During the Edo Period (1603-1868), the Takayam Jinya served as the administrative centre and residence of the town officials. Heralded for the quality of its timber and skill of its carpenters, Takayama was under the direct control of the Tokugawa Shogunate and today, the Takayama Jinya provides a fascinating insight into the history of the town.
Though the current structure is a early-19th reconstruction, yet the skill of local artisans can be seen in the construction and aesthetic beauty of the Takayama Jinya. The building complex was in fact still in use until 1969, while today, it acts as a museum.
The complex includes a number of buildings including the main administrative centre and residence, annexed buildings and storehouses. The last building of its kind, Takayama Jinya is open to the public year-round (other than Dec.29-Jan.1) from 08:45 to 17:00. Admission is JPY440.
08:45 to 17:00
Open daily (except Dec.29-Jan.1)
From Takayama Station: walk directly east toward the 'Sannomachi' (old town centre). The Takayama Jinya is located at the southern end of the historic precinct, approximately 10 minutes walk from the station