日本長野
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
聯繫
Art Space Japan
藝術空間日本:奈良美智

藝術空間日本:奈良美智

yoshitomo-nara-art

奈良美智是日本北部青森縣人,已成為日本最成功的當代藝術家之一。他的繪畫和雕塑作品經常描繪兒童和動物,這些兒童和動物看起來既可愛又可怕,與周圍的世界有衝突。受西方和日本藝術運動的影響,包括來自他家鄉的 “漫畫 “技術,奈良的作品看起來很簡單,但他贏得了評論家和粉絲的讚譽和歡迎,發現他的藝術具有哲學和精神。

早年生活和孤獨

奈良美智1959年出生於青森縣,在離東京、大阪等創意中心很遠的農村長大。他是三個男孩中最小的一個,而他的哥哥們比他大10歲左右,父母忙於工作,使他度過了孤獨的童年。從小就被認為是個敏感的孩子,據說與動物在一起比與人在一起更舒服,更容易溝通。他的父親和祖父都是神道教徒,戰後美國的流行文化也影響了他的作品。

儘管沒有接觸過藝術,但吉友從小就開始雕塑和繪畫,進入青少年時期,他從專輯封面,尤其是西方樂隊的作品中獲得靈感。 1985年畢業後,他進入愛知縣立音樂美術大學攻讀藝術學士,之後又攻讀了藝術碩士。 1988年至1993年,吉友在德國居住,在德國國立藝術學院進行學徒訓練。這段時期,他受到了 “新表現主義 “的影響,他喜歡用激進的筆觸、濃重的輪廓和大膽的色彩來表達自己。

成長為一個現代藝術家

在德國的日子裡,吉友感受到了與童年一樣的孤獨和寂寞,學徒期滿後,他對藝術事業的價值產生了懷疑。 1993年,他在科隆成立了自己的工作室,在這個語言不通的國度裡,這是個很大的挑戰,在那裡,他為電影《羅塔離家出走》繪製了宣傳海報,獲得了第一次成功。在那裡,他為電影《羅塔離家出走》繪製了宣傳海報,獲得了第一次成功。隨後,他與日本小說家吉本芭娜娜的合作項目以及為日本樂隊繪製專輯封面的委託也接踵而至,這為奈良帶來了更大的成功,也使他在祖國的知名度不斷提高。

2000年,奈良美智回到日本,在東京成立了工作室。在這個時期,他作為 ” Superflat Movement “的一員而聞名於世。 ” Superflat Movement “是日本流行藝術的一種風格,與村上隆等著名藝術家有關聯。奈良美智的藝術與村上隆的數碼和明亮的藝術作品不同,他的藝術是用手畫或手繪的,色彩沉穩,喜歡粉彩和重複。他的作品以意志堅強的兒童和動物為主,他們既天真無邪,又凶狠脆弱,他們的面孔靈感來自於日本傳統的面具。因此,據說他的藝術反映了他一生中似乎一直在忍受的孤獨和疏離感。

認可度和知名度

21世紀初,隨著街頭藝術在世界範圍內的流行,以及陶瓷、攝影等其他媒介的發展,吉友的知名度在日本國內外不斷提高。 2011年,奈良美智在愛知縣立美術音樂大學擔任駐校教師,現在在日本和德國都有自己的工作室。他的作品在他的祖國日本和其他亞洲國家都很受歡迎,很容易進行大規模生產和商業應用,包括玩具、小雕像、T-shirt和許多其他產品的生產。

奈良美智:宣稱與批判


作為日本最成功的活躍藝術家之一,奈良美智的藝術存在著不同的觀點。對許多人來說,他的作品表面上的可愛讓人不寒而栗,讓藝術家能夠探索更深層次的主題,如孤立、侵略,或許還有厭惡,這些都是他生活的主旋律。而對其他人來說,他的作品則是簡單的、幼稚的、淺薄的,幾乎沒有揭示出周圍的世界。

奈良美智使用簡單的線條、色彩和簡潔的圖像,使他的肖像作品一目了然。因此,他的作品具有獨特的標誌性風格,這也使他的作品被大眾所關注。奈良美智採用簡單的繪畫技巧,遵循日本”漫畫”的傳統,用一種看似簡單的媒介來探索那些超越他個人經驗的感受,這些感受在日本文化中是根深蒂固的–在一個經常喜歡可愛和超現實,避免公開衝突的國家裡,孤獨、疏遠和憤怒的感覺。

