日本长野
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
联系
艺术空间日本
你需要知道的25种日本艺术和工艺

你需要知道的25种日本艺术和工艺

上次更新日期:2020年11月23日

togei-ceramics-art

到日本旅游,最大的乐趣之一就是欣赏其丰富而美丽的艺术世界。 在日本之外,这个国家最著名的是其最精致的艺术和文化成就,但同样迷人的是,这个国家拥有丰富多样的传统手工艺和民间艺术,它们抓住了日本经验的精神和本质。

kokeshi-doll-art

在这个页面上,我们列出了你在这里可能会遇到的艺术和手工艺,并对它的内容进行了快速的总结。 清单内容丰富多样,从传统和古典艺术到更多的现代艺术和日常用品,包括艺术技巧、实践和您在旅行中会遇到的特定物品–重点是那些适合国际游客携带的礼品和纪念品。

daruma-art
tour-banner

我们希望以下内容能帮助您开始探索日本的艺术和工艺。

ABURAE / 油絵


oil-painting-art

作为日本画的众多形式之一,”aburae “指的是油画,与其他画种不同。 日本传统的绘画技术起源于中国,但从16纪开始,到江户时代,以及19纪后半期日本对外开放的过程中,油画反映出西方的影响越来越大。就像在西方,油画是一种广泛的艺术形式,包含了各种流派、技巧和主题。

ANIME / 动漫


anime-art-studio-ghibli

由英文 “animation “一词衍生而来,”动漫 “包括手绘和电脑制作的动画。 从20纪初开始,日本每年都会产生大量的动画,无数的工作室可以满足各种口味和故事情节。在西方文化中,动画往往被认为是纯粹的儿童题材,而在日本,动漫却受到各年龄段人群的喜爱,包括吉卜力工作室及其创始人宫崎骏早苗在内的电影公司都被视为国宝,是日本社会结构的核心部分。

BONSAI / 盆栽


bonsai-art

对于大多数国际游客来说,”盆栽 “是指研究将植物培育成微型形状,经过训练和雕刻,以模仿完全生长的树木。盆栽需要多年的应用才能掌握,任何人都可以练习,只要有空间摆放一棵架子上的微型树,因此,是日本国内外非常受欢迎的消遣时间。

CHADO / 茶道


chado-art

译为 “茶道” 或 “茶礼 “也许是日本典型的做法和体验–为客人准备绿茶的仪式和冥想表演。作为部分日本人的爱好,国际游客可以在全国各地的很多地方体验茶道,其真实性、专业性和成本差异很大。

DARUMA / 達磨


daruma-art

到过日本的游客一定会注意到,日本全国各地的餐馆、企业和家庭中,装饰着无处不在的 “达磨 “人偶。这些人偶通常由纸浆制成,然后用手绘,这些人偶是以一位将禅宗修行法门传到中国的印度僧人的名字命名的。 关于达磨的传说很多,买了他的玩偶,然后通过给一只眼睛上色来许愿或设定目标。然后,娃娃会一直保持这样的状态,直到愿望或目标实现,这时另一只眼睛会被染上颜色。 达磨有各种大小和颜色,颜色也有特定的含义,在日本,达磨是一个有意义的礼物或纪念品。

HANGA / 版画


hanga-art

一般来说,”版画 “指的是用于制作 “浮世絵 “图像的传统木版画艺术–详情见下文。 游客们也可能会听到 “新版画 “这个词。 新版画是指从20纪初开始,应用传统方法创造 “新版画”。 这场动作涉及到对传统技法的一些改变,西方的方法和图案区别于早期的迭代艺术。

IKEBANA / 生け花


ikebanan-art

Ikebana “的意思是 “插花”,”插花 “是许多日本人的普遍爱好,一些从业者将其技能发展为一种艺术形式。也被称为 “华道 “或 “花的方式”,这种古老的艺术形式最初是用于在祭坛上摆放花卉供品,随着佛教从中国传入日本。如今,许多人把插花作为一种爱好来练习,还有一些人掌握了这门艺术,众多的插花学校教授不同的技术,考虑到花的颜色、形式和位置。

