DESTINATIONS
11. 木曾谷
中山道的最佳享受方式

中山道的最佳享受方式

在木曾谷,有兩段中山道步道,在這兩段中山道步道上,您可以探索歷史、文化、自然等方面的內容, 馬籠-妻籠步道和藪原-奈良井步道翻越鳥居峠。在這裡,我們將為您介紹這些徒步旅行的最佳方法!此外,我們還推薦您在木曾的旅遊網站上查看官方的地圖和小冊子

馬籠-妻籠小路

這是中山道古道中最受歡迎的一段,很容易理解,因為這段路要經過兩個保存最完好的歷史驛站,沿途可以漫步在綿延的日本鄉村和寧靜的森林中。

最佳季節: 4月至11月。

距離: 約7.5公里(4.7英里)。沿途有幾個地方有休息區和廁所。

所需時間: 整個徒步旅行大約需要2.5-3個小時(不包括探索哨所城鎮的時間)。

推薦出發點: 我們建議從馬籠到妻籠,因為大部分的山路都是平緩的下坡,有一些上坡。如果要走另一條路,則需要走大部分的上坡路。

如何到達山口。

詳細的方法請參考 “木曾谷的交通 “一文,從最近的車站乘坐公共汽車到馬籠。下了車後,沿著青石板路上山,穿過鎮子的中心,就可以到達馬込。這條路可以直達中山道的其餘部分,在這條路上可以看到通往妻籠的小路(這條小路也有很好的指示牌)。

Tsumago-Magome Nakasendo Trail sign

小徑上要注意的事項

小路兩邊的歷史悠久的馬籠鎮和妻籠鎮是非常值得花時間去探索的地方。馬籠有一個美麗的老水廠,至今仍在運行,還有一些博物館,在這裡你可以了解到小鎮的歷史,也可以看到一些老建築的內部。

Magome, Nakasendo Trail

在妻籠,你可以看到有100到300年曆史的老客棧和民居,有的已經變成了博物館。其中有一座建築曾是馬厩。其中,有一座曾是政府官員居住的 “脇本陣奧谷”,是一個特別令人印象深刻的傳統民居,室內有火坑。在小鎮的一端,你會發現一個大的木製告示牌,上面有告知旅行者當地的法律和關稅,還有一個小水廠。

tsumago

這兩個城鎮都有自己的咖啡館、小餐館、紀念品和工藝品店。在各鎮的旅遊諮詢處,請一定要在各鎮的旅遊諮詢處停留一下,獲取小冊子和詳細的觀光景點信息。

在馬籠鎮和妻籠鎮之間的小道上,一路上都是沿著平緩的溪流,在舒適的森林中穿行。在半途會看到男滝瀑布和女滝瀑布,以及散落在山路上的小石佛像。你可能也會看到一些野生猴子和其他野生動物!

tsumago-magome nakasendo trail

走近妻籠,會遇到 “茶屋”,據說是16世紀以前建造的,是旅行者休息的地方。在這裡,你可以在這裡休息一下,喝上一杯由維護者提供的綠茶。如果你在5月前後走在茶屋前的小道上,茶屋前的垂枝櫻花會開出美麗的粉紅色的花朵。

Tateba Chaya Tea House Magome-Tsumago Nakasendo Trail

如果你到了妻籠之後還有精力的話,不妨去看看位於城外的妻籠城遺址。雖然現在幾乎看不到任何遺跡,但從上往下看,這裡的景色非常不錯。

藪原-奈良井步道

中山道山路的這段山路,在很久以前就被認為是最難走的山路。雖然需要上山到山頂,但上坡部分的難度不大,總體來說是個很輕鬆的徒步旅行。

Narai Post Town

最佳季節: 4月至11月。

距離: 6公里左右。

所需時間: 約3小時。

推薦出發點:建議從藪原出發,以奈良井為終點,在奈良井風景如畫的歷史名城等著您,是結束漫長的徒步旅行的最佳選擇。

如何到達山口。

乘坐電車到藪原站。在車站附近的停車場,找一下中山道步道的大牌子,在這裡可以看到藪原-奈良井的詳細介紹。沿著指示牌上山,往 “鳥居峠 “的方向走去。到了小道口後,就可以直奔納萊。