然而,藝術家本人卻否認他的作品源自漫畫傳統,並聲稱他的作品具有更深層次的精神內涵,受到他的家庭直接經歷的神道信仰和教義的影響。評論家們對他的作品並不感冒,認為他的作品是 “kitstch”、”可愛 “和重複的。但是,如果說衡量一個藝術家的能力是看他是否能夠引起爭論的話,那麼無論你是否喜歡他的作品,都可以自信地說,奈良美智作為一個藝術家是成功的。

奈良美智:在哪裡可以找到他的作品


奈良美智的素描、繪畫、雕塑等作品在日本各地的博物館都有收藏,一些大型的戶外裝置作品也每年吸引著成千上萬的參觀者。下面的名單並不詳盡,但這些場所是欣賞奈良美智作品的最佳場所:

櫪木縣N’s YARD


N’s Yard位於東京以北約2.5小時車程的地方,是一座以奈良美智的作品為主題,並展示其他現代藝術家作品的私人博物館。博物館的選址是由奈良美智親自選定的,其設計的目的是為了營造一個休閒和個人化的環境,讓觀眾可以觀賞和體驗他的世界。五個展廳展示了他的繪畫、素描和雕塑,同時還展出了他個人收藏的唱片、玩偶和其他藝術家的作品。博物館坐落在一個寧靜的景觀和花園中,還包括一個咖啡館和博物館商店,可以購買他的作品。博物館每天開放,除週二和周三外,開放時間為10:00至17:00,最後一次入館時間為16:30。冬季也不開放,從12月中旬到3月下旬。入場費:成人1500日元/高中生1500日元。成人1500日元/高中生1000日元/中小學生500日元/學齡前及以下兒童免費。

原美術館


原美術館於19179年首次開館,是東京最早的現代藝術作品展示空間之一。如今,該館收藏了約1000件藝術品,包括繪畫、雕塑、裝置、攝影和錄像等,其中包括奈良美智、安迪-沃霍爾、馬克-羅斯科、傑克遜-波洛克等國際知名藝術家的作品。博物館的開放時間為每天11:00至16:00。12月28日~1月9日,週一閉館。成人1100日元/高中生、大學生700日元/中小學生500日元/70歲以上老人550日元。門票必須通過美術館的網站提前預訂。

金沢21世紀美術館


21st-Century-Museum-of-Contemporary-Art-kanazawa
tour-banner

金澤是北陸新幹線的北端,從東京出發,很容易到達。金澤是一個具有歷史意義的城市,擁有許多奇妙的博物館和美術館,是許多國際遊客的首選之地,其中最受歡迎的是21世紀現代美術館。其中最受歡迎的是金沢21世紀美術館。金沢21世紀美術館位於金澤城和兼六園旁邊,交通便利,是日本最好的現代美術館之一。館內展示了包括奈良美智在內的日本藝術家和國際藝術家的作品,包括永久收藏和特別/臨時展覽。開放時間為每天10:00-18:00(週五、週六延長至20:00)。星期一和新年期間休息。門票價格因展覽而異,但通常為1200日元左右。  

十和田市現代美術館,青森


yoshitomo-nara-art

十和田藝術中心位於奈良美智的故鄉青森縣,是位於十和田市的現代藝術博物館。展出了包括奈良美智和草間彌生在內的眾多知名現代藝術家的裝置和藝術作品,以其愉快的現代藝術收藏贏得了好評和歡迎。從東京出發,雖然路途遙遠,但如果你要去東京的話,也值得一去。開放時間為每天09:00~17:00,16:30為最後入館時間。星期一休館。成人票價:常藏520日元/特展800日元/常藏+特展1200日元。 18歲以下觀眾免費。

青森縣立美術館


青森縣立美術館位於奈良美智的故鄉,有常設收藏和臨時展覽兩種形式,其中奈良美智的8.5米高的 “青森縣 “戶外雕像是最引人注目的著名作品。博物館本身是在地面上挖掘出來的,白灰相間的外牆為吉友最著名的作品營造了一個沉悶而又醒目的環境。開放時間為每天09:30~17:00,16:30為最後入館時間。每月的第二和第四個星期一與12月28日休息。另外,由於新展覽的舉辦,不定期休館。入場費 成人510日元/大、中學生300日元/小、中學生100日元/學齡前兒童以下免費。  

tour-banner

NAGANO JAPAN
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
CONTACT
ART SPACE JAPAN
Art Space Japan: Yoshitomo Nara

Art Space Japan: Yoshitomo Nara

yoshitomo-nara-art

A native of Aomori Prefecture in the north of Japan, Yoshitomo Nara has established himself as one of Japan’s most successful contemporary artists. Gaining fame during Japan’s ‘Superflat’ pop art movement of the 1990s, his paintings and sculptures often depict children and animals that seem both sweet yet menacing and in conflict with the world around them. Influenced by both Western and Japanese art movements, including ‘manga’ techniques from his homeland, Yoshitomo’s work appears simple however he has won acclaim and popularity from critics and fans who find his art to be philosophical and spiritual.

