日本長野
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
聯繫
藝術空間日本
藝術空間日本:北齋

藝術空間日本:北齋

無論你是否知道他的名字,你很可能至少能認出日本最著名的藝術家北斎葛飾的一些作品。 據悉,北齋一生有許多名字,包括 “Hanga “木版畫、”Manga “繪畫和畫冊、繪畫和大型公開展覽等,共創作了約3萬件作品。 北齋在生前就已名聲大噪,如今作為日本最著名的藝術家,他的形象來自於他對不同媒介的掌握、多產的生產速度、突破極限的能力以及捕捉日本著名的江戶時代生活的各個方面。

神奇的人才

1760年,北齋出生於江戶(現在的東京)的一個工匠家庭,童年時被稱為 “時太郎”。 在他的一生中,他至少有三十個名字–這是當時藝術家的普遍做法–年輕的時太郎在6歲左右就開始繪畫。 從12歲起,他的父親就把他送到書店工作,14歲起改給木雕師傅當學徒。 只能認為,這些都是年輕人人生中的形成性經歷,隨後,19歲的他考上了勝川春章的學生。

在勝川的指導下,北齋學習並創作了浮世繪版畫,並以 “春浪 “為名發表了他的第一幅版畫–“歌舞伎 “演員系列。 浮世繪 “被翻譯成 “浮世繪”,以木版畫和繪畫的形式表現了 “藝妓”、”歌舞伎”、”相撲 “等上流社會的享樂世界。 在他的一生中,北齋將掌握並在許多方面重新定義浮世繪,然而重要的是,首先要注意到,他並沒有創造出自己的風格,他很快就會與他的正規學校教育的嚴格技術發生衝突。

進入荒野

在他的老師,勝川春章在1793年去世後,他被期望遵循的形式化技術感到沮喪,北齋開始探索其他風格,包括歐洲運動和競爭對手的工作室的技術。雖然我們不能確定,它似乎是作為這種越軌行為的結果,北齋可能已經從他的學校開除,在什麼似乎已經是一個巨大的形成時刻,他作為一個獨立的藝術家。北齋不得不自食其力,白天作為一個辣椒小販工作,同時在晚上保持驚人的藝術輸出,經常捕捉日常生活、 風景和復雜的主題,他無疑每天在江戶街頭遇到的圖像。

北齋一直是個藝術家,後來他以 “北斎戴鬥”的名義進入戴鬥學園,製作私人委託的作品和詩集的插圖。 然而,他又發現正規美術學校的限制不受歡迎,於是在1798年離開了學校,作為獨立的藝術家開始了創作,先是以”北齋Tomisa “的名字,不久後又以”北齋桂花”這個最著名的名字出現。

一個真正的藝術家出現了

作為一個獨立的藝術家,北齋在19紀初,由於他的插圖和自我宣傳的才能,包括製作巨大的藝術作品供眾人娛樂,他的知名度越來越高。 1811年,北齋開始了他的系列素描手冊,進入了他事業的新階段,他將以 “Taito “的名義掌握藝術形式。

Hokusai-Katsushika-Profile-Image
Image source: National Diet Library Digital Collections

到1820年,他已經製作了12卷,包括數千幅圖像,包括日常物品、植物、動物、魚類、日常人物、宗教工藝品等許多圖像。 時至今日,北齋仍被認為是漫畫的祖父,對當代藝術家仍有巨大的影響力。

北齋進入了人生的多產期,他的《富嶽三十六景》、《神奈川衝浪裡》、《紅富士》等作品享譽日本。 到了這個階段,他把在木版畫和繪畫實踐中學習到的日本和西方的技術重新應用,使他的作品具有日本傳統藝術所沒有的深度和體積。

畫狂老人

到了1834年,北齋又把自己的名字改成了 “畫狂老人”,或者說是 “為藝術而畫狂老人”。 到了七十年代,北齋推出了他最著名的《富嶽百景》系列,堪稱山水畫冊中的代表作。 不幸的是,他的大部分作品在1839年他的工作室失火時被毀,當時他的知名度正在下降,年輕的藝術家們獲得了他的衣缽。

Hokusai houou, Obuse

83歲時,北齋被富商高井鴻山邀請到長野的小布施町(當時稱為 “信濃”)。 相隔約220公里的距離,北齋徒步前往。 在小布施,北齋將注意力完全轉移到繪畫上,並完成了被認為是他最後的傑作,其中包括我們今天所能看到的最大的作品–“富士越龍圖”,這幅作品至今仍裝飾在岩松院的天花板上。 北齋在生命的最後一刻回到東京,以90歲的高齡與世長辭,他在臨終前發出了這樣一句廣為傳誦的感嘆:”如果上天再給我10年……再給我5年,我就能成為真正的畫家了”。

為什麼北齋在日本如此受崇敬?


