日本长野
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
联系
艺术空间日本
艺术空间日本:宫崎骏和吉卜力工作室

艺术空间日本:宫崎骏和吉卜力工作室

spirited-away-studio-ghibli

宫崎駿是当今日本流行文化中最著名的人物之一。 宫崎骏是动画师、导演、漫画家、制片人、编剧和作家,他是日本最受欢迎的著名动画工作室吉卜力工作室的创始人之一。 因此,宫崎骏的名气已经超越了 “动漫 “和他的祖国日本,他作为日本流行文化中最具传奇色彩的人物之一,在全球享有盛誉。

totoro-studio-ghibli-art

1941年,宫崎骏出生于东京的一个富裕家庭,他进入了一个被战争吞噬的世界,一个即将与西方国家发生致命的太平洋冲突的国家。 到1944年,日本的战事转向,东京的轰炸越来越猛烈,宫崎与家人一起撤离了首都。 当时只有三岁,这段经历对年幼的宫崎骏影响很大,后来在他的几部电影的主题和场景中都有体现。 宫崎在1947年开始上学,几年后全家搬回东京。 在福岛哲司、山川宗治、手冢治虫等名家的影响下,宫崎骏从小就立志成为一名 “漫画家”。 在学校期间,他不断地练习和完善自己的艺术,后来考入了学园大学的政治学和经济学专业,在学习期间继续把画画作为爱好。

学习工艺

宫崎于1963年进入东映动画公司担任 “中间画师”(负责绘制连接图像的中间帧),从而进入了动画或 “动漫 “行业。 宫崎骏同时从事长篇电影和电视动画的制作,很快就担任了《太阳王子霍尔斯的大冒险》的总动画师,并与大冢康夫和高畑勲建立了工作关系,并将这种关系贯穿于他的职业生涯。

在接下来的几年里,宫崎骏继续参与了多家公司的许多影视项目。 值得一提的是,在为TMS娱乐公司工作时,他于1979年执导了自己的第一部电影《卡里奥斯特罗之城》。 不久之后,宫崎骏开始投稿自己的动画片概念,这些提案最终都失败了,但从1982年开始,他出版了七卷本的《风之谷的娜乌西卡》。 在该系列成功之后,宫崎骏同意执导《娜乌西卡》改编电影。 该片于1984年3月上映,因其反战、女权、环保主题而受到观众的热捧,并受到好评。 这部电影巩固了宫崎骏作为日本最杰出的动画师之一的声誉,并为他成立自己的工作室提供了支持。

吉卜力工作室的诞生

1985年6月,宫崎骏与高畑勲等其他三位联合创始人成立了吉卜力工作室动画公司。 该工作室的第一部电影《拉普达:天空之城》于1986年上映。 这部作品大受欢迎,是该公司的完美处女作,很快就有《我的邻居是龙猫》和《萤火虫之墓》,公司很快就证明了自己的可行性。

totoro-studio-ghibli-art

从那时起,电影公司定期制作电影,大部分产出都获得了观众的好评和欢迎。 在宫崎骏的指导下,工作室平衡了通常严肃而成熟的主题与美丽的艺术作品和故事线,吸引了儿童和成人。

全球赞誉

1995年,工作室开始制作《魔法公主》,这是工作室第一部利用电脑动画元素与手绘艺术相结合的电影。 该片于1997年上映,成为第一部获得 “日本学院价年度最佳影片 “的动画电影,也因此在国外的电影院上映。

princess-mononoke-studio-ghibli

随着现在吉卜力工作室在日本以外的知名度越来越高,吉卜力工作室开始着手制作下一部电影《千与千寻》。 本片于2001年上映,讲述了10岁的千寻冒险进入灵异世界,必须要走回平凡的世界,并在此过程中成长起来的故事。 该片在商业上取得了巨大的成功,也得到了广泛的好评,获得了 “日本奥斯卡年度最佳影片奖 “和美国 “奥斯卡最佳动画片奖”。 作为一部瞬间的经典之作,该片将吉卜力工作室推向了国际社会的视野,并超越了传统的动漫迷受众群体,真正走向了全球观众。

spirited-away-studio-ghibli

从那时起,吉卜力工作室不断推出广受好评的影片,包括《哈尔的移动城堡》、《悬崖上的金鱼姬》、《起风了》等,这些影片都是由宫崎骏导演的。 自成立以来,工作室在宫崎骏或其他动画师的指导下,与其他工作室合作制作了20多部故事片。

howls-moving-castle-studio-ghibli

2013年,宫崎骏宣布因年龄原因退出剧情片制作,但他仍积极投入到工作中,为位于东京三鹰的吉卜力工作室博物馆奉献了大量精力。 宫崎骏在他的职业生涯中获得了许多日本和国际奖项,他似乎并没有完全从电影制作中走出来,2019年有报道称,他将执导即将上映的吉卜力工作室电影。 ‘你是如何生活的?

