日本长野
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
联系
Art Space Japan
艺术空间日本:新海诚

艺术空间日本:新海诚

your-name-makoto-shinkai-yotsuya

新海诚是长野县人,是近年来在国内外声名鹊起的日本动画师、电影制作人和 “漫画家”。他在2017年拍摄的电影《你的名字》超越吉卜力工作室的《千与千寻》,成为历史上票房最高的动画电影,也因此预示着一位被很多人视为偶像宫崎骏隼的继承人的动画师的到来。

成长阶段

新海诚1973年出生于长野县幸美镇,他说自己的童年是在大自然的包围下成长的田园风光。小时候,他用水彩画画,晚上盯着家门口晴朗而充满星光的天空发呆。出生于建筑行业的家庭,作为长子的他被寄予厚望,虽然从小就没有明确的理想,但他知道那不是正确的道路。

在学校里,新海喜欢阅读,喜欢 “漫画 “和 “动画”。他是文学社的成员,自己画图画书,喜欢宫崎骏的电影,其中《鲁邦三世:卡里奥斯特罗之城》、《天空之城》、《风之谷》是他的最爱。毕业后,他考入中央大学日本文学专业,离开故乡来到东京。  

寻找自己的道路

1996年大学毕业后,新海诚顺理成章地进入了一家建筑公司,准备最终接手家族企业。在家人的愤怒下,新海诚在最后一刻放弃了这些计划,转而到电子游戏公司Falcom工作,在接下来的5年时间里,他将在那里制作网络内容和视频游戏的剪辑。

在这段时间里,新海很喜欢将画面与音乐相配的过程,并在1999年制作了一部名为《她和她的猫》的短片,作为副业,该片获得了2000年DoGA CG动画大赛的大奖。该片在2000年的DoGA CG动画大赛中获得了大奖,由此,他的全职从业之路更加清晰。获奖后,新海开始制作第二部动画《星之声》,而它不久前,他被公司’漫画动物园’联系,提供给他。与他合作。因此,新海在2001年辞去工作,全身心地投入到 在他的第二部动画上。

2002年,《星之声》上映,2004年又推出90分钟的《云之彼端,约定之地》。新海作为动画师和电影制作人的地位迅速提升,获得了评论界和大众的一致好评。2007年,他制作了《秒速五厘米》,之后便退出了日本的动画制作。在接下来的作品中,他在全球范围内的名气也越来越大。

崛起的起点上升

2011年推出《追逐繁星的孩子》,2013年新垣又推出《言叶之庭》,2016年又去推出《你的名字》。你的名字》深受观众喜爱,到2017年,《你的名字》是日本有史以来票房第五高的电影,2019年,超过吉卜力工作室的《千与千寻》,成为有史以来票房最高的动画。

your-name-makoto-shinkai

本片由新海导演执导,讲述了一个农村小镇的高中生厌倦了自己的生活,渴望到东京生活的故事。莫名其妙地,她开始与东京的高中生互换身体,起初他们都以为是梦境,后来才发现他们可以互相交流,并向对方走去。本片以年轻观众为对象,以其精巧的故事、经典的主题和迷人的美感在国内外广受欢迎,赢得了许多世代的粉丝。

your-name-makoto-shinkai-tateishi-park-suwa-lake

由此,《你的名字》奠定了新海诚作为日本最知名的动画师之一,也是已经正式退休(但仍在工作)的宫崎骏的继承人。2019年,新海的下一部作品《天气之子》上映,同样赢得了观众的喜爱和好评,也巩固了他作为日本当代动画师最高调、最成功的地位。

新宫崎?新海诚品的成名之路


your-name-makoto-shinkai-hida-takayama-station
tour-banner

新海诚在动画界的崛起,乍一看似乎很快。与经常被拿来比较的前辈宫崎骏被认为是日本在世的最伟大的动画师和动画电影导演不同,新海没有明显的和长期在传统动画公司学徒的经历,来解释他的稳步崛起。在很多方面,他的成功都是在一夜之间出现的,与之前的那些人形成了鲜明的对比……。

在事实上,新海只是众多年轻的动画师中最有名的一个,他的作品已经被很多人接受。越来越强大的动画工具和软件的优势,它们是 可供人们在家中使用。曾在电子游戏上切磋过动画,并学会了将图形与音乐配合起来表达情感的技巧。新海诚能够控制自己项目的所有方面。与宫崎骏不同的是,宫崎骏率先将计算机图形学融入到他的作品中。新海在他的手绘动画中,几乎是以手绘为主,他的世界是以手绘为主的。他的电影的所有方面都是电脑生成的,但却遵循着一种美学和艺术的原则。日本观众熟悉的语气。

