日本長野
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS
logo_circle
聯繫
交通
東北新幹線(東京–仙台–盛岡–新青森)包括, 山形、秋田和北海道新幹線

東北新幹線(東京–仙台–盛岡–新青森)包括, 山形、秋田和北海道新幹線

tohoku-shinkansen

東北新幹線是日本傳奇的 “子彈列車 “線路中最長的一條。這條線路從東京站到新青森站,還連接著區域性的山形新幹線、秋田新幹線和北海道新幹線。在這個頁面上,你會發現以下信息:

東北新幹線的地圖和車站

服務類型

車廂和座位的類型

與山形新幹線的連接

與秋田新幹線的連接

與北海道新幹線的連接

票價和時刻表

票務和旅遊通行證

東北滑雪場

計劃你的日本之行

日本的新幹線網絡確實是一個奇蹟。它橫跨整個國家,快速、舒適且易於使用。不至少使用一次新幹線,就不算是真正完整的日本之行。然而,當談到使用東北新幹線時,由於其沿線車站的數量以及與之相連的山形新幹線、秋田新幹線和北海道新幹線等支線,可能會讓人有點困惑。沿線有多個服務項目,每個項目都有不同的名稱,通常使用不同系列的列車。

對於列車迷來說,這是一種享受,因為你可以在沿線乘坐五種不同系列的列車(大多數新幹線只有一種或兩種)。但是對於新手來說,這可能會令人困惑。解釋一下,在東北和北海道線上運行的所有服務都是新幹線,而山形和秋田線則由 “迷你新幹線 “提供服務。所有的服務都是快速到非常快速的,持有日本鐵路(JR)通票的人可以預訂,但要額外收費。我們希望以下信息能幫助你計劃使用該線路和探訪日本。

東北新幹線的地圖和車站


tohoku-shinkansen-map

東北新幹線是日本最長的新幹線,從東京到青森,全長675公里。它從東京向東北方向運行,進入廣闊的東北地區,是進入東北地區福島、山形、宮城、岩手、秋田和青森縣的主要列車路線,同時也連接到北海道的北島。東北線上有以下車站:  

東京 / 上野 / 大宮 / 小山 / 宇都宮 / 那須塩原 / 新白河 / 郡山 / 福島 / 白石蔵王 / 仙台 / 古川 / 栗駒高原 / 一關 / 水沢江刺 / 北上 / 新花卷 / 盛岡 / 岩手沼宮內 / 二戶 / 八戶 / 七戸十和田 / 新青森

沿線的三個車站允許旅客轉乘較短的/地區性的新幹線。 1.經福島站的山形新幹線;2.經盛岡站的秋田新幹線;3.經新青森的北海道新幹線。每條線路上的一些服務將繼續從東京出發,而不需要轉車,但你也可能需要在這些車站的任何一個地方下車,轉乘後續的服務。關於各條線路的更多信息,請參見以下信息。  

服務類型  


tohoku-shinkansen-banner-edit

持有有效日本鐵路(JR)通票的國際遊客可以免費使用東北新幹線的任何服務。這條線路上有四種服務:

隼號東京到新青森:180至205分鐘

‘隼號’是這條線路上運營速度最快的服務,從東京站到新青森站–有些服務會到北海道的新函館北斗站–詳情見下文。服務時間取決於它在哪些車站停靠。所有從東京出發的隼號服務都在仙台、盛岡和新青森停靠,其他服務在東京和新青森之間的所有車站停靠,並進入北海道的新函館北斗。該服務的所有座位都是預留的–這意味著即使你有JR通票,你也需要去辦公室預訂座位(不收取額外費用),每條服務都包括商務車廂和高級車廂。

山彥號東京到盛岡:135至200分鐘

“山彥號”服務在東京和盛岡之間運行,有幾條服務在新花卷提前一站停靠。不管是在盛岡還是在新花卷停車,它都會在中間的所有車站停車,包括郡山、福島和仙台。山彥號服務包括非預留座位和預留座位–如果你有JR通票,你需要到辦公室預訂座位(不收取額外費用),每條服務還包括商務車廂和高級車廂。

那須野東京至郡山:80至110分鐘

“那須野”號只從東京到郡山,有幾條線路從上野出發,在中間的所有車站停靠。這些服務通常在早上和晚上運行,旨在為進出東京的工人服務。那須野服務的大多數車廂都是完整的非預留車廂,不包括商務車廂和高級車廂。

