活动
善光寺
寻找天堂之路:善光寺的仪式和祭祀活动

寻找天堂之路:善光寺的仪式和祭祀活动

善光寺是日本为数不多的寺庙之一,至今仍是最重要的朝圣寺庙之一。因此,这座寺庙在许多人的生活中发挥着根本性的作用,这一事实从善光寺发生的一些值得注意的事件、经历和节日中得到了反映,首先是每天的:

“早晨仪式 “和 “念珠祈福”

该仪式被称为 “早晨仪式”,在天台宗和净土宗宗主的带领下,一年中的每个早晨都会举行,欢迎任何人参加,无论其背景或信仰如何。日出后不久,各宗派的首领将从各自的寺庙走到大殿,带领随行的僧侣和尼姑举行古老的仪式,同时诵读经文,诵经声唤起了另一个世界的氛围。

o-asaji Zenko-ji temple ceremony

每个仪式需要30分钟完成,这意味着整个仪式大约持续1个小时,在这之前和之后都有 “O-Juzu Choudai “或 “念珠祝福”。当每个教派的首领进出寺庙时,随从们排队跪在他们面前,等待他们用念珠轻轻触碰他们的头,为他们祝福。这个简单的动作据说可以确保和平的死亡和进入佛教的天堂;在任何一个仪式中,当两个教派的首领进出大殿时,游客可以获得四次祝福。

仪式在日出后不久举行,一年中的时间有所不同。从10月到4月,预计开始时间为早上6点到7点,5月到9月的仪式在早上530到630之间开始。进入寺院并接受念珠祝福是不收费的,但如果你想坐在大殿内观察奥沙吉仪式,你需要支付500日元进入内部圣殿。关于一年中仪式的确切时间,请参考寺庙的时间表。

巡游戒坛

购买了这张票后,全天都可以进入内部圣所。在圣殿内,游客可以静静地坐着,欣赏大殿的美景,包括其精致的祭坛,以及坐在东西两侧的两尊大型佛像。使用这张票还可以进入寺庙的 “巡游戒坛”,它位于祭坛的下方,通向据说现在隐藏的佛像的正下方,远离人眼。

zenkoji-temple-kaidan-meguri

这条隧道是完全黑暗的,故意如此,以代表我们的死亡和走向重生的过程。对于那些进入隧道的人来说,当他们穿过完全的黑暗,走向另一端慢慢出现的光亮时,一个隐藏的艺术品正等待着他们去发现。用触摸来引导你的方向,你正在寻找 “天堂之钥”,据说它可以帮助你走向开悟之路。要进入包括 “巡游戒坛 “在内的内殿,游客必须购买门票–成人500日元/高中生200日元/初中生和小学生50日元–可在寺庙正殿内的售票机上购买。从寺庙往后看,售票机就在你的右手边,灯火通明。你不可能错过它,而且寺庙的工作人员通常会在一旁协助。在进入内殿和隧道时,你需要脱掉鞋子和帽子(如果你戴着帽子的话),不要说话或非常安静地说话,也不要以任何理由拍照或使用手机。

善光寺的引导式佛教体验活动

善光寺是一个充满活力的精神中心,欢迎游客来欣赏寺庙,体验支撑其教义的做法和仪式。虽然你不需要是佛教徒就能在寺庙里受到欢迎,或享受你在那里发现的圣洁和美丽,但善光寺提供了一系列对研究和实践佛教至关重要的活动。

zenkoji-temple-goma

关于所提供的体验和仪式的解释,请参见我们的 “在善光寺体验引导式冥想及其他 “页面。

善光寺的节庆活动

作为日本最重要的寺庙之一,善光寺每年都会举办几个节日,每6或7年都会有一个非常特别的活动。每个节日都有自己的气氛,并突出了寺庙辖区的美丽和精神意义。

每年11月和12月,善光寺表参道灯明祭将寺庙和 “表参道”(通往善光寺的道路)变成绚丽的色彩。 从11月中旬到12月中旬,表参道将被灯光投影和装置所照亮,然后在12月中旬,寺庙本身将把1.8公里的道路和寺庙变成一个想象中的佛教天堂--一个紫色和紫色、银色和金色的短暂世界。