nakasendo3

小徑上要注意的事項

這條小路大部分都在森林裡,所以要注意觀察猴子和日本蛇等野生動物。此外,還有很多有幾百年曆史的樹木,讓人印象深刻。

在鳥居峠的山頂上,有一座神社(禦岳神社)和大石門。在這裡可以看到木曾谷和奈良井町的景色。在神社的周圍,有幾尊古老的雕像,這些雕像的歷史可以追溯到幾百年前,是紀念僧人、武士等歷史人物的。在這裡有一個休息區,有廁所和自來水。從那裡開始,一直下山,直到到達奈良井!

到達奈良井後,有很多地方可以探索。郵政城是一公里長的郵政城,沿途有幾百年前的歷史民宿。這裡的建築保存得非常完好,反映了江戶時代繁榮時期的城市面貌。現在,這裡有工藝品店、紀念品店、咖啡館、餐廳等。

Narai Nakasendo

此外,還可參觀散落在鎮上的神社和寺廟。在北端,有200個獨特的小石造像。如果您是歷史愛好者的話,可以去江戶時代的富商中村宅邸,以及展示當地文物和工藝品的成川美術館博物館。

Kiso Ohashi Narai

郵政街附近有一座美麗的木橋,拱在奈良井川上。橋是由一棵300年的檜柏樹建造而成,是日本人的精美工藝品。

NAGANO JAPAN |
SNOW MONKEY RESORTS

logo_circle
CONTACT
  • EN
  • TW
  • ZH
DESTINATIONS
11. KISO VALLEY
How to Enjoy the Nakasendo Post Town Trail in Kiso Valley

How to Enjoy the Nakasendo Post Town Trail in Kiso Valley

In Kiso Valley, there are two sections of the Nakasendo Trail that offer rewarding hikes where you can explore the history, cultural, and nature of the area: the Magome—Tsumago Trail and the Yabuhara—Narai Trail over Torii Pass. This article includes tips on the best ways you can enjoy these hikes!
 
Also, we recommend checking out the official guide maps and pamphlets from the Kiso’s tourism website.
 
Magome–Tsumago Trail
This is the most popular section of the ancient Nakasendo trail and it’s easy to see why—the path takes you through two of the most well-preserved historic post towns and lets you stroll through stretches of the Japanese countryside and a peaceful forest along the way.
 
Tsumago Nakasendo
 

Best season
April through November
 

Distance
About 6.2 kilometers (3.8 miles). Rest areas and toilets are located in a couple of places along the way.
 

Time required
The entire hike takes around 2.5 to 3 hours (not including time spent exploring the post towns).
 

Recommended starting point
We recommend going from Magome to Tsumago, as most of the trail is a gentle downhill with a few uphills here and there. Going the other way will require going uphill most of the way.
 

How to get to the trailhead
See our article on Access to the Kiso Valley for detailed information on how to get to Magome, which involves taking a bus from the nearest station to Magome. Once you get off the bus, simply take the cobblestone road uphill through the center of the town. This road leads you straight to the rest of the Nakasendo trail that will take you to Tsumago (the trail is well marked with signs, as well).
 
Tsumago-Magome Nakasendo Trail sign
 

Things to look for on the trail
The historic post towns of Magome and Tsumago on either end of the trail are well worth spending time to explore. Magome has a beautiful old watermill that still functions to this day and few museums where you can learn about the town’s history and see the inside of some of the old buildings.
 
Magome, Nakasendo Trail
 
In Tsumago, you can see old inns and residences that are 100 to 300 years old, some of which have been turned into museums. One building was once a horse stall. The Wakihonjin Okuya, which was used to house government officials, is an especially impressive example of a traditional dwelling complete with an indoor fire pit. At one end of the town, you will find a large wooden notice board that informed travelers of the local laws and tariffs as well as a small watermill.
 
tsumago
 

Both towns have their share of cafes, small eateries, and souvenir and craft shops. Be sure to stop in at the tourist information centers in each town to get pamphlets and detailed information on sightseeing spots.
 