KIMONO / 着物


kimono-art

虽然 “和服 “是传统服装的一种,本身并不是一种艺术,但与日本的许多其他实用物品一样,制作和服的技术非常高超,许多和服本身并不被视为艺术作品。在日本各地,你会遇到一些真正精致的和服博物馆,展示一些真正的精致作品,这些作品永远不会再被穿上,或者是作为艺术品被首次创作出来,展示了这种最日本的艺术的惊人技巧。

KODO / 香道


incense-art

“香道 “是一种比较抽象的艺术形式,是欣赏日本香的艺术。被认为是三个古典艺术的精炼–与 “插花”和 “茶道”–之一,你不必是大师从事科多。事实上,对于国际游客来说,在日本购买沉香是您在这里的一个梦幻般的纪念品,因为当您在家里点燃沉香时,美丽而微妙的香味会将您带回您的时间,突然间,您正在练习香道。

MANGA / 漫画


manga-art

即使你不是粉丝,你也有可能对日本喜欢漫画有所了解。 日本漫画被称为 “漫画”,它起源于更古老的艺术形式,很多人在生活中都会大量阅读。因此,故事跨越了人类经验的范围,从欢乐和幼稚,到黑暗和扭曲,以及中间的一切。 漫画最早出现在18纪,到20纪下半叶爆发式流行,现在是日本的主流艺术形式。

MIZUHIKI / 水引


patio-daimon-activities

在日本文化中,送礼作为一种感谢和尊重的标志,起着至关重要的作用。礼物的摆放可以说是与礼物本身同等重要,这种文化倾向导致了日本即使是最简单的物品也以精美的设计和包装而闻名。古代的 “水引 “是指在礼品上系上漂亮的彩色绳索作为装饰。这一传统在江户时代发挥了重要作用,当时由武士或为武士赠送的礼物在设计上变得越来越复杂–绳索的颜色和数量都具有意义。今天,水引继续在装饰礼品和艺术形式中得到实践。

NIHONGA / 日本画


nihonga-art

Nihonga的字面意思是 “日本画”,”日本画 “是区别于西式油画的总称。与所描绘的图案一样,日本画也是以纸、丝绸、木头或石膏等材料为基础,在其上涂抹 “墨”、矿物和其他颜料,通常还大量使用金箔和其他金属。

NINGYO / 人形


kokeshi-doll-art

人偶或 “人形 “在日本文化中扮演着重要的角色。 从用于仪式的装饰品到玩具和礼品,年糕的风格和使用范围广泛,许多过去通过几代人作为珍贵的家庭传家宝。 木制的 “木偶 “特别受欢迎。 看似简单的木制人偶,描绘的是年轻女孩的形象,虽然简单,但画工精美,作为在日本生活的礼物和纪念品,受到许多外国游客的欢迎。

OMAMORI / 御守 or お守り


omamori-art

寺庙神社的游客在旅行中一定会遇到 “御守”。 作为在全国各地的寺庙和神社出售的护身符,御守据说能给携带者带来好运和保护。 它们为各种事件提供特定的保护和运气–从旅行到学习、生孩子、保护事故、财富……不胜枚举–其中许多是在著名的地点和吉祥的寺庙和神社中寻找的。 为日本旅行者准备的小而有意义的礼物或纪念品。

O-MEN / 能面


mask-art

在日本,面具一般被称为 “能面”,在社会的许多方面都扮演着重要的角色。能面具起源于传说、民俗和古典艺术中的 “歌舞伎 “威胁,它可以传达所有的情感,并捕捉到日本万神殿中色彩斑斓,有时甚至是危险的人物,包括 “鬼”、”般若”、”天狗”、”狐”、”火男”等等。这些面具的现代演绎可以从漫画和动漫中的人物身上看到,他们有自己的塑料面具,现在经常在节日里被孩子们戴上。

ORIGAMI / 折り紙


origami-art

在众多日本传统工艺中,”折纸 “可能是国际游客最熟悉的。从最初的简单折纸开始,这种不老的手艺已经超越了艺术形式,甚至更多,因为最复杂、最惊人的创作成为可能。日本人从小就喜欢折纸,有些人一生都在练习,有些人掌握了折纸的技巧,可以做出令人震惊的美丽和复杂的作品。

