日本长野
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
联系
艺术空间日本
艺术空间日本:草间弥生

艺术空间日本:草间弥生

kusama-yayoi-profile-photo

作为当今世界上最著名的艺术家之一,草间弥生的艺术让人一见倾心。 草间是一位多产的艺术家,她最著名的是使用圆点和鲜艳的色彩–看似简单的设计却表现出巨大的深度和复杂性,加上她革命性的 “无限房间”,反映出她的内心世界,从年轻时就激发了这位世界上最有影响力的现代艺术家之一的灵感。

形成性经验

1929年,草间出生于长野县松本市的一个商人家庭,经历了艰难的童年。 她的父亲是出了名的花心,她的母亲会派年轻的草间去监视他和其他女人。 这段不愉快的经历深深地影响了她,使她早早地对性生活的各个方面产生了厌恶。 她的母亲是个虐待狂,虽然草间从小就喜欢艺术,表现出独特的天赋,但母亲并不支持她,还会主动撕毁她手中的画作–这段经历让她学会了狂热地工作,快速地创作。

即使在她最早的画作中,通常是南瓜的素描,草间的许多画作也布满了点点滴滴,这将成为她作为一个成熟艺术家的标志。 10岁左右,她开始用水彩、油彩和粉画作画,那时她也出现了生动的幻觉。 她所描述的经历是’闪光,密集场那么点的灵光’,她的幻觉会延伸到桌布等日常用品的图案在她的视野中蔓延,吞噬她的世界,抹杀她的自我意识。

草间作为一个经历过第二次世界大战的学生,被要求制作降落伞,在处理降落伞的过程中,她接触到了各种不同的、更大的材料,并很快将这些材料融入到她的作品中。 艺术越来越成为对黑暗世界的一种逃避,战争结束后,草间在京都市立工艺美术学校学习 “日本画”。 草间对学派的教条和僵化的教条感到失望,而越来越被美国前卫艺术的自由表达所吸引,很快就向西方寻找灵感。

向西看

进入成年后,草间开始用水彩、油彩和水粉在纸上描绘抽象形式,并开始用圆点覆盖表面–墙壁、地板、画布,最后是裸体助手。 1957年,27岁的草间移居美国,在纽约当艺术家。 作为一名女性艺术家,草间坚持在异国他乡工作的挑战,进入了她创作生涯中最有影响力但又充满考验的时期,她先是展出绘画和 “柔软 “的雕塑,然后创作了现在标志性的 “无限镜室”。 这些复杂的装置在大小和形式上各不相同,利用镜面、灯光、玻璃和霓虹灯营造出永无止境的空间幻觉–这对观众来说是一种身临其境的体验,也是她幻觉的体现。

尽管草间弥生具有实验性的创意,并制作了大量的作品,但她仍然被艺术界人士忽略,包括Claes Oldenberg、Lucas Samara和Andy Warhol等高知名度的男性艺术家显然受到她作品的影响,以至于被指责剽窃她的艺术。

当别人通过模仿她的作品而明显成名时,草间却一直得不到认可,她感到很沮丧,于是试图自杀,在生产和自我推销的阵痛中,她变得越来越孤立。 草间弥生在政治上愈来愈活跃,她积极参与反战示威、举办 “事件 “和时装秀,这些活动使她与建制派更加疏离。

幻灭与回归日本

她持续被艺术界排斥,导致她的精神健康状况不断恶化,最终导致她在1973年回到日本。 草间在40岁出头的时候,在她的祖国还是一个不知名的艺术家,实际上她必须重新开始。 她继续举办艺术展,并撰写小说和文集,在日本和欧洲都赢得了一些奖项和默默的赞誉。 由于精神健康持续困扰着她,草间在1977年住进了精神病院,她一直选择在那里生活至今。

在这段期间,草间弥生渐渐淡出人们的视线,但仍继续稳定地工作,直到1980年代中后期,人们对她的艺术作品重新产生兴趣,她分别于1986年和1989年在法国、美国和英国举办展览。 然而,1993年她在第45威尼斯双年展上的展览,以及她作为第一位在这一著名活动中举办个展的女性艺术家的形象,最终使她得到了广泛的全球认可。

批评与公众赞誉

从那时起,草间弥生就一直出现在公众视野中。 从1994年开始,她开始在日本和国外制作露天雕塑–大部分是大型的圆点南瓜和花卉,以人造和自然景观为背景。 随之而来的是无数的国际奖项和认可,1998年和1999年期间,她的作品在纽约、洛杉矶和东京举办了大型回顾展,世界各地无数的博物馆和画廊都在展出她的作品。