在一個提倡遵從和遵循規則的國家,它可能是超乎尋常的,如果不是徹頭徹尾的混亂,日本慶祝一個藝術家誰違背僵化的慣例,混合日本和西方的影響,並慶祝日常生活和自然世界的貴族和傳統圖案慶祝高於所有其他。 事實上,許多日本人說起北齋,就像說起敬愛的祖父或叔叔一樣,充滿了個人的尊重和敬仰。

北齋生前就很有名氣,在他去世後的許多年裡,他的藝術以其迷人的美感、形式、色彩和深度而聲名遠播。 由他親手製作的圖像具有很少有藝術家能達到的生命力,以至於其中的人物在你看去的時候,似乎已經準備好了行動,並開始了他們的工作。 因此,他的作品很有生命力,讓我們可以穿越時空,一睹日本著名的江戶時代–日本真正開放和現代化之前的生活。 在掌握了多種藝術形式之後,每年成千上萬卷的漫畫作品中仍然可以看到北齋的手,這使他在今天和以往一樣具有現實意義。

在日本以外,北齋是第一個影響西方藝術運動的日本藝術家,包括馬奈、雷諾阿、梵高和高更等畫家都受到他的藝術和浮世繪簡潔線條和平淡色彩的影響。 因此,北齋在印象主義、現代主義和新藝術的出現中發揮了重要的作用–他是真正的世界性人物,也是日本最著名的藝術家。

北齋:在哪裡欣賞他的藝術作品?


作為日本傑出的藝術家,你很可能在全國各地的許多博物館和畫廊裡看到北齋的作品。 下面的名單並不詳盡–許多博物館和畫廊都展示了他的版畫、畫冊和繪畫作品–然而這些場所為欣賞他的作品提供了最好的機會。

墨田北齋美術館,東京


sumida-hokusai-museum-tokyo

墨田北齋美術館​​以日本最著名的藝術家的生平和作品為主題。 在他的一生中,他的作品有很多名字,北齋被公認為是包括浮世繪在內的多種媒介的藝術大師。 北齋最著名的作品,在日本以外的地方被稱為 “神奈川衝浪裡”,據說是人類歷史上最被認可的形象之一。 美術館將永久陳列與更大的旋轉展覽空間混合在一起,展示他一生的作品。 每天營業時間為09:30至17:30(最後一次進入時間為17:00)。 星期一和12月26日至1月1日休息。 入場費400日元。

小布施北齋博物館,長野


obuse-hokusai-museum

北齋在長野縣小布施市度過了他最後的歲月。 在當地富商高井鴻山的讚助下,北齋創作了他的最後一幅傑作–大鳳,這幅畫至今還裝飾在岩松院的天花板上。 因此,小布施是著名藝術家的代名詞,如今小布施北齋博物館就在這裡。 這座小型但引人入勝的博物館介紹了北齋的生平和作品,並通過不斷輪換的展覽時間表來展示他的精湛技藝。

Takaikozan memorial museum

對於他的藝術愛好者或想要了解他為何如此著名的遊客來說,兩段引人入勝的視頻將在博物館循環播放,介紹他的生平、他為何受到如此讚譽,以及他與小布施的關係。 參觀完博物館後,我們還推薦您去附近的高井鴻山記念博物館(上圖)和岩松院。

太田紀念美術館,東京


太田紀念美術館位於東京都澀谷區,是以北齋的作品為主題的 “浮世繪”。 與上述兩個機構不同的是,太田紀念美術館以北齋的生平和作品為主題,展示了包括漫畫在內的所有作品,而太田紀念美術館則展示了除北齋以外的許多著名藝術家的浮世繪藝術。 美術館擁有約14,000件藏品,其中70至100件在同一時間展出,並定期輪流舉辦展覽。 每天開放時間為10:30至17:30。 星期一和新年期間休息。 入場價格根據展覽情況而不同。

NAGANO JAPAN
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
CONTACT
Art Space Japan
Art Space Japan: Hokusai

Art Space Japan: Hokusai

Whether you know his name, it is likely that you at least recognise some of the work of Japan’s most celebrated artist, Katsushika Hokusai / 葛飾 北斎 . Most commonly referred to simply as ‘Hokusai’, the artist went by many names during a life in which he is said to have produced countless artworks across mediums including ‘hanga’ woodblock prints, painting and large-scale, public displays. Having achieved fame during his lifetime, today, Hokusai’s profile as Japan’s most celebrated artist stems from his mastery of different mediums, prolific rate of production, ability to push the boundaries of what’s possible and capture all aspects of life during Japan’s celebrated Edo Period.