为什么吉卜力工作室在日本如此受欢迎和受到好评?


kikis-delivery-service-studio-ghibli

在这个以制作动画或 “动漫 “而闻名的国家,有一家工作室能取得吉卜力工作室这样的一致好评和成功,实在是有些不可思议。 在宫崎骏早苗的指导下,该工作室通常制作的电影都具有明确和相关的信息,通常涉及相关问题,包括环境恶化、技术的负面影响、贪婪、剥削和战争。 然而,它通过经典的逆境作为自我发现的手段,以一种老少皆宜的方式吸引了广大观众。

spirited-away-studio-ghibli

吉卜力工作室将崇高和神奇与日常和熟悉的吉卜力作品毫不费力地融合在一起,电影的背景设定在现实中,既亲切又梦幻,是我们可以想象的世界,但又是如此独特,让我们想亲自去看看。 这样一来,电影提供了逃避现实的机会,并以强烈的人文主义信息为支撑,带着观众进行了一次有意义的旅行,目的明确。 这些影片从佛教和神道信仰体系、日本民间传说以及日本人对更简单、更纯粹的历史的渴望中汲取灵感,为我们提供了一个独特的视角,让我们了解日本的结构–这个现代国家仍然向农村和传统根源看齐,寻求人与自然更和谐的共存。

在哪里享受和体验吉卜力工作室的世界


ponyo-studio-ghibli
tour-banner

对于宫崎骏早苗和吉卜力工作室的电影爱好者,或者对宫崎骏早苗和吉卜力工作室的作品稍有兴趣的人来说,至少目前只有一个真正的选择–博物馆。 然而,随着电影从现实生活中汲取灵感,你也可以体验到一些最受欢迎的电影的创作者所激发的城镇和景观。

吉卜力美术馆,东京


totoro-studio-ghibli-art

吉卜力博物馆位于东京三鹰,介绍吉卜力工作室的电影。 该博物馆由传奇导演宫崎骏创立,设有儿童展、技术艺术展和美术展,展示电影制作过程,让不同年龄段的客人都能在博物馆里找到乐趣。 参观人数控制严格,提前出票,并注明具体使用日期和时间。 门票不能在博物馆购买,而是可以在网上或通过参与的供应商和代理商购买。 始终很受欢迎,你需要提前计划,门票通常会在3到6个月前售罄。 入场费:成人(19岁以上)1000日元 / 青少年(13-18岁)700日元 / 儿童(7-12岁)400日元 / 幼儿(4-6岁)100日元。

howls-moving-castle-studio-ghibli

由于博物馆门票需求量大,提前预订一空,很多国际游客会遗憾地错过。 但不要因此而气馁! 吉卜力工作室在日本中部的这些地方,以日本的传统和信仰为根基,以遍布全国的真实风景和地点为素材,讲述着一个个故事。

千与千寻


anime-art-studio-ghibli

吉卜力工作室迄今为止最受欢迎、最受好评的电影《千与千寻》在全世界范围内广为人知,深受喜爱。 该片讲述了10岁的千寻偶然进入灵界,为了挣回人类世界,她在大浴场的灵界做了一份工作。 作为电影公司的代表作和电影经典,日本各地的许多传统 “温泉”(天然温泉)浴场和城镇都声称是电影中心的灵感来源,特别是四国的道後温泉、群马的四万温泉和长野的涉温泉

anime-art-studio-ghibli

位于山之内的温泉地区,从地狱谷雪猴公园步行即可到达,涉温泉拥有1300年的历史,是一个拥有众多温泉源的疗养地。 位于涩温泉中心附近的 “歴史之宿金具屋 “是一座拥有250年历史的温泉旅馆,4层楼高的外墙让人联想到神灵的大浴场。 在宾馆内,多个温泉源为众多浴池提供水源,温泉和客房之间的木质走廊和楼梯杂乱无章,没有两个房间的形状是一样的。

