日本對通過註冊旅行社預訂的遊客開放。
欲了解更多信息,包括如何與我們預訂 - 點擊這裡
活動
木曾谷 & 中山道
中山道的后城鎮

中山道的后城鎮

中山道是連接京都和江戶、東京的五條主要通道之一,在江戶時代是貿易、通訊、人員流動的重要通道。中山道所經過的山地,雖然仍然是一條重要的貿易路線,但與沿海的五海道相比,在貨物運輸方面卻不那麼方便。貿易的減少意味著在這條道路上進行貿易的強盜較少,因此,這條道路被認為是比較安全的道路。

在德川幕府時期,大部分地區的’大名’(藩主)每隔一年就必須到江戶去一次,並在江戶居住6至12個月,以示對將軍的敬畏。這一政策被稱為 “參勤交代”,據估計,有些大名在不在時,需要繳納年收入的25%,同時要求其繼承人必須留在京城居住。

這樣一來,幕府在經濟上和現實中都鞏固了對地區諸侯的控制權,有效地將其繼承人和親信挾持在京城,從而鞏固了他們對地區諸侯的控制權。由於路途較少,中山堂經常被用來運送大名的家眷往返於江戶,被認為是比較安全的避開強盜活動。

Narai Post Town Ice Candle

中山道上的封建家族的流傳,使得城鎮的財富和地位得到了極大的發展,在每個驛站都有”大名之家”和”脇本陣”,這也是最受歡迎的三個”館”的傳承。

 

馬籠宿


 

作為中山道上保存最完好的驛站之一,馬籠以其陡峭的山坡和周圍美麗的風景而聞名。歷史悠久的城鎮中心,包括寬闊的石板路在內,已經進行了廣泛的修繕,白天禁止車輛進入。賓館、餐廳、咖啡館和商店鱗次櫛比,白天有很多可以探索和享受的地方。如果遊客在馬籠的傳統民宿中過夜,由於當地的餐館晚上不營業,所以請選擇晚餐和早餐。

馬籠的本館現在日本文學家藤村記念館,而脇本陣則是一座小型博物館,展示了中山道沿線的重要驛站—中山道的遺產。

從中津川站開車只需15分鐘,馬籠是中山道的起點,到津鄉約7.5公里,是最受歡迎的步行路線。這段路需要2.5-3個小時,沿途有稻田、農田、溪流、森林、瀑布等起伏的景觀,再到下一個著名的驛站町,需要2.5-3個小時。

 

妻籠宿


 

妻籠是中山道上保存最完好、最受歡迎的驛站之一。在春秋兩季的旺季時,這裡有很多好吃的餐館和龍館,是非常受歡迎的地方。在鎮上的時候,應該去參觀重建後的本館和原始的脇本陣,後期還可以在此參觀英文導遊。

漫步在津鄉的街道上,經過旅社、家庭旅館、餐廳、商店和寺廟,將您帶回到江戶時代–想像中的日本。沿著森林和農田的道路,沿著幾百年前的森林和農田到達各個城鎮,這是最適合步行的體驗。

從中津川站開車25分鐘,從木曾福島站開車45分鐘。從馬籠站出發,可以雙向步行,但建議從馬籠站步行到津鄉。

 

奈良井宿


 

奈良井位於木曾谷的深處,比起馬籠、津鄉和我們推薦的木曾谷的驛站小鎮,成井的遊客較少。位於京都和江戶之間的中點,是中山堂69個城鎮中最富有的地方。現在,這裡的大部分建築都還保留著,遊客們對其保存的程度也是津津樂道。

比起現存的其他郵政局鎮,歷史建築比起其他郵政局鎮要遠得多。被譽為 “千家萬戶的奈良井”,長1公里、寬200米的保護區域,讓人感受到它的歷史意義。中村住宅和上堂屋白館是保存完好的住宅,歡迎遊客進入這裡,進一步了解江戶時代的生活。

奈良井站位於歷史悠久的市中心外,是一個可以立即到達的地方,有的遊客會選擇步行前往或從藪原宿出發。雖然比起從馬籠到妻籠的步道,這條步道比起馬籠到妻籠的步道要短一些,但比起馬籠到妻籠的步道,這條步道的坡度和要求更高,只有體能和行動力都很好的人才能走。夏天的時候,天氣炎熱和潮濕會使徒步旅行充滿了挑戰,所以要做好充分的準備,慢慢來。

有關中山道的詳細路線,請參考 “中山道的最佳體驗 “頁面。

tour-banner

如果您對中山道的徒步旅行或木曾谷有什麼問題?請隨時聯繫我們 snowmonkeyresorts@machinovate.com,讓我們一起計劃一下吧!

