日本長野
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
聯繫
藝術空間日本
藝術空間日本: 久保田一竹

藝術空間日本: 久保田一竹

Kubota-Itchiku-Art-Museum

紡織藝術家久保田一竹生前在日本以外的地方贏得了比國內更大的讚譽。 他是一位極富才華的紡織藝術家,他復興了室町時代的 “辻花 “紮染技術。 久保田不僅復興了這一技術,而且還掌握了自己的 “久保田辻花”方法,從而製作出了技術性和美觀性都非常高的和服。

早年

1917年生於東京神田區,久保田一竹的父親是一位古董商,他對過去的文物有很高的鑑賞能力。 年輕的久保田從小就接觸到了日本藝術的傳統和精髓,他的家就在一個以染坊聞名的街區。 14歲那年,久保田離開學校,跟隨小林清志學藝,他是一位專門從事手繪 “湯泉 “染色的 “和服 “藝術家。 作為一個勤奮的學徒,久保田全心全意地投入到工作中,在19歲時就成立了自己的染坊。

啟示和困難

不久後,20歲的時候。 久保田會有一段超現實的經歷,這段經歷將改變他的工作進程和時間,並最終使一種被遺忘已久的紡織藝術方法重新煥發活力。 在參觀東京國立博物館時,他看到了16紀用 “辻花 “紮染法生產的紡織品碎片。 通過室町時代(1338-1573 年),常見的技術停止練習通過下面的江戶時代和所有知識和技能的技術已經從世界上消失了。 久保田被布料所吸引,他描述了一段沉醉的時間,他說自己被布料的深邃之美迷住了三個小時。

在發現了 “辻花 “的美並為之著迷後,第二次世界大戰期間,久保田被徵召到前線,卻在衝突結束時被俄軍俘虜,世界事件殘酷地打斷了他的工作。 和許多日本人一樣,久保田被送到西伯利亞,在那裡,他在強迫勞動營中忍受了三年難以理解的艱難和痛苦。 在被收容期間,久保田繼續進行繪畫和藝術創作–這種快樂的實踐和意義,給了他堅持下去的毅力。 最後,31歲的久保田被釋放,回到了祖國。

一個藝術家和一個手工藝的重生

回到日本後,久保田成立了新的工場,並回到湯前死了約7年的時間,然後全身心地投入到探尋失落的辻花的秘密中。 在大約20年的時間裡,久保田研究、試驗、失敗,並繼續試驗不同的方法,試圖解開這項技術。 久保田對失敗感到沮喪,他改變了路線,專注於以自己的方式重新發明技術,最終,在60歲的時候,一個新的辻花形式誕生了,這是一個真正的不朽的成就。

1977年,他自豪地舉辦了自己的第一次展覽,並將新的技術命名為 “久保田辻花”。 隨著他在技術上的專業知識的鞏固,久保田的藝術努力得到了擴展,每件衣服都被設計成更大的、更宏偉的思想和情感的一部分,而不是單件的和服。

1979年,久保田創作了他著名的五件和服系列,名為”夕陽”,其設計模仿了他在西伯利亞看到的太陽落下的最後兩個小時–在那漫長的、難以言喻的艱難歲月中,象徵著希望和忍耐。 隨後,久保田開始了他雄心勃勃的八十和服系列《光之交響曲》。 作為對宇宙本身的描繪,久保田在2003年不幸去世,該系列只完成了一半,但卻給我們留下了一些日本最傑出的紡織作品,以及一種曾經被世界遺忘的藝術形式,現在的重生。

久保田一竹作品的重要性。


Kubota-Itchiku-Art-Museum

久保田一竹是一個引人注目的創作人物。 久保田一生沒有在日本取得廣泛的名氣,但他的成就在歐洲首先得到了認可,他在法國首先贏得了讚譽和獎項;而在美國,史密森尼博物館在1995年將他的作品展出了6個月,這也是該博物館第一次展出當時在世的藝術家。

被許多人視為天才級的人才,久保田解開了早已從世界上消失的高度複雜的紡織藝術方法的秘密。 然而,從60歲開始,他用 “久保田辻花”技術完成了104件和服,包括海洋系列、富士山系列、”光之交響曲 “宇宙系列和個人作品。

評論家和博物館參觀者對和服所散發出的色彩、深度和光線作出評價。 以 “絲縐 “為基底面料,將染色的材料捏成褶皺狀,與許多人熟悉的傳統形式相比,久保田辻花和服明顯更輕。 它們似乎是浮動的,所描繪的意象,無論是夕陽,還是飄過富士的可能,或者是宇宙本身,都被賦予了運動和自身的光芒。

久保田將早已被人遺忘的傳統密集型技術重新發揚光大,然後將其應用於創造遠見卓識的事業中,每一件衣服都是更大想像的一部分,這使他達到了很少有藝術家能達到的水平,也是當之無愧的天才。

久保田一竹:在哪裡享受他的迷人和服?