Kanaguya inspiriation for Spirited Away Ghibli

来到涩温泉的游客,从外观上看,可以享受到宾馆的乐趣,但要想了解其内部的情况,就必须预订房间,但相信我们,这是很值得的。 有关涩温泉的住宿信息,请看我们的 “山之内地区-雪猴之乡 “酒店页面

邻居托托罗


totoro-studio-ghibli-art

也许是继《千与千寻》之后的又一部最受欢迎的电影,《邻居托托罗》面向的是年轻观众,但往往受到成年人的喜爱。 简单的故事主要讲述了母亲生病住院时,姐妹俩佐月和小美随父亲搬进乡间别墅的故事。 在那里,他们遇到了一个鬼魂的世界,先是在房子里,然后在周围的树林里,他们发现了同名的龙猫–一个现在深受日本儿童喜爱的灰色大动物。

totoro-studio-ghibli-art

對於電影迷來說,在名古屋的爱・地球博记念馆內,有一座重建的佐月和小美的農家。 就像东京的博物馆一样,如果你想去参观,需要提前预约,因为门票很抢手!

echigo-tsumari-niigata

影片所处的田园风光–古朴的乡间民居、稻田、森林、古老的祠堂和单轨铁路,往往给与吉卜力其他影片一起观看龙猫的人留下深刻印象。 这种景观通常被称为 “里山”,在日本全国各地都能看到,尤其是在长野、新潟、岐阜、富山等日本中部的农村地区。

niigata-kominka-edit

新潟县的汤泽一带是越后妻有大地艺术祭的地方,那里以古色古香的房屋和传统的生活方式而闻名。 另外,松本市郊外、北阿尔卑斯山阴影下的安昙野地区也是这样的景观,游客可以乘坐乡间小火车,穿过稻田和农田,进入吉卜力工作室的领域。

oito-line

新潟的住宿信息请参考 “汤泽地区 “酒店页面,安昙野的住宿信息请参考 “穗高温泉京地区 “酒店页面。

莫诺克公主


princess-mononoke-studio-ghibli

《莫诺克公主》是吉卜力最早的电影之一,讲述了小王子阿希特卡在一次袭击中被感染,出发寻找治疗方法时,遇到了掠夺自然环境的人类与生活在自然环境中的神灵之间的冲突。 该片备受好评和观众喜爱,通过对森林和自然景观的唯美渲染,放大了影片明显的环保信息。

princess-mononoke-studio-ghibli

现在要说明的是,众所周知,这部电影的灵感来源于被列入世界遗产名录的屋久岛的古老森林–一个值得一去的地方,原因很多。 然而,由于位于鹿儿岛的海岸线上,许多国际游客在日本时都没有时间前往该岛。

princess-mononoke-studio-ghibli

但这并不是说他们不能体验电影中所描绘的风景和主题,日本的许多森林被认为是神灵的领地,具有重要的精神意义。

togakushi

长野市郊区的户隐就是其中之一。 这里有日本最重要的神社,与日本的创世神话有很深的渊源,户隐是一个真正有灵性的地方。 最著名的是 “奥社”,也就是 “本社”,前面是一条由巨大的杉树组成的街道,据说这里有神灵居住。 作为整个建筑群的五座神社之一,每座神社都坐落在森林中,可以沿着步行道步行前往。

togakushi

虽然需要说明的是,户隐并不是电影的直接灵感来源,森林也与屋久岛上的森林不同,但其对神道教的重要性是基于同样的信念,即古森林的价值和灵性。 从东京出发,经长野站即可到达,户隐是难得一见的季节性美景。 长野市的部分地区,户隠的住宿信息可以通过我们的 “长野市地区 “酒店页面找到。