对她的作品进行批判性的评论,将涉及到对概念艺术的讨论,在超现实主义、极简主义和波普艺术之间进行调侃,表达一种深刻的个人和沉浸式的体验。 然而,草间弥生可以说是最知名的在世艺术家,部分原因是她能够创作出吸引广大观众的作品。 她的绘画、装置和雕塑作品充满活力、身临其境、玩味十足,非常适合社交媒体,这也是她不断提高自己在年轻观众中知名度的重要原因。

然而,她目前的受欢迎程度和她的作品在Instagram上看起来很好的表面事实不应该分散她作为一个多产的艺术家的重要性,她的影响贯穿20世纪60年代,现在才真正得到承认。 在那个时期,草间弥生经常被更高知名度的艺术家模仿甚至抄袭,现在许多评论家认为草间弥生是60年代最重要的艺术家之一,当然也是最持久的艺术家。 当她持续工作到90多岁时,她的作品颠覆了自己内心的折磨,创造出了美丽的作品,给观众带来了欢乐和逃避,因此,她在日本和世界各地都受到了人们的喜爱。

草间弥生:在哪里欣赏她的艺术作品


kusama-yayoi-matsumoto-edit

作为日本–如果不是世界–最知名的当代艺术家,在这里你会经常看到草间弥生的作品。 下面的名单并不详尽–许多博物馆和画廊都在展示她的绘画、雕塑和装置作品–然而这些场所提供了一些欣赏她作品的最佳机会。

草间弥生美术馆,东京


Photo by Shintaro Ono (Nippon Design Center, Inc.)

作为日本最著名的当代艺术家,草间弥生的前卫装置、绘画、素描和整体风格,相信很多国际游客都能认出。 大胆的色彩和图案决定了她的风格,她著名的圆点图案装饰着她的许多作品。 草间弥生博物馆位于东京早稻田区,是日本最著名的当代艺术家草间弥生的生平和作品的纪念馆。 鉴于其受欢迎程度,门票不能在门口购买,必须通过博物馆的网站提前购买。 参加人数有限,定时入场,在指定的90分钟时间段内有效。 因此,门票提前售罄,尤其是周末。 一般每周开放4到5天,从11:00到17:30,订票后会给你指定参观日期和时间。 入场费:成人1100日元/6岁以下儿童600日元。

长野县松本市艺术博物馆


Matsumoto-city-Museum-of-Art

松本市美术馆展出与松本市有关联的艺术家的作品,包括长期展览和临时展览。 最值得一提的是,草间弥生在松本出生长大,美术馆收藏的她的艺术作品占据了中心位置。 虽然草间弥生受过古典训练,但她的独特风格是深受前卫艺术、流行艺术和概念艺术的影响,她现在是一位著名的先锋艺术家。 对于前往东京草间弥生美术馆的游客,尤其是错过该馆门票的游客来说,去松本出生地和年轻时的地方感受她的艺术作品是非常值得的,从东京出发,从新宿站乘坐特快列车 “Azusa”,就能轻松到达。 松本市美术馆的开放时间为每天09:30~17:00(最后一次进入时间为16:30)。 星期一和新年期间休息。 入场费为410日元。

越后妻有大地艺术祭,新潟县


echigo-tsumari-kusama-yayoi

自2000年起,越后妻有大地艺术祭或越后妻有艺术三年展(ETAT)每三年正式举办一次,下一届大型艺术节计划于2021年夏季举行。 ETAT的前身是著名的 “濑户内艺术节”(下文将讨论),号称是世界上最大的露天艺术节。 艺术作品和活动发生在大约相当于大东京的面积(约700km²)的广阔区域内,涉及6个市镇。 国际知名艺术家的装置作品位于原始森林、河流或峡谷中,或稻田、农田和传统农舍中。 草间弥生的粉丝们一定要去雪国农耕文化村,她的大型装置作品 “Tsumari in Bloom “就摆放在松台能布台中心前,那里是庆典的主要中心和画廊之一。

直岛,香川县


也许是她出镜率最高的作品,位于直岛的黄黑圆点南瓜已经成为直岛的代名词,也成为濑户内三年一度的大型艺术节的委托安装作品。 作为一个大型且广受欢迎的节日的一部分,该装置只是众多艺术作品和艺术家中的一个,但毫无疑问,它是最著名的,也是每年如此多的人到岛上旅行的主要原因之一。

十和田市现代美术馆,青森县


kusama-yayoi-towada-art-center

对于前往本州(日本最大的岛屿)北部的游客来说,位于青森县十和田市现代美术馆是一座现代艺术博物馆。 草间弥生的作品中,有许多知名当代艺术家的作品和装置,其中包括一个由草间弥生的多件雕塑作品所装饰的俏皮户外区域。 虽然离东京很远,但如果你要去东京的话,这里很值得一去。 每天开放时间为09:00-17:00,最后一次进入时间为16:30。 星期一休息。 成人票价:常藏520日元 / 特展800日元 / 常藏+特展1200日元。 18岁以下的参观者免费。

NAGANO JAPAN
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
CONTACT
Art Space Japan
Art Space Japan: Kusama Yayoi

Art Space Japan: Kusama Yayoi

kusama-yayoi-profile-photo

One of the most famous artists in the world today, the art of Kusama Yayoi / 草間 彌生 is instantly recognisable. A prolific artist, Kusama is best-known for her use of polka dots and vibrant colours – seemingly simple designs that exhibit tremendous depth and complexity, along with her revolutionary ‘Infinity Mirror Rooms’, that reflect an inner-world which from young age has inspired one of the world’s most influential modern artists.