SHIKKI / 漆器


shikki-lacquerware-art

Shikki在日本被称为 “漆器”,是另一种广泛的艺术实践,其表现形式在日常生活和礼仪活动中发挥着极其重要的作用。 漆器也被称为 “涂物”、”漆涂”,有很多样式和用途。 几乎每个日本家庭的厨房里都会有漆碗,很多人还珍藏着特殊场合使用的装饰品或传家宝。

SHODO / 书道


shodo-calligraphy-art

使用毛笔创建高度风格化的 “汉字”(书面字符),毫不费力地在纸上流动,”shodo”(书道)的古老艺术是日本最广泛的实践之一。字的形式可以很有风格,即使对日本人来说,也可能难以辨认,凸显出用笔的形式和流动与意义同样重要,这使得可能不懂字的观众也能接受这种艺术形式。

SUIBOKUGA / 水墨画


suibokuga-art

与 “水彩画 “类似的 “水墨画”(如下文所述),”水墨画”只用黑色的墨水,用毛笔涂抹在纸上,画出的画面看似简单,但却非常细致,令人回味无穷。这种技术也被称为 “墨絵”,备受推崇,经常被用于装饰 “襖”,即用传统的山水画和房间分隔的推拉门。

SUISAIGA / 水彩画


water-colour-art

水彩画在日本被称为 “suisaiga”,是一种从西方引进的流行艺术形式。 无论是业余还是专业的艺术家都在实践,这种适应性很强的绘画形式被用来描绘各种主题,从传统的日本风景画、现代肖像画到抽象画。

TEMARI / 手球


temari-art

从中国传入日本的 “手球”,是一种彩色的布艺和刺绣球,原本是过年时送给孩子们的玩具。 经常由祖母制作的天麻,被孩子们珍视,作为传家宝世代相传。 与日本的任何手工艺一样,有些手球的技艺非常高超和精致,纯粹是为了其艺术价值而不是玩具而制作的。

TENGUI / 手拭い


echigo-tsumari-niigata

一般来说,”手拭”是用棉布制成的薄型织物,作为多用途毛巾使用。通常尺寸为35×90厘米,手拭是作为日常用品的装饰性覆盖物,也可以单独作为装饰品。 作为纪念品,手拭有各种风格和装饰图案,非常受欢迎。

TOGEI / 陶芸


togei-ceramics-art

作为日本最古老的手工艺之一,”陶芸”指的是日本的陶器和瓷器,这种做法可以追溯到新石器时代,包括日本著名的 “绳文 “土器。 Tojiki也被称为 “陶磁器 “和 “烧物”,这是另一种广泛而复杂的艺术形式,无法简单地描述。 从最早的土器到技术含量很高的瓷器、釉器,日本陶瓷备受追捧,在日常生活中无时无刻不存在。

UKIYO-E / 浮世絵


国际游客很可能在到达日本之前就已经遇到了 “浮世绘”。 浮世绘是江户时代(1603-1868年)盛行的一种艺术风格,翻译为 “浮世绘”。浮世绘以木版画(或称 “版画”)和绘画的形式制作,描绘了 “歌舞伎 “演员、”艺妓””相扑 “和自然景观的世界,被认为是一个短暂的、短暂的世界。日本最著名的艺术家葛饰北斋被认为是浮世绘大师,其中他的木版画《神奈川冲浪里》更是让人一见倾心,也是人类历史上再版率最高的图像之一。

WASHI / 和紙


patio-daimon-activities

“和纸 “是指传统的日本纸,适用于使用当地纤维和传统方法生产的纸。 在日本文化的许多方面,和纸都是以它为媒介或通过它来表现的,被认为是在日本文化的许多方面起着重要作用的一种艺术形式。

探索日本最好的博物馆和美术馆


nezu-museum-tokyo

日本拥有一些杰出的博物馆和美术馆,展示了全国各地创造性追求的广度和美感。 当然,东京是艺术空间最集中的地方,这里有一些真正优秀的公共机构、私人收藏和Pop-up画廊,从新石器时代的陶瓷,到江户时代的珍品,再到最现代的抽象创意表现,应有尽有。

