日本長野
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
聯繫
藝術空間日本
藝術空間日本:細田守

藝術空間日本:細田守

mirai-hosoda-mamoru

細田守是富山縣人,1967年9月出生於富山市郊的上市町。和很多日本孩子一樣,細田從小就喜歡動畫。受宮崎駿早苗的《卡里奧斯特羅城》的啟發,他在12歲的時候就宣布要做動畫導演,對電影和動畫的熱情在他的青少年時期不斷增長。完成學業後,細田考入金澤美術專門學校學習油畫。

第一個步驟

大學畢業後,細田應聘到日本最著名、最成功的動畫公司吉卜力工作室。細田雖然沒有成功應聘,但卻收到了公司創始人之一、他的偶像宮崎駿的親筆表揚信。

對於未能獲得吉卜力工作室的工作機會,細田無疑是心灰意冷的,於是他將自己創作的動畫短片提交給了另一家知名的動畫公司–東映動畫,這次成功獲得了職位。啟動自己的新事業,細田勤奮工作,在東映公司打出了名氣。

早期識別

細田的知名度是在2000年代初隨著《Digimon Adventure》系列的前兩部作品出現在大眾視野中的。原本打算是一系列的短片,細田接下來的任務是將各個短片剪輯成一部故事片。本片雖然不倫不類,但卻展現了他製作精美動畫的能力,得到了觀眾的一致好評,這也是細田作為長篇電影導演的第一部作品。

該片獲得好評後,吉卜力工作室邀請細田執導下一部作品《哈爾的移動城堡》。原定於2003年上映,但細田的設想與電影公司的要求很快就出現了分歧,導致他在2002年夏天離開了這個項目。細田回到東映,與日本藝術家村上隆合作,為路易威登製作動畫短片,之後再次離開東映,加入動畫工作室Madhouse。

人氣和讚譽

在Madhouse,從2006年的《穿越時空的女孩》開始,到2010年的《夏日大作戰》,細田執導的電影獲得了廣泛的好評。這兩部影片分別於2007年和2010年獲得日本學院獎年度動畫獎。

the-girl-who-leapt-through-time-featured-mamoru-hosoda

2011年,細田離開Madhouse,與同為動畫師的齋藤優一郎成立了自己的公司–Studio Chizu。迄今為止,細田已經通過其工作室推出了三部故事片–2012年的《狼的孩子雨和雪》、2015年的《怪物的孩子》和2019年的《未來的未來》。

影片圍繞著4歲的小昆展開了一系列奇幻的冒險,故事看似簡單,卻能引起觀眾和影評人的共鳴,最終獲得了2019年奧斯卡金像獎最佳動畫長片的提名;同時也讓細田守作為日本最有才華的動畫師之一,在全球舞台上的形象得到了提升。

細田守的電影:參觀現實生活中的地點


summer-wars-mamoru-hosoda
tour-banner

細田守是當今日本公認的最有才華的動畫師之一,他的電影以其精美的渲染、動感的故事、溫馨的主題、家庭式的信息和徹頭徹尾的樂趣而聞名。他的電影經常將平凡與奇幻以及科幻元素融合在一起,吸引著廣大觀眾。在富山出生和長大的細田,他的許多電影都包含了日本中部的真實生活場景,這些場景很容易被參觀,首先是:

穿越時空的女孩


2006年上映的《穿越時空的女孩》主要講述了高中二年級的學生誠和浩介以及一個叫千秋的男孩。在獲得了穿越時空的力量後,主角們開始了一場冒險,他們在時間中跳躍,解決看似微小的日常挑戰,但在這樣做的過程中,達到了重要的認識。

tokyo-national-museum

該片主要以東京為背景,實景地包括東京國立博物館。博物館位於上野站附近,是東京最受歡迎的旅遊景點之一,非常容易辨認。

夏日大作戰


《夏日大作戰》圍繞著17歲的健二和他的工作夥伴夏樹展開,其中包括夏樹的家鄉上田的關鍵場景。在影片中,健二和夏樹乘坐 “新幹線”(子彈列車)前往上田,然後乘坐當地的上田鐵路別所線。電影中的火車是開往上田溫泉的,而現實生活中的火車則是開往別所溫泉的,別所溫泉是日本中部最著名的溫泉小鎮之一,對於任何想要享受傳統旅館和日本著名的”溫泉”文化的遊客來說都是不錯的選擇。