风起了


the-wind-rises-studio-ghibli

《风起了》改编自宫崎骏的同名漫画,也是他退役前执导的最后一部电影,讲述了三菱A5M和A6M零式战斗机的设计师堀越次郎的故事。 在影片中,主人公在一家山间酒店度过,这家酒店与位于上高地迷人的高山山谷中的上高地帝国酒店有着惊人的相似之处。

kamikochi-chubu-sangaku-national-park

上高地位于松本市附近,被誉为中部山岳国立公园的明珠。 坐落在槍岳、穗高山、焼岳山等山峰下的真正的高山绿洲,沿着梓川而下,是各种动植物的发源地。 远足小径沿着谷底延伸,沿着河流从北向南蜿蜒而去,然后更高级的远足和攀登路线登上山顶。

kamikochi
kamikochi-chubu-sangaku-national-park

冬季由于大雪,无法进入,4月中旬至11月中旬,上高地对外开放。 里面的住宿一直都是很抢手的,其中,上高地帝国酒店是一个标志性的地点,据说是电影中特色酒店的灵感来源。 上高地是我们在日本中部最喜欢的地方之一,也是最适合过夜的地方。 住宿信息请参考 “上高地地区 “酒店页面。

吉卜力工作室主题公园……将于2023年开业!


spirited-away-studio-ghibli

原定于2022年秋季开园的爱知县 “吉卜力公园“,因COVID-19的影响,正式开园时间推迟到2023年。积极的消息是,公园的部分区域将在2022年进行 “软开放”,次年正式开放,2024年全面开放。园区将位于 “2005年世博会 “的旧址,也就是上文提到的名古屋森之路公园里的佐月和小美家的现址,必将成为日本最受欢迎的旅游景点之一。

kikis-delivery-service-studio-ghibli

公园将分为五个主题区域,其中以《哈尔的移动城堡》为原型的 “生命之春山 “和 “天空之城”–包括巨大的城堡! – 将于2022年率先开放。 吉卜力的’大仓库’和《龙猫》的 ‘咚咚吭森林’ 将在2023年紧接着开放,最后两个区域,即根据《琪琪的送货服务》改编的’莫诺克公主村’和 ‘魔女之谷’ 将在2024年开放。

princess-mononoke-studio-ghibli

公园的设计优先考虑的是尽可能的环保,在现有的景观中整合公园的景点,通过森林和空间的小径和路径通往下一个景点。 细节仍然很稀少,但请放心,一旦有了细节,我们会尽快更新本页面!

tour-banner

艺术空间日本

NAGANO JAPAN
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
CONTACT
Art Space Japan
Art Space Japan: Miyazaki Hayao & Studio Ghibli

Art Space Japan: Miyazaki Hayao & Studio Ghibli

spirited-away-studio-ghibli

Miyazaki Hayao / 宮崎 駿 is one of the most prominent figures in Japanese popular culture today. Animator, director, manga artist, producer, screenwriter and author, Miyazaki is the co-founder of Studio Ghibli – Japan’s most popular and acclaimed animation studio. As such, Miyazaki’s fame has transcended ‘anime’ and his homeland of Japan and he enjoys global celebrity as one the most legendary figures in Japanese popular culture.

totoro-studio-ghibli-art

Born to an affluent Tokyo family in 1941, Miyazaki Hayao entered a world consumed by war and a country soon to engage in the fateful Pacific conflict with Western nations. As the war turned against Japan through 1944 and the bombing of Tokyo became more intense, Miyazaki was evacuated from the capital along with his family. Aged only three at the time, the experience impacted on the young Miyazaki greatly, later to be reflected in the themes and scenes of several of his films. Miyazaki began school in 1947 before his family moved back to Tokyo several years later. From a young age, Miyazaki desired to be a ‘manga’ artist influenced by notable artists Fukushima Tetsuji, Yamakawa Soji and Tezuka Osamu. Through school he continued to practice and refine his art before enrolling in political science and economics at Gakushuin University, continuing to draw as a hobby during his studies.

Learning the Craft

Miyazaki entered the animation or ‘anime’ industry in 1963, when taken on as an ‘in-between artist’ (responsible for draw intermediate frames that link images) at Toei Animation. Working on both feature films and television anime, Miyazaki soon took on the role of chief animator on ‘The Great Adventure of Horus, Prince of the Sun’ and established his working relationships with Otsuka Yasuo and Takahata Isao, which he would continue through his career.

Over the coming years, Miyazaki continued to work on many film and television projects across several companies. Notably, while working for TMS Entertainment he directed his first feature film, ‘The Castle of Cagliostro’ in 1979. Shortly after, Miyazaki began to pitch his own concepts for animated features, proposals that ultimately failed but led to publication of his seven-volume, ‘Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind’ from 1982 onward. Following the success of the series, Miyazaki agreed to direct a film adaptation of Nausicaa. Released in March 1984, the film was hugely popular with audiences and critically-acclaimed for its anti-war, feminist, and environmental themes. The film cemented Miyazaki’s reputation as one of Japan’s preeminent animators and provided him backing to launch his own studio.