21st-Century-Museum-of-Contemporary-Art-kanazawa

我们的 “东京及周边30家值得推荐的博物馆和美术馆 “页面介绍了一些我们在首都的最爱,然后带领您到箱根和富士山,然后到长野,深入日本中部。 我们这样做的原因是认识到日本的创造力并不局限于首都,在东京之外还有一些最好的博物馆和画廊,吸引你去旅行和探索整个国家–我们喜欢称之为 “艺术空间日本”。

tour-banner

艺术空间日本

NAGANO JAPAN
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
CONTACT
Art Space Japan
30 Japanese Arts & Crafts You Need To Know

30 Japanese Arts & Crafts You Need To Know

Last updated: December 2, 2020

togei-ceramics-art

One of the great pleasures to any visit to Japan is enjoying the rich and beautiful world of its arts. Outside of the Japan, the country is best known for its most refined arts and cultural achievements however just as captivating, the country has a rich and varied tradition of crafts and folk arts which capture the spirit and essence of the Japanese experience.

kokeshi-doll-art

On this page, we list arts and crafts you are likely to encounter while here, and provide a quick summary of what it’s all about. The list is varied and ranges from the traditional and classical arts to the more contemporary and every day including artistic techniques, practices and specific objects you will encounter on your travels – with a focus on items that make great gifts and souvenirs that are easy to carry for international visitors.

daruma-art
tour-banner

By no means exhaustive, we hope the following helps get you started with your exploration of arts and crafts in Japan:

ABURAE / 油絵


aburae-art
Image Source: ColBase

One of many forms of Japanese painting, ‘aburae’ refers to oil painting, in contrast to other styles. Traditional Japanese painting techniques have their origins in China, however aburae reflects the increasing influence of the West from the 16th century onwards, through the Edo Period and Japan’s opening to the world from the later-19th century onward. Much like in the West, oil painting is a broad artform encompassing all manners of schools, techniques and subjects.

ANIME / アニメ


anime-art-studio-ghibli

Derived from the English word ‘animation’, ‘anime’ encompasses both hand-drawn and computer-generated animation. Dating from the early-20th century, Japan produces a huge amount of anime each year, with countless studios catering to all tastes and storylines. Whereas animation is often considered purely for children in Western cultures, anime in Japan is loved by people of all ages, with film studios including Studio Ghibli and its founder, Miyazaki Hayao, considered national treasures and core part of the country’s social fabric.

BONSAI / 盆栽


bonsai-art

Instantly familiar to most international visitors, ‘bonsai’ involves the studied cultivation of plants into miniature forms, trained and sculpted to mimic a fully-grown tree. Requiring years of application to master, bonsai can be practiced by anyone with space for a miniature tree of a shelf and as such, is a hugely popular past-time both inside and outside Japan.

BUTSUZO / 仏像


butsuzo-art
Image Source: ColBase

While Shintoism is the official religion of Japan, Buddhism plays an equally important role with the majority of Japanese identifying with both religions. Imported from Korea and China from around the 5th century, Japanese Buddhism is now a distinct branch of the religion with many denominations existing within that general umbrella. Visitors to temples will be struck by the deep beauty and tradition of artistic expression, of which, Buddhist sculpture or ‘butsuzo’ is perhaps the most striking. Highly complex and quite confusing at first, appreciating the beauty and importance of the sculptures doesn’t require expert knowledge but instead, just simple curiousity about what you are looking at and what it means. Many visitors will also be drawn to and captivated by statues of the buddhas. Often inside temples but also outdoors, buddha statues depict not just the historical Buddha – the man whose teachings Buddhism is based on – but also the many buddhas with the religion. Yet again highly complex and captivating, sculptures range hugely in size, style and if you’re interested in buying one, price.

CHADO / 茶道     


chado-art

Translating as ‘way of tea’, ‘chado’ or ‘tea ceremony’ is perhaps the quintessential Japanese practice and experience – a ceremonial and meditative performance, in which green tea is prepared for a guest. Practiced as a hobby by some Japanese, international visitors can experience chado at many locations throughout the country, with authenticity, expertise and cost varying greatly.

DARUMA / 達磨


daruma-art

Any visitor to Japan will surely have noticed the ubiquitous ‘daruma’ dolls decorating restaurants, businesses and homes throughout the country. Often made from papier mache and then hand-painted, the dolls are named after an Indian monk who transmitted Zen Buddhist practices to China. The legends about daruma are many and his dolls are bought to then make a wish or set a goal by colouring in one eye. The doll then remains as such until the wish or goal if fulfilled, at which time the other eye is coloured-in. Coming in all sizes and colours – with colours also carrying specific meaning – daruma make a meaningful gift or souvenir while in Japan.

