Toyama Castle Ruin Park
Toyama Castle Park sits on the ruins of what once was Toyama Castle. First constructed in 1543, the castle served as the base of the ruling Maeda clan until the Meiji Period, when it was dismantled along with many other castles around the country.
Today, a reconstructed keep (main castle tower built in 1954) is surrounded by picturesque grounds and traditional Japanese garden. Some of the original castle walls and moat can still be seen and in spring, the park’s beautiful cherry blossom trees come to bloom, drawing crowds from all over the region.
Located directly across from the park, the Sato Memorial Art Museum displays the personal collection of a wealthy patron, Sato Sukekuro, including numerous ornaments, ceramics, lacquerware and paintings. Located on Matsukawa River, the Matsukawa Pleasure Boat Platform can be accessed from the park.
The park is open at all times of day / The castle is open 09:00 to 17:00 (entry until 16:30)
The park is open daily / The castle is open daily (other than Dec.28 to Jan.4)
Entry to the park is free / Entry to the castle costs JPY210
The park is located a short distance from Toyama Station – only a 15 minute walk – or take the city tram line No. 3 or 5 from the station to Kokusai-kaigijo-mae stop and walk from there