疾風號盛岡到新青森:60分鐘

“疾風號”是該線路上第二快的服務,但它不往返於東京,而是往返於盛岡和新青森,並進入北海道的新函館北斗。這條線路的所有座位都是預留的–這意味著即使你有JR通票,你也需要到辦公室去預訂座位(不收取額外費用),每條線路都包括商務車廂。

在這條線路上還有兩條服務–翼號小町號。這些服務分別運行到福島站和盛岡站,然後運行到區域性的山形線和秋田線–詳情見下文。

車廂類型


tohoku-shinkansen

東北線不僅是日本最長的新幹線,也是火車迷們的夢想,沿線有不同的列車運營。如果你屬於這一類,你可能會很高興知道E2、E3、E5、E6和H5系列都在沿線運營。這些列車的編組有些不同,但大多數包括:

普通車廂

tohoku-shinkansen

任何新幹線的大多數車廂都是由普通車廂組成。普通車廂通常每排有5個座位,由一條過道隔開,一邊是3個座位,另一邊是2個座位–標準的3×2佈局。座位是舒適的,可以傾斜,有合理的腿部空間。每個座位都有一個托盤桌,可以從前面的座位上折疊下來,還有給電子設備充電的電源接口。每個座位上方都有高架儲藏室,但值得注意的是,較大的行李可能難以存放。值得注意的是,所有隼號和那須野服務都只提供預訂座位,要求你提前預訂。山彥號服務有預留和非預留車廂。疾風號服務的所有車廂都是非預留座位。


商務車廂

Shinkansen-Green-Class

大多數新幹線服務都有一個商務車廂,用綠色的四葉草標誌來標識。這些車只接受預訂,價格比普通車的座位略高。座位更寬敞、更舒適,腿部空間更大。每排只有4個座位,由過道分割,每邊有2個座位–2×2的佈局。更寬鬆的間距也為行李提供了更多的空間。包括閱讀燈和腳踏板在內的額外功能使綠皮車更加舒適。受到商務旅客的歡迎,這些車廂通常很安靜,可以和航空公司的商務艙相比。就相對較小的價格差異而言,對於希望獲得額外舒適和安靜的旅客來說,商務車廂是一個不錯的選擇。


高級車廂

高級車廂相當於頭等艙或豪華艙。每節車廂包括18個座位,由過道隔開,兩側各有1個和2個座位–寬敞的2×2佈局。真皮的全自動躺椅為旅客提供了真正的舒適,並有專門的高級別服務員為旅客提供免費餐食、飲料、報紙、雜誌和其他物品。高級艙的價格明顯較高,而且不包括在所有的服務中。

與山形新幹線的連接


yamagata-shinkansen-banner-edit

山形新幹線是一條區域性線路,在福島站從東北主線分出,經山形縣的山形站運行至新莊站。該線路的站點包括:

福島 / 米沢 / 高畠 / 赤湯 / 上山溫泉 / 山形 / 天童/ 櫻桃東根/ 村山 / 大石田 / 新莊

一些服務從東京站運營,其他服務從福島開始。雖然從東京到福島的線路是獨立的新幹線,但從福島開始,列車在標準軌距的線路上運行,沒有達到真正的新幹線服務的速度。由於這個原因,該線路經常被稱為 “迷你新幹線”。有些服務直接從東京出發,繼續進入山形線,而你也可以選擇在福島站轉車。但最方便的方式是使用:

翼號東京到山形:145至175分鐘/東京到新莊:210分鐘

從東京到山形,再到新莊,”翼號”的服務與 “山彥號 “的服務相連,一直到福島,在那裡它們不相連並運行到上述車站–這意味著不需要在福島轉車。所有的服務都包括非預留和預留座位–採用2 x 2的座位佈局,而不是標準的新幹線3 x 2的座位(由於需要在更窄的標準軌距上運行)–以及一個商務車廂,但沒有高級車廂。

與秋田新幹線的連接


akita-shinkansen-banner-edit

秋田新幹線是一條區域性線路,在盛岡站分出東北主線,運行至秋田縣的秋田站。這條線路上的站點包括:

盛岡 / 雫石 / 田沢湖 / 角館 / 大曲 / 秋田

有些服務從東京站開始,其他服務從盛岡開始。雖然從東京到盛岡的線路是一條新幹線,但從盛岡開始,列車在標準軌距的線路上運行,達不到真正的新幹線的速度。由於這個原因,與山形新幹線一樣,該線路經常被稱為 “迷你新幹線”。有些服務直接從東京出發,繼續進入秋田線,而你也可以選擇在盛岡站換乘服務。但最方便的方式是使用:

小町東京到秋田:200至230分鐘/盛岡到秋田:95分鐘

從東京到秋田,”小町”服務與 “翼號 “服務相連,直到盛岡,在那裡它們不相連並運行到上面列出的車站–這意味著不需要在盛岡轉車。所有的小町服務都只保留座位–採用2 x 2的座位佈局,而不是標準的新幹線3 x 2的座位(由於需要在更窄的標準軌距上運行)–並包括一個綠色車廂,但沒有高級車廂。

與北海道新幹線的連接


hokkaido-shinkansen-banner-edit

北海道新幹線是東北線的延伸,通過海底青函隧道連接日本本州島和北海道北部島嶼。目前,它最遠運行到新函館北斗站,預計將在2030年完成延伸至札幌。該線路目前只包括四個站點:

新青森 / 奧津軽 / 木古內 / 新函館北斗

“隼號 “和 “疾風號”服務–如上所述–分別從東京或仙台到新函館北斗和盛岡或新青森到新函館北斗。

隼號東京到新函館北斗:235至265分鐘

“隼號 “服務是東北和北海道線路上最快的服務,服務時間取決於具體車站的停靠站。如上所述,這種服務的所有座位都是預留的–這意味著即使你有JR通票,你也需要到辦公室去預訂座位(不收取額外費用),每條服務都包括商務車廂和高級車廂。

疾風新青森到新函館北斗:55至65分鐘

該服務的所有座位都是預留的–這意味著即使你有JR通票,你也需要去辦公室預訂座位(不收取額外費用),每條服務都包括商務車廂和高級車廂。

票價和時間表


tohoku-shinkansen-banner-edit

東北新幹線上每天都有許多服務。有關包括時間表在內的詳細信息,請參考我們的 “東北新幹線時間表 “頁面 – 即將推出!

顯然,票價會有很大的不同,這取決於你的起點和終點,以及你是否要預訂非預訂車廂(NR)、預訂車廂(R)、商務車廂(GR)或高級車廂(GC)。但作為指南,以下價格是截至2022年3月的準確價格*:

東京到郡山=NR:7810日元/R:8340日元/GR:12000日元/GC:15150日元。

東京到山形=R:11,450日元/GR:15,110日元。

東京到新莊=R:13,000日元/GR:17,870日元。

東京到仙台=NR:10,560日元/R:11,410日元/GR:15,070日元/GC:17,900日元。

東京到盛岡=NR:13,960/R:15,010日元/GR:19,880日元/GC:22,510日元。

東京到秋田=R:18,020日元/GR:23,090日元。

東京到新青森=R:17,670日元/GR:23,740日元/GC:28,980日元。

東京到新函館北斗=R:23,430日元/GR:32,300日元/GC:40,680日元。

*請注意,價格可能會有變化,上述價格應僅作為一個指導。

票務和旅行通行證


shinkansen-ticket-banner-edit

在任何一個主要的車站都可以使用新幹線售票機或日本鐵路公司的辦公室(兩者都會有明顯的標誌)購買車票。 在各大車站,通常會有會說英語的服務員提供幫助。 另外,也可在預定旅行日期前30天在網上購票。

shinkansen-ticket-machines

無法迴避的事實是,使用新幹線旅行是昂貴的。考慮到這些列車的速度和覆蓋的距離,旅行者應該把它們看成是乘坐飛機,車票的價格也是如此。來日本的國際遊客可以選擇購買幾種通票之一,這些通票可以無限制地使用東北鐵路和(某些通票)其他新幹線和列車服務。

日本鐵路(JR)通票

japan-rail-pass

日本鐵路JR)通票涵蓋了日本所有9條新幹線和許多其他列車服務,對於計劃使用新幹線超過幾次和/或進行長途旅行的遊客來說是一個很好的選擇。旅客可以選擇7天、14天和21天的通票,涵蓋普通車廂和商務車廂。 JR通票允許使用所有東北、山形、秋田和北海道的新幹線服務,但需要注意的是,如果該服務僅有預訂,或者你想預訂一個預訂座位,你需要在上車前在售票處進行預訂,而不需要支付額外費用。