HANGA / 版画


hanga-art
Image Source: ColBase

The general term of ‘hanga’ refers to the traditional art of woodblock prints as used to produce ‘ukioy-e’ images – see below for details. Visitors might also hear the word ‘shin-hanga’. Shin-hanga refers to traditional methods applied to create a ‘new-hanga’, from the early 20th century onward. The movement involved some changes to traditional techniques with Western methods and motifs distinguishing the art from earlier iterations.

IKEBANA / 生け花


ikebana-art

Meaning ‘to arrange flowers’, ‘ikebana’ is a popular hobby for many Japanese with some practitioners developing their skill to an artform. Also referred to as ‘kado’ or ‘way of flowers’, this ancient artform was originally used in arrangement of floral offerings on altars, introduced to Japan from China with Buddhism. Today, ikebana is practiced by many people as a hobby with others mastering the art with numerous schools of ikebana teaching different techniques considering the colour, form, a position of the flowers.

KIMONO / 着物


kimono-art

While ‘kimono’ are a type of traditional clothing and as such, not an artform in their own right, like many other practical items in Japan, the skill involved in producing them has so great and that many are not considered pieces of artistic work in their own right. Throughout Japan, you will encounter kimono museums displaying some truly exquisite pieces, never to be worn again or first created as art pieces demonstrating the stunning skill of this most Japanese of arts.

MANDALA / 曼荼羅


mandala-art
Image Source: ColBase

Hindu in origin, ‘mandala’ play an important role in Buddhism including Japanese Buddhism. Made popular in Japan from the 9th century onward, mandala are geometric configuration of symbols depicting Buddhist entities and conceptualisations of the universe radiating-out from the centre. Varying greatly in form and appearance, the production of mandala is considered a means of entering a meditative state and a point of contemplation. Playing an important role in both Hinduism and Buddhism, mandala have been appropriated by ‘new age’ movements and contemporary artists in new interpretations of very old techniques and themes.

MANEKI-NEKO / 招き猫


maneki-neko-art

A common sight throughout Japan, ‘maneki-neko’ or ‘beckoning cats’ are believed to bring good luck to their owners. Coming in all sizes and colours, the cat has one paw lifted beckoning fortune and good luck toward it. Often made of ceramic or plastic, some are animated with their lifted paw moving back and forth. Lots of stories tell of the origins of the popular cats, which make a cute and meaningful gift or souvenir of your time in Japan.

MANGA / 漫画


manga-art

Even if you’re not a fan, chances are you have some idea that Japan loves comics. Known as ‘manga’, Japanese comics have their roots in much older art forms and are heavily read by many people through their lives. As such, stories span the spectrum of human experience, from the joyful and childish, to dark and twisted and everything in between. Having first emerged in the 18th century, manga exploded in popularity through the second half of the 20th century and is now a dominant art form in Japan.

MIZUHIKI / 水引


patio-daimon-activities

Gift-giving plays an essential role in Japanese culture as a sign of appreciation and respect. The presentation of gifts can be considered tantamount in importance to the gift itself, a cultural propensity which leads to Japan’s reputation for beautiful design and packaging for even the most simple of items. The ancient art of ‘mizuhiki’ involves the tying of beautiful, colored cords around gifts as a form of decoration. This tradition played an important role during the Edo Period, when gifts presented by and for samurai became increasingly more elaborate in design – with the color and number of cords all holding meaning. Today, mizuhiki continues to be practiced in decorating gifts and artform in its own right.

NIHONGA / 日本画


nihonga-art
Image Source: ColBase

Literally translating as ‘Japanese painting’, ‘nihonga’ is a general term used to distinguish it from Western-style oil painting. As much as the motifs depicted, nihonga is defined by the materials used including paper, silk, wood or plaster as the base on which ‘sumi’ ink, mineral and other pigments are applied, often with gold leaf and other metals used in abundance.