The Birth of Studio Ghibli

In June 1985, Miyazaki founded the Studio Ghibli animation company with three other co-founders including Takahata Isao. The studio’s first film, ‘Laputa: Castle in the Sky’ was released in 1986. Hugely popular it was the perfect debut for the studio and quickly followed by ‘My Neighbour Totoro’ and ‘Grave of the Fireflies’, the company had quickly proved its viability.

totoro-studio-ghibli-art

From that point onward, the studio produced films regularly with most output receiving critical acclaim and popularity with audiences. Under the direction of Miyazaki, the studio balanced often serious and mature themes with beautiful artistry and story lines that appealed to both children and adults.

Global Acclaim

In 1995, the studio began production on ‘Princess Mononoke’, the first of its films to utilise elements of computer animation in conjunction with its hand-drawn artistry. Released in 1997, the film became the first animated film to win the ‘Japan Academy Price for Picture of the Year’ and as a result, was also released in cinemas abroad.

princess-mononoke-studio-ghibli

With its profile now growing outside of Japan, Studio Ghibli began work on its next film, ‘Spirited Away’. Released in 2001, the film tells the story of 10 year old Chihiro, who ventures into a spirit world and must navigate her way back to the mundane world and in doing so, grows-out of her childhood. The film was received with huge commercial success and critical claim, winning the ‘Japan Academy Prize for Picture of the Year’ and the ‘Academy Award for Best Animated Feature’ in the United States. An instant classic, the film propelled Studio Ghibli into the international consciousness and transcended the traditional audience of anime fans to reach a truly global audience.

spirited-away-studio-ghibli

Since that time, Studio Ghibli has continued to produce popular and critically acclaimed films including ‘Howl’s Moving Castle’, ‘Ponyo’, and the ‘Wind Rises’ – all directed by Miyazaki. Since its inception, the studio has produced more than 20 feature films under the direction of Miyazaki or other animators and in collaboration with other studios.

howls-moving-castle-studio-ghibli

In 2013, Miyazaki announced that he was retiring from feature film production due to his age however he continues to be actively involved, dedicating a lot of his energy to the hugely popular Studio Ghibli Museum in Mitaka, Tokyo. Having received numerous Japanese and international awards across his career, Miyazaki doesn’t appear to have entirely stepped-away from film production with reports emerging in 2019 that he would direct the upcoming Studio Ghibli film. ‘How Do You Live?’.

WHY IS STUDIO GHIBLI SO POPULAR & ACCLAIMED IN JAPAN?


kikis-delivery-service-studio-ghibli

In a country renowned for its production of animation or ‘anime’, it is somewhat remarkable that one studio has achieved the unanimous praise and success as Studio Ghibli. Under the direction of Miyazaki Hayao, the studio has typically produced films with clear and relevant messaging, often addressing pertinent issues including environmental degradation, the negative effects of technology, greed, exploitation, and war. However it does so in a manner that appeals to a broad audience – both young and old – through classic tropes of adversity as a means of self-discovery.

spirited-away-studio-ghibli

Effortlessly blending the sublime and magical with the everyday and familiar Studio Ghibli, films are set in realities that are simultaneously relatable and fantastic; worlds we can somehow imagine yet are so unique we want to visit for ourselves. In doing so, the films offer escapism and are underpinned by a strong humanist message, taking the audience on a meaningful journey with a clear purpose. Drawing inspiration from Buddhist and Shinto belief systems, Japanese folklore and a national longing for a perceived simpler and more pure time in history, the films offer a unique insight into the fabric of Japan – a modern country that still looks to the countryside and its traditional roots for its identity and seeks a more harmonious coexistence of man and nature.