ueda-railway-bessho-line

前往陣內住宅,可以看到靈感來自上田城遺址公園的東小宮倉門的歷史大門。無論是火車還是公園,一年四季都可以供遊客欣賞。

ueda-castle-gate

北陸新幹線東京到金澤的一站,從上田站步行即可到達城堡公園和城門,非常方便。

狼的孩子雨和雪


被很多人認為是細田最優秀的電影,《狼的孩子雨和雪》講述了與狼人相愛的花,與狼人有兩個孩子的故事。丈夫的英年早逝,導緻小花舉家搬到了一個農村,在那裡,她的兩個孩子–可以在人形和狼人形之間轉換–將決定是作為一個人還是另一個人存在。

wolf-children-mamoru-hosoda

細田在富山縣上市出生長大,他現實生活中的故鄉是影片中村莊的靈感來源。雖然這不是他家的真實寫照,但影片中看到的稻田和山巒與神市的風景非常相似,而名為”花之井”或”花之屋”的傳統房屋則模仿了影片中的家庭住宅。

tateyama-kurobe-alpine-route-summer-hiking

另一幕則是看到花的兒子阿梅,進入立山山脈。被譽為日本三大名山之一的立山,是傳說中立山-黑部阿爾卑斯山路線的山頂。每年4月至11月開放,使用高山運輸工具穿越路線是日本中部地區最棒的體驗之一,到達山頂後,立山御廚之池就在山峰下的高原上。電影迷們會立刻聯想到阿梅遇到他的 “狐狸 “老師的地點。

怪物的孩子


細田最受歡迎的另一部電影《怪物的孩子》圍繞著生活在東京澀谷區的小憐展開。不甘於自己的這種生活,小憐遇到了一個由神奇的動物和怪獸組成的’獸國’,在那裡,被一個叫熊鐵的怪獸收為學生。

shibuya-tokyo

妖怪世界的場景是虛幻的,而人類世界的場景則是非常真實的,包括涉谷的八子十字路口,可以瞬間回歸。對於很多國際遊客來說,在到達日本之前就可以立即重新認識這個著名的口岸,從澀谷站就可以立即到達。

tour-banner

NAGANO JAPAN
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
CONTACT
ART SPACE JAPAN
Art Space Japan: Hosada Mamoru

Art Space Japan: Hosada Mamoru

mirai-hosoda-mamoru

A native of Toyama Prefecture, Hosoda Mamoru / 細田 守 was born in the small town of Kamiichi, just outside Toyama City, in September 1967. Like many Japanese children, Hosoda loved animation from a young age. Inspired by Miyazaki Hayao’s ‘The Castle of Cagliostro’, he declared his intention to be an anime director at the age of 12 and his passion of film and animation grew through his teenage years. Upon completion of his schooling, Hosada enrolled to study oil painting at Kanazawa College of Art.

First Steps

After graduation from university, Hosada applied for a position with Japan’s most famous and successful animation company, Studio Ghibli. Hosada was unsuccessful in his application however received a personal letter of praise from the company’s co-founder and one of his icons, Miyazaki Hayao.

No doubt disheartening to be unsuccessful in obtaining work with Studio Ghibli, Hosada submitted a short animated he had created himself to another leading studio, Toei Animation, and this time was successful in obtaining a position. Launching himself into his new career, Hosada worked diligently and made a name for himself at Toei.

Early Recognition

Hosada’s profile in the public consciousness emerged through the early 2000s with his work on the first two films of the ‘Digimon Adventure’ series. Originally intended to be a series of short films, Hosada was next tasked with editing and cutting the individual shorts into a feature film. As such, the film was disjointed however demonstrated his ability to craft beautiful animation that struck accord with audiences and provided Hosada with this first credit as director of a feature film.

Following the positive reception to the film, Studio Ghibli offered Hosada the opportunity to direct their next feature, ‘Howl’s Moving Castle’. Scheduled for release in 2003, differences between Hosada’s vision for the film and what the studio wanted quickly emerged, leading him to leave the project in the summer of 2002. Hosada returned to Toei where he collaborated with Japanese artist Murakami Takashi in producing short animations for Louis Vuitton, before again leaving Toei to join animation studio Madhouse.

Popularity & Acclaim

At Madhouse, Hosada undertook direction of the films that would bring he acclaim and broad popularity, starting with ‘The Girl Who Leapt Through Time’ in 2006 followed by ‘Summer Wars’ in 2010. Both films won the Japan Academy Prize for Animation of the Year, in 2007 and 2010 respectively.

the-girl-who-leapt-through-time-featured-mamoru-hosoda

With his reputation now firmly established with both audiences and critics, Hosada left Madhouse in 2011 and founded his own company, Studio Chizu with fellow animator Saito Yuichiro. To date, Hosada has released three feature films through his studio – ‘Wolf Children’ in 2012, ‘The Boy and the Beast’ in 2015, and ‘Mirai’ in 2019.