東北的滑雪勝地


winter-ski-banner-edit
japan-ski-resorts-banner

雖然它們可能不像長野、新潟和北海道的滑雪場那樣知名,但東北的滑雪場提供了一些出色的滑雪和單板滑雪,而且與日本更發達的國際滑雪場有著不同的氛圍。我們的 “東北滑雪勝地 “頁面有你需要知道的一切,包括星野度假村Alts磐梯、藏王溫泉滑雪場和安比高原滑雪場的所有統計數據、事實、亮點和住宿。

計劃你的日本之行


tour-banner

東北新幹線只是日本奇妙鐵路網的一部分。它的規模和效率是難以想像的,乘坐列車在全國各地旅行,既方便又舒適,為探索日本的所有地區提供了機會。我們的 “計劃你的探訪 “頁面有你需要知道的關於探訪日本的一切–從旅行的最佳時間、需要避免的時間、入境和出境這個國家、金錢問題、保持聯繫、住宿、保持安全和健康等方面的提示,以確保你在這裡得到最大的收穫。

NAGANO JAPAN
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS
logo_circle
CONTACT
ACCESS
Tohoku Shinkansen (Tokyo–Sendai–Morioka–Shin-Aomori) inc. Yamagata, Akita & Hokkaido Shinkansen

Tohoku Shinkansen (Tokyo–Sendai–Morioka–Shin-Aomori) inc. Yamagata, Akita & Hokkaido Shinkansen

tohoku-shinkansen

The Tohoku Shinkansen is the longest of Japan’s legendary ‘Bullet Train’ lines. Running from Tokyo Station to Shin-Aomori Station, the line also connects the regional Yamagata Shinkansen, Akita Shinkansen and Hokkaido Shinkansen lines. On this page you will find the following information:

Tohoku Shinkansen Line Map & Stations

Types of Services

Types of Carriages & Seating

Connection to the Yamagata Shinkansen

Connection to the Akita Shinkansen

Connection to the Hokkaido Shinkansen

Fares & Timetables

Ticketing & Travel Passes

Tohoku Ski Resorts

Plan Your Visit to Japan

Japan’s shinkansen network really is a marvel. Spanning-out across the entire country, it is quick, comfortable and easy to use. No trip to Japan is truly complete without using it at least once. However, when it comes to using the Tohoku Shinkansen, it can be a little confusing given the number of stations along its length and the branch lines including the Yamagata Shinkansen, Akita Shinkansen and Hokkaido Shinkansen that connect to it. Multiples services run along the line, each with a different name often using a different series train.

For the train nerds, this is something of a treat as you can ride five different series of trains on along the line (most shinkansen lines only have one or two). But for novices, this can be confusing. In explanation, all services running on the Tohoku and Hokkaido lines are shinkansen, while the Yamagata and Akita lines are serviced by ‘mini-shinkansen’. All services are fast to very fast and can be booked with additional charged for holders of the Japan Rail (JR) Pass. We hope the following information helps in planning your use of the line and you visit to Japan.

TOHOKU SHINKANSEN LINE MAP & STATIONS


tohoku-shinkansen-map

The Tohoku Shinkansen is the longest shinkansen line in Japan, covering 675km from Tokyo to Aomori. Running from Tokyo to the north-east into the expansive Tohoku region, it is the primary train route heading into the north-eastern prefectures of Fukushima, Yamagata, Miyagi, Iwate, Akita and Aomori while also connecting through to the north island of Hokkaido. The following stations are on the Tohoku line:

Tokyo / Ueno / Omiya / Oyama / Utsunomiya / Nasu-Shiobara / Shin-Shirakawa / Koriyama / Fukushima / Shiroishi-Zao / Sendai / Furukawa / Kurikoma-Kogen / Ichinoseki / Mizusawa-Esashi / Kitakami / Shin-Hanamaki / Morioka / Iwate-Numakunai / Ninohe / Hachinohe / Shichinohe-Towada / Shin-Aomori

Three stations along the line allow travellers to transfer onto to shorter / regional shinkansen lines: 1. the Yamagata Shinkansen via Fukushima Station 2. the Akita Shinkansen via Morioka Station, and 3. the Hokkaido Shinkansen via Shin-Aomori. Some services on each line will continue on from Tokyo without the need to transfer however you may also need to disembark at any of these stations to transfer to an onward service. For more information about each line, see the information below.