目前,日本有幾家機構收藏著久保田設計的和服,其中有兩家博物館是發現久保田一生作品的最重要的博物館。

久保田一竹美術館:山梨市


Kubota-Itchiku-Art-Museum

對於前往富士山和河口湖的遊客來說,”久保田一竹美術館“是一個展示藝術家生平和作品的地方。 美術館的選址是為了欣賞富士山的美景,由展示久保田最精美和服的主樓、高迪式的 “新翼 “建築、兩個咖啡館和一個景觀花園組成。

Kubota-Itchiku-Art-Museum

博物館主體建築–金字塔形的木質結構,展示著久保田的”光之交響曲”,這是一個精緻的和服系列,並有更多的信息和視頻介紹這個生活和工作的”新翼”,還收藏著久保田的私人藝術品,包括他從世界各地收集的玻璃器皿和珠子。 4月至11月開放時間為09:30至17:00(最後進入時間為17:00),12月至3月開放時間為10:00至16:30(最後進入時間為16:00)。 週二及12月26-28日休息。 入場費:成人1300日元 / 高中和大學 學生900日元 / 學生(6-15歲)400日元。

東京國立博物館,東京


tokyo-national-museum

作為日本歷史最悠久、規模最大的國立博物館,東京國立博物館也展出了一系列久保田的和服,為我們提供了另一個探索其藝術成就的機會。 作為首都的國家博物館,久保田的作品只是一個大得多的機構的一部分,鑑於畫廊空間的設計不夠私密,一些參觀者覺得他們的體驗有些不盡如人意。 然而,不用說,他的 “久保田一竹 “展覽是在廣闊的博物館裡舉辦的許多重要文化藝術品的展示之一,使它成為一個受歡迎的目的地。 位於東京的中心地帶,可以很容易地融入到東京的任何觀光行程中。 東京國立博物館的營業時間為每天9:30~17:00,週五、週六為21:00(閉館前30分鐘最後一次進入)。 星期一和新年期間休息。 入場費為1000日元。

NAGANO JAPAN
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
CONTACT
Art Space Japan
Art Space Japan: Itchiku Kubota

Art Space Japan: Itchiku Kubota

Kubota-Itchiku-Art-Museum

During his lifetime, the textile artist Itchiku Kubota / 久保田 一竹 won greater acclaim outside of Japan than he did at home. A supremely talented artist, he revived the ‘tsujigahana’ tie-dyeing technique of the Muromachi Period. Labour-intensive and highly complex, Kubota not only revived the technique but mastered his own ‘Itchiku Tsujigahana’ method, and in doing so, produced kimono of extraordinary technicality and beauty.

The Early Years

Born in the Kanda district of Tokyo in 1917, Itchiku Kubota was gifted with an appreciation for artefacts of the past through his father, an antiques dealer. Exposed to the traditions and refinements of Japanese art from an early age, the young Kubota’s home was in a neighbourhood known for its dyeing workshops. When aged 14, Kubota left school to undertake an apprenticeship with Kobayashi Kiyoshi, a ‘kimono’ artist specialising in hand-painted ‘yuzen’ dyework. A studious apprentice, Kubota applied himself fully and by the age of 19, had established his own dyeing studio.

Revelation & Hardship

Shortly after, at the age of 20. Kubota would have a surreal experience that would alter the course of his work and in time, and ultimately rejuvenate a long-forgotten method of textile art. Visiting the Tokyo National Museum, he saw a fragment of 16th century textile produced using the ‘tsujigahana’ method of tie-dying. Common through the Muromachi Period (1338-1573), the technique ceased to be practiced through the following Edo Period and all knowledge of and skill in the technique had faded from the world. Captivated by the fabric, Kubota described a period of entrancement in which he reported being transfixed by the profound beauty of the textile for three hours.

Having discovered and been enraptured by the beauty of ‘tsujigahana’, world events would cruelly interrupt his work as Kubota was drafted to the frontlines during World War II, only be taken prisoner by Russian forces at the end of the conflict. Like so many Japanese, Kubota was sent to Siberia where he endured unfathomable hardship and suffering in forced labour camps for three years. During his internment, Kubota continued to draw and produce art – a joyful practice and meaning that gave him fortitude to keep going. Finally, at the age of 31, Kubota was released and returned to his homeland.

