日本長野
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
聯繫
櫻花
櫻花品種及開花方式

櫻花品種及開花方式

cherry-blossom-sakura
tour-banner

您可能會驚訝地發現,日本的櫻花樹大約有20個品種,它們的外觀、大小、顏色和開花時間各不相同。這些都是一些最常見和最受歡迎的品種。

“染井吉野“(吉野櫻花)


somei-yoshino-cherry-blossom

櫻花是日本最經典的櫻花,是日本最常見的櫻花樹。在江戶時代(1603-1868年)因其美麗而被栽培,”染井吉野 “是一朵五瓣的小花,略帶粉紅色。在花開後,葉子才會萌芽,因此,在盛開的時候,樹冠上滿是白色和粉紅色,非常美麗。

山櫻花


yamazakura-cherry-blossom

山櫻”或”山花”樹也會開出5片花瓣的白色和粉紅色的脆弱花朵,但與染井吉野花不同的是,山櫻是野生的,沒有經過栽培。雖然花的樣子很相似,但山櫻在開花的同時也會生出葉子,因此開花的強度不如染井吉野樹,很容易區分。

八重櫻 (雙櫻花)


yaezakura-cherry-blossom

意思是 “雙櫻花”,每朵花有10至50個花瓣,顏色多樣,從鮮豔的粉紅色到深紅色再到純白色。雖然單個花瓣也很脆弱,但由於每朵花的數量增加,使八重櫻的外觀更加堅固,並能在樹上停留更長時間。

枝垂櫻


shidarezakura-cherry-blossom

垂下的細枝像柳樹一樣落在地上,因此得名,”枝垂櫻 “有兩個品種,開花期相隔一周左右。這種樹在日本深受人們的喜愛,在傳統藝術和詩歌中經常被描繪或引用。在這兩個品種中,一種與染井吉野有關–開出5片花瓣,另一種與八重櫻有關–開出更多的花朵–兩個品種都有不同的顏色。

禦衣黃桜


gyoikozakura-cherry-blossom

很多人都會懷念 “禦子花 “的獨特美景,因為它的花朵很大,而且顏色也會隨著開花而變化。從黃色的花瓣開始,隨著花瓣的成熟,花朵會變成綠色。很多日本人對這種櫻花並不熟悉,也不知道它是櫻花的一個品種,所以難得一見,也難得一拍。

櫻花是如何綻放的

雖然開花的時間會因地點和年份而異,但開花的持續時間是可以預測的。一旦一棵樹開始萌芽,在花瓣開始掉落和樹體逐漸變綠之前,大約一周後就會出現全面開花–這時至少有70%的花會開放。兩週後,花會消失,但在它們消失之前,你可以享受以下階段的 “花見”(賞花)。

開花 (初花)


cherry-blossom-sakura

初次開花的時間取決於季節和具體樹木的位置。由於對溫度的變化很敏感,很多因素都會影響到個別樹木何時開始萌芽。與輻射熱量的建築物、陽光直射和其他因素有關的位置決定了第一朵花何時出現。

cherry-blossom-sakura-ueda

被稱為 “開花”,開花的第一周會看到單個花朵開放,露出美麗而脆弱的花瓣。在一周的時間裡,隨著大部分花朵的開放,這棵樹很快就會迎來它的輝煌,樹的顏色和形態也會發生變化。

滿開(盛開)


somei-yoshino-cherry-blossom

開花一周後,樹木就會進入盛花期。被稱為 “滿開”的花樹,在春天明媚的藍天映襯下,開滿鮮花的景象令人驚嘆。在萬花盛開的時候,大型的賞花活動會在公園等熱門地點舉行,情侶、家庭、朋友們坐在地上,仰望著上面白色和粉色的樹冠,熱鬧非凡。

cherry-blossom-sakura

欣賞滿開的壯觀景像是所有來日本旅遊的遊客的一大亮點,晚上和白天一樣享受。紙燈籠通常掛在花冠下,在夜間亮起,將樹木投射在神奇的粉紅色光芒中。

桜吹雪 (櫻花雪)


cherry-blossom-sakura-tour-guests

花雪也被稱為 “花吹雪”,在個別樹木開花的第二週開始,脆弱的花朵開始下降。隨著時間的流逝,花瓣開始慢慢地落下,不久之後,花瓣就會向下面的人灑去,這是一種捕捉到花的短暫性和脆弱美的淒美表演。

櫻花樹最壯觀的地方是有許多樹木,它們會像一致的花瓣一樣脫落。當花瓣落地時,樹上新長出的芽葉綠意盎然。過不了多久,花兒就會完全消失,樹木的顏色和形態也會發生變化。但在那之前,漫步在樹下,接受櫻花的沐浴,是日本春天的亮點之一。

tour-banner

NAGANO JAPAN
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
CONTACT
CHERRY BLOSSOMS
Cherry Blossom Varieties & How They Bloom