A Prodigious Talent

Born to an artisan family in Edo (now called Tokyo) in 1760, Hokusai was known by the childhood name of ‘Tokitaro’. One of many names he would be known by during his lifetime – a common practice for artists at the time – the young Tokitaro began painting around the age of 6 years. From the age of 12, he’s father sent him to work in a bookstore before changing to work as the apprentice to a woodcarver from the age of 14. It can only be assumed that these were formative experiences in the young man’s life who then, at the age of 19, enrolled as a student of ‘ukiyo-e’ artist Katsukawa Shunsho.

Under Katsukawa, Hokusai studied and produced ‘ukiyo-e’, publishing his first wooodblock printed images of ‘kabuki’ actors, under the name ‘Shunro’. Translating as ‘pictures of the floating world’, ukiyo-e captured the hedonistic world of ‘geisha’, ‘kabuki’ actors, ‘sumo’ wrestlers, in both woodblock prints and paintings. During his lifetime, Hokusai would come to master and in many ways redefine ukiyo-e, creating his own style while clashing with the rigid techniques of his formal schooling.

Into the Wilderness

Upon the death of his teacher, Katsukawa Shunsho in 1793 and frustrated by the formalised techniques he was expected to follow, Hokusai began exploring other styles including European movements and techniques of rival studios. While we cannot be certain, it appears that as a result of this transgression, Hokusai may have been expelled from his school in what would appear to have been a hugely formative moment for him as an independent artist. Having to fend for himself, Hokusai worked as a chilli vendor during the day while keeping-up a prodigious output of art at night., often capturing images of daily life, landscapes and a complex breadth of subjects he no doubt encountered each day on the streets of Edo.

Always an artist at heart, Hokusai next entered the Tawaraya School under the name ‘Tawaraya Sori’, producing privately commissioned pieces and illustrations for books of poetry. Yet again finding the restrictions of a formal art school unappealing he left the school in 1798 and set-out as independent artist, first under the name of ‘Hokusai Tokimasa’ followed shortly after by his most widely known name today, ‘Hokusai Katsushika’.

A True Artist Emerges

As an independent artist, Hokusai enjoyed increasing popularity through the early years of the 19th century due to his evocative illustrations and talents for self-promotion including producing huge artworks for the entertainment of crowds. In 1811, Hokusai began his series of sketched manuals, entering a new phase of his career in which he would master the artform under the name of ‘Taito’.

Hokusai-Katsushika-Profile-Image
Image source: National Diet Library Digital Collections

By 1820 he had produced ten volumes – and would go onto to complete a total of twelve volumes during this lifetime – including thousands of images including daily objects, plants, animals, fish, everyday people, religious artefacts among many other images. To this day, Hokusai’s manuals remain hugely influential for many contemporary artists in Japan.

Hokusai now entered a prolific period of his life in which he achieved fame throughout Japan and produced some of his most famous artworks including Thirty-six Views of Mount Fuji, Under the Wave off Kanagawa and A Mild Breeze on a Fine Day (please note, the images do not go by the same names in Japan). He did so under the new moniker of ‘Iitsu’ and by this stage of his career, his application of both Japanese and Western techniques learnt and reapplied through his practice of woodblock prints and drawing imbued his artwork with depth and volume not previously seen in traditional Japanese art.

The Old Man Mad About Art

By 1834, Hokusai had again changed his name to ‘Gakyo Rojin’ or rather endearingly, ‘The Old Man Mad About Art’. Now in his seventies, Hokusai produced one of his most famous series, ‘One Hundred Views of Mount Fuji’, considered a masterpiece among landscape picture books. Tragically much of his work was destroyed when his studio caught fire in 1839.