TYPES OF SERVICES    


tohoku-shinkansen-banner-edit

International visitors holding a valid Japan Rail (JR) Pass can use any service on the Tohoku Shinkansen at no additional charge. Four types of service operate on the line:

Hayabusa Tokyo to Shin-Aomori: 180 to 205 minutes

The ‘Hayabusa’ is the fastest service operating on the line and runs from Tokyo Station to Shin-Aomori Station – with some services going onto Shin-Hakodate-Hokuto Station in Hokkaido – see below for details. The service time depends on which stations it stops at. All Hayabusa services starting from Tokyo stop at Sendai, Morioka and Shin-Aomori, with other services stopping at all stations between Tokyo and Shin-Aomori and going onto Shin-Hadkodate-Hokuto in Hokkaido. All seats on this service are reserved – meaning that even if you have a JR Pass, you’ll need to go into an office and book a seat (at no additional charge) with Green Car and Gran Class carriages included on each service.

Yamabiko Tokyo to Morioka: 135 to 200 minutes

The ‘Yamabiko’ service operates between Tokyo and Morioka, with a couple of services stopping one station earlier at Shin-Hanamaki. Whether the service stops at Morioka or Shin-Hanamaki, it will also stop at all station in-between including Koriyama, Fukushima and Sendai. Yamabiko services include both non-reserved and reserved seating – if you have a JR Pass, you’ll need to go into an office and book a seat (at no additional charge) with Green Car and Gran Class carriages also included on each service.

Nasuno Tokyo to Koriyama: 80 to 110 minutes

The ‘Nasuno’ only runs from Tokyo to Koriyama with a couple of services starting at Ueno, and stopping at all stations in-between. These services typically run in the morning and at night, intended for workers commuting in and out of Tokyo. Most carriages on Nasuno services are completing non-reserved and do not include Green Car or Gran Class.

Hayate Morioka to Shin-Aomori: 60 minutes

The ‘Hayate’ is the second fastest service on the line but one that does not run to and from Tokyo, instead running to and from Morioka and Shin-Aomori and onto Shin-Hakdodate-Hokuto in Hokkaido. All seats on this service are reserved – meaning that even if you have a JR Pass, you’ll need to go into an office and book a seat (at no additional charge) with Green Car included on each service.

There are two other services operating on the line – the Tsubasa and Komachi. These services run to Fukushima Station and Morioka Station respectively before running onto the regional Yamagata and Akita lines – see below for details.

TYPES OF CARRIAGES


tohoku-shinkansen

Not only is the Tohoku the longest shinkansen line in Japan, it’s also something of a dream for train nerds with different trains operating along it. If you fall into that category, you might be excited to know that the E2, E3, E5, E6 and H5 series all operate along the line. The formation of the trains varies somewhat however most include:

ORDINARY CAR

tohoku-shinkansen

Most carriages on any shinkansen service will be comprised of ordinary cars. Ordinary cars typically have 5 seats per row separated by an aisle, with 3 seats on one side and 2 seats on the other – a standard 3 x 2 layout. Seats are comfortable and recline with reasonable legroom available. Each seat has a tray table which folds down from the seat in front and power access for charging electronic devices. Overhead storage is available above each seat however it is worth noting that larger luggage can be difficult to store. It’s important to note that all Hayabusa and Nasuno services are reserved seating only, requiring you to book in advance. Yamabiko services have both reserved and non-reserved carriages. All carriages on Hayate services are non-reserved.


GREEN CAR

Shinkansen-Green-Class

Most shinkansen services will have one Green Car, identified by a green four-leaf clover symbol. These cars are reservation only and slightly more expensive than seating in an ordinary car. Seats are more spacious and comfortable with more legroom. There are only 4 seats per row, divided by an aisle with 2 seats each side – a 2 x 2 layout. More generous spacing also allows more room for luggage. Extra features including a reading lamp and footrest make the Green Car comfortable. Popular with business travellers, these carriages are typically quiet and can be compared to business class on an airline. For the relatively small price difference, Green Car is a good option for travellers who want that extra bit of comfort and quiet.


GRAN CLASS

Gran Class is the equivalent of first or luxury class. Each carriage includes 18 seats, separated by an aisle with 1 and 2 seats either side – a spacious 2 x 2 layout. Leather, fully-automated reclining seats offer travellers real comfort with a dedicated Gran Class attendant on-hand to serve complimentary meals, drinks, newspapers, magazines and other items. Gran Class is notably more expensive and is not included on all services.

CONNECTION TO THE YAMAGATA SHINKANSEN


yamagata-shinkansen-banner-edit

The Yamagata Shinkansen is a regional line branching-off from the main Tohoku line at Fukushima Station and running to Shinjo Station via Yamagata Station in Yamagata Prefecture. Stops on the line include:

Fukushima / Yonezawa / Takahata / Akayu / Kaminoyama-Onsen / Yamagata / Tendo / Sakurambo-Higashine / Murayama / Oishida / Shinjo

For the daily schedule, see our ‘Yamagata Shinkansen Timetable’ page. Some services operate from Tokyo Station and others start at Fukushima. While the line from Tokyo to Fukushima is a separate shinkansen line, from Fukushima onward trains operate on a standard gauge line and do not reach the speeds of true shinkansen services. For this reason, the line is often referred to as a ‘mini-shinkansen’. Some services run directly from Tokyo and continue onto the Yamagata line while you also have the option of transferring services at Fukushima Station. But the most convenient way it to use the:

Tsubasa Tokyo to Yamagata: 145 to 175 minutes / Tokyo to Shinjo: 210 minutes

Running from Tokyo to Yamagata and onto Shinjo, ‘Tsubasa’ services are coupled to ‘Yamabiko’ services as far as Fukushima, where they uncouple and run onto the stations listed above – meaning there is no need to transfer at Fukushima. All services include both non-reserved and reserved seating – with a 2 x 2 seat layout rather than the standard shinkansen 3 x 2 seats (due to the need to run on narrower standard gauge tracks) – along with a Green Car however there is no Gran Class.

CONNECTION TO THE AKITA SHINKANSEN


akita-shinkansen-banner-edit

The Akita Shinkansen is a regional line branching-off the main Tohoku line at Morioka Station and running to Akita Station in Akita Prefecture. Stops on the line include:

Morioka / Shizukuishi / Tazawako / Kakunodate / Omagari / Akita

For the daily schedule, see our ‘Akita Shinkansen Timetable’ page. Some services operate from Tokyo Station and others start at Morioka. While the line from Tokyo to Morioka is a shinkansen line, from Morioka onward trains operate on a standard gauge line and do not reach the speeds of true shinkansen services. For this reason, much like the Yamagata Shinkansen, the line is often referred to as a ‘mini-shinkansen’. Some services run directly from Tokyo and continue onto the Akita line while you also have the option of transferring services at Morioka Station. But the most convenient way it to use the:

Komachi Tokyo to Akita: 200 to 230 minutes / Morioka to Akita: 95 minutes

Running from Tokyo to Akita, ‘Komachi’ services are coupled to ‘Hayabusa’ services as far as Morioka, where they uncouple and run onto the stations listed above – meaning there is no need to transfer at Morika. All Komachi services are reserved seating only – with a 2 x 2 seat layout rather than the standard shinkansen 3 x 2 seats (due to the need to run on narrower standard gauge tracks) – and include a Green Car but no Gran Class.

CONNECTION TO THE HOKKAIDO SHINKANSEN


hokkaido-shinkansen-banner-edit

The Hokkaido Shinkansen is an extension of the Tohoku line, connecting Japan’s main island of Honshu to the northern island of Hokkaido via the undersea Seikan Tunnel. At this time it runs as far as Shin-Hakodate-Hokuto Station with extension to Sapporo expected to be completed by 2030. The line currently includes only four stops:

Shin-Aomori / Okutsugaru-Imabetsu / Kikonai / Shin-Hakodate-Hokuto

For the daily schedule, see our ‘Hokkaido Shinkansen Timetable’ page. Both ‘Hayabusa’ and ‘Hayate’ services – as discussed above – operate from Tokyo or Sendai to Shin-Hakodate-Hokuto and Morioka or Shin-Aomori to Shin-Hakodate-Hokuto respectively:

Hayabusa Tokyo to Shin-Hakodate-Hokuto: 235 to 265 minutes

‘Hayabusa’ services are the fastest on the Tohoku and Hokkaido lines, with service times dependent on which stations the specific station stops at. As noted above, all seats on this service are reserved – meaning that even if you have a JR Pass, you’ll need to go into an office and book a seat (at no additional charge) with Green Car and Gran Class carriages included on each service.

Hayate Shin-Aomori to Shin-Hakodate-Hokuto: 55 to 65 minutes

All seats on this service are reserved – meaning that even if you have a JR Pass, you’ll need to go into an office and book a seat (at no additional charge) with Green Car and Gran Class carriages included on each service.

FARES & TIMETABLES


tohoku-shinkansen-banner-edit

Numerous services operate on the Tohoku Shinkansen line each day. For details including the timetable, please refer to our ‘Tohoku Shinkansen Timetable’ page.

Obviously fares will vary greatly depending on your start and end point and whether you with to book a non-reserved (NR), reserved (R), Green Car (GR) or Gran Class (GC) carriage. But as guide, the following prices are accurate as of March 2022*:

Tokyo to Koriyama = NR: JPY7810 / R: JPY8340 / GR: JPY12,000 / GC: JPY15,150.

Tokyo to Yamagata = R: JPY11,450 / GR: JPY15,110.

Tokyo to Shinjo = R: JPY13,000 / GR: JPY17,870.

Tokyo to Sendai = NR: JPY10,560 / R: JPY11,410 / GR: JPY15,070 / GC: JPY17,900.

Tokyo to Morioka = NR: 13,960 / R: JPY15,010 / GR: JPY19,880 / GC: JPY22,510.

Tokyo to Akita = R: JPY18,020 / GR: JPY23,090.

Tokyo to Shin-Aomori = R: JPY17,670 / GR: JPY23,740 / GC: JPY28,980.

Tokyo to Shin-Hakodate-Hokuto = R: JPY23,430 / GR: JPY32,300 / GC: JPY40,680.

*Please note that pricing is subject to change and the above prices should be used only as a guide.

TICKETING & TRAVEL PASSES


shinkansen-ticket-banner-edit

Tickets can be purchased at any major station using the shinkansen ticket machines or Japan Rail office (both will be clearly marked). English-speaking attendants are usually on-hand to assist at major stations. Alternatively, tickets can be purchased online up to 30 days in advance of your intended date of travel.

shinkansen-ticket-machines

There is no escaping the fact that travel using the shinkansen is expensive. Given the speed and distances covered by these trains, travellers should think of them much like taking a flight, with tickets accordingly priced. International visitors to Japan have the option of purchasing one of several passes which allow for unlimited use of the Tohoku and (for some passes) other shinkansen and train services.

JAPAN RAIL (JR) PASS

japan-rail-pass

Covering all 9 shinkansen lines in Japan and many other train services, the Japan Rail (JR) Pass is a great option for visitors planning to use the shinkansen more than a handful of times and/or travel large distances. Travellers have the option of 7, 14 and 21-day passes covering either Ordinary or Ordinary and Green Cars. The JR Pass allows for use on all Tohoku, Yamagata, Akita and Hokkaido Shinkansen services but noting that should the service be reservation-only or you want to book a reserved seat, you will need to do so at a ticket office prior to boarding the train at no additional cost.

TOHOKU SKI RESORTS


winter-ski-banner-edit
japan-ski-resorts-banner

Though they might not be as well-known as the resorts of Nagano, Niigata and Hokkaido, the ski resorts of Tohoku offer some excellent skiing and snowboarding and a different atmosphere to the more developed and international resorts of Japan. Our ‘Tohoku Ski Resorts’ page has everything you need to know including all the stats, facts, highlights and accommodation for Hoshino Resorts Alts Bandai, Zao Onsen Ski Resort and Appi Kogen Ski Resort.

PLAN YOUR VISIT TO JAPAN


tour-banner

The Tohoku Shinkansen is just one part of Japan’s fantastic rail network. Unfathomable in its size and efficiency, moving around the country by train is easy and comfortable opening-up all regions of Japan for exploration. Our ‘Plan Your Visit’ page has everything you need to know about visiting Japan – from tips on the best time to travel, times to avoid, entering and exiting the country, money matters, staying connected, accommodation, staying safe and healthy and plenty more to ensure that you get the most out of your time here.

TOHOKU SHINKANSEN

TOHOKU TIMETABLE