: 2057

The above data is taken from the covid19japan.com website, which also includes the numbers by prefecture. Understanding Japan’s prefectural system is relevant for international travelers during COVID-19, as the conditions and implications between each of the 47 prefectures can vary greatly. For further information, please refer to the information below.

*We update reported numbers every Monday.

Latest news:

Nov 30 2020: as of today, nationals of China are eligible to travel to Japan under the ‘Business Track’, joining nationals of Singapore, South Korea and Vietnam. For further details, see our ‘Who Can Travel To Japan & What’s Required?’ page.

Nov 26 2020: the government has signalled that if the nationwide spread of COVID-19 infections is not reduced in the coming three weeks, they will have no choice but to declare another ‘state of emergency’. While no official decision has been made, the announcement puts the country on notice that should the situation not improve, a state of emergency will be reintroduced to at least some regions. With the rate of COVID-19 infections increasing at a concerning rate in areas including Tokyo, Osaka and Hokkaido, should a state of emergency be reintroduced it will be the first time since May 25 2020. We will update this page should any further announcement be made.

Nov 24 2020: news outlet Bloomberg has released a report into the countries which have handled COVID-19 most efficiently with the least disruption to daily life and their economies.  Ranking 53 countries with economies of over $200 billion on 10 metrics including the overall spread of the virus, mortality rate, the capacity of the health system and affect on the economy, the research ranked New Zealand first,  Japan second and Taiwan third – a notable achievement in a country of around 126 million, compared to New Zealand’s 5 million and Taiwan’s 24 million. The report cites Japan’s previous handling of tuberculosis outbreaks and existing facilities and contact tracing which have been effectively redeployed to tackle COVID-19. It also cites Japan’s high levels of social trust and general compliance of its people in following health advice regarding social distancing, general behaviour and use of personal protection equipment such as masks.

Nov 9 2020: the government has agreed to the resumption of short and long-term business travel from China from the middle of November onward, under the ‘Business Track’ currently open to nationals of Singapore, South Korea and Vietnam. The date on which this will come into effect has not yet been confirmed. We will update our pages once that information is available.

Nov 5 2020: as anticipated in our update on Sept-30, Japan has lowered the travel advisory from Level 3 to Level 2, for countries including Australia, Brunei, China including Hong Kong and Macau New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand and Vietnam. Japanese nationals and foreign residents of Japan will be able to travel to these countries – at this time, only for business purposes – and have the 14-day isolation period waived upon their return so long as there trip is less than 7-days in duration and other requirements are met.

Entry to Japan/travel bans:

Due to the ongoing impact of COVID-19, some passport holders are currently banned from entering Japan. Please refer to the following website for a list of foreign national/passport-holders affected by the restrictions.

Reliable foreign language information sources


When reading about COVID-19 in Japan, we encourage you to refer to reputable sources. We recommend the following websites:

NHK

As the national broadcaster in Japan, NHK is a good news resource including TV and radio services: https://www3.nhk.or.jp/nhkworld/en/news/.

The Japan Times

National newspaper with an English language website: https://www.japantimes.co.jp/.go

JNTO COVID-19 Advisory

The Japan National Tourism Organization (JNTO) website provides up-to-date information for travellers including entry requirements/bans: https://www.japan.travel/en/coronavirus/.

JNTO Japan Safe Travel Twitter

The JNTO maintains a Twitter account providing real-time information relevant to travel in Japan: https://twitter.com/JapanSafeTravel.

Snow Monkey Resorts

Based in Nagano and operating all year round, we will continue to provide updates and information regarding the impact of COVID-19 in Central Japan: https://www.snowmonkeyresorts.com/.

Important information re understanding Japan’s COVID-19 response


hospital-health

To date, Japan has implemented a range of measures at both national and local levels to prevent the spread of COVID-19. In order to understand Japan’s response, it’s worth briefly explaining how the country is administered and importantly, its division into 47 administrative prefectures. Understanding what and where these prefectures are, and how they are controlled, is relevant to international travelers during COVID-19 as what applies to one may not apply to another.

Overview of Japan’s administration

The administration of Japan is divided into three levels: national, prefectural and municipal. At the national level, the Japanese Government controls the country from the national parliament in Tokyo. Japan is a democratic country with regular elections to determine its representatives and the ruling party.

Beneath the national government, Japan is divided into 47 ‘prefectures’ ranging in size and population. Hokkaido is the largest while Tokyo – the third smallest prefecture – has the largest population. Prefectures are then subdivided into municipal categories i.e. cities, towns, etc. – the third level of administration.

map-of-Japan

Travelers headed to Central Japan might be interested to know that Nagano is the fourth largest prefecture with the sixteenth largest population. It is however very much a rural prefecture and people are spread-out, meaning that Nagano has one of Japan’s lowest population densities, a fact that works in its favour when attempting  to stop the spread of COVID-19.

nagano-satoyama

The national government is obviously the most important administrative body in the country however the constitution also affords significant responsibility to each prefecture including education, labour, social welfare and health. While there is variation between prefectures in their administrative functions – i.e. taxes, schools, business conditions, etc. – most do not impact on international traveler.