ACTIVITIES
Nakasendo Trail & Kiso Valley
Post Towns of the Nakasendo

Post Towns of the Nakasendo

This post is also available in: TW ZH

As one of five major routes – referred to as the ‘Gokaido’ – connecting Kyoto and Edo/Tokyo, the Nakasendo was a vital route for trade, communications, and the movement of people during the Edo Period. The mountainous terrain through which the Nakasendo passed meant, that while it was still a vital trade route, it was less convenient for the passage of goods than the coastal roads of the Gokaido. Less trade meant fewer bandits targeting commerce on the road, and as such, the road was considered safer for the passage of people including feudal lords and their families.

Under the Tokugawa shonguate, most of the regional ‘daimyo’ (feud lords) were required to travel to Edo every second year and remain in residence for between 6 and 12 months, in an act of deference to the shogun. Known as the ‘sankin-kotai’, this policy is estimated to have cost some daimyo 25% of their yearly income to perform while also requiring their heir to remain in residence in the capital, when they were absent.

In doing so, the shogunate consolidated their control of the regional lords both economically and practically, by effectively holding their heir and close members hostage in the capital. As the road less travelled, the Nakasendo was often used to send family members of the daimyo to and from Edo, considered to be safer from banditry.

Narai Post Town Ice Candle

The passage of feudal families on the Nakasendo allowed towns to develop great wealth and status, as evidenced by the presence of ‘honjin’ (guesthouses for the daimyo) and ‘waki-honjin’ (guesthouses for lower officials) at each station – a legacy that has been mindfully preserved in the three most popular ‘juku’:

 

Magome-juku


 

One of the best-preserved postal towns on the Nakasendo, Magome is known for its steep incline and beautiful views of the surrounding landscape. The historic town center has been extensively restored including a broad stone walkway with a daytime ban on the entry of vehicles. Guesthouses, restaurants, cafes and stores line the road, with plenty to explore and enjoy during the day. Visitors staying overnight at one of Magome’s ‘ryokan’ (traditional guesthouses), should opt to include dinner and breakfast as local restaurants do not stay open at night.

Magome’s honjin now houses the Toson Memorial Museum, dedicated to Japanese literary figure Shimazaki Toson, while the wakihonjin acts as a small museum profiling the town’s heritage as an important station along the Nakasendo.

Located only 15 minutes drive from Nakatsugawa Station, Magome is a popular starting point for walking the Nakasendo, with the approximate 7.5km walk to Tsumago being the most popular section of the trail. Taking between 2.5 to 3 hour, the walk takes you through an undulating landscape of rice paddies, farm fields, streams, forests and even some waterfalls and onto the next famous post town.

 

Tsumago-juku


 

Tsumago is one the best preserved and most popular for post towns on the Nakasendo.  Home to some great restaurants and traditional guesthouses, Tsumago is extremely popular and can be busy during the peak seasons of spring and autumn. While in town, the beautifully reconstructed honjin and original wakihonjin should be visited, with English tours available at the later.

Strolling the streets of Tsumago, past guesthouses, family homes, restaurants, stores and temples transports you back to Edo Period and the Japan of your imagination. It is an experience best enjoyed on foot, enhanced by arrival in each town following passage through forest and farmlands much-like people did hundreds of years before.

Tsumago is a 25 minute drive from Nakatsugawa Station and 45 minute drive from Kiso-Fukushima Station. While the walk to and from Magome can be done in either direction, we recommend walking from Magome to Tsumago.

 

Narai-juku


 

Located deep in the Kiso Valley, Narai is less visited than Magome or Tsumago and our recommendation of post towns in the Kiso Valley. Located at the midpoint between Kyoto and Edo, Narai was the wealthiest of the 69 towns that marked-out the Nakasendo. Today, much of the town remains and visitors relish the extent of the preservation.

Historic buildings stretch on much further than any of the other extant postal towns which now serve as guesthouses, restaurants, and craft and antique shops. Once known as ‘Narai of a Thousand Houses’, visitors to the town will get a strong sense of its past significance with the area preservation extending 1 kilometer in length and 200 meters in width. The Nakamura Residence and Kamidonya Shiryokan are beautifully preserved residences, welcoming visitors to enter and further their understanding of life during the Edo Period.

Located just outside the town’s historic centre, Narai Station makes the town immediately accessible with some visitors choosing to walk either to or from Yabuhara. Though this walk is notably shorter than the trail from Magome to Tsumago, it is much steeper and more demanding and should only be attempted by those with a good level of fitness and mobility. In summer, the heat and humidity can make this walk challenging so make sure you are suitably prepared and take your time. For further details about walks on the Nakasendo, please refer to our ‘How to Best Enjoy the Nakasendo Trail’ page.

tour-banner

Want to experience the Nakasendo on a private tour or charter? Feel free to contact us at snowmonkeyresorts@machinovate.com and let’s get planning together!

Walk the Nakasendo Trail

Recommended Highlights

News / Info