WHERE TO ENJOY & EXPERIENCE THE WORLD OF STUDIO GHIBLI


ponyo-studio-ghibli
tour-banner

For devotees of their films or anyone with even a passing interest in the work of Miyazaki Hayao and Studio Ghibli, there is only one real option in terms of a museum – at least, for time being. However, with the films drawing inspiration from real life Japan, you can also experience towns and landscapes that inspired the creators of some of its most popular films:

GHIBLI MUSEUM, Tokyo


totoro-studio-ghibli-art

Located in Mitaka, Tokyo, the Ghibli Museum profiles the films of Studio Ghibli. Founded by legendary director Hayao Miyazaki, the museum features a children’s, technical arts, and fine arts exhibitions demonstrating the film-making process and making the museum fun for guests of all ages. Visitor numbers are tightly controlled and tickets are issued in advance with a specific date and time they can be used. Tickets cannot be purchased at the museum but instead can be purchased online or through participating vendors and agents. Always popular, you will need to plan ahead with tickets usually sold-out for between 3 to 6-months in advance. Admission costs: Adult (19+) JPY1000 / Youth (13-18) JPY700 / Child (7-12) JPY400 / Infant (4-6) JPY100.

howls-moving-castle-studio-ghibli

With museum tickets in high demand and booking-out well in advance, many international visitors will unfortunately miss-out. But don’t let that discourage you! With stories rooted firmly in Japanese tradition and belief, and drawing on real landscapes and locations dotted around the country, you can experience the inspiration of Studio Ghibli’s films at these locations in Central Japan:

SPIRITED AWAY


anime-art-studio-ghibli

Studio Ghibli’s most popular and acclaimed filmed to date, ‘Spirited Away’ is known and loved throughout the world. It tells the story of 10-year-old Chihiro who stumbles into a spirit world where she takes on a job at a grand bathhouse for the spirits, to earn her way back to the human world. Considered the studio’s masterpiece and cinema classic, many traditional ‘onsen’ (natural hot spring) bathhouses and towns across Japan claim to be the inspiration for the film’s centerpiece, notably including Dogo Onsen in Shikoku, Shima Onsen in Gunma and Shibu Onsen in Nagano.

anime-art-studio-ghibli

Located in the onsen area of Yamanouchi – within walking distance of the Jigokudani Monkey Park – Shibu Onsen boasts a 1300-year history as a place of healing, with numerous onsen sources feeding the town’s many guesthouses. Located near the centre of Shibu Onsen, ‘Kanaguya’ is a 250-year old hot spring guesthouse, the 4-storey façade of which instantly recalls the great bathhouse of the spirits. Inside the guesthouse, multiple onsen sources feed its many baths with haphazard wooden corridors and staircases leading between the hot springs and guest rooms – with no two rooms having the same shape.

Kanaguya inspiriation for Spirited Away Ghibli

Any visitor to Shibu Onsen can enjoy guesthouse from the outside but to explore and enjoy its interior, you will have to book a room and stay there – but believe us, it’s worth it! For accommodation listings in Shibu Onsen, see our ‘Yamanouchi Area – Home of the Snow Monkeys’ hotel page.

MY NEIGHBOUR TOTORO


totoro-studio-ghibli-art

Perhaps the next most popular film after ‘Spirited Away’, ‘My Neighbour Totoro’ is aimed at a younger audience but often loved by adults. The simple story focuses on sisters Satsuki and Mei who move into a country house with their father, while their mother is ill in hospital. While there they encounter a world of spirits, at first in the house and then the surrounding woods where they discover the eponymous Totoro – a large, grey creature now loved by Japanese children.

totoro-studio-ghibli-art

For fans of the film, a reconstruction of the rural home of Satsuki and Mei sits in Moricoro Park in Nagoya. Much like the museum in Tokyo, if you want to visit the house you will need to book in advance with tickets in high demand!

echigo-tsumari-niigata

The idyllic rural landscape in which the film is set – a landscape of quaint country homes, rice fields, forests, ancient shrines and single track railways – often makes a strong impression on those who watch Totoro along with other Ghibli films. Often referred to as ‘satoyama’, such landscapes can be found throughout the country, especially in the rural areas of Central Japan including Nagano, Niigata, Gifu and Toyama.

niigata-kominka-edit

You might like to start in the area of Yuzawa in Niigata, where the Echigo-Tsumari Art Field festival takes place over a vast area, known for its bucolic beauty, quaint houses, and traditional lifestyles. Alternatively, the Azumino area outside of Matsumoto and in the shadow of the North Alps is another such landscape, that visitors can access on a country train line through rice fields and farmlands and into the realm of Studio Ghibli.

oito-line

For accommodation listings in Niigata, see our ‘Yuzawa Area’ hotel page and for listings in Azumino, see our ‘Hotaka Onsen-kyo Area’ hotel page.