The prefectures have the power to go their own way but it is important to note that the national government supplies the prefectures with up to 60% of their funding, which can be used a means of directing prefectural governments to follow the national agenda including closure of business and public facilities through declaration of a ‘state of emergency.

How is this relevant to international travelers?

For the most part, you won’t notice anything! But in the time of COVID-19, it’s worth noting:

1 / the national government determines who can enter Japan, for how long, and any requirements i.e. mandatory quarantine entrants are subject to. For further information, please refer to our ‘Traveling to/from Japan during COVID-19’ page.

2 / the 47 prefectures vary significantly in their make-up and impact of COVID-19. Restrictions placed on one will not necessarily apply to another. This is particularly relevant to ‘state of emergency’ status, which have until now applied longer to only a small number of prefectures, rather than the whole country.

To date, COVID-19 has had a varied impact across the prefectures and it is worthwhile looking at the data by region. For further information, please refer to our ‘Traveling inside Japan during COVID-19’ page.

3  / and very importantly, to-date, the Japanese government has not enforced a lock-down on any area of the country. State of emergency declarations have applied to various prefecture and the entire country for different periods of time, under which closure of businesses etc. were requested however at no time has Japan been under a forced lock-down.

Why hasn’t Japan enforced a lock-down?

In response to the spread of COVID-19 in Japan, the national government revised an existing law – the Act on Special Measures Against Swine Influenza – in order to define and make state of emergency declarations; first applied to Hokkaido, followed by Tokyo and a small number of prefectures before eventually being extended to the entire country on Apr. 16 2020.

Originally designed in response to swine flu, the law provides guidance for which business and facilities should be requested to close but does not include powers to enforce closures – as it was not considered necessary when the law was first drafted in response to swine flu. As such, the current law does not provide the government with the power to forcibly shut businesses and facilities. Nor is there provision to punish those who ignore requests to close, stay at home, etc.

As result, Japan has never been in forced lock-down. It is important to note however, the ruling LDP has control of both houses of parliament and could therefore (if required) revise or pass a new law which includes the power to enforce lock-down of Japan.  To date, it has not been considered necessary and as of May 25 2020, a state of emergency no longer applies to any prefecture.

Japan’s health system

Japan has one of the world’s best public health systems, evidenced in the fact that Japan is the longest living country in the world. As the oldest country in the world, there were serious concerns at the beginning of the COVID-19 outbreak about the potential impact of a pandemic on Japan’s ageing society, and the ability of the health system to respond.

hospital-health

International travelers to Japan can take confidence that they are coming to a country with one of the world’s best health systems and highest standards of care. However, given the considerable strain COVID-19 is placing on health systems and medical facilities around the world, it is important to understand what to expect and what facilities you have access to once you are here.

hospital-health

Information regarding Japan’s health system including foreign language services, please refer to our ‘Health Care & Assistance in Japan’ page.

Timeline of COVID-19 in Japan


hospital-health

The following timeline is intended to provide an accurate snapshot of the developing situation in Japan for international travelers:

Nov-26: the government has signalled that if the nationwide spread of COVID-19 infections is not reduced in the coming three weeks, they will have no choice but to declare a ‘state of emergency’. While no official decision has been made, the announcement puts the country on notice that should the situation not improve, a state of emergency will be reintroduce to at least some regions.

Nov-24: news outlet Bloomberg has released a report into the countries which have handled COVID-19 most efficiently with the least disruption to daily life and their economies.  Ranking 53 countries with economies of over $200 billion on 10 metrics including the overall spread of the virus, mortality rate, the capacity of the health system and affect on the economy, the research ranked New Zealand first,  Japan second and Taiwan third. The report cites Japan’s previous handling of tuberculosis outbreaks and existing facilities and contact tracing which have been effectively redeployed to tackle COVID-19.

Nov-09: the government has agreed to the resumption of short and long-term business travel from China from the middle of November onward, under the ‘Business Track’ currently open to nationals of Singapore, South Korea and Vietnam.

Nov-05: Japan has lowered the travel advisory from Level 3 to Level 2, for countries including Australia, Brunei, China including Hong Kong and Macau New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand and Vietnam. Japanese nationals and foreign residents of Japan will be able to travel to these countries – at this time, only for business purposes – and have the 14-day isolation period waived upon their return so long as there trip is less than 7-days in duration and other requirements are met.

Nov-02: nationals of 11 countries – including Australia, Brunei, China, Hong Kong, Macau, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand and Vietnam – will no longer need to be tested for COVID-19 upon arrival in Japan, so long as they have not traveled outside of their home country in the past 14 days.

Oct-22: the government is considering allowing short-term business travelers – up to 72 hours – from countries with ‘deep economic ties’ to Japan to enter from November onward. This would include nationals of China, South Korea and Taiwan in a step mirroring recent agreements with Singapore, South Korea and Vietnam under the ‘business track’.