Formative Experiences

Born to a merchant family in Matsumoto, Nagano in 1929, Kusama experienced a difficult childhood. Her parents were known to have an unhappy marriage, and her mother would send the young Kusama to spy on her father when he was away from home. This unpleasant experience deeply affected her and art was an escape from the unhappy aspects of her home-life. Kusama enjoyed art from a young age, demonstrating unique talent, yet her mother did not support her and would tear her drawings from her hand – an experience that taught her to work feverishly and produce her art quickly.

Even in her earliest drawings, often sketches of plants including pumpkins, many of Kusama’s pictures were covered in the dots that would become a signature as a mature artist. Around the age of 10 she began painting with watercolours and pastels by which time she was also experiencing vivid hallucinations. An experience she has described as ‘flashes of light, auras of dense field so dots’, her hallucinations would extend to the patterns of daily items such as tablecloths spreading across her field of vision to consume her world and obliterate her sense of self.

As a school child living through World War II, Kusama was required to make parachutes, the handling of which introduced her varied and larger materials which she would later incorporate into her work. Art was increasingly an escape from a dark world and following the end of the war, she enrolled at the Kyoto Municipal School of Arts and Crafts to study ‘nihonga’ (traditional Japanese art). Frustrated by the dogmatic and rigid tenets of the school, and increasingly enticed by the freedom of expression of the American avant-garde art movement, Kusama was soon looking toward the West for inspiration.

Looking to the West

Entering adulthood, Kusama began depicting abstract forms in watercolour, oils, and gouache on paper and began covering surfaces – walls, floors, canvases and eventually, naked assistants – with polka dots. In 1957, aged 27, Kusama moved to the United States to work as an artist in New York. Persisting through the challenges to working as a female artist in a foreign country, Kusama entered one of the most influential but testing periods of her creative life, first exhibiting paintings and ‘soft’ sculptures before producing the her now iconic ‘Infinity Mirror Rooms’. Varying in size and form, these complex installations utilised mirrors, lighting, glass, and neon to create the illusion of never-ending space – an immersive experience for the viewer and manifestation of her hallucinations.

Despite her experimental creativity and production of a large amount of work, Kusama continued to be overlooked by the art establishment with high-profile male artists including Claes Oldenberg, Lucas Samara, and Andy Warhol apparently influenced by her art to such an extent that they have been accused of plagiarising her work.

Frustration with her continued lack of recognition while others apparently achieved fame through mimicry, Kusama became increasingly isolated between bouts of productivity. Increasingly politically active, Kusama was heavily involved in anti-war demonstrations, staged ‘happenings’ and fashion shows – activities that further alienated her from the establishment.

Disillusion & Return to Japan

A heavy workload increasingly impacted on her health and ultimately led to her return to Japan in 1973. In her early-40s and largely unknown in her homeland, Kusama would effectively have to start again. She continued to produce art shows and wrote novels and anthologies, winning awards and quiet acclaim in both Japan and Europe. As her mental health continued plague her, Kusama checked into a psychiatric hospital in 1977, where she continues to live to this day by choice.

During this time, Kusama very much faded from prominence but continued to work steadily until a revival in interest in her artwork from the mid to late-1980s in which time she held exhibitions in France in 1986 and both the United States and United Kingdom in 1989. It was however her exhibition at the 45th Venice Biennale in 1993 and her profile as the first female artist to hold a solo exhibition at the prestigious event, which finally brought her widespread global recognition.

Critical & Public Acclaim

From that time, Kusama Yayoi has remained in the public eye. From 1994 onward, she began to produce open-air sculptures in both Japan and abroad – mostly of large-scale, polka-dotted pumpkins and flowers set in both man-made and natural landscapes. Numerous international awards and recognition have followed, with major retrospectives of her work in New York, Los Angeles and Tokyo during 1998 and 1999 and countless museums and galleries around the world exhibiting her work.

A critical review of her work will involve discussion of conceptual art flirting with surrealism, minimalism, and pop art and expressing a deeply personal and immersive experience. Yet Kusama Yayoi’s profile as arguably the most recognisable living artist stems in part from her ability to produce work that appeals to a wide audience. Vibrant, immersive and playful, her paintings, installations and sculptures lend themselves perfectly to social media, a channel which has been widely credited for continuing to increase her profile with a new and younger audience.