Hokusai houou, Obuse

Aged 83, Hokusai was invited to the town of Obuse in Nagano (then called ‘Shinano’) by wealthy merchant Takai Kozan. Separated by a distance of around 220km, Hokusai made the journey on-foot. In Obuse, Hokusai shifted focus completely to painting and would complete what are considered masterpieces including the ‘The Dragon of Smoke Escaping from Mount Fuji’ which still adorns the ceiling of Ganshoin Temple (pictured above). Returning to Tokyo toward the end of his life, Hokusai passed away just shy of 90 years of age with the following widely recited exclamation made on his deathbed, ‘If only heaven will give me just another ten years … just another five more years, then I could become a real painter’.

WHY IS HOKUSAI SO REVERED IN JAPAN?


In a country that promotes conformity and following the rules, it might be surprising if not downright confusing that Japan heralds an artist who went against rigid conventions, mixed Japanese and Western influences, and celebrated daily life and the natural world over traditional motifs. Indeed, Japan celebrates him above all other artists with many Japanese speaking of Hokusai much like they would a beloved grandfather or uncle, with a respect and admiration that is not abstract but personal.

Famous in his own lifetime, Hokusai’s reputation has been sustained through the many years since his death by the captivating beauty, form, colour and depth of his art. Images produced by his hand have vitality achieved by few artists, so much so the figures in the them appear ready to move and go out their business as soon as you look away. As such, his work is alive and allows us to reach back through time and glimpse what life was like in Japan’s celebrated Edo Period – a time before Japan truly opened to the world and modernised. Having mastered multiple artforms, Hokusai’s influence can still be seen in the thousands of volumes of manga produced each year by contemporary artists, making him as relevant today as he ever was.

Looking outside of Japan, Hokusai was the first Japanese artist to influence Western art movements with painters including Manet, Renoir, van Gogh and Gaugin all influenced by his art and ukiyo-e’s use of clean lines and flat colours. As such, Hokusai had an influential role in the emergence of impressionism, modernism and art nouveau making him a truly global figure and Japan’s most celebrated artist.

HOKUSAI: WHERE TO ENJOY HIS ARTWORK


As Japan’s preeminent artist, you are likely to come across Hokusai’s art in many museums and galleries across the country. The list below is by no means exhaustive – with many museums and galleries displaying his prints, picture books and paintings – however these venues offer the best opportunities to enjoy his work:

THE SUMIDA HOKUSAI MUSEUM, Tokyo


sumida-hokusai-museum-tokyo

The Sumida Hokusai Museum is dedicated to the life and work of Japan’s most famous artist. Most commonly referred to simply as ‘Hokusai’, during his lifetime he worked under many names and came to be recognised as a master artist across several mediums including ‘ukiyo-e’. Hokusai’s most famous artwork, known outside of Japan as ‘The Great Wave’, is said to be one of the most recognised images in human history. The museum mixes a permanent display with a larger rotating exhibition space of his life’s work. Open daily from 09:30 to 17:30 (last entry at 17:00). Closed on Mondays and from Dec.26 to Jan.1. Admission is JPY400.

OBUSE HOKUSAI MUSEUM, Nagano


obuse-hokusai-museum

Hokusai spent some of his final years residing and painting in Obuse, Nagano. Under the patronage of a wealthy local merchant – Takai Kozan – Hokusai produced his last masterpiece – a great phoenix – which to this day adorns of the ceiling of Ganshoin Temple.  As such, Obuse is synonymous with the famous artist and today is home to the Obuse Hokusai Museum. This small yet engaging museum profiles the life and work of Hokusai, showcasing his mastery with an ever-rotating exhibition schedule.

Takaikozan memorial museum

For devotees of his art or visitors wanting to familiarise themselves with why he is so renowned, two engaging videos play on-loop at the museum profiling his life, why he is so acclaimed, and his connection to Obuse. Once you have visited the museum, we also recommend heading to the nearby Takai Kozan Memorial Museum (pictured above) and Ganshoin Temple.

OTA MEMORIAL MUSEUM OF ART, Tokyo


Located in the Shibuya district of Tokyo, the Ota Memorial Museum of Art is dedicated to ‘ukiyo-e’ including artworks by Hokusai. Unlike the two institutions listed above that are dedicated to the life and work of Hokusai and as such, exhibit all manner of his endeavours including manga, the Ota Museum profiles the art of ukiyo-e including many other renowned artists in addition to Hokusai. The museum holds a collection of around 14,000 pieces of which between 70 to 100 are on display at any one time with a regular rotation in exhibitions. Open daily from 10:30 to 17:30. Closed on Mondays and over the New Year period. Entry price varies depending on the exhibition.