The film is centred around 4- year old Kun, who embarks on a series of fantastical adventures in a seemingly simple story but one that resonant with audiences and critics alike, ultimately nominated for Best Animated Feature at the 2019 Academy Awards; and in doing so, elevating Hosada Mamoru’s profile the global stage as one of Japan’s most talented animators.

THE FILMS OF HOSADA MAMORU: VISIT THE REAL-LIFE LOCATIONS


summer-wars-mamoru-hosoda
tour-banner

Recognised as one of the most talented animators in Japan today, the films of Hosada Mamoru are known for their beautiful rendering, dynamic stories, heart-warming themes, family-orientated messaging and downright fun. Often blending the mundane with the fantastical and elements of science-fiction, his films appeal to a broad audience. Born and raised in Toyama, many of Hosada’s films include scenes in real-life locations in Central Japan that can be easily visited, starting with:

THE GIRL WHO LEAPT THROUGH TIME


Released in 2006, ‘The Girl Who Leapt Through Time’ focuses on second year high school students Makoto and Kosuke, and a boy named Chiaki. After gaining power to time travel, the protagonists embark on an adventure that sees them leaping through time to resolve seemingly small, daily challenges but in doing, reach important realisations.

tokyo-national-museum

The film is largely set around Tokyo, with real-life locations including the Tokyo National Museum. Located nearby Ueno Station, the museum is one of Tokyo’s most popular destinations and is very easy to recognise.

SUMMER WARS


Centred around 17-year old Kenji and his work-mate Natsuki, ‘Summer Wars’ includes pivotal scenes in Natsuki’s hometown of Ueda. In the film, Kenji and Natsuki travel to Ueda using the ‘shinkansen’ (Bullet Train) and then ride the local Ueda Railway Bessho Line. While the train in the film is bound for Kakuma Onsen, the real-life train takes you a Bessho Onsen, one of Central Japan’s most famous hot spring towns and great option for any visitors wanting to enjoy a traditional guesthouse and Japan’s renowned ‘onsen’ (hot spring) culture.

ueda-railway-bessho-line

Traveling to the Jinnouchi residence, a historic gate inspired by the Higashi Koguchiyagura Gate in Ueda Castle Ruins Park can be seen. Both the train and park can be enjoyed by visitors anytime of the year.

ueda-castle-gate

A convenient stop on the Hokuriku Shinkansen line running from Tokyo to Kanazawa, the castle park and gate are only a short walk from Ueda Station.

WOLF CHILDREN


Considered by many to be Hosada’s finest film, ‘Wolf Children’ tells the story of Hana, who falls in love with a werewolf, with whom she has two children. The untimely death of her husband leads Hana to move the family to a rural village, where her two children – who can transform between human and werewolf form – will decide whether to exist as one or the other.

wolf-children-mamoru-hosoda

Born and raised in Kamiichi, Toyama, Hosada’s real-life hometown is the inspiration for the village in the film. While it is not a literal representation of his home, the rice fields and mountains seen in the film closely resemble the landscape of Kamiichi, while a traditional house named ‘Hana no Ie’ or ‘Hana’s House’, mimics the family home in the film.

tateyama-kurobe-alpine-route-summer-hiking

Another scene see’s Hana’s son Ame, head into the Tateyama mountains. Considered one of Japan’s three scared mountains, Mount Tate or ‘Tateyama’ acts as the summit of the fabled Tateyama-Kurobe Alpine Route. Open from April to November each year, traversing the route using the alpine transports is one of Central Japan’s best experiences and once at the summit, Mikurigaike Pond lies within the plateau below the mountain peak. Fans of the film will immediately recongise the location where Ame encounters his ‘werefox’ teacher.

THE BOY AND THE BEAST


Another of Hosada’s most popular films, ‘The Boy and the Beast’ revolves around Ren, who lives in the Shibuya district of Tokyo. Unhappy in this own life, Ren encounters a ‘beast kingdom’ populated by fantastic animals and monsters, and while there, is taken as the student of a monster named Kumatetsu.

shibuya-tokyo

While scenes in the monster world are fantastical, those in the human world are very much real including the instantly regonisable Hachiko Crossing in Shibuya. For many international visitors, this famous crossing will be instantly recongnisable before they even arrive in Japan and is immediately accessible from Shibuya Station.

tour-banner