新海诚的电影运用了美丽的风景、变幻的光线和音乐来传达人物的情感和推动故事的发展。在这样做的时候,他们避免了对话,这样的方式既能满足观众的需求,又能疏远另一个观众,让观众沉浸在他的电影中,仿佛通过自己的眼睛看到了他的精美的世界。大自然在他的动画中扮演着重要的角色–吉卜力工作室的电影中也是如此–并以此与日本人对自然世界的深厚感情以及对更纯净、更简单的时代的渴望联系在一起。

在哪里可以体验到新海诚品的世界


目前,虽然没有专门的新海诚动画博物馆,但是对于新海诚的粉丝来说,他的电影中所描绘的很多地点都是真实存在的,包括他最著名的电影,都可以参观:

“你的名字 “在现实生活中的位置

作为新海迄今为止最成功的电影,《你的名字》中的很多场景都是真实的场景。很多场景在东京,还有一些在他的家乡长野地区。最具代表性的地点可能是东京的须贺神社阶梯。

your-name-locations

经常出现在宣传画面中,甚至有些没看过电影的人也能认出这个地点。NTT Docomo代代木大厦的外观具有鲜明的纽约风格,以新野町站附近的人行天桥为中心的场景也让人一眼就能认出。

your-name-locations

新宿警察署后面的十字路口是影片中另一个显著的地标,其独特的环形结构很容易识别。

your-name-locations

在东京之外,新海的故乡长野县诹访一带也是特色鲜明。其中,从立石公园眺望,可以看到广阔的诹访湖水。

your-name-locations

最后,再往日本中部和高山周边的风景区走,多気从东京出发去寻找糸守的时候,飛騨古川站就会出现。

tour-banner

NAGANO JAPAN
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
CONTACT
Art Space Japan
Art Space Japan: Shinkai Makoto

Art Space Japan: Shinkai Makoto

your-name-makoto-shinkai-yotsuya

A native of Nagano Prefecture, Shinkai Makoto / 新海 誠 is an Japanese animator, filmmaker and ‘manga’ artist who has risen to fame in recent years, in both Japan and abroad. His 2017 film ‘Your Name’ surpassed Studio Ghibli’s ‘Spirited Away’ as the highest grossing animated film in history, and in doing so, heralded the arrival of an animator whom many see as the heir-apparent to the iconic Miyazaki Hayao.

Formative Years

Born in the small town of Koumi, Nagano in 1973, Shinkai Makoto describes his childhood as an idyllic upbringing surrounded by nature. As a child, he painted with watercolours and would become lost staring at the clear and star-filled sky above his home at night. Born into a family in the construction industry, as the eldest son he was expected to take on the business and though he didn’t have a clear vision from a young age, he knew that was not the right path to follow.

Through his schooling, Shinkai loved reading, ‘manga’ and ‘anime’. A member of a literature club, he drew his own picture books and loved the films of Miyazaki Hayao of which ‘The Castle of Cagliostro’, ‘Laputa: Castle in the Sky’, and ‘Nausicaa’ ranked amoung his favourites. Upon his graduation from school, he enrolled to study Japanese literature at Chuo University, leaving his beloved hometown and moving to Tokyo.

Finding His Own Path

After his graduation from university in 1996, Shinkai had fallen into line with expectation and was set to enter a construction company in preparation for eventually taking on the family business. To the ire of his family, Shinkai abandoned those plans at the last minute and instead took a job at video game company Falcom, where he would work for the next five years producing web content and video clips for games.

During this time, Shinkai enjoyed the process of matching images with music and as a side project, produced a short film titled ‘She and Her Cat’ in 1999. The film won the grand prize at the DoGA CG Animation Contest in 2000, and with that, his path to a full-time career in the industry became more apparent. Following the award, Shinkai began working on his second animation ‘Voice of a Distant Star’ and it wasn’t long before he was contacted by company ‘Manga Zoo’ which offered to collaborate with him. As a result, Shinkai quit his job in 2001 to focus fully on his second animation.