NINGYO / 人形


kokeshi-doll-art

Dolls or ‘ningyo’ play an important role in Japanese culture. From ornaments used for ceremonies to toys and gifts, ningyo range in style and use with many past through the generations as cherished family heirlooms. Wooden ‘kokeshi’ dolls are particularly popular. Seemingly simple, these wooden dolls depict young girls, often simply but beautifully painted – popular with many international visitors as gifts and mementos of their time in Japan.

O-KAORI & KODO / お香 & 香道


incense-art

Known as ‘kaori’ or more politely, ‘o-kaori’ in Japanese, incense is a ubiquitous and seductive part of local culture. In use at temples, shrines, businesses, homes and other venues throughout Japan, incense imbues life here with serenity and calm. One of the more abstract artforms, ‘kodo’ or ‘way of fragrance’ is the art of appreciating Japanese incense. Considered one of the three classical arts of refinement – along with ‘ikebana’ and ‘chado’ – you don’t have to be a master to engage in kodo. Indeed for international visitors, purchasing incense while in Japan is a fantastic memento of your time here as upon lighting it at home, the beautiful and subtle fragrance will transport you back to your time here and suddenly, you are practicing kodo.

O-MAMORI / お守り or 御守


omamori-art

Visitors to temples and shrines will certainly come across ‘omamori’ during their travels. As amulets sold at temples and shrines throughout the country, omamori are said to provide luck and protection for those who carry them. They provide specific protection and luck for all-manner if events – from travel to study, child-birth, protection from accidents, wealth… the list is endless – with many sought-out from famous locations and auspicious temples and shrines. A small and meaningful gift or souvenir for travelers in Japan.

O-MEN / 能面


mask-art

Referred to generally as ‘o-men’ in Japanese, masks play an important role in many aspects of society. With their origins in legend, folkore and classical arts of ‘kabuki’ threatre, ‘noh’ masks can convey all range of emotion and capture Japan’s pantheon of colourful, sometimes menacing characters including ‘oni’, ‘hannya’, ‘tengu’, ‘kitsune’, ‘hyottoko’ and more. Modern interpretations of these masks can be seen in the characters of manga and anime, which have their own plastic masks now often worn by children at festivals.

ORIGAMI / 折り紙


origami-art

Of all the many forms of traditional Japanese arts and crafts, ‘origami’ or ‘paper-folding’ is likely the best-known to international visitors. From the first simple folds of paper, this ageless craft transcends to an art form and more, as the most intricate and astounding creations become possible. Enjoyed by Japanese from a young age, origami is often practiced throughout life with some practitioners mastering an artform that can produce astoundingly beautiful and complex creations.

SHICHIFUKUJIN / 七福神


seven-lucky-gods-art

Referred to as ‘shichifukujin’ in Japanese, the ‘Seven Lucky Gods’ are popular throughout the country, often seen together, in pairs of by themselves. Interestingly only one of the seven – Ebisu – is of Japanese origin, with the other including Daikokuten, Bishamonten, and Benzaiten originating in India and Jurojin, Fukurokuju and Hotei coming from China. Each god has specific associations including wealth, health, arts, and good harvest among others, with many temples and shrines across Japan depicted to one or another. With their origins lying deep in history, figures and statues of the Seven Lucky Gods vary greatly in appearance and size – from the cute to traditional – and make a fun gift or souvenir for travelers in Japan.

SHIKKI / 漆器


shikki-lacquerware-art

Known as ‘shikki’ in Japan, lacquerware as another broad-ranging artistic practice, the manifestations of which play a hugely important role in daily life and ceremonial events. Also referred to as ‘nurimono’ (coated thing) and ‘urushi-nuri’ (lacquer coating), lacquerware encompasses numerous styles and applications. Almost every Japanese home would have lacquered bowls in the kitchen, with many also cherishing ornamental pieces or heirlooms used on special occasions.

SHODO / 書道


shodo-calligraphy-art

Using brushes to create highly stylised ‘kanji’ (written characters) that flow effortlessly across the paper, the ancient art of ‘shodo’ (calligraphy) is one of the most widely practiced in Japan. The form of the characters can be so stylised that even for Japanese, they may be difficult to recognise and highlighting that the form and flow of the brush is just as important as the meaning, making it an art form accessible to audiences that may have no understanding of the characters.