Early Life & Loneliness

Born Aomori Prefecture in 1959, Yoshitomo Nara / 奈良 美智 grew-up in a rural community, a long way from the creative centres of Tokyo or Osaka. While he was youngest of three boys, his brothers were around ten years older and his parents maintained busy schedules, subjecting him to a lonely childhood. Seen as a sensitive boy from a young age, Yoshitomo has remarked that he felt more comfortable in the presence of and could communicate better with animals than humans. Both his father and grandfather were Shinto priests, the teachings of whom would come to influence his work along with American pop culture flooding into Japan following the end of the war.

Despite a lack of exposure to the arts, Yoshitomo started sculpting and painting at a young age and as he entered his teenage years, took inspiration from album covers, especially Western bands. Upon his school graduation, he enrolled in a Bachelor of Fine Arts at the Aichi Prefectural University of Fine Arts and Music in 1985 before moving onto a Master of Fine Arts. Between 1988 and 1993, Yoshitomo resided in Germany where he undertook an apprenticeship at the German State Academy of Arts. This period was highly influential as he was exposed to ‘neo-expressionist’ preferences for aggressive brushstrokes, heavy outlines, and bold colours to express himself.

Maturing into a Modern Artist

During his time in Germany, Yoshitomo felt loneliness and isolation similar to that of his childhood, and upon completion of his apprenticeship, he questioned the value of a career in the arts. Despite his misgivings, he setup his own studio in Cologne in 1993 – a great challenge in country in which he barely spoke the language – where he would enjoy his first success by drawing promotional posters for the film ‘Lotta Leaves Home’. Collaborative projects with Japanese novelist Yoshimoto Banana and commissions to draw album covers for Japanese bands would soon follow, and brought Yoshitomo further success and an increasing public profile in his homeland.

Yoshitomo Nara returned to Japan in 2000 and setup a studio in Tokyo. Around this time, he became known as part of the ‘Superflat Movement’, a style of Japanese pop art of which other notable artists such as Murakami Takashi are associated. Distinctly different to the digital and bright artwork of Murakami, Yoshitomo Nara’s art is drawn or painted by hand and is subdued in colour, with a preference for pastels and repetition. Strong-willed children and animals dominate his artwork, at once innocent, menacing yet vulnerable and bearing faces inspired by traditional Japanese masks. As such, his art is said to reflect feelings of isolation and alienation he has seemingly endured his entire life.

Recognition & Popularity

Through the early-21st century, Yoshitomo’s profile continued to rise in both Japan and aboard, as his style was easily conflated with the emerging popularity of street art around the world and as he explored additional mediums including ceramics and photography. In 2011, Yoshitomo took-up residency at the Aichi Prefectural University of Fine Arts and Music and now operates studios in both Japan and Germany. His work has found popularity in both his homeland of Japan and other Asian countries, lending itself easily to mass production and commercial application including production of toys, figurines, t-shirts and many other products.

YOSHITOMO NARA: ACCLAIM vs CRITICISM


One of Japan’s most successful active artists, Yoshitomo Nara’s art divides opinion. For many, its apparent cuteness is disarming, allowing the artist to explore deeper themes of isolation, aggression and perhaps loathing that have dominated his life. For others, his work is simplistic, juvenile and shallow, revealing little about the world around them.

Yoshitomo’s use of simple lines, colours and spare imagery make his portraits instantly recongisable. In doing so, he has an unmistakable and signature style that has elevated his work into the popular consciousness. Employing a simple drawing technique, Yoshitomo follows Japan’s tradition of ‘manga’ in using a seemingly simple medium to explore feelings that transcend his personal experience to those that are engrained in Japanese culture – feelings of isolation, alienation and simmering anger, in a country that often favours the cute and surreal and avoiding open conflict.