‘Voice of a Distant Star’ was released in 2002 and followed by the 90-minute ‘The Place Promised in Our Early Day’s in 2004. Wining critical and popular acclaim, Shinkai’s profile as an animator and film-maker was rising quickly. He would go onto produce ‘5 Centimeters per Second’ in 2007 before taking a break from animation away from Japan. His next projects would catapult him to fame and acclaim globally.

A Rising Start Ascends

Releasing ‘Children Who Chase Lost Voices from Deep Below’ in 2011, Shinaki followed-up with ‘The Garden of Words’ in 2013 before going to release ‘Your Name’ in 2016. Hugely popular with audiences, ‘Your Name’ was the fifth-highest grossing film of all time in Japan by 2017 and in 2019, surpassed Studio Ghibli’s ‘Spirited Away’ as the highest grossing anime of all time.

your-name-makoto-shinkai

Directed by Shinkai, the film tells the story of a high school boy in in a rural town who is bored of her life, and longs to live in Tokyo. Inexplicably, she begins to switch bodies with a high school boy in Tokyo; experiences they both believe to be dreams at first before realising they can communicate with each other as they move on a journey toward each other. Aimed at a younger audience, the film found popularity throughout Japan and abroad for its masterful storytelling, classic themes and captivating beauty – winning many fans of all generations.

your-name-makoto-shinkai-tateishi-park-suwa-lake

In doing so, ‘Your Name’ established Shinkai Makoto as one of Japan’s most acclaimed animators and heir-apparent to the officially retired (yet still working) Miyazaki Hayao. Shinkai’s next film, ‘Weathering with You’ was released in 2019, also winning popularity with audiences and critical acclaim and cementing his place as Japan’s highest-profile and successful contemporary animators.

THE ‘NEW MIYAZAKI’? SHINKAI MAKOTO’S RISE TO FAME


your-name-makoto-shinkai-hida-takayama-station
tour-banner

Shinkai Makoto’s rise to the top of the animation industry appears at first glance to have occurred quickly. Unlike his often compared predecessor Miyazaki Hayao – considered Japan’s greatest living animator and anime film director – Shinkai has no demonstrable and long apprenticeship with traditional animation companies to point at in explanation for a steady rise to prominence. In many ways, his success appears overnight and in stark contrast to those who came before him…

In truth, Shinkai is just the most famous of many younger animators who have taken advantage of increasingly capable animation tools and software that are available to people in their homes. Having cut his teeth on video game animation and learnt the skill of matching graphics to music to express emotion, Shinkai Makoto was able to take control of all aspects of his own projects. Unlike Miyazaki, who was pioneering in his incorporation of computer graphics into his still largely hand-drawn animations, Shinkai exists in a world in which almost all aspects of his films are computer-generated yet following an aesthetic and tone that is familiar to Japanese audiences.

The films of Shinkai Makoto employ beautiful scenery, shifting light and music to convey the emotion of characters and propel the story. In doing so, they avoid dialogue that way work with one audience yet alienate another, allowing the viewer to fall into his films and see his beautifully crafted worlds as though through their own eyes. Nature plays a prominent role in his animations – as it does in the films of Studio Ghibli – and in doing so, connects with Japan’s deep emotional ties to the natural world and a longing for a purer, simpler time.

WHERE TO EXPERIENCE THE WORLD OF SHINKAI MAKOTO


At this time, there is are no museums dedicated to the animation of Shinkai Makoto however for fans of his work, many of the locations depicted in his films are real and can be visited including his most famous film to-date:

THE REAL LIFE LOCATIONS OF YOUR NAME’

Shinkai’s most successful film to date, many scenes in ‘Your Name’ are real locations. Many are in Tokyo with other in his home region of Nagano. Perhaps the most iconic spot is the Suga Shrine stairs in Tokyo.

your-name-locations

Often used in promotional images, this location will even be recognised by some people who haven’t seen the film. The distinctly New York-esque appearance the NTT Docomo Yoyogi Building is also immediately recognisable, seen in the scenes centred around the pedestrian footbridge nearby a Shinanomachi Station.

your-name-locations

The intersection behind the Shinjuku police station is another prominent landmark the the film – easily identifiable by its distinctive ring construction.

your-name-locations

Away from Tokyo, Shinkai’s home region around Suwa in Nagano features strongly. Most prominently, the expansive waters of Suwa Lake can be seen from Tateishi Park.

your-name-locations

Finally, moving further into Central Japan and the scenic region around Takayama, Hida-Furukawa Station is featured when Taki departs Tokyo in search of Itomori.

tour-banner