Her current popularity and the superficial fact that her work looks good on Instagram should not however distract from her importance as a prolific artist whose influence through the 1960s is only now truly being acknowledged. Often mimicked if not plagiarised by higher profile artists through that period, many critics now regard Kusama Yayoi as among the most important artists of the 1960s and certainly, the most enduring. As she continues to work into her 90s, her work has subverted her inner torment to create beautiful work and brings joy and escapism to the viewer and as such, she is loved in both Japan and around the world.

KUSAMA YAYOI: WHERE TO ENJOY HER ARTWORK


kusama-yayoi-matsumoto-edit

As Japan’s – if not the world’s – most recognisable contemporary artist, you will encounter Kusama Yayoi’s work regularly while here. The list below is by no means exhaustive – with many museums and galleries displaying her paintings, sculptures and installations – however these venues offer some of the best opportunities to enjoy her work:

YAYOI KUSAMA MUSEUM, Tokyo    


Photo by Shintaro Ono (Nippon Design Center, Inc.)

As Japan’s most famous contemporary artist, the avant garde installations, paintings, drawings and overall style of Yayoi Kusama will be recognisable to many international visitors. Bold colours and patterns define her style, with her famous polka dot motif adorning many of her artworks. Located in the Waseda district of Tokyo, the Yayoi Kusama Museum is dedicated to the life and work of Japan’s best known contemporary artist. Given its popularity, tickets cannot be purchased at the door and must be purchased in advance through the museum’s website. Attendance is limited with entry timed and valid for a designated 90-minute time-slot. As a result, tickets sell-out well in advance, especially on weekends. Typically open 4 to 5 days per week from 11:00 to 17:30, you will be assigned a date and time to visit upon booking a ticket. Admission costs: Adult JPY1100 / Children under 6 years of age JPY600.

MATSUMOTO CITY ART MUSEUM, Nagano  


Matsumoto-city-Museum-of-Art

The Matsumoto City Museum of Art exhibits artworks by artists with an association to the city, across both permanent and temporary exhibitions. Most notably, Kusama Yayoi was born and raised in Matsumoto and the museum’s collection of her artwork takes centre stage. Although classically trained, Kusama’s defining style sits is heavily-influenced avant-garde, pop and conceptual art – of which, she is now a celebrated and pioneering artist. For visitors heading to the Yayoi Kusama Museum in Tokyo, and especially those who miss out of tickets for that museum, visiting Matsumoto to experience her artwork in the place of her birth and younger years is well-worth it and an easy trip from Tokyo using the Limited Express Azusa service from Shinjuku Station. The Matsumoto City Art Museum is open daily from 09:30 to 17:00 (last entry at 16:30). Closed on Mondays and over the New Year period. Admission is JPY410.

ECHIGO-TSUMARI ART FIELD, Niigata


echigo-tsumari-kusama-yayoi

Running since 2000, Echigo-Tsumari Art Field or Echigo-Tsumari Art Triennial (ETAT) officially takes place every three years – with the next large-scale festival planned for summer 2021. ETAT is the predecessor to the well-known Art Setouchi – discussed below – with claims that it is the largest open-air arts festival in the world. Artworks and events occur across a vast region, approximately the size of greater Tokyo – an estimated area of 700km² – involving six municipalities. Installations by major international artists sit in among pristine forests, within rivers or gorges, or among rice fields, farmlands and within traditional farmhouses. Devotees of Kusama Yayoi will want to head to the small mountain enclave of Matsudai where her large installation ‘Tsumari in Bloom’ sits in front of the Matsudai Nohbutai Center – one of the festivals main hubs and galleries.

NAOSHIMA ISLAND, Kagawa


Perhaps her most photographed artwork, the yellow and black polka dotted pumpkin sitting on Naoshima Island has come to be synonymous with the island itself and the larger, Setouchi Triennale art festival that it was commissioned and installed for. As part of a large and hugely popular festival, the installation is just one of many artworks and artists profiled, but without doubt it is the best-known and one of the main reasons so many people travel to the island each year.

TOWADA ART CENTER, Aomori


kusama-yayoi-towada-art-center

For visitors heading to the very north of Honshu (the largest of Japan’s main islands), the Towada Art Center is a contemporary art museum located in Towada City, Aomori Prefecture. Exhibiting artwork and installations by many high-profile contemporary artists, Kusama Yayoi’s work is a notable including a playful outdoor area adorned by multiple sculptures by Kusama. It’s a long way from Tokyo but if you’re headed that way, it is well worth visiting. Open daily from 09:00 to 17:00 with last entry at 16:30. Closed on Mondays. Admission costs for adults: permanent collection JPY520 / special exhibition JPY800 / permanent collection + special exhibition JPY1200. Visitors aged under 18 are free of charge.