Cherry Blossom Varieties & How They Bloom

cherry-blossom-sakura
tour-banner

You might be surprised to learn that there are around 20 varieties of cherry tree in Japan, ranging in appearance, size, colour and timing of their bloom. These are some of the most common and popular:

Somei Yoshino’ (Yoshino Cherry Blossom)


somei-yoshino-cherry-blossom

Considered the most classic cherry blossom, the ‘somei yoshino’ variety is the most common tree you’ll encounter in Japan. Cultivated for its beauty during the Edo Period (1603-1868), the somei yoshino is a small flower of five petals with a slightly pink hue. The trees are stunning in full bloom as their leaves do not bud until after the flowers reach their peak, creating the truly beautiful sight of trees heavy with a full white/pink canopy.

Yamazakura’ (Mountain Cherry Blossom)


yamazakura-cherry-blossom

‘Yamazakura’ or ‘Mountain Blossm’ trees also produce fragile white/pink flowers with five petals but unlike somei yoshino blossoms, the yamazakura occurs wild and was not cultivated. While the flowers look quite similar, yamazakura produce leaves at the same time that they flower making the full bloom less intense than somei yoshino tree and easy to distinguish.

Yaezakura’ (Double Cherry Blossom)


yaezakura-cherry-blossom

Translating as ‘double cherry blossom’ ‘yaezakura’ have anything from 10 to 50 petals per flower and occur in a wide variety of colours – from vibrant pink to deep red through to pure white. While individual petals are also fragile, the increased number in each flower gives yaezakura a more robust appearance and ability to stay on the tree longer.

Shidarezakura’ (Weeping Cherry Blossom)


shidarezakura-cherry-blossom

Named for their thin drooping branches that fall to the ground like a willow tree, ‘shidarezakura’ come in two varieties that bloom around one week apart. The trees are much-loved in Japan and often depicted or referenced in traditional art and poetry. Of the two types, one is related to the somei yoshino – producing 5-petaled flowers – while the other is related to the yaezakura – producing more robust flowers – with both varieties existing in a range of colours.

‘Gyoikozakura’ (Imperial Yellow Cherry Blossoms)


gyoikozakura-cherry-blossom

Many people will miss the uniquely beautiful sight of ‘gyoiko’ blossoms due to their large and uniquely coloured flowers that change as they bloom. Starting with yellow petals the flowers turn green as they mature. Even many Japanese are not familiar with this variety of cherry tree or may not realise they are a variety of sakura making them a rare treat to spot and photograph.

How the Blossoms Bloom

While the timing of the bloom will vary from location to location, and from year to year, the duration of the bloom is quite predictable. Once a tree begins to bud, full bloom – at which time at least 70% of the flowers will be open – will occur around one week later before the petals start to fall and the tree gradually greens. After two weeks the flowers will be gone but before they disappear, you can enjoy the following stages of ‘hanami’ (flower-viewing):

‘Kaika’ (first blossoms)


cherry-blossom-sakura

The timing of first bloom depends on the season and the location of the specific tree. Sensitive to the change in temperature, many factors influence when an individual tree starts to bud. Positioning in relation to buildings which radiate heat, direct sunshine and other elements determine when the first flowers will emerge.

cherry-blossom-sakura-ueda

Known as ‘kaika’, the first week of bloom will see individual flowers opening to reveal their beautiful, fragile petals. Over the course of the week the tree will quickly come to its full glory as the majority of flowers open and the tree is transformed in colour and form.

‘Mankai’ (full bloom)


somei-yoshino-cherry-blossom

One week after kaika, trees will reach full bloom. Known as ‘mankai’, the sight of the blossom trees heavily flowered set against the bright blue sky of spring, is truly stunning. Large hanami events are timed for mankai, with parks and other popular destinations packed with couples, families and friends sitting on the ground to look up at the canopy of white and pink above.

cherry-blossom-sakura

Enjoying the spectacular sight of mankai is a highlight for any visitor to Japan and one enjoyed as much at night as it can be during the day. Paper lanterns are often hung below the canopy of flowers, which at night light-up and cast the trees in a magical pink glow.

‘Sakurafubiki’ (cherry blossom blizzard)


cherry-blossom-sakura-tour-guests

Also known as ‘hanafubiki’, flower blizzard begins in the second week of an individual trees bloom as the fragile blossoms begin to fall. Beginning slowly and gathering pace as time passes by, individual petals begin to drop and before long are showering those below in a poignant display which captures the fleeting nature and fragile beauty of the flowers.

Sakurafubiki is at its most spectacular in areas of many trees, which will shed their petals as if in unison. As the petals fall to the ground, the trees green with the new growth of budding leaves. It won’t be long until the blossoms are completely gone and the trees are transformed in colour and form. But before that time, wandering beneath the trees to be showered by sakurafubiki is one of the highlights of Japan in spring.

tour-banner