An Artist & a Craft Reborn

Upon his return to Japan, Kubota setup a new workshop and returned to yuze’ dying for a period of around seven years before devoting himself to discover the lost secrets of tsujigahana. Over a period of around 20 years, Kubota studied, trialed, failed and continued to trial different methods in an attempt to unlock the technique. Frustrated by his failure, Kubota changed course to focus on reinventing the technique in his own way and finally, at the age of 60 , a new form of tsujigahana was born – a truly monumental achievement.

The renewed technique was named ‘Itchiku Tsujigahana’ and in 1977, he proudly presented his first exhibition. As his expertise in the technique solidified, Kubota’s artistic endeavor broadened and rather than work on individual kimono, each individual garment was designed as part of a larger, grander tapestry of ideas and emotions.

In 1979, Kubota created his celebrated five kimono series titled ‘The Setting Sun’, with the design mimicking the last two hours of the sun he would watch set in Siberia – a symbol of hope and endurance in those long, unspeakably trying years. Kubota would then embark on his hugely ambitious eighty kimono series, ‘Symphony of Light’. A depiction of the universe itself, Kubota would sadly pass away in 2003 with the series only half completed, yet having left us with some of Japan’s most extraordinary textile work and an artform once lost to the world, now reborn.

THE IMPORTANCE OF ITCHIKU KUBOTA’S WORK


Kubota-Itchiku-Art-Museum

Itchiku Kubota is a compelling figure in the creative arts. Having never achieved broad fame in Japan during his life, Kubota’s achievements were first acknowledged in Europe where he first won acclaim and awards in France; while in the United States, the Smithsonian Museum exhibited his work for a period of six months in 1995 – the first time the museum had exhibited a then living artist.

Displaying talent that many people regard to level of genius, Kubota unlocked the secrets of a highly-complex method of textile art which had long ago disappeared from the world. That effort alone took twenty years and yet, from the age of 60 onward, he would complete 104 kimono using the ‘itchiku tsujigahana’ technique including those his ocean series, Mount Fuji series, the ‘Symphony of Light’ universe series and individual pieces.

Critics and museum visitors remark on colour, depth and light that seems to radiate from the kimono. Using ‘chirimen’ (silk crepe) as the base fabric and pinching or tying tufts of the material to be dyed, Itchiku Tsujigahana kimono are notably lighter than the more traditional form many people will be familiar with. They are appear to float and the imagery depicted – whether it be the setting sun, a cloud drifting across Fuji or the universe itself – is imbued with movement and its own light.

It is Kubota’s dedication and vision to revitalise a traditional and intensive technique long forgotten, and then apply it in creating visionary garments each a part of a much larger imagining , that elevates him to a level that few artists achieve and as such, the deserved status of genius.

ITCHIKU KUBOTA: WHERE TO ENJOY HIS STUNNING KIMONO


Several institutions in Japan currently hold kimono designed by Kubota with two standing-out as the preeminent museums at which to discover his life’s work:

ITCHIKU KUBOTA ART MUSEUM, Yamanashi


Kubota-Itchiku-Art-Museum

For visitors heading to Mount Fuji and spending time around the shores of Kawaguchi-ko, the Itchiku Kubota Art Museum celebrates the life and work of the artist. The museum location was chosen for its fantastic view of Mount Fuji and consists of the main exhibition building display many of Kubota’s finest kimono, and the Gaudi-esque ‘New Wing’ building, two cafes and a landscaped garden.

Kubota-Itchiku-Art-Museum

The main museum building – a pyramid-shaped timber structure displaying Kubota’s ‘Symphony of Light’, an exquisite series of kimono with further information and video presentations of this life and work with the ‘New Wing’, houses Kubota’s private collection of artworks including his collection of glassware and beads from around the world. Open 09:30 to 17:00 (last entry at 17:00) from April to November and 10:00 to 16:30 (last entry at 16:00) from December to March. Closed on Tuesdays and from Dec.26-28. Admission costs: Adult JPY1300 / High School & Uni. Students JPY900 / School Children (6-15) JPY400.

TOKYO NATIONAL MUSEUM, Tokyo


tokyo-national-museum

As Japan’s oldest and largest national museum, the Tokyo National Museum also exhibits a series of Kubota’s kimono, offering another opportunity to explore his artistic achievement. As the capital’s national museum, Kubota’s work is only one part of a much larger institution and given the less than intimate design of gallery spaces, some visitors find their experience a little underwhelming. Needless to say however that he Icthiku Kubota exhibition is one of many displays of important cultural artefacts held at the expansive museum, making it a popular destination. Located in central Tokyo, it can be easily incorporated to any itinerary of sightseeing in the city. The Tokyo National Museum is open daily from 09:30 to 17:00 or until 21:00 on Friday and Saturday (with last entry 30 minutes before closing). Closed Mondays and over the New Year period. Admission is JPY1000.