SUIBOKUGA / 水墨画


suibokuga-art
Image Source: ColBase

A similar practiced to ‘suisaiga’ – as described below – ‘suibokuga’ uses only black ‘sumi’ ink applied by brush onto paper, to produce images that are apparently simple in their execution but highly detailed and evocative. Also referred to as ‘sumi-e’, the technique is highly revered and often used to decorate ‘fusuma’, sliding doors that separate rooms with traditional landscapes and

SUISAIGA / 水彩画


water-colour-art

Referred to as ‘suisaiga’ in Japanese, watercolour painting is a popular artform adopted from the West. Practiced by both amateur and professional artists, this highly adaptable form of painting is used to depict all manner of subjects from traditional Japanese landscapes, contemporary portraits and abstract paintings.

TAKEZAIKU / 竹細工


takezaiku-art

Bamboo weaving is a traditional craft still practiced today to produce both functional and highly elaborate forms. Many are intended for daily use while others are woven for their aesthetic beauty and between those two purposes, many occupy both spaces – both functional and intentionally beautiful. One of the world’s most durable and versatile natural products, bamboo is shaped into an amazing array of products and countless purposes, with the work of many takezaiku artists fetching extremely high prices.

TEMARI / 手まり


temari-art

Introduced to Japan from China, ‘temari’ are colourful fabric and embroidered balls originally given to children as toys at New Year. Often crafted by their grandmother, temari are cherished by children and past down through generations as family heirlooms. In-keeping with any craft in Japan, some temari are exceptionally skillful and elaborate, produced purely for their artistic value rather than a toy.

TENGUI / 手拭い


echigo-tsumari-niigata

Typically made from cotton, ‘tengui’ are thin fabrics used as multi-purpose towels. Usually measuring 35 by 90 centimetres, tengui are intended as a decorative covering for everyday items or as decorations in their own right. Hugely popular as souvenirs, tengui come in all-manner of styles and decorative patterns.

TOGEI / 陶芸


togei-art
Image Source: ColBase

One of the oldest crafts in Japan, ‘togei’ refers to Japanese pottery and porcelain – a practice that dates back to the Neolithic including Japan’s celebrated ‘Jomon’ pottery. Also referred to as ‘tojiki’ (陶磁器) and ‘yakimono’ (焼きもの), this is another hugely broad and complex artform that is impossible to describe succinctly. From the earliest earthernware to highly technical porcelain and glazing, Japanese ceramics are highly sought after and are ever present in daily life.

UKIYO-E / 浮世絵


International visitors are likely to have encountered ‘ukiyo-e’ long before they reach Japan. A style of art the flourished during the Edo Period (1603-1868), ukiyo-e translates as pictures of ‘the floating world’. Produced as woodblock prints – or ‘hanga’ – and paintings, ukiyo-e depicted the world of ‘kabuki’ actors, ‘geisha’ ‘sumo’ and natural landscapes – considered a fleeting, ephemeral world. Japan’s most celebrated artist, Katsushika Hokusai, is considered the master of ukiyo-e, of which his woodblock print ‘The Great Wave Off Kanagawa’ is instantly recongisable and one of the most reprinted images in human history.

WASHI / 和紙


patio-daimon-activities

‘Washi’ refers to traditional Japanese paper and applies to paper produced using local fibres and traditional methods. The medium onto which or through which many of the artforms on this list are expressed, washi is appreciated in its own right and considered an artform that plays a fundamental role in many aspects of Japanese culture.

EXPLORE JAPAN’S BEST MUSEUMS & GALLERIES


nezu-museum-tokyo

Japan boasts some outstanding museums and galleries, showcasing the breadth and beauty of creative pursuits throughout the country. Naturally, the greatest concentration of art spaces is in Tokyo with some truly excellent public institutions, private collections, and pop-up galleries exhibiting everything from Neolithic ceramics, to treasures of the Edo Period or the most modern, abstract expressions in creativity.

21st-Century-Museum-of-Contemporary-Art-kanazawa

Our ’40 Recommended Museums & Galleries In & Around Tokyo’ page introduces some of our favourites in the capital before leading you outside, first to Hakone and Mount Fuji, and then onto Nagano and deep into Central Japan. We do so in recognition that Japan’s creative energy isn’t limited to the capital, with some of the best museums and galleries lying outside of Tokyo, enticing you to travel and explore the entire country – something we like to call, Art Space Japan.

tour-banner