zenkoji-illumination

在节日期间,传统的朝圣之路和寺庙本身将成为一个充满魅力的地方,是反映在灯光下的心灵的照亮。在秋末冬初的清新空气中,这种生动的城市心灵觉醒一定会给游客留下深刻的印象。


tomyo-light-installation

不久之后,寺庙又因长野灯明祭而迸发出灿烂的光芒。每年2月22日至3月1日举行,这个安静祥和的节日是为了纪念长野作为1998年冬季奥运会的主办方,并向佛祖献上光明。这被认为是遵守佛教和获得功德的重要行为,是一个非常当地的、面向家庭的节日。

tomyo-lantern-zenkoji

该节日最引人注目的特点之一是通往寺庙的道路两旁有许多 “剪纸”(kiri-e)灯笼。这些灯笼由专业艺术家、当地居民和儿童制作,令人惊叹且高度复杂,体现了该节日的社区精神。


每6或7年举行一次–下一次计划在2021年举行–“善光寺前立主佛开龛“,或者更简单地说,前立主佛通过公开展示前立主佛本尊–隐藏的雕像的复制品来庆祝善光寺的历史和遗产。这座雕像雕刻于14世纪,本身已经有700多年的历史,除了这个节日之外,也隐藏在公众视野之外。从4月到5月持续57天,前立主佛包括各种活动,每一个都有其自身的意义。这个节日吸引了来自日本各地的游客,2009年估计有600多万人参加,2015年有600万至800万人参加。下一届前立主佛原定于2021年举行,但由于COVID-19的持续影响,该节日现在定于2022年举行。有关完整的细节,请参考我们的善光寺前立主佛开龛的一般信息页面。  

雪猴和善光寺冬季照明之旅 成人: JPY20,500 / 儿童: JPY16,000 / 婴儿: JPY5,000

预约旅游

ACTIVITIES
Zenkoji Temple
Seek Your Path to Paradise: Zenko-ji Ceremonies & Festivals

Seek Your Path to Paradise: Zenko-ji Ceremonies & Festivals

Zenko-ji is one of the few temples in Japan and to this day, remains one of the most important temples for pilgrimage. As such, the temple plays a fundamental role in the lives of many people, a fact that is reflected by a number of notable events, experiences and festivals that take place at Zenko-ji starting with the daily:

 

‘O-Asaji’ & ‘O-Juzu Choudai’

 

Referred to as the ‘o-asaji’, the ceremony takes places every morning of the year, led by the head of the Tendai and Jodo sects and welcomes anyone to participate regardless of background or faith. Shortly after sunrise, the head of each sect will walk from their respective temples to the Main Hall and lead the attendant monks and nuns in an ancient ritual, as sutras are recited and chanting evokes an otherworldly atmosphere.

 

o-asaji Zenko-ji temple ceremony

 

Each ceremony takes 30 minutes to complete, meaning the overall ceremony lasts approximately 1 hour and is both preceded and followed by the ‘O-Juzu Choudai’ or ‘Rosary Blessing’. As the head of each sect moves to and from the temple, attendants line up and kneel before them, awaiting their blessing with the soft touch of a rosary upon their heads. This simple act is said to ensure a peaceful death and entry into the Buddhist paradise; a blessing which visitors can obtain four times during any one ceremony as the heads of both sects move to and from the main hall.

 

 

Taking place shortly after sunrise, ceremony times vary throughout the year. From October until April, expect a start time between 6 to 7AM with ceremonies conducted between May and September starting between 530 to 630AM. There is no charge to enter the temple grounds and receive the rosary blessing however should you wish to sit inside the main hall in observation of the o-asaji ceremony, you will be required to pay JPY500 for entry into the inner sanctuary. For the exact timing of the ceremony through the year, please refer to the temple schedule.

 

The ‘Kaidan Meguri’

 

Access to the inner sanctuary is possible through the day with purchase of this ticket. Inside the sanctuary visitors can sit quietly and take in the beauty of the main hall including its elaborate altar, along with two large statues of the Buddha sitting to the east and west. Also accessible using this ticket, the temple’s ‘Kaidan Meguri’ descends below the altar and leads to a point directly below where the hidden statue is now said to sit, away from human eyes.