Oct-05: announcement that South Korea is likely to join a handful of other countries in agreeing a business travel corridor with Japan. This would allow short and long-term business travel between the two countries

Sep-30: Japan has announced that it is likely to lower its travel advisory from ‘Level 3’ – a warning not to travel for any reason – to ‘Level 2’ – a warning to avoid all non-essential travel but allowing Japanese citizens to do so. It is expected that countries including Australia, New Zealand, Vietnam, Brunei and Belgium will be on this list. It is the first time Japan will have lowered its travel advisory since the beginning of the pandemic.

Sep-23: Government announces intention to loosen entry requirements for longer stay visitors – stay of 3 months or more i.e. international students – from October onward.

Sep-11: Government announces that Singapore will be added to countries covered by the ‘travel corridor’. At this stage, it remains tightly controlled and restricted to short-term business visitors only.

Sep-08: Government announces a ‘travel corridor’ will be opened for short-business visitors from Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Taiwan, Thailand and Vietnam.

Jul-24: Additional 17 countries added to list of those banned from entering Japan, bringing the total to 146

Jul-01: Further 18 countries added to those banned from entering Japan, bringing the the total to 129

May-27: Addition of further countries to the list of banned entries on this and the previous day brings the total to 111

May-25: State of emergency is lifted from all remaining prefectures – Tokyo, Satiama, Chiba, Kanagawa and Hokkaido

May-21: State of emergency is lifted from Osaka, Kyoto and Hyogo

May-14: Governments lifts state of emergency for 39 of Japan’s 47 prefectures. An emergency declaration remains for: Tokyo, Saitama, Chiba, Kanagawa, Hyogo, Kyoto, Osaka and Hokkaido

May-07: Improving data leads government to announce that the state of emergency might be lifted on May-21

May-03: Government extends state of emergency until May-31

Apr-27: Japan extends entry ban to another 14 countries – a total of 87 countries from which entry is now prohibited

Apri-17: COVID-19 cases pass 10,000

Apr-16: Government announces state of emergency applies to entire country and will last until at least May-06

Apr-10: Tokyo government announces further closures to businesses and other organisations in the capital

Apr-07: Government announces state of emergency in seven prefectures: Tokyo, Kanagawa, Saitama, Chiba, Hyogo, Fukuoka and Hokkaido

Apr-03: All entrants to Japan – both Japanese and foreign nationals – are required to undergo a 14-day quarantine

Apr-01: Japan Medical Association warns of pending ‘medical crisis condition’ due to a shortage of hospital beds for COVID-19 patients

Mar-30: Tokyo Olympics are rescheduled for July to August 2021. Tokyo residents are urged to stay at home

Mar-26: The Diamond Princess departs Japanese waters

Mar-25: Tokyo government announces first ‘soft lock-down’ of the capital including closure of restaurants, live music, etc.*

Mar-24: Government announces that the Tokyo Olympics will be postponed for up to one year

Mar-23: Tokyo passes Hokkaido as the prefecture with the highest number of COVID-19 cases. Canada announces it will not compete in the 2020 Olympics, scheduled for Tokyo in late-July

Mar-22: United States warns citizens to avoid non-essential travel to Japan. In response, Japan bans entry from the US

Mar-19: Japan imposes 14-day quarantine period on arrivals from 38 – mostly European – countries

Mar-17: Having previously been the country with the second most infections in the world, Japan is now ranked eleventh

Mar-14: The Central Japan Railway Company reduces service on the Tokaido Shinkansen Line – running between Tokyo and Osaka – to combat the spread of COVID-19

Mar-11: Government extends request to ban public events

Mar-05: Japan bans entry by travelers from China, South Korea and Iran

Mar-04: Total number of COVID-19 cases in Japan passes 1000, with 12 recorded deaths

Feb-29: First ‘state of emergency’ declared in Hokkaido Prefecture and government announces first emergency financial package

Feb-27: Government announces that all schools across Japan will close on Mar-02

Feb-26: Government requests that all major sporting and cultural events are cancelled to slow the spread of COVID-19. Nagano Prefecture announces first COVID-19 case

Feb-20: Second and third deaths due to COVID-19, formerly passengers on the Diamond Princess

Feb-13: Japan reports its first known fatality – a Japanese national in her 80s in Kanagawa Prefecture – from COVID-19

Feb-10: COVID-19 infections onboard the Diamond Princess now confirmed at ‘well over 100’

Feb-07: Japan becomes country with second most infections – behind China – primarily due to cases on the Diamond Princess

Feb-03: Diamond Princess cruise ship is quarantined off the coast of Yokohoma after a former passenger tests positive for COVID-19

Jan-31:  Japan bans entry of foreign nationals who visited Hubei Province, China, within the past 14 days and advises Japanese to avoid non-essential travel to China

Jan-28:  First confirmed infection of a person who had not recently traveled outside of Japan

Jan-24:  A second Chinese national in Japan test positive for COVID-19

Jan-23:  Japanese nationals advised to avoid travel to Wuhan, China

Jan-16:  First case of COVID-19 confirmed in Japan – a Chinese national in Kanagawa Prefecture

*Unlike many other countries, the Japanese government has not enforced a lock-down. Please refer above for details.