Yet the artist himself denies his work stems from the tradition of manga and claims deeper spirituality in his work, influenced by Shinto beliefs and teachings directly experienced through his family. Critics of his work are not won-over by any such arguments finding his work to be ‘kitstch’, ‘cutesy’ and repetitive. However if a measure of an artist their ability to generate debate, then whether you like his work or not, it can be confidently said that Yoshitomo Nara is succeeding as an artist.

YOSHITOMO NARA: WHERE TO FIND HIS WORK


Given his popularity, the drawings, paintings and sculptors of Yoshitomo Nara can be found in many museum collections across Japan, with some large outdoor installations also attracting thousands of visitors each year. The list below is by no means exhaustive however these venues offer the best opportunities to enjoy his work:

N’s YARD, Tochigi


Located around 2.5 hours north of Tokyo, N’s Yard is a private museum dedicated to the work of Yoshitomo Nara and exhibiting other modern artists. The museum’s location was selected by Yoshitomo and its design intended to create a casual and personal setting in which viewers can view and experience his world. Five galleries exhibit his paintings, drawings and sculptures along with exhibition of his personal collection of records, dolls and work by other artists. Set in a tranquil landscape and garden, the museum also includes a cafe and museum shop, where his work is available to purchase. The museum is open daily – except for Tuesdays and Wednesdays – from 10:00 to 17:00 with last entry at 16:30. Also closed during winter, from mid-December to late-March. Admission costs: Adult JPY1500 / High School Students JPY1000 / Primary & Junior High School JPY500 / Preschool and below are free of charge.

HARA MUSEUM OF CONTEMPORARY ART, Tokyo


First opened in 19179, the Hara Museum of Contemporary Art was one of the first exhibition spaces in Tokyo to be dedicated to modern artwork. Today, the museum houses around 1000 artworks – including paintings, sculptures, installations, photographs and videos – and includes pieces by renowned international artists including Yoshitomo Nara, Andy Warhol, Mark Rothko, and Jackson Pollock. The museum is open daily from 11:00 to 16:00. Closed on Mondays, between exhibitions and Dec.28-Jan.9. Admission costs: Adult JPY1100 / High School & Uni Students JPY700 / Primary & Junior High School Students JPY500 / Seniors (70+) JPY550. Tickets must be booked in advance via the museum’s website.

21st CENTURY MUSEUM OF CONTEMPORARY ART, Kanazawa  


21st-Century-Museum-of-Contemporary-Art-kanazawa
tour-banner

As the northern terminus of the Hokuriku Shinkansen line, Kanazawa is an easy destination to reach from Tokyo. A popular stop for many international visitors, Kanazawa is a historically important city with several fantastic museums and galleries. Among them, the 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art is the most popular. Conveniently located next to Kenrokuen Garden and Kanazawa Castle, the 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art is one of Japan’s finest modern art museums. The museum exhibits artworks by both Japanese – including Yoshitomo Nara – and international artists, including a permanent collection and special/temporary exhibitions. Open daily from 10:00 to 18:00 (extended to 20:00 on Fridays and Saturdays). Closed Mondays and over the New Year period. Admission prices varies depending on the exhibition however is usually around JPY1200.

TOWADA ART CENTER, Aomori


yoshitomo-nara-art

Located in Yoshitomo Nara’s home prefecture of Aomori, the Towada Art Center is a contemporary art museum located in Towada City. Exhibiting installations and artworks by many high-profile contemporary artists including both Yoshitomo Nara and Kusama Yayoi, the museum has won praise and popularity for its enjoyable collection of modern art. A long way from Tokyo but if you’re headed that way, well worth visiting. Open daily from 09:00 to 17:00 with last entry at 16:30. Closed on Mondays. Admission costs for adults: permanent collection JPY520 / special exhibition JPY800 / permanent collection + special exhibition JPY1200. Visitors aged under 18 are free of charge.

AOMORI MUSEUM OF ART, Aomori


Also located in his home prefecture, the Aomori Museum of Art includes both a permanent collection and temporary exhibitions, of which, Yoshitomo Nara’s 8.5 metre tall ‘Aomori-Ken’ outdoor statue is the most visible and famous artwork on display. The museum itself is dug-out the ground, with an imposing facade of white and grey creating a sombre yet striking setting for one of Yoshitomo’s most famous artworks. Open daily from 09:30 to 17:00 with last entry at 16:30. Closed on the second and forth Monday of each months along with Dec.28. Also closed irregularly for installation of new exhibitions. Admission costs: Adult JPY510 / Uni. & High School Students JPY300 / Primary & Junior High School JPY100 / Preschool and below are free of charge.

tour-banner