 

zenkoji-temple-kaidan-meguri

 

The tunnel is completely dark, intentionally so to represent our death and movement toward rebirth. For those who enter the tunnel, as they move through the complete darkness toward the slowly emerging light at the other end, a hidden artefact lies waiting to be discovered. Using touch to guide your way, you are searching for the ‘Key to Paradise’, said to aid you on your path toward enlightenment. To access the inner sanctuary including the Kaidan Meguri, visitors must purchase a ticket – JPY500 for adults / JPY200 for high school students / JPY50 for junior high school and primary school students – available from a ticket machine inside the main hall of the temple. Looking back-out of the temple, the machine is brightly-lit on your right. You can’t miss it and temple staff are usually on-hand to assist. When entering the inner sanctuary and tunnel, you will be required to remove your shoes and hat (if you are wearing one), refrain from speaking or speak very quietly, and do not take photographs or use your phone for any reason.

 

Guided Buddhist Experiences at Zenko-ji

 

Zenko-ji is a vibrant spiritual center which welcomes visitors to enjoy the temple and experience the practices and rituals that underpin its teachings. While you do not need to be Buddhist to be welcomed at the temple or to enjoy the sanctity and beauty you will find there, Zenko-ji offers a range of activities that are fundamental to the study and practice of Buddhism.

 

zenkoji-temple-goma

 

For an explanation of the experiences and ceremonies on offer, please see our ‘Experience Guided Meditation & More at Zenko-ji’ page.

 

The Festivals of Zenko-ji

 

As one of Japan’s most important temples, Zenko-ji plays host to several festivals each year with one very special event every 6 or 7 years. Each festival has its own atmosphere and highlights the beauty and spiritual significance of the temple precinct.

 

Each November and December, the Zenko-ji Omotesando Illumination brings the temple and the ‘Omotesando’ (the road leading to Zenko-ji), into brilliant colour.  From November 24th until December 15th, the Omotesando will be illuminated by light projections and installations followed by the temple itself from December 15th until December 25th – transforming the 1.8km road and temple into an imagined Buddhist paradise – an ephemeral world of purple and violet, silver and golden light.

 

 

During the festival the traditional road of pilgrimage and temple itself will be a place of enchantment, an illumination of the mind reflected in the light. In the crisp air of  late-autumn and early-winter, this vivid awakening of the city’s heart is certain to leave a lasting impression on visitors.

 

 

Soon after, the temple again bursts into brilliant light with the Nagano Tomyo Lantern Festival. Held from February 22nd until March 1st each year, this quiet and tranquil festival commemorates Nagano’s role as the host of the 1998 Winter Olympics and offers light to the Buddha. Considered an important act of Buddhist observance and merit-attainment, this a a very local, family-oriented festival.

 

Tomyo Matsuri Nagano

 

One of the most striking features of the festival are the numerous ‘kiri-e’ (paper cut) lanterns that line the road leading to the temple. Created by professional artists, local residents and children, these stunning and highly intricate lanterns embody the community spirit of the festival.

 

Tomyo Matsuri Nagano

 

Held every 6 or 7 years – next scheduled for 2021 – the ‘Zenko-ji Maedaichi Honzon Gokaicho’ or more simply, Gokaicho, celebrates the history and heritage of Zenko-ji with the public display of the Maedachi Honzon – a replica of the hidden statue. Carved in the 14th century, the replica statue is itself over 700 years old and also hidden from public view other than during this festival. Lasting 57 days from April to May, the Gokaicho includes various events, each with its own significance.

 

 

The festival draws visitors from all over Japan, with estimates of more than 6 million attendees in 2009 and between 6 to 8 million in 2015. The next Gokaicho was meant to take place in 2021 however due to the ongoing impact of COVID-19, the festival is now scheduled for 2022.

 

tour-banner

 

For full details, please refer to our Zenko-ji Maedaichi Honzon Gokaicho general information page.

 

Zenkoji Temple

Recommended Highlights

News / Info

Nearby Recommendations

Recommended Spring/Summer Tours

Ski & Snowboard Deals 2021/2022

Recommended Hotels

Clean Green & Healthy Travel

Things to Do

SNOW MONKEYS & ZENKO-JI WINTER ILLUMINATION TOUR Adult: JPY20,500 / Child: JPY16,000 / Infant: JPY5,000

BOOK NOW