PRINCESS MONONOKE


princess-mononoke-studio-ghibli

One of Ghibli’s earliest films, ‘Princess Mononoke’ tells the story of a young prince, Ashitka, who is infected during an attack and setting forth to seek a cure, encounters the conflict between humans, who are plundering the natural environment, and the gods that live within it. Critically-acclaimed and loved by audiences, the film’s evident environmental message is amplified by the beautiful rendering of forests and natural landscapes.

princess-mononoke-studio-ghibli

Now to be clear, it is well-known that the inspiration for the film is taken from the ancient forests of World Heritage-listed Yakushima Island – a destination well-worth visiting for many reasons. However, lying off the coast of Kagoshima, many if not most international visitors don’t have time to reach the island while in Japan.

princess-mononoke-studio-ghibli

But that is not to say they can’t experience the landscapes and themes portrayed in the film with many Japanese forests considered the domains of spirits and holding significant spiritual importance.

togakushi

One such place is Togaksuhi, on the outskirts of Nagano City. Home to some of the most important Shinto shrines in the country, Togakushi is a place to true spiritual importance with deep connection to the creation myths of Japan itself. Most famously, the ‘Okusha’ or ‘Main Shrine’ is preceded an avenue of immense cedar trees, in which spirits are said to inhabit. One of five shrines making-up the overall complex, each of the five is set within the forest and can be accessed on foot along walking trails.

togakushi

While it is important to be clear that Togakushi is not the direct inspiration for film and the forests are different to those on Yakushima, its importance to Shintoism is based on the same belief of the value and spirituality of ancient forests. Highly-photogenic and a place of rare seasonal beauty, Togakushi is readily accessible from Tokyo via Nagano Station. Part for the Nagano City area, accommodation listings in Togakushi can be found through our ‘Nagano City Area’ hotel page.

THE WIND RISES


the-wind-rises-studio-ghibli

Based on Miyazaki’s manga of the same name and the last film he directed prior to his retirement, ‘The Wind Rises’ tells the story of Horikoshi Jiro, designer of Mitsubishi A5M and A6M Zero fighter aircraft. In the film, the protagonist spends time at a mountain hotel which bears striking resemblance to the Kamikochi Imperial Hotel in the stunning alpine valley of Kamikochi.

kamikochi-chubu-sangaku-national-park

Situated within easy reach of Matsumoto, Kamikochi is considered the jewel of the Chubu Sangaku National Park. A true alpine oasis sitting beneath the high peaks of Mt Yari, Mt Hotaka and Mt Yakedake, the valley follows the Azusa River and is home to diverse range of flora and fauna. Hiking trails span-out along the valley floor and follow the river as it meanders north to south, before more advanced hiking and climbing routes ascend to the mountains above.

kamikochi
kamikochi-chubu-sangaku-national-park

Inaccessible during winter due to heavy snow, Kamikochi is open to the public from mid-April to mid-November. Accommodation inside is always in high demand, of which, the Kamikochi Imperial Hotel is an iconic location and said to be the inspiration for the hotel featured in the film. Kamikochi is one of our favourite locations in Central Japan and one best enjoyed by staying there overnight. For accommodation listings, see our ‘Kamikochi Area’ hotel page.

STUDIO GHIBLI THEME PARK… coming in autumn 2022!


spirited-away-studio-ghibli

Set to open in autumn 2022, ‘Ghibli Park’ in Aichi Prefecture is likely to be one of Japan’s most popular destinations. The park will be located on former site of the ‘2005 World Expo’ and current location of Satsuki and Mei’s house in Moricoro Park in Nagoya – as discussed above.

kikis-delivery-service-studio-ghibli

The park will be divided into five themed areas, three of which are set to open in late-2022 with the final two areas due to open in spring 2024. The five areas are set to include the Ghibli ‘Giant Warehouse’, My Neighbour Totoro’s ‘Dondoko Forest’ and the Princess Mononoke Village (opening in 2022), followed by the ‘Springtime of Life Hill’ based on ‘Howl’s Moving Castle’ and ‘Castle in the Sky’, along with ‘Witch Valley’ based on ‘Kiki’s Delivery Service’, opening in 2024.

princess-mononoke-studio-ghibli

The park’s design is prioritising being as environmentally-friendly as possible with an integration of park attractions within the existing landscape with trails and paths leading through forests and spaces and onto the next attraction. Details remain thin but reassured, we will update this page as soon as they’re available!

tour-banner