Along the trail between Magome and Tsumago, you will be walking through a pleasant forest along a gentle stream for much of the way. Keep an eye out for the Otaki and Metaki Waterfalls around the halfway point and the small stone Buddha statues (jizo) scattered about the trail. You may see some wild monkeys and other wildlife too!
 
tsumago-magome nakasendo trail
 
Getting closer to Tsumago, you will run into the Tateba Chaya (tea house), which is thought to have been built before the 1600s and served as a resting place for travelers. Here, you can take a break and enjoy a cup of green tea offered by the maintainer. If you walk the trail around May, the weeping cherry blossom in front of the tea house will be blooming with beautiful pink flowers.
 
Tateba Chaya Tea House Magome-Tsumago Nakasendo Trail
 
If you have some energy left after reaching Tsumago, you may want to check out the Tsumago Castle Ruins located just outside of the town. Though there are hardly any visible ruins remaining, the location offers a great top-down view of the area.
 
Tours
We have several tours that feature the Magome to Tsumago trail!
 
2-Day From/To Nagano: Historic Nakasendo Walking Tour
 
3-Day From/To Nagano: Snow Monkeys and Historic Nakasendo Walking Tour
 
3-Day Nagoya to Tokyo: Snow Monkeys, Mt. Fuji, and Nakasendo Walking Tour
 
4-day Nagano to Tokyo: Snow Monkey, Nakasendo, and Mt. Fuji
 
 

Yabuhara–Narai Trail
This section of the Nakasendo Trail takes you over the Torii Pass, which was once considered the most difficult section of the trail by travelers long ago. Though you do need to make the ascent to the top of the pass, the uphill portion is not overly rigorous and the trail makes for a relaxing hike overall.
 
Narai Post Town
 

Best season
April through November
 

Distance
Around 6 kilometers.
 

Time required
About 3 hours.
 

Recommended starting point
We recommend starting from Yabuhara and finishing at Narai, as Narai’s picturesque historic townscape will be waiting for you at the end—the perfect way to finish a long hike!
 

How to get to the trailhead
Take the train to Yabuhara Station. In the parking lot near the station, look for the big sign that tells you about the Nakasendo Trail where you can also check the details about the Yabuhara–Narai stretch. Follow the signs uphill through the town that point you in the direction of the “Torii Pass.” Once you get to the trailhead, it’s a straight shot to Narai.
 
nakasendo3
 

Things to look for on the trail
Most of the trail is within the forest, so keep an eye out for wildlife like monkeys and Japanese serows. There are also many impressive trees that are several centuries old.
 

There is a Shinto shrine (Ontake Shrine) and large stone torii gate near the top of the Torii Pass. You will also have a great view of the Kiso Valley and the town of Narai below. Around the shrine, there are several old statues that date back many centuries and commemorate Buddhist monks, warriors, and other historical figures. There is a rest area with toilets and running spring water, as well. From there, it’s downhill until you reach Narai!
 
Once you reach Narai, there is plenty to explore. The old post town is a one-kilometer stretch lined with historic inns dating back hundreds of years. The buildings are meticulously preserved and reflect the townscape as it was during the prospering Edo period. Nowadays, the buildings home to craft and souvenir shops, cafes, restaurants, and more.
 
Narai Nakasendo
 
Also, pay a visit to the shrines and temples scattered about the town. On the northern end, you will find a group of 200 unique jizo (small stone Buddhist statues). If you are a history lover, you will want to visit the Nakamura Residence, which is the preserved house of a wealthy comb seller from the Edo period, and the Narakawa Museum of History and Folklore, which exhibits artifacts and crafts from the area.
 
There is a beautiful wooden bridge that arches over the Narai River near the post town. Constructed from a 300-year old hinoki cypress tree, it is a beautiful work of Japanese craftsmanship.
 